DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. US 2021/0160511.
As to claim 1, Zhang teaches a video coding method comprising: receiving data for a block of pixels to be encoded or decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video; [abstract; fig. 30; ¶ 0515; ¶ 0550-0551] deriving a linear model to refine or generate a prediction candidate by regression to minimize a difference between samples of a current template neighboring the current block and samples of a reference template identified by the prediction candidate; [¶ 0109-0112; ¶ 0129-0131; ¶ 0188-0196; ¶ 0278-0318] generating a prediction of the current block based on the derived linear model; [abstract; ¶ 0109-0112] and encoding or decoding the current block by using the generated prediction. [abstract; ¶ 0109-0112; ¶ 0515; ¶ 0550-0551]
As to claim 2, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the derived prediction candidate being refined is an affine motion candidate and the derived model is an affine motion model having four parameters for affine motion based on two check points or an affine motion model having six parameters for three check points. [¶ 0115; ¶ 0189-0194]
As to claim 3, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 2. Zhang teaches wherein the affine motion candidate being refined is a merge candidate with motion vector difference (MMVD) candidate or an adaptive motion vector prediction (AMVP) candidate. [¶ 0096-0099; ¶ 0109-0116; ¶ 0120; ¶ 0129-0130]
As to claim 4, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1, Zhang teaches wherein the refined prediction candidate is added to a list of prediction candidates for the current block. [¶ 0129]
As to claim 5, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the refined prediction candidate replaces the prediction candidate in a list of prediction candidates for the current block. [¶ 0276]
As to claim 9, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the prediction is generated based on the refined prediction candidate. [¶ 0184; ¶ 0278-0290]
As to claim 10, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the prediction candidate being refined is a regular merge candidate. [¶ 0055-0071; ¶ 0275-0297]
As to claim 11, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein: the derived model is an affine motion model that is derived by minimizing a difference between regression subblock motion vectors and (i) subblock MVs of subblocks neighboring the current block and (ii) subblock MVs derived from an affine candidate of the current block to refine the affine candidate; and the prediction is generated based on the refined affine candidate. [¶ 0115-0120; ¶ 0203-0218; ¶ 0275-0318]
As to claim 14, Zhang teaches a video coding method comprising: receiving data for a block of pixels to be encoded or decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video; [abstract; fig. 30; ¶ 0515; ¶ 0550-0551] deriving a linear model to refine an affine candidate by regression to minimize a difference between regression subblock motion vectors and (i) subblock MVs of subblocks neighboring the current block and (ii) subblock MVs derived from the refined affine candidate of the current block; [¶ 0115-0120; ¶ 0203-0218; ¶ 0275-0318] generating a prediction of the current block based on the derived linear model; [abstract; ¶ 0109-0112] and encoding or decoding the current block by using the generated prediction. [abstract; ¶ 0109-0112; ¶ 0515; ¶ 0550-0551]
As to claim 15, Zhang teaches an electronic apparatus comprising: a video decoder circuit configured to perform operations comprising: receiving data for a block of pixels to be encoded or decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video; [abstract; fig. 30; ¶ 0515; ¶ 0550-0551] deriving a linear model to refine or generate a prediction candidate by regression to minimize a difference between samples of a current template neighboring the current block and samples of a reference template identified by the prediction candidate; [¶ 0109-0112; ¶ 0129-0131; ¶ 0188-0196; ¶ 0278-0318] generating a prediction of the current block based on the derived linear model; [abstract; ¶ 0109-0112] and encoding or decoding the current block by using the generated prediction. [abstract; ¶ 0109-0112; ¶ 0515; ¶ 0550-0551]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. US 2021/0160511 in view of Zhang et al. (Zhang 2) US 2023/0328276.
As to claim 6, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein only a subset of prediction candidates in a list of prediction candidates for the current block are refined by regression for the linear model.
Zhang 2 teaches wherein only a subset of prediction candidates in a list of prediction candidates for the current block are refined by regression for the linear model. [¶ 0104-0121]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Zhang 2 with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved accuracy and coding efficiency.
As to claim 12, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the affine motion model is derived by minimizing differences between the regression subblock motion vectors and (i) stored subblock MVs associated with subblocks neighboring the current block and (ii) inherited MVs associated with subblocks belonging to a reference affine coding unit (CU).
Zhang 2 teaches wherein the affine motion model is derived by minimizing differences between the regression subblock motion vectors and (i) stored subblock MVs associated with subblocks neighboring the current block and (ii) inherited MVs associated with subblocks belonging to a reference affine coding unit (CU). [¶ 0031-0033; ¶ 0131-0138; ¶ 0276]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Zhang 2 with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved accuracy and coding efficiency.
As to claim 13, Zhang (modified by Zhang 2) teaches the limitations of claim 12. Zhang 2 teaches wherein the reference affine CU is not adjacent to the current block. [¶ 0268]
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. US 2021/0160511 in view of Zhang et al. (Zhang 2) US 2023/0328276 further in view of Leleannec et al. US 2022/0078488.
As to claim 7, Zhang (modified by Zhang 2) teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Zhang (modified by Zhang 2) does not explicitly teach wherein the subset of prediction candidates are merge mode with motion vector difference (MMVD) candidates that are identified based on proximity to a specific direction.
Leleannec teaches wherein the subset of prediction candidates are merge mode with motion vector difference (MMVD) candidates that are identified based on proximity to a specific direction. [¶ 0123]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Leleannec with the teachings of Zhang (modified by Zhang 2) allowing for improved accuracy and coding efficiency.
As to claim 8, Zhang (modified by Zhang 2) teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Zhang (modified by Zhang 2) teaches wherein for each MMVD candidate, only a base motion vector predictor (MVP) is refined by regression.
Leleannec teaches wherein for each MMVD candidate, only a base motion vector predictor (MVP) is refined by regression. [¶ 0105-0113; ¶ 0178-0184]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Leleannec with the teachings of Zhang (modified by Zhang 2) allowing for improved accuracy and coding efficiency.
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483