DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the adapter part fastening component(claim 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “hasa” should be “has a “. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 20 there is no antecedent basis for the term “the extension part”.
In claim 21 there is no antecedent basis for the term “the stop part”. It appears that claim 19 should depend from claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bettermann(DE8605279U1).
[claim 14] Bettermann teaches a connector(fig 1) for attaching a cable or pipe to a support structure, the connector comprising: an installation part(lower part of 1) for fastening to the support structure in a fastening direction; and a clamp part(upper part of 1) for supporting the cable or pipe, the installation part having a base(lowermost portion of 1 in fig 1) perpendicular to the fastening direction, a sidewall extending from a side edge of the base in the fastening direction, and an adapter part(3) for receiving a fastener(5) or directly fastenable to the support structure, the base being provided with an opening(2); when the adapter part is fastened to the support structure by the fastener or directly, the adapter part is at least partially installed in the opening(fig 1), and the base is movable relative to the adapter part along an installation face of the support structure.
[claim 15] wherein the adapter part has an extension part(6) extending in the fastening direction and has a cross section perpendicular to the fastening direction that is smaller than the opening(as seen in fig 3), and a stop part(4) adjoining the extension part and having a cross section perpendicular to the fastening direction that is at least partially larger than the opening(as seen in fig 2).
[claim 16] wherein the adapter part has at least one through-hole(receiving 5 in fig 1) for the fastener to pass through, the fastener being driven into the support structure through the through-hole by a fastening tool, and the adapter part further includes a receiving part(opening in 4) for receiving a nose part of the fastening tool.
[claim 17] wherein that the adapter part has a fastening component(7) at an end of the extension part facing towards the support structure, and the adapter part is directly fastenable to the support structure by the fastening component.
[claim 18] wherein the opening is round, rectangular or obround(fig 3).
[claim 19] wherein the opening is in the form of a narrow slot(fig 3), including a first side edge and a second side edge opposite each other(longer edges) and perpendicular to a direction of extension of the cable or pipe, and two opposite end edges(shorter edges) connecting the first side edge and second side edge.
[claim 20] wherein the extension part has a same shape as the opening, but a smaller size than the opening overall(as seen in fig 3).
[claim 21] wherein the stop part extends at least partially past the first side edge and second side edge in the direction of extension of the cable or pipe, thereby at least partially coinciding with an edge part of the opening(as seen in fig 2).
[claim 22] wherein a cut hole(shown receiving stop part 4 in figures 1 and 2) is provided in the sidewall, the stop part extending within the cut hole, and a length of the cut hole being equal to the length of the narrow slot(fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettermann as applied to claim 14 above in view of Ellepi(EP1744087).
[claim 24] Bettermann teaches a connector as detailed above, however Bettermann may not teach that the adapter part is connected to the sidewall by at least one flexible strip. Ellepi teaches a similar connector, which uses flexible strips(10a,10b,10c,10d) to connect an adapter part(3) to the sidewall of an installation part(2). The flexible strips aiding in aligning the adapter part during installation(see para[0019-0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the flexible strips of Ellepi to connect the adapter part of Bettermann to the sidewall, as this could aid a user in positioning the adapter part during installation, as taught by Ellepi.
[claim 25] wherein the flexible strip has a predetermined breaking point of weakened material(see para[0023]).
[claim 26] wherein the at least one flexible strip is designed as a thin film hinge(fig 2 Ellepi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as being amended to overcome the above 112 rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior teaches a connector as defined in claim 22, as detailed above, however the prior art does not teach the use of an anti-slip structure on a side of the stop part facing towards the base, or on an opening edge part of the first side edge and the second side edge of the base as recited in claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US11982384, US10814500, US10439381, US10029835, US6732982.
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632