DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 9/05/2025 and 9/05/2025 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 14, 16, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: typo “polarising” must be corrected. It should be “polarizing.” Same spelling error has been made too many times. All the claims should be revised carefully. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 112285958 B). An English machine translation has been provided for the foreign patent publication.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a light-cancelling article (Fig 1, [0007], semi-transmissive mirror) having a laminate structure (10) comprising a light polarizing filter (14) and a substrate (11, 21).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses further comprising a light-absorbent layer ([0008], absorption layer) between the light polarizing filter and the substrate (Fig 1, [0008], reflection control mirror is disposed on the absorption layer).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses further comprising connecting means to engage the light-cancelling article with one or more further light-cancelling articles (Fig 1, [0044], semi-transparent mirror 10 includes an absorption layer 11, a reflection control mirror 12, a switching unit 13, and a polarizer 14).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses wherein the substrate comprises one or more of wood ([0046], 11 is made of wood), metal ([0044], metal as the reflective surface), and polymer.
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses wherein the substrate comprises plywood ([0046], 11 is made of wood).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses wherein the light polarizing filter (14) is a linear polarizer (Fig 1, [0044], polarizer 14 is the viewing surface facing the user).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses wherein the light-cancelling article (Fig 1, [0007], semi-transmissive mirror) is a floor tile or a wall tile ([0044], mounting surface such as a wall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112285958 B) in view of Taniyama (20230314664). An English machine translation has been provided for the foreign patent publication.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the invention as described within claim 1 but does not teach wherein the light polarizing filter comprises a polyvinyl alcohol film doped with iodine. However, within a similar endeavor, Taniyama teaches wherein the light polarizing filter comprises a polyvinyl alcohol film ([0302], polarizing plate generally has a structure including a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) film held with protection films, such as TAC (triacetyl cellulose films)) doped with iodine ([0314], dichroic colorant include iodine). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the filter of Li with the components of Taniyama for the purpose of providing good dichroism within a polarizing film (Taniyama, [0315]).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Taniyama discloses the invention as described within claim 7 and Taniyama further teaches wherein the polyvinyl alcohol film is between two tri-acetyl cellulose layers ([0302], polarizing plate generally has a structure including a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) film held with protection films, such as TAC (triacetyl cellulose films)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the filter of Li with the components of Taniyama for the purpose of providing good dichroism within a polarizing film (Taniyama, [0315]).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112285958 B) in view of Marras (20210088257). An English machine translation has been provided for the foreign patent publication.
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses the invention as described within claim 1 but does not teach wherein the light-cancelling article further comprises a removable protective film on the surface of the light polarizing filter. However, Marras teaches wherein the light-cancelling article ([0011], reflecting stratiform structure) further comprises a removable protective film on the surface of the light polarizing filter ([0014]-[0016], applying a removable transparent thermoplastic film, preferably made of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), on the polymerisable resin). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the filter of Li with the components of Marras for the purpose of incorporating reflective structures that are cost-effective, efficient and long-lasting (Marras, [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Marras discloses the invention as described within claim 9 and Marras further teaches wherein the removable protective film comprises polyethylene terephthalate ([0014]-[0016], applying a removable transparent thermoplastic film, preferably made of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), on the polymerisable resin). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the filter of Li with the components of Marras for the purpose of incorporating reflective structures that are cost-effective, efficient and long-lasting (Marras, [0003]).
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112285958 B) in view of Graham (20210364905). An English machine translation has been provided for the foreign patent publication.
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the invention as described within claim 1 but does not teach a projection apparatus comprising the light-cancelling article according to claim 1, and a projector configured to project polarized light. However, Graham teaches a projection apparatus ([0091], projector) comprising the light-cancelling article ([0091], polarized reflected light may be blocked or rendered unintelligible) according to claim 1, and a projector configured to project polarized light ([0091], a projector may include a polarizer over the output lens of the projector or included within the projector such that the output of the project includes polarized light). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the filter of Li with the components of Graham for the purpose of optimizing polarization through a filtered optical system (Graham, [0028]).
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Graham discloses the invention as described within claim 14 and Graham further teaches wherein the projection apparatus further comprises a projection display screen ([0030], liquid crystal displays (LCDs), light emitting diode (LED) backlit displays, anti-reflective surface displays, organic light emitting diode displays (OLEDs), or other polarized image sources). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the filter of Li with the components of Graham for the purpose of optimizing polarization through a filtered optical system (Graham, [0028]).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Graham discloses the invention as described within claim 14 and Graham further teaches wherein the projector comprises a polarizing filter ([0030], placing a polarizer oriented to filter out the polarized light from the view screen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the filter of Li with the components of Graham for the purpose of optimizing polarization through a filtered optical system (Graham, [0028]).
Claim(s) 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 112285958 B) in view of McNelley (20160356053). An English machine translation has been provided for the foreign patent publication.
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses a light-cancelling apparatus (Fig 1, [0007], semi-transmissive mirror) but does not teach contained withing a housing. However, McNelley teaches contained within a housing (Fig 26, [0220], a videoconferencing system, kiosk, an ATM, a virtual greeting system, a clothing advertising system, and any recorded and live application that shows a life-size person, among numerous other uses). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the optical system of Li with the components of McNelley for the purpose to improve eye contact with specialized micro-camera imagers and lenses and unique housing configurations (McNelley, [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of McNelley discloses the invention as described within claim 19 and McNelley further teaches wherein the housing is of a size which allows a person to be contained within the housing during use (Fig 26, [0220], modification of showing a full standing person 288 on a portrait display 280 with a portrait image screen 286). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the optical system of Li with the components of McNelley for the purpose to improve eye contact with specialized micro-camera imagers and lenses and unique housing configurations (McNelley, [0004]).
Regarding claim 21, Li in view of McNelley discloses the invention as described within claim 19 and McNelley further teaches wherein the light-cancelling apparatus (Fig 26, [0220], portrait image screen 286 has a portrait surrounding black substrate 284) comprises a projection display screen and a projector configured to project polarized light onto the projection display screen (Fig 25, [0218], sign side polarizer 265 may serve as the reflective clear substrate 266 provided it has sufficient reflection value to reflect the light prop 261). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the optical system of Li with the components of McNelley for the purpose to improve eye contact with specialized micro-camera imagers and lenses and unique housing configurations (McNelley, [0004]).
Regarding claim 22, Li in view of McNelley discloses the invention as described within claim 21 and McNelley further teaches wherein the projection display screen at least partially covers an opening within the housing (Fig 26, [0220], black substrate 284 and the portrait image screen 286 are covered by a portrait clear reflective panel 282 for reflecting a tall foreground light posts 294 and an illuminated floor 292 creating a reflected floor 290). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the optical system of Li with the components of McNelley for the purpose to improve eye contact with specialized micro-camera imagers and lenses and unique housing configurations (McNelley, [0004]).
Regarding claim 23, Li in view of McNelley discloses the invention as described within claim 19 and McNelley further teaches wherein the housing is an elongate, upright box or booth, comprising an upwardly extending opening on one side which allows a person (Fig 26, [0220], any recorded and live application that shows a life-size person) or object to enter and exit the housing (Fig 26 shows full standing person 288 on a portrait display 280 with a portrait image screen 286). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the optical system of Li with the components of McNelley for the purpose to improve eye contact with specialized micro-camera imagers and lenses and unique housing configurations (McNelley, [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cavalca (20200391482), Mienko (20110075241), and Kamijo (20060197895) are cited to show examples of a device constructed from substrates that holds electro-optical material.
Sharrief I. Broome
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872