DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication(s) filed on 27 July 2026.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Response to Remarks
The arguments in response to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are not found persuasive for the following reasons.
The remarks pertaining to Charbonnier are not found persuasive for the following reasons:
The specification cannot be read into the claims, and the claim language does not require the row of vanes to axially overlap. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The remarks stating the elements 48 are not stator blades are not found persuasive, since the shape of the element 48 shown in FIG. 4 clearly depicts an airfoil, and [0054] discloses the arms 48 deflect airflow from their trailing edges.
The remarks pertaining to Northall are not found persuasive for the following reasons:
The Applicant’s remarks pertaining to FIG. 3 not showing the vanes extending substantially perpendicularly to the axis are not found persuasive since FIG. 2 clearly depicts the vanes 220/240 being perpendicular to the axis.
The Applicant’s remarks pertaining to the guide surface not being inclined at the cited vane row and the second blades don’t extend at the inclined guide surface are not found persuasive since they are not commensurate with the scope of the claim language.
The remarks pertaining to Ramakrishnan are not found persuasive for the following reasons:
The Applicant’s remarks pertain to FIG. 2 are not found persuasive since the Applicant has failed to address the rejection of record. The rejection of record identified the wall as depicted in FIG. 1 and states that [0018] discloses the arrangement depicted in FIG. 2 may be applied anywhere in the turbine shown in FIG. 1. More specifically, the rejection of record specifically chooses the swan-neck vanes shown in FIG. 1 as placement for the embodiment depicted in FIG. 2. For clarity, see the annotated FIG.1 of Ramakrishnan below.
As seen in the above annotated figure, the second to the last swan-neck vane arrangement 46, 48 is shown to be substantially perpendicular to the axis of the turbine. Furthermore, the last swan-vane arrangement 44 is shown to be substantially perpendicular to the guide surface.
The Applicant’s remarks pertaining to the second blade extending perpendicularly to “the inclined guide surface” are not found persuasive since the arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claim language.
The Examiner notes with respect to all of the references, at least a portion of the guide surface is inclined with respect to the axis, and in some instances at least a portion of the guide surface is perpendicular to the axis.
The original(s) rejection is/are included in this Office Action, with some additional clarity/emphasis added in some instances.
Note, the Applicant has not provided arguments pertaining to the dependent claims, and thus the rejection(s) are upheld.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Charbonnier et al (US 20170298741), hereafter referred to as Charbonnier.
Regarding Claim 1, Charbonnier discloses the following:
An assembly for a turbomachine, comprising;
a wall (62, 64) including a guide surface for an airflow and a row of stator blades (44, 48, 56) extending from the wall (62, 64) and arranged annularly around an axis,
said guide surface being inclined with respect to the axis (as seen in FIG. 5-7),
wherein the row of stator blades (44, 48, 56) comprises first blades (44) extending substantially perpendicularly to the axis and second blades (56) extending substantially perpendicularly to the guide surface.
Regarding Claim 3, Charbonnier discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 1,
wherein the row of the stator blades (44, 48, 56) is formed by groups of the first blades (44) and by groups of the second blades (56), said groups of first and second blades (56) alternating circumferentially.
Regarding Claim 4, Charbonnier discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 3,
wherein each of the groups of first blades (44) comprises between 3 and 8 blades (four of 44 are shown, see FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Charbonnier discloses the following:
The assembly according to-claim 3,
wherein each of the groups of second blades (56) comprises between 4 and 10 blades (five of 56 are shown, see FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Charbonnier discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 1,
wherein the row of the stator blades (44, 48, 56) further comprises a plurality of third blades (48; FIG. 4) circumferentially regularly arranged between the first blades (44) and the second blades (56),
said third blades (48; FIG. 4) having a respective orientation that is, excluding boundaries, between the perpendicular orientation to the axis of the first blades (44) and the perpendicular orientation to the guide surface of the second blades (56).
Regarding Claim 13, Charbonnier discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 1,
wherein the guide surface for the airflow forms an inclination angle with the axis between 10° and 60°.
Regarding Claim 15, Charbonnier discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 4,
wherein each of the groups of first blades (44) comprises 4 blades (as seen in FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Charbonnier discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 5,
wherein each of the groups of second blades (56) comprises 5 blades (as seen in FIG. 4).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Northall et al (US 10697471), hereafter referred to as Northall.
For clarity see Examiner Annotated FIG. 3 of Northall below.
Regarding Claim 1, Northall discloses the following:
An assembly for a turbomachine, comprising;
a wall (walls of duct 100; FIG. 2) including a guide surface for an airflow and a row of stator blades (220; FIG. 3) extending from the wall (walls of duct 100; FIG. 2) and arranged annularly around an axis,
said guide surface being inclined with respect to the axis (as seen in FIG. 3),
wherein the row of stator blades (220; FIG. 3) comprises first blades (A; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3) extending substantially perpendicularly to the axis and second blades (B; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3) extending substantially perpendicularly to the guide surface (as seen in FIG. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 3, Northall discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 1,
wherein the row of the stator blades (220; FIG. 3) is formed by groups of the first blades (A; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3) and by groups of the second blades (B; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3), said groups of first and second blades (B; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3) alternating circumferentially.
Regarding Claim 6, Northall discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 1,
wherein the row of the stator blades (220; FIG. 3) further comprises a plurality of third blades (C; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3) circumferentially regularly arranged between the first blades (A; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3) and the second blades (B; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3),
said third blades (C; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3) having a respective orientation that is, excluding boundaries, between the perpendicular orientation to the axis of the first blades (A; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3) and the perpendicular orientation to the guide surface of the second blades (B; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Northall discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 6,
wherein the first blades (A; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3), the second blades (B; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3), and the third blades (C; Examiner Annotated FIG. 3) all have a same chord length.
Regarding Claim 14, Northall discloses the following:
An axial turbomachine, comprising;
a low-pressure compressor (14; FIG. 1),
a high-pressure compressor (15; FIG. 1), and
a swan-neck vein (240; FIG. 2) arranged axially between the low-pressure compressor and the high-pressure compressor,
wherein the swan-neck vein contains the assembly according to claim 1 (as shown above).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ramakrishnan et al (US 20120328432), hereafter referred to as Ramakrishnan.
For clarity, see Examiner annotated FIG. 1 of Ramakrishnan below.
Regarding Claim 1, Ramakrishnan discloses the following:
An assembly for a turbomachine, comprising;
a wall (FIG. 1) including a guide surface for an airflow and a row of stator blades (46, 48; FIG. 2) extending from the wall (FIG. 1) and arranged annularly around an axis,
said guide surface being inclined with respect to the axis (as seen in FIG. 1),
wherein the row of stator blades (46, 48; FIG. 2) comprises first blades (46; FIG. 2) extending substantially perpendicularly to the axis and second blades (48; FIG. 2) extending substantially perpendicularly to the guide surface (it is noted, [0018] discloses the embodiment of FIG. 2 may be located in the compressor of the turbine, thus the embodiment is applied to the swan-neck vanes between the low and high pressure compressors of FIG. 1, the second to last of the swan-neck vanes being the 46, 48 set and the last swan-neck vane being the downstream row 44; see Examiner annotated FIG. 1 above for clarity).
Regarding Claim 2, Ramakrishnan discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 1,
further comprising structural arms (44; FIG. 2) axially arranged directly downstream of the row of the stator blades (46, 48; FIG. 2),
inter-arm spaces being defined between two circumferentially adjacent structural arms (44; FIG. 2),
the first blades (46; FIG. 2) circumferentially overlapping the structural arms (44; FIG. 2) and the second blades (48; FIG. 2) circumferentially overlapping the inter-arm spaces (as seen in FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Ramakrishnan discloses the following:
The assembly according to claim 2,
wherein the trailing edge of the first blades (46; FIG. 2) defines a first distance in the direction of the airflow with a leading edge of the structural arms (44; FIG. 2) axially arranged directly downstream of the row of the stator blades (46, 48; FIG. 2), and
the trailing edge of the second blades (48; FIG. 2) defines a second distance in the direction of the airflow with the leading edge of the structural arms (44; FIG. 2),
said first distance being greater than the second distance (as seen in FIG. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 would appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In combination with the other structures required by the independent claims, the inclusion of:
Regarding Claim 7:
wherein the respective orientation of the third blades varies progressively in accordance with the circumferential position of the third blades relative to the first and second blades,
the third blades having an orientation closer to that of the first blades the closer they are circumferentially to them, and the third blades having an orientation closer to that of the second blades the closer they are circumferentially to them;
Regarding Claims 8-10:
Claims 8-10 are ultimately dependent upon claim 7.
was not found or fairly taught by prior art and differentiated the claims from the closest prior art to Charbonnier et al (US 20170298741), Taylor et al (US 20060034689), Northall et al (US 10697471), or Ramakrishnan et al (US 20120328432).
The Examiner notes Charbonnier is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the limitations as described above. Further, it appears there would be no reason to modify the prior art without the benefit of Applicant's disclosure and impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745