Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-9, it is unclear what SystemInformationBlockTypeXX (SL PRS related System Information Block) refers to as there are many different types of information in a System Information Block or whether applicant intends to only claim SL PRS related information. If applicant intends to claim SL PRS related System Information Block then it should be explicitly stated including what ‘related’ SL PRS information denotes.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “systeminformationblocktype1 (mentions) includes the SIBTypeXX” is vague and indefinite.
Regarding claim 9, it is unclear how “transmission circuitry configure to perform…” is a method step of a user equipment.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
While the specification and claims refer to a SystemInformationBlockTypeXX (SL PRS related system information block), there is no corresponding disclosure that explains what this limitation is nor how it functions or is signaled within the system, other than the repetition of the claim language. Thus, the claim language lacks enablement in view of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2021/0297206) in view of Baek (2023/0221397).
Regarding claim 1, Manolakos discloses a user equipment (UE 104) comprising: higher-layer processing circuitry configured to receive: SL PRS related SIB from a base station (processing system 410) and transmission circuitry (404, transceiver) configured to perform a transmission of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) Note Figure 5 and para 101-108 which refer to SL PRS related information transmitted such as PBSCH, PSCCH as well as para 116, UE transmits its own ranging signal SL-PRS. Manolakos discloses when UE is in coverage (mode 1, Figure 8) the UE performances a first procedure of the transmission of SL-PRS (network assigned SL-PRS, par 127) and when out-of coverage (mode 2, Figure 8 para 110-11), the UE performs a second procedure of the SL-PRS transmission (sidelink-assisted para 128). Manolakos fails to disclose that the second procedure is due to pre-configuration. However,Baek teaches in an analogous art, the use of sidelink communications in which the SL-PRS transmission is preconfigured (SL-PRS resources can be preconfigured, para 23-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include preconfigured SL-PRS resource pools in order to reduce time for selection.
Regarding claim 8, Manolakos discloses a user equipment (UE 104) comprising: higher-layer processing circuitry configured to receive: SL PRS related SIB from a base station (processing system 410) and reception circuitry (404, transceiver) configured to perform a measurement of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) Note Figure 5 and para 101-108 which refer to SL PRS related information transmitted such as PBSCH, PSCCH as well as para 116, UE transmits its own ranging signal SL-PRS. Manolakos discloses when UE is in coverage (mode 1, Figure 8) the UE performances a first procedure of the transmission of SL-PRS (network assigned SL-PRS, par 127) and when out-of coverage (mode 2, Figure 8 para 110-11), the UE performs a second procedure of the SL-PRS transmission (sidelink-assisted para 128). Manolakos fails to disclose that the second procedure is due to pre-configuration. However, Baek teaches in an analogous art, the use of sidelink communications in which the SL-PRS transmission is preconfigured (SL-PRS resources can be preconfigured, para 23-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include preconfigured SL-PRS resource pools in order to reduce time for selection.
Regarding claim 9, Manolakos discloses a method for user equipment (UE 104) comprising: receiving SL PRS related SIB from a base station (processing system 410) and transmitting of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) Note Figure 5 and para 101-108 which refer to SL PRS related information transmitted such as PBSCH, PSCCH as well as para 116, UE transmits its own ranging signal SL-PRS. Manolakos discloses when UE is in coverage (mode 1, Figure 8) the UE performances a first procedure of the transmission of SL-PRS (network assigned SL-PRS, par 127) and when out-of coverage (mode 2, Figure 8 para 110-11), the UE performs a second procedure of the SL-PRS transmission (sidelink-assisted para 128). Manolakos fails to disclose that the second procedure is due to pre-configuration. However, Baek teaches in an analogous art, the use of sidelink communications in which the SL-PRS transmission is preconfigured (SL-PRS resources can be preconfigured, para 23-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include preconfigured SL-PRS resource pools in order to reduce time for selection.
Regarding claims 2-4, Manolakos further discloses the first procedure is selected from a first resource pool (SCI-1 para 113 and resource allocation from the network para 127) while the second procedure is selected from a second resource pool (SCI-2 para 113, as well as para 128 and 136, sci-2 includes additional resources not in network allocated/sci-1). Manolakos also discloses the performing of SL-PRS transmission is also based on a sensing result of the pool (para 131-333, based on sensing of related SL-PRS information).
Regarding claim 5, Manolakos further discloses whether to perform the second procedure further depends on whether to detect SidelinkSystemInformationBlockTypeXX form another UE (para 128, sidelink position only occurs when SCI-2 ranging signals and assisting UEs are received. See para 129-133 as well).
Regarding claim 6, Manolakos further discloses dedicated RRC Configuration information (para 78-81) for indicating a potential sidelink connection (PC5 interface). Li further teaches that a third resource pool can be used for sidelink resources and selection as well (Figure 3 – se of 3 SL resource pools). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a third pool in order to provide for exception processing in sidelink resource allocation.
Regarding claim 7, Manolakos further discloses that whether to perform the transmission of SL-PRS depends on whether a list of system information described includes the SystemInformationBlockXX (Figure 9, whether PRS resources are transmitted via the network as well as Figure 12, PRS is transmitted on PSSCH).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roth (2026/0082404) disclose sidelink resources allocation with in and out of coverage.
Ko (12538254) discloses SL PRS signaling for positioning.
Killerich Pratas (2025/0047435) discloses sidelink conflict avoidance with user to user sidelink communications.,
Yu (2024/0381409) discloses system information block sidelink control information.
Li (2024/0356699) discloses preconfigured SL-PRS signaling.
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641