DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 2 recites the limitation “the front end” which should be changed to “a front end”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 5 recites the limitation “it” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear as to what “it” refers to.
Claim 6, line 1 recites the limitation “the suspension”, however, it is unclear which “suspension” is being recited. Claim 1, line 3 positively recites “a suspension”, while claim 5, line 3 recites “a suspension of the rear axle”.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the drive wheel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13, line 3 recites the limitation “it” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear as to what “it” refers to.
Claim 14, line 2 recites the limitation “it” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear as to what “it” refers to.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the control module" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the drive wheel" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 11 and 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kirschey (US 10,675,206 B2).
For claim 1, Kirschey discloses a drive module 11 with a seating or standing platform 34 for connection to a vehicle 10, [wherein the drive module is detachably connected to the vehicle] (col. 6, lines 58 – 63) and can be moved between a driving position (fig. 3) and a resting position (fig. 8) along a suspension 31, 32, [wherein in the resting position, the drive module is located underneath a lying, sitting, or standing platform of the vehicle] (fig. 8), and [in the driving position, it is located underneath, partially behind, or behind the lying, sitting, or standing platform of the vehicle] (fig. 3).
For claim 2, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that [the drive module in the resting position is located underneath the lying, sitting, or standing platform of the vehicle and is raised] (fig. 8), and [in the driving position is located underneath, partially behind, or behind the lying, sitting, or standing platform of the vehicle and is lowered] (fig. 3).
For claim 3, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that the drive module comprises [at least one accumulator 39] (col. 7, lines 49 – 53) and a drive wheel 35 [operatively connected to an electric motor] (col. 7, lines 28 – 31), [wherein the electric motor is electrically connected to the accumulator] (col. 7, lines 44 – 46), and [wherein the drive wheel is in contact with the ground in the driving position] (fig. 3, col. 8, lines 54 – 55).
For claim 4, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that in [a standing or seating position, the standing or seating platform of the drive module is located partially behind or completely behind the standing or seating platform of the vehicle] (fig. 3).
For claim 5, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that [the suspension is connected to a rear axle of the vehicle or to a casing of the rear axle, a suspension of the rear axle, and/or a frame element 20, 24 of the vehicle] (at least indirectly, fig. 3).
For claim 6, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that [the suspension is detachably connected to the vehicle] (col. 6, lines 61 – 63), particularly at a position centered above or on the rear axle, on side struts near the rear axle, and/or at two points on the rear axle.
For claim 7, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that in the resting position, the drive module is connected to the vehicle via a fastening element 64 [so that the drive module is raised, and particularly the drive wheel or wheels do not touch the ground] (fig. 8).
For claim 8, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that the fastening element is a magnet, a snap-in system, a hook-in system, a Velcro fastener, a bayonet lock, a press-stud system, and/or [a clamping system] (col. 6, lines 61 – 63).
For claim 9, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that [the fastening element is arranged at the front end of the drive module] (fig. 4) and/or on or near the front end of the vehicle, preferably above a front axle of the vehicle and/or on the vehicle frame.
For claim 10, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that at least one guide rail 33 is included [along which the drive module can be moved from the seating or standing position into the resting position and back] (figs. 3 and 8).
For claim 11, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in [that lowering and raising the drive module underneath, partially behind, or behind the lying, sitting, or standing platform of the vehicle into the driving position is achieved using a spring element, a magnet, compressed air, gravity, and/or an electric motor] (col. 9, lines 38 – 40, in addition to gravity).
For claim 14, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that it comprises [a first brake controlled by the control module and/or a second brake that can be mechanically activated on the drive module] (col. 7, lines 31 – 34).
For claim 15, Kirschey discloses [a method for operating a drive module comprising the following steps, particularly in this order:
connecting the drive module to a vehicle;
controlling the drive module to set a speed and driving direction of the drive wheel, select the position of the drive module between the driving position and the resting position, and/or select a control program, particularly to select and parameterize a driving or support mode] (col. 7, lines 46 – 49, the prior art discloses the required drive module, wherein the patentability of the claim is in respect to the structural device and not the method).
For claim 16, Kirschey discloses the method characterized in that [the control program includes a sleep mode in which the drive module moves the vehicle forward and backward over a defined distance at regular, adjustable intervals] (the prior art discloses the required drive module, wherein the patentability of the claim is in respect to the structural device and not the method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirschey (US 10,675,206 B2) in view of King (US 2022/0117806 A1).
For claim 12, Kirschey discloses the drive module characterized in that [a control module] (col. 7, lines 46 – 49), but does not explicitly disclose the control module is included, designed and configured to control the speed and driving direction of the drive wheel, adjust the position of the drive module between the driving position and the resting position, and/or select and activate/deactivate control programs.
King discloses [a self-leveling platform 102 comprising a single wheel 207 coupled to a drive motor; a microprocessor coupled to sensors, wireless signal receiver; and battery; said wireless signal receiver coupled to a wireless signal transmitter located on a control stick; a state estimate including platform position and velocity vectors, angle of platform deviation from level horizontal, and angular velocity of platform about drive wheel axis of rotation, as well as commanded drive motor speed; implement a PID controller or similar control loop to determine the required drive motor direction and speed to bring the platform to a level horizontal orientation, and send the necessary commands to actuate the desired drive wheel motion] (page 2, paragraph [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the wireless receiver, wireless transmitter, microprocessor, and sensors of King with the drive module of Kirschey with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for autonomous or semi-autonomous control of the drive module, thus reducing unwanted stress and strain on the user.
For claim 13, Kirschey modified as above discloses the drive module characterized in that [the control module can be flexibly positioned via a wireless transmission module] (page 2, paragraph [0020] of King) and includes [an accumulator 39 to power its components] (col. 7, lines 44 – 53).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-8006786 – comprising a mobility vehicle; a platform base; and a door hinge half;
US-20050279537 – comprising a first vehicle; a motorized assisting vehicle; a platform; and an extended arm;
US-6443252 – comprising a wheelchair; a framing structure; a platform; and casters
JP-3111381 – comprising a stroller; a movable frame; a step; and a caster;
US-4848504 – comprising a drive unit; a riding unit; upper brackets; and bottom brackets; and
US-3485314 – comprising a vehicle; a trailer attachment; and support bracket.
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611