DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first Office Action on the merits of Application 18/997,309 filed on 1/21/25. Claims 1-3, 5-9 & 11-17 are pending. Claims 4 & 10 have been cancelled due to a preliminary amendment.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains reference characters. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/21/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the arrows should be touching a line or surface should be shown by the line looking along the direction of the arrow according to 37 CFR 1.84 (r)(2). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Note: The arrows should be pointing towards a surface/line and not the reference number.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11
Line 4: “gear is mount” should be amended as – gear is mounted --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 & 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an outer circumferential surface of the planetary shaft in a radial contact area between the planetary gear and the planetary shaft does not reasonably provide enablement for an outer circumferential surface of the planetary shaft in an axial contact area between the planetary gear and the planetary shaft. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Figures 1-2c disclose the modification areas (e.g. 101 & 102) located on the outer circumferential surface of the planetary shaft. However, the specification does not disclose how the modification area is axial in contact with the planetary gear (e.g. 50). One of ordinary skill the art would not be able to make/ and or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Note: It appears that the modification area would be in radial contact with the planetary gear and not in axial contact.
Claims 2, 3 & 5-9 are also rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 216045382 to Liu et al (applicant cited reference).
Claim 1
Liu discloses in Figs 1-3
A planetary gearbox for a wind power apparatus, comprising a planetary shaft (e.g. 1), a planetary gear (e.g. 7) and a planetary carrier (e.g. 2), wherein the planetary shaft is mounted on the planetary carrier, and the planetary gear is mounted on the planetary shaft ; and at least one modification area (e.g. see area 1 shown in Figure 2) is provided on at least one of an inner circumferential surface of the planetary gear (50) and/or and an outer circumferential surface of the planetary shaft (see Fig 2) in an axial contact area (e.g. as best understood, radial contact) between the planetary gear and the planetary shaft.
Claim 2
The planetary gearbox of claim 1, wherein a circumferential oil groove (e.g. 8) is provided in the middle of the axial contact area (e.g. radial contact area as best understood) between the planetary gear and the planetary shaft ; and the axial contact area includes a first contact area (e.g. left area of 8) and a second contact area (e.g. right area of 8) that are provided on respective axial sides of the circumferential oil groove, and the at least one modification area is provided in at least one of the first contact area and/or and the second contact area.
Claim 3
The planetary gearbox of claim 2, wherein the at least one modification area includes a first modification area and a second modification area (e.g. left and right areas of 8), and wherein the first modification area is provided in at least a portion of the first contact area, and the second modification area is provided in a least a portion of the second contact area.
Claim 5
The planetary gearbox of claim 3,wherein the first modification area and the second modification area are symmetric to each other with respect to the circumferential oil groove in the axial direction (see Fig 2).
Claim 11
A planetary gearbox, comprising: a planetary carrier (e.g. 2); a planetary gear (e.g. 7); and a planetary shaft (e.g. 1) to which the planetary gear is mount and that is mounted on the planetary carrier, the planetary shaft having, on an outer circumferential surface of the planetary shaft, a first contact area (e.g. 1, left of 8, Fig 2) for engaging an inner circumferential surface of the planetary gear (see Fig 3), a second contact area (e.g. 1, right of 8, Fig 2) for engaging the inner circumferential surface of the planetary gear, and a circumferentially extending oil groove (e.g. 8) disposed axially between the first and second contact areas, wherein the first contact area includes a first modification area that extends a first axial distance from the oil groove and is radially offset from a portion of the first contact area that is adjacent to the first modification area opposite the oil groove, and the second contact area includes a second modification area that extends a second axial distance from the oil groove and is radially offset from a portion of the second contact area that is adjacent to the second modification area opposite the oil groove (see Fig. 3).
Claim 13
The planetary gearbox of claim 11, wherein the first axial distance is equal to the second axial distance (see Fig 2, even axial distance for both sides).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 12, 16 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 216045382 to Liu et al (applicant cited reference).
Claim 7
Liu discloses a planetary gear box with a planetary shaft, planetary gear, and planetary carrier. Further at least one modification area provided on the outer circumferential surface of the planetary gear shaft. Liu however, does not explicitly disclose that the modification area is provided with at least one hard coating and a bronze cladding. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to have the modification area be of at least one hard coating and a bronze cladding, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 12
Liu does not explicitly disclose that the first axial distance is less than the second axial distance. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to have the first axial distance is less than the second axial distance since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 16 & 17
Liu however, does not explicitly disclose that the modification area is provided with at least one hard coating and a bronze cladding. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to have the modification area be of at least one hard coating and a bronze cladding, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 9, 14 & 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HUAN LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655