Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending in the present application with claim 1 being independent, as set forth in the Preliminary Amendment dated January 21, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 17, it appears that “in semi-supervised training mode” should be changed to --in a semi-supervised training mode using--.
In claim 12, line 2, “model 24” should be changed to --model--.
In claim 12, line 3, it appears that “RSK P” should be removed.
In claim 12, line 5, it appears that “RSK, P,” should be changed to --P--.
In claim 12, line 7, it appears that “IND” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cardiotocograph data" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the training" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-5 recite the limitation "the processing blocks of the cardiotocograph data of the neural network" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the masked input" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, it is unclear whether all of the items in each indented list is required or only one of such items. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will assume only one is required. For instance, the Examiner will assume the first indented list reads --maternal data on pregnant women, particularly comprising: body mass index, parity, or indication of a singleton or twin pregnancy--. Also, the Examiner will assume the third indented list reads --delivery data including, particular comprising: …presence of gestational diabetes, or cervical dilatation measurement--.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “making it possible to obtain column vectors…” in line 3 which leads to confusion as to whether or not such column vectors are actually obtained. The Examiner will assume such column vectors are actually obtained for purposes of examination.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “preferably” in line 4 which leads to confusion as to whether or the subsequent language is required in the claim. The Examiner will assume the subsequent language is required in the claims for purposes of examination.
Furthermore, “N/M” in claim 10 is nonsensical because it is not known what “N” represents.
In lines 5-7 of claim 10, it is not understood what is meant by “the neural network is trained with the fixed blocks of the encoder, applied to the second cardiotocograph data…which are vectors…to obtain column vectors.” Specifically, are the fixed blocks (which lack antecedent basis) applied to the second cardiotocograph data, and then the results are somehow used to train the neural network? What are the vectors? The results of applying the fixed blocks to the second cardiotocograph data? How are the column vectors of size M obtained?
Claim 10 recites “vectors of size” in line 7 which appears incomplete.
In claim 10, it is not understood whether the “column vectors of size M” in the second to last line is referring to those of line 3 or those of lines 7-8.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the given display frequency" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "this set of indicators" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the retrospective database" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 14, it is unclear whether or not the recited first, unannotated database and the second annotated database are the same as those recited in claim 1. The Examiner will assume they are the same for purposes of examination.
Furthermore, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 14 recites the broad recitation “at most 40 minutes”, and the claim also recites “at most 30 minutes” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the indicators" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependencies from one of the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more:
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Step 1:
As claims 1-9 and 11-17 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine), the claims are all within at least one of the four statutory categories. 35 USC §101.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (which collectively includes the guidance in the January 7, 2019 Federal Register notice and the October 2019 and July 2024 updates issued by the USPTO as incorporated into the MPEP, as supported by relevant case law), the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts. MPEP 2106.04(a).
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite at least one abstract idea. Specifically, independent claim 1 recites:
A system for evaluating a situation of a given pregnant woman, the system comprising:
- a uterine contraction sensor configured to measure an intensity of uterine contractions in the given pregnant woman;
- a heart rate sensor configured to measure a fetal heart rate of at least one fetus carried by the given pregnant woman, the measured fetal heart rate and intensity of uterine contractions forming the cardiotocographic data;
- a storage unit for a trained artificial intelligence model using a neural network, connected to a computing and display unit itself connected to the sensors
- the computing and display unit being configured to enable, subsequently to the training of the artificial intelligence model:
- pre-processing cardiotocographic data of the given pregnant woman;
- computing risk of fetal hypoxia at multiple points in time, based on processed cardiotocographic data measured at multiple points in time, using the trained artificial intelligence model,
wherein the artificial intelligence model is a neural network that has been trained in semi-supervised training mode:
- a first, unannotated database containing only pre-processed first cardiotocographic training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data; and then
- a second annotated database called "with fetal outcome", containing: pre-processed second training cardiotocographic data obtained for these pregnant women, and fetal outcome data enabling the assessment of fetal hypoxia at birth associated with these second training cardiotocographic data.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations recite: (a) “certain
methods of organizing human activity” because pre-processing CTG data of a pregnant mother and her fetus (e.g., via cleaning/normalizing the data, filling in missing values, etc.) and then computing risk of fetal hypoxia at birth at multiple (e.g., at least two) time points based on the pre-processed CTG data, first training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data, and pre-processed second training cardiotocographic data obtained for these pregnant women and fetal outcome data relates to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). Furthermore, the foregoing underlined limitations recite (b) “mental processes” because they are observations/evaluations/judgments/analyses that can, at the currently claimed high level of generality, be practically performed in the human mind (e.g., with pen and paper). These recitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are similar to how the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in the claims were characterized to be "mental processes" in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQe2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-9, 11, and 12 further define the at least one abstract idea (and thus fail to make the abstract idea any less abstract) as set forth below:
-Claim 2 recites how unannotated cardiotocographic data are derived from: records during labor, regardless of the number of hours before delivery, and/or records from pregnancy monitoring which just further defines the at least one abstract idea.
-Claim 3 calls for reproducing/computing indicators characterizing the course of the heart rates of the fetus from the cardiotocographic data of the first training database which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper (“mental processes”).
-Claim 4 calls for reproducing the cardiotocographic data of the first training database which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper (“mental processes”).
-Claim 5 calls for reproduce a part of a masked input signal constituted by the cardiotocographic data of the first database from a part of the input signal constituted by a part of the cardiotocographic data of the first pre-processed training database which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper (“mental processes”).
-Claim 6 recites how the indicators are selected from a baseline, computed as a sliding average of the fetal heart rate, excluding periods of acceleration and deceleration; a duration and number of critical cardiac events of the acceleration type, each critical cardiac event of the acceleration type being determined by a fetal heart rate above a nominal heart rate range defined around the baseline; etc. which just further defines the at least one abstract idea.
-Claim 7 recites how the risk of fetal hypoxia is computed from the processed cardiotocograph data and maternal/fetal clinical data of the given pregnant woman which just further defines the at least one abstract idea.
-Claim 8 recites how the maternal and/or fetal training clinical data of the given pregnant woman (FE) includes maternal data relating to pregnant women, including age; and/or fetal data relating to the fetus (FO) particularly comprising: gestational age and/or estimated fetal weight which just further defines the at least one abstract idea.
-Claim 9 recites how the maternal and/or fetal clinical data is selected from the following list:- maternal data on pregnant women, particularly comprising: body mass index, parity, indication of a singleton or twin pregnancy; and/or - fetal data relating to the fetus (FO), particularly comprising sex; and/or - delivery data including, particularly comprising: suspected intrauterine infection through measurement of the pregnant woman's temperature, presence of vascular pathology such as gestational hypertension, pre-eclampsia, presence of gestational diabetes, cervical dilatation measurement; all of which just further defines the at least one abstract idea.
-Claim 11 calls for computing, by applying a mathematical regression model, a statistical fetal hypoxia risk for the given woman and computing a contribution of the set of indicators to the statistical risk of fetal hypoxia, the mathematical regression model being of the type that makes it possible to determine a weighting coefficient for each parameter involved in computing the indicators and/or the risk of fetal hypoxia which is practically performable in the human mind (“mental processes”) and amounts to “mathematical concepts” because it relates to mathematical calculations.
-Claim 12 recites how the mathematical regression model is a logistic regression model, wherein the fetal hypoxia risk is defined as a particular equation which amounts to “mathematical concepts” because it relates to mathematical calculations.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted at MPEP §2106.04(II)(A)(2), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.” MPEP §2106.05(I)(A).
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted at least one abstract idea recited in the claim are as follows (where the bolded portions are the “additional limitations” while the underlined portions continue to represent the at least one “abstract idea”):
A system for evaluating a situation of a given pregnant woman, the system comprising:
- a uterine contraction sensor configured to measure an intensity of uterine contractions in the given pregnant woman (extra-solution activity (data gathering) as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(g));
- a heart rate sensor configured to measure a fetal heart rate of at least one fetus carried by the given pregnant woman (extra-solution activity (data gathering) as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), the measured fetal heart rate and intensity of uterine contractions forming the cardiotocographic data;
- a storage unit for a trained artificial intelligence model using a neural network, connected to a computing and display unit itself connected to the sensors (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below and/or merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished, see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
- the computing and display unit being configured to enable, subsequently to the training of the artificial intelligence model (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below and/or merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)):
- pre-processing cardiotocographic data of the given pregnant woman;
- computing risk of fetal hypoxia at multiple points in time, based on processed cardiotocographic data measured at multiple points in time, using the trained artificial intelligence model (merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)),
wherein the artificial intelligence model is a neural network that has been trained in semi-supervised training mode (merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)):
- a first, unannotated database containing only (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) pre-processed first cardiotocographic training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data; and then
- a second annotated database called "with fetal outcome", containing: (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) pre-processed second training cardiotocographic data obtained for these pregnant women, and fetal outcome data enabling the assessment of fetal hypoxia at birth associated with these second training cardiotocographic data.
For the following reasons, the Examiner submits that the above-identified additional limitations, when considered as a whole with the limitations reciting the at least one abstract idea, do not integrate the above-noted at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitation of the uterine contraction sensor configured to measure an intensity of uterine contractions in the given pregnant woman, the Examiner submits that this additional limitation merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering; selecting data to be manipulated) to the at least one abstract idea in a manner that does not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the additional limitation of the heart rate sensor configured to measure a fetal heart rate of at least one fetus carried by the given pregnant woman, the measured fetal heart rate and intensity of uterine contractions forming the cardiotocographic data, the Examiner submits that this additional limitation merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering; selecting data to be manipulated) to the at least one abstract idea in a manner that does not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the additional limitations of the storage unit connected to a computing and display unit connected to the sensors along with the first and second databases, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations of the AI model being trained in a semi-supervised mode with the unannotated and annotated training data and used to perform the (abstract ideas) of pre-processing the cardiotocograph data of the pregnant women and compute the fetal hypoxia risk at multiple time points, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Claims drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves those results, are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101.” Beteiro, LLC v. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2024). Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. Requirements that the machine learning model be “iteratively trained” or dynamically adjusted do not represent a technological improvement because iterative training using selected training material and dynamic adjustments based on real-time changes are incident to the very nature of machine learning. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), p. 12. “[T]he way machine learning works is the inputs are defined, the model is trained, and then the algorithm is actually updated and improved over time based on the input.” Id.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, looking at the additional limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. MPEP §2106.05(I)(A) and §2106.04(II)(A)(2).
For these reasons, independent claim 1 does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, independent claim is directed to at least one abstract idea.
The remaining dependent claim limitations not addressed above fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as set forth below:
-Claim 3 calls for training the cardiotocograph data processing blocks of the NN with the first training data to perform the (abstract idea of) reproducing the indicators which amounts to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Again, claims drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves those results, are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101.” Beteiro, LLC v. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2024). Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. “[T]he way machine learning works is the inputs are defined, the model is trained, and then the algorithm is actually updated and improved over time based on the input.” Id, p. 12.
-Claim 4 calls for training the cardiotocograph data processing blocks of the NN with the first training data to perform the (abstract idea of) reproducing the first training data which amounts to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Again, claims drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves those results, are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101.” Beteiro, LLC v. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2024). Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. “[T]he way machine learning works is the inputs are defined, the model is trained, and then the algorithm is actually updated and improved over time based on the input.” Id, p. 12.
-Claim 5 calls for training the cardiotocograph data processing blocks of the NN with the first training data to perform the (abstract idea of) reproducing a part of a masked input signal constituted by the cardiotocographic data of the first database from a part of the input signal constituted by a part of the cardiotocographic data of the first pre-processed training database which amounts to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Again, claims drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves those results, are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101.” Beteiro, LLC v. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2024). Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. “[T]he way machine learning works is the inputs are defined, the model is trained, and then the algorithm is actually updated and improved over time based on the input.” Id, p. 12.
-Claim 7 recite how the computing and display unit are configured to enable the inputting/recording of the maternal/fetal clinical data and computing of the fetal hypoxia risk with the cardiotocograph and maternal/fetal clinical data which just amounts to using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
-Claim 11 recites how the computing and display unit is configured to perform various computations and simultaneously display the risk of fetal hypoxia and indicator contributions which just amounts to using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). This claim also recites how the mathematical regression model is of the type that makes it possible to determine a weighting coefficient for each parameter involved in computing the indicators and/or the risk of fetal hypoxia which does no more than generally link use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use without adding an inventive concept to the abstract idea or altering how the abstract idea is carried out (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
-Claim 13 recites how the AI model is trained from a pH measurement at the umbilical cord of the fetus (FO), with a pH value below 7.15 qualifying as moderate or severe fetal hypoxia, and a pH value below 7.05 qualifying as severe fetal hypoxia; and/or gasometry measurements on the umbilical cord, in order, for example, to detect a base concentration greater than 12 mmol/L or a lactate concentration greater than 6 mmol/L; and/or an Apgar score; and/or possible hospitalization of the fetus (FO) in intensive care for suspected fetal hypoxia which amounts to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Again, claims drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves those results, are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101.” Beteiro, LLC v. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2024). Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. “[T]he way machine learning works is the inputs are defined, the model is trained, and then the algorithm is actually updated and improved over time based on the input.” Id, p. 12.
-Claim 14 recites how the artificial intelligence model is trained from cardiotocography recordings of pregnant women comprising: a first, unannotated database, comprising the pre-childbirth records of pregnant women; a second annotated database called "with fetal outcome", comprising records located at most 40 minutes, advantageously at most 30 minutes, before the birth of the fetus (FO) carried by these pregnant women and annotated with fetal outcome data; and advantageously, maternal and/or fetal clinical data (DCL) from these women, whose fetal outcome is known. These limitations just amount to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Again, claims drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves those results, are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101.” Beteiro, LLC v. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2024). Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. “[T]he way machine learning works is the inputs are defined, the model is trained, and then the algorithm is actually updated and improved over time based on the input.” Id, p. 12.
-Claim 15 calls for communication means between, on the one hand, the uterine contraction sensor and the heart rate sensor and, on the other hand, the computing and display unit , so that the system (1) can be used on an outpatient basis or at home, the computing and/or display of the risk of fetal hypoxia being designed to be monitored remotely by a practitioner. These limitations just amount to using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
-Claim 16 recite how the cardiotocographic data processing blocks are a convolutional neural network or a transformer based on the attention mechanism, or a recurrent network, for example of the LSTM type, which does no more than generally link use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use without adding an inventive concept to the abstract idea or altering how the abstract idea is carried out (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
-Claim 17 recites how the artificial intelligence model is a neural network that has been trained through semi-supervised training with, as input in addition to the training cardiotocographic data, the indicators computed therefrom. These limitations just amount to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Again, claims drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves those results, are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101.” Beteiro, LLC v. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2024). Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. “[T]he way machine learning works is the inputs are defined, the model is trained, and then the algorithm is actually updated and improved over time based on the input.” Id, p. 12.
When the above additional limitations are considered as a whole along with the limitations directed to the at least one abstract idea, the at least one abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to at least one abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of the storage unit connected to a computing and display unit connected to the sensors along with the first and second databases, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations of the AI model being trained in a semi-supervised mode with the unannotated and annotated training data and used to perform the (abstract ideas) of pre-processing the cardiotocograph data of the pregnant women and compute the fetal hypoxia risk at multiple time points, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Claims drafted using largely (if not entirely) result-focused functional language, containing no specificity about how the purported invention achieves those results, are almost always found to be ineligible for patenting under Section 101.” Beteiro, LLC v. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2024). Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. Requirements that the machine learning model be “iteratively trained” or dynamically adjusted do not represent a technological improvement because iterative training using selected training material and dynamic adjustments based on real-time changes are incident to the very nature of machine learning. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), p. 12. “[T]he way machine learning works is the inputs are defined, the model is trained, and then the algorithm is actually updated and improved over time based on the input.” Id.
Regarding the additional limitations directed to the uterine contraction sensor configured to measure an intensity of uterine contractions in the given pregnant woman which the Examiner submits merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as discussed above, the Examiner has reevaluated such limitations and determined such limitations to not be unconventional as evidenced by at least [0002] of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2014/0266775 to Moon et al. which discloses “Physical parameters exhibited by a woman in labor in the form of uterine contractions are conventionally monitored using a sensor in the form of a tocodynamometer (hereinafter a "toco"), an intrauterine pressure catheter (hereinafter an "IUPC"), or both types of sensors. Ideally, it is desirable to monitor amplitude, frequency and duration of contractions prior to delivery of an infant. Other physical parameters are also monitored using other types of sensors.” MPEP 2106.07(a)(III)(C))
Regarding the additional limitations directed to the heart rate sensor configured to measure a fetal heart rate of at least one fetus carried by the given pregnant woman which the Examiner submits merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as discussed above, the Examiner has reevaluated such limitations and determined such limitations to not be unconventional as evidenced by at least [0002] of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0116628 which discloses “Fetal heart monitoring is a common method for fetal monitoring that evaluates a fetus' condition in a uterus by monitoring its fetal heart rate. By monitoring fetuses during the perinatal period, it is possible to greatly reduce distresses due to hypoxia or ischemia and reduce birth defects or even deaths of the fetuses, while learning the growth condition of the fetus…As early as the beginning of the 19th century, obstetricians evaluated conditions of fetuses in uteruses by auscultation of hearts. With the development of ultrasound Doppler techniques, Electronic Fetal Monitoring (EFM) during parturition has now become the most popular method for fetal monitoring. The ultrasound Doppler measurement method is currently the most popular method for measuring fetal heart rate.” MPEP 2106.07(a)(III)(C))
The dependent claims also do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, claims 1-9 and 11-17 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2022/0175324 to Holder et al. (“Holder”) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0136298 to Pardasani et al. (“Pardasani”):
Regarding claim 1, Holder discloses a system for evaluating a situation of a given pregnant woman that may lead to fetal hypoxia ([0003] discloses a system for predicting fetal health outcomes such as fetal hypoxia per [0002] and [0073]), the system comprising:
- a uterine contraction sensor configured to measure an intensity of uterine contractions in the given pregnant woman ([0032], [0042] disclose a sensor for measuring uterine contractions);
- a heart rate sensor configured to measure a fetal heart rate of at least one fetus carried by the given pregnant woman ([0032], [0042], [0074] disclose a sensor for measuring FHR), the measured fetal heart rate and intensity of uterine contractions forming the cardiotocographic data ([0042] discloses cardiotocograph signals which is measured FHR and uterine contraction intensity);
- a storage unit (data storage device 320 in Figure 3) for a trained artificial intelligence model using a neural network (ML models 310 which can include one or more NNs per [0102]), connected to a computing and display unit (processor 322 and user interface 324 in Figure 3) itself connected to the sensors (e.g., via network 130 per Figure 1)
- the computing and display unit being configured to enable, subsequently to the training of the artificial intelligence model (ML models 310 are trained per [0037]):
- pre-processing cardiotocographic data of the given pregnant woman ([0304] discloses how signal analysis module 304 applies signal preprocessing techniques to the sensor data);
- computing risk of fetal hypoxia at multiple points in time, based on processed cardiotocographic data measured at multiple points in time, using the trained artificial intelligence model ([0109] discloses predicting maternal/fetal outcomes (which includes fetal hypoxia per [0002] and [0073]) during each of a plurality of monitoring sessions (multiple time points) based on processing the patient data (which includes the cardiotocographic data per [0042]) with the trained ML model(s),
wherein the artificial intelligence model is a neural network (ML models 310 which can include one or more NNs per [0102]) that has been trained in … training mode (ML models 310 are trained per [0037]):
…
- a second annotated database called "with fetal outcome", containing: pre-processed second training cardiotocographic data obtained for these pregnant women, and fetal outcome data enabling the assessment of fetal hypoxia at birth associated with these second training cardiotocographic data ([0065]-[0069], [0072] discusses historical training data for a plurality of patients including fetal ECG and uterine contractions (cardiotocograph data) and corresponding fetal outcomes used to train the ML models to predict fetal outcomes (which can be fetal hypoxia per [0002] and [0073]); the historical data 316 is stored in a database per Figure 1 and [0036]; furthermore, [0048], [0066] disclose extracting features from raw sensor data (pre-pre-processing).
However, Holder appears to be silent regarding a first, unannotated database containing only pre-processed first cardiotocographic training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data, such that the NN has been trained in a semi-supervised training mode.
Nevertheless, Pardasani teaches that it was known in the healthcare informatics and machine learning art to train a cardiotocograph pattern identification module 112 in the form of an ML model to identify patterns corresponding to physiological events ([0028], [0036]) such as fetal hypoxia (middle of [0051]), where the training data (associated with different mothers and their fetuses per [0022]) is pre-processed to prepare the training data for processing/use by the ML model ([0043]) and includes both annotated/labeled training cardiotocograph training samples and unannotated/unlabeled cardiotocograph training samples ([0039]) (where the unannotated training data would have no associated fetal outcome data because it is unannotated; also, [0039] does not disclose that the unannotated samples have any associated fetal outcome data), and where the training data is stored in data structures/databases ([0027]) such that the data structures that store the unannotated training data collectively represent a “first, unannotated database” and the data structures that store the annotated/labeled training data collectively represent a “second annotated database.” Training the ML model with both annotated and unannotated data (which amounts to “semi-supervised” training/learning) advantageously reduces the time and expense of manual data labeling by using more plentiful, easy to gather unannotated/unlabeled data, prevents overfitting, and improves performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the training of the NN of Holder to be a semi-supervised training mode that further includes a first, unannotated database containing only pre-processed first cardiotocographic training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data similar to as taught by Pardasani to advantageously reduces the time and expense of manual data labeling by using more plentiful, easy to gather unannotated/unlabeled data, prevents overfitting, and improves performance, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the unannotated cardiotocographic data are derived from: records during labor, regardless of the number of hours before delivery, and/or records from pregnancy monitoring ([0031] of Pardasani discloses how the training data (which thus includes the unannotated training data of [0039]) can be from onset of labor to delivery (no indication of number of hours before delivery) and/or from during monitoring during pregnancy); similar to as discussed previously, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the training of the NN of Holder to be a semi-supervised training mode that further includes a first, unannotated database containing only pre-processed first cardiotocographic training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data similar to as taught by Pardasani to advantageously reduces the time and expense of manual data labeling by using more plentiful, easy to gather unannotated/unlabeled data, prevents overfitting, and improves performance, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
Regarding claim 3, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the processing blocks of the cardiotocographic data of the neural network are trained with the training cardiotocographic data of the first non-annotated database (the ML model can include an NN per [0102] of Holder which necessarily includes “processing blocks”; furthermore, the processing blocks process the FHR and uterine contraction data (cardiotocograph data) as noted previously; still further, the training data of Holder includes a first non-annotated database per the above combination with Pardasani; again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the training of the NN of Holder to be a semi-supervised training mode that further includes a first, unannotated database containing only pre-processed first cardiotocographic training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data similar to as taught by Pardasani to advantageously reduces the time and expense of manual data labeling by using more plentiful, easy to gather unannotated/unlabeled data, prevents overfitting, and improves performance, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)), so as to reproduce indicators characterizing the course of the heart rates of the fetus, these indicators being computed from the cardiotocographic data of the first training database ([0066]-[0068] of Holder discloses automatically extracting and determining importance/weights of features (indicators) from the training data (again, which includes the data of the “first training database” per the combination with Pardasani); for instance, [0073] discloses how the features/indicators correspond to fetal heart rate (characterize course of heart rates of fetus); also for instance, [0108], [0111] discuss fetal heart rate satisfying thresholds and changes to fetal heart rate variability (characterizing course of heart rate of fetus)).
Regarding claim 6, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 3, further including wherein the indicators (IND) are selected from the following list:
- a baseline, computed as a sliding average of the fetal heart rate, excluding periods of acceleration and deceleration;
- a duration and number of critical cardiac events of the acceleration type, each critical cardiac event of the acceleration type being determined by a fetal heart rate above a nominal heart rate range defined around the baseline;
- a duration and number of critical cardiac events of the deceleration type, each critical cardiac event of the deceleration type being determined by a fetal heart rate below the nominal heart rate range defined around the baseline;
- fetal heart rate variability, defined as the derivative of fetal heart rate on different time scales ([0111] discloses changes in FHR variability between monitoring sessions (derivative of FHR on different time scales)).
Regarding claim 7, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the second database presents maternal and/or fetal training clinical data, in addition to pre-processed second training cardiotocographic data and fetal outcome data ([0066], [0099] of Holder discloses how the training data can also include other biometric data, mental health assessments, etc. (maternal/fetal training clinical data) relevant to a determination of fetal/maternal outcomes; as such clinical data is associated with mothers for whom outcomes are known per [0068], [0072], then the “second database” storing the pre-processed second training cardiotocographic data and fetal outcome data also includes the clinical data), and wherein the computing and display unit being configured to enable, subsequently to the training of the artificial intelligence model with the clinical data:
- the inputting or recording of maternal and/or fetal clinical data for the given pregnant woman, the clinical data being taken into account by the computing unit (the Abstract and [0099] of Holder disclose how maternal/fetal biometric/health assessment data (clinical data) may also be input to the ML model to generate the predicted outcomes);
- the computing of a risk of fetal hypoxia at multiple instants and from cardiotocographic data processed and measured at multiple instants, and clinical data of the given pregnant woman, using the trained artificial intelligence model (the Abstract and [0099] of Holder disclose how the maternal/fetal biometric/health assessment data (clinical data) may also be input to the ML model to generate the predicted outcomes (e.g., fetal hypoxia per [0002] and [0073]) during each of a plurality of monitoring sessions (multiple time points) per [0109]).
Regarding claim 8, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 7, further including wherein the maternal and/or fetal training clinical data of the given pregnant woman and pregnant women for training, are selected from the following list:
- maternal data relating to pregnant women, including age; and/or
- fetal data relating to the fetus particularly comprising: gestational age and/or estimated fetal weight ([0066], [0099] of Holder disclose how the training maternal/fetal data can include weight).
Regarding claim 9, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 7, further including wherein the maternal and/or fetal clinical data are selected from the following list:
- maternal data on pregnant women, particularly comprising: body mass index, parity, indication of a singleton or twin pregnancy ([0038] discloses BMI); and/or
- fetal data relating to the fetus (FO), particularly comprising sex; and/or
- delivery data including, particularly comprising: suspected intrauterine infection through measurement of the pregnant woman's temperature, presence of vascular pathology such as gestational hypertension, pre-eclampsia, presence of gestational diabetes, cervical dilatation measurement.
Regarding claim 13, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained from at least one of the following data representative of the fetal outcome:
- a pH measurement at the umbilical cord of the fetus, with a pH value below 7.15 qualifying as moderate or severe fetal hypoxia, and a pH value below 7.05 qualifying as severe fetal hypoxia ([0066], [0099] discloses how the training data can include pH levels; also, [0076] discloses how fetal outcomes (which can be used to train the ML model per [0068], [0072]) can include cord blood gas pH level); and/or
- gasometry measurements on the umbilical cord, in order, for example, to detect a base concentration greater than 12 mmol/L or a lactate concentration greater than 6 mmol/L ([0067] discloses how the training data can include cord blood gas analysis); and/or
- an Apgar score ([0076] discloses how fetal outcomes (which can be used to train the ML model per [0068], [0072]) can include Apgar scores); and/or
- possible hospitalization of the fetus in intensive care for suspected fetal hypoxia.
Regarding claim 14, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained from cardiotocography recordings of pregnant women comprising:
- a first, unannotated database, comprising the pre-childbirth records of pregnant women (Pardasani discloses training a cardiotocograph pattern identification module 112 in the form of an ML model to identify patterns corresponding to physiological events ([0028], [0036]) such as fetal hypoxia (middle of [0051]), where the training data (associated with different mothers and their fetuses per [0022]) is pre-processed to prepare the training data for processing/use by the ML model ([0043]) and includes both annotated/labeled training cardiotocograph training samples and unannotated/unlabeled cardiotocograph training samples ([0039]) (where the unannotated training data would have no associated fetal outcome data because it is unannotated; also, [0039] does not disclose that the unannotated samples have any associated fetal outcome data), and where the training data is stored in data structures/databases ([0027]) such that the data structures that store the unannotated training data collectively represent a “first, unannotated database” and the data structures that store the annotated/labeled training data collectively represent a “second annotated database”; similar to as discussed previously, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the training of the NN of Holder to be a semi-supervised training mode that further includes a first, unannotated database containing only pre-processed first cardiotocographic training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data similar to as taught by Pardasani to advantageously reduces the time and expense of manual data labeling by using more plentiful, easy to gather unannotated/unlabeled data, prevents overfitting, and improves performance, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007));
- a second annotated database called "with fetal outcome", comprising records located at most 40 minutes, advantageously at most 30 minutes, before the birth of the fetus carried by these pregnant women and annotated with fetal outcome data ([0065]-[0069], [0072] of Holder discusses historical training data for a plurality of patients including fetal ECG and uterine contractions (cardiotocograph data) and corresponding fetal outcomes used to train the ML models to predict fetal outcomes (which can be fetal hypoxia per [0002] and [0073]); the historical data 316 is stored in a database per Figure 1 and [0036]; furthermore, [0048], [0066] disclose extracting features from raw sensor data (pre-pre-processing); and
advantageously, maternal and/or fetal clinical data from these women, whose fetal outcome is known ([0066], [0099] of Holder discloses how the training data can also include other biometric data, mental health assessments, etc. (maternal/fetal training clinical data) relevant to a determination of fetal/maternal outcomes; as such clinical data is associated with mothers for whom outcomes are known per [0068], [0072], then the “second database” storing the pre-processed second training cardiotocographic data and fetal outcome data also includes the clinical data).
Regarding claim 15, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the system comprises communication means between, on the one hand, the uterine contraction sensor and the heart rate sensor and, on the other hand, the computing and display unit, so that the system can be used on an outpatient basis or at home, the computing and/or display of the risk of fetal hypoxia being designed to be monitored remotely by a practitioner (Figure 1 and [0032]-[0039] of Holder illustrates/discloses various wireless/network connections (“communication means”) between the sensors and computing/display unit to allow the system to be used on an outpatient basis or at home (e.g., [0024], [0031]) and allow the computing/display of fetal hypoxia risk to be monitored remotely by a practitioner (e.g., [0036], [0047])).
Regarding claim 16, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the cardiotocographic data processing blocks are a convolutional neural network or a transformer based on the attention mechanism, or a recurrent network, for example of the LSTM type ([0102] of Holder discloses CNN, LSTM, where the blocks of the CNN/LSTM would process the previously discussed FHR/contraction (cardiotocograph) data).
Regarding claim 17, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the artificial intelligence model is a neural network ([0102] of Holder) that has been trained through semi-supervised training (the training of Holder is “semi-supervised” training per the combination with Pardasani; similar to discussed previously, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the training of the NN of Holder to be a semi-supervised training mode similar to as taught by Pardasani to advantageously reduces the time and expense of manual data labeling by using more plentiful, easy to gather unannotated/unlabeled data, prevents overfitting, and improves performance, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)) with, as input in addition to the training cardiotocographic data, the indicators computed therefrom ([0066]-[0068] of Holder discusses automatically extracting features/indicators used during training for predicting outcomes).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2022/0175324 to Holder et al. (“Holder”) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0136298 to Pardasani et al. (“Pardasani”), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,610,098 to Soliz et al. (“Soliz”):
Regarding claim 4, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the processing blocks of the cardiotocographic data of the neural network are trained with the training cardiotocographic data of the first non-annotated database (the ML model can include an NN per [0102] of Holder which necessarily includes “processing blocks”; furthermore, the processing blocks process the FHR and uterine contraction data (cardiotocograph data) as noted previously; still further, the training data of Holder includes a first non-annotated database per the above combination with Pardasani; again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the training of the NN of Holder to be a semi-supervised training mode that further includes a first, unannotated database containing only pre-processed first cardiotocographic training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data similar to as taught by Pardasani to advantageously reduces the time and expense of manual data labeling by using more plentiful, easy to gather unannotated/unlabeled data, prevents overfitting, and improves performance, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
However, the Holder/Pardasani combination might silent regarding the training being so as to reproduce the cardiotocographic data of the first training database.
Nevertheless, Soliz teaches (2:41-59; 9:49-10:35; 11:60-67) that it was known in the healthcare informatics and machine learning art for a neural network to include an autoencoder including an encoder that encodes input training date into a lower dimensional intermediate representation and a decoder that generates a reconstruction of the input (reproduces the input) with a goal of minimizing differences between the original and reconstructed input/decoded output to advantageously learn an intermediate representation of the input suitable for computer processing that minimizes information loss and to use the lowest dimensionality intermediate representation as input to a classifier for detecting medical conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for above training of the Holder/Pardasani combination being so as to reproduce the cardiotocographic data of the first training database as taught by Soliz to advantageously learn an intermediate representation of the input suitable for computer processing that minimizes information loss and to use the lowest dimensionality intermediate representation as input to a classifier for detecting medical conditions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2022/0175324 to Holder et al. (“Holder”) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0136298 to Pardasani et al. (“Pardasani”), and further in view of NPL “Masked Autoencoders Are Scalable Vision Learners” to He et al. (“He”):
Regarding claim 5, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 1, further including wherein the processing blocks of the cardiotocographic data of the neural network are trained with the training cardiotocographic data of the first non-annotated database (the ML model can include an NN per [0102] of Holder which necessarily includes “processing blocks”; furthermore, the processing blocks process the FHR and uterine contraction data (cardiotocograph data) as noted previously; still further, the training data of Holder includes a first non-annotated database per the above combination with Pardasani; again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the training of the NN of Holder to be a semi-supervised training mode that further includes a first, unannotated database containing only pre-processed first cardiotocographic training data obtained from pregnant women, with no fetal outcome data associated with these first cardiotocographic training data similar to as taught by Pardasani to advantageously reduces the time and expense of manual data labeling by using more plentiful, easy to gather unannotated/unlabeled data, prevents overfitting, and improves performance, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
However, the Holder/Pardasani combination might silent regarding the training being so as to reproduce from a part of the input signal constituted by a part of the cardiotocographic data of the first pre-processed training database, a part of the masked input signal constituted by the cardiotocographic data of the first database.
Nevertheless, He teaches (pp. 15979-15981) that it was known in the machine learning art to mask a portion of input training data and train an autoencoder to learn how to accurately reconstruct (reproduce) the masked portions to advantageously reduce training computation/memory usage and improve downstream processing tasks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the training of the Holder/Pardasani combination being so as to reproduce from a part of the input signal constituted by a part of the cardiotocographic data of the first pre-processed training database, a part of the masked input signal constituted by the cardiotocographic data of the first database as taught by He to advantageously reduce training computation/memory usage and improve downstream processing tasks. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2022/0175324 to Holder et al. (“Holder”) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0136298 to Pardasani et al. (“Pardasani”), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,657,901 to Abdolahi et al. (“Abdolahi”):
Regarding claim 11, the Holder/Pardasani combination discloses the system according to claim 3, further including wherein the computing and display unit is configured to, at the given display frequency:
- compute, by applying a mathematical regression model, a statistical fetal hypoxia risk for the given woman ([0070]-[0071] of Holder discloses using the ML models to generate a probability (statistical risk) of a predicted outcome (which can be fetal hypoxia per [0002] and [0073]) where the ML models can include linear/logistic regression techniques); and
- compute a contribution of this set of indicators to the statistical risk of fetal hypoxia ([0066]-[0068] of Holder discloses automatically extracting and determining importance/weights of features (indicators) with respect to a strength of association of the features/indicators in predicting the outcome (again, which can be fetal hypoxia per [0002] and [0073])), and … display the risk of fetal hypoxia computed by artificial intelligence ([0105] discloses generating and displaying reports including the predicted outcomes, where such display is necessarily at some “given display frequency”)…,
wherein the mathematical regression model is of the type that makes it possible to determine a weighting coefficient for each parameter involved in computing the indicators and/or the risk of fetal hypoxia ([0068] of Holder discloses how a feature extractor of the AI engine (again, which can include regression techniques as noted above) can determine feature importance/weights for each of the features/indicators involved in predicting/computing the outcomes (which can be fetal hypoxia per [0002] and [0073])).
However, the Holder/Pardasani combination might be silent regarding simultaneously displaying the risk of fetal hypoxia and the contribution of these indicators to the statistical risk of fetal hypoxia.
Nevertheless, Abdolahi teaches that it was known in the healthcare informatics and machine learning art to utilize ML models to predict health outcomes and determine feature importance in reaching the predicted outcomes (9:62-11:17) and to simultaneously display the predicted outcomes and corresponding features/indicators (Figs. 4-5 and 12:58-13:45) which advantageously allows medical professionals to more specifically understand the causes of a predicted outcome thereby facilitating determination of appropriate treatment approaches.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simultaneously displayed the risk of fetal hypoxia and the contribution of these indicators to the statistical risk of fetal hypoxia in the system of the Holder/Pardasani combination as taught by Abdolahi to advantageously allow medical professionals to more specifically understand the causes of a predicted outcome thereby facilitating determination of appropriate treatment approaches, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL “Detection of Preventable Fetal Distress During Labor From Scanned Cardiotocogram Tracings Using Deep Learning” discloses use of a unique archive of EFM data collected over 50 years of practice in conjunction with adverse outcomes and presentation of a deep learning framework for training and detection of incipient or past fetal injury. 94% accuracy in identifying early, preventable fetal injury intrapartum is reported and the framework is suited for automating an early warning and decision support system for maintaining fetal well-being during the stresses of labor. Ultimately, such a system could enable obstetrical care providers to timely respond during labor and prevent both urgent intervention and adverse outcomes. When adverse outcomes cannot be avoided, they can provide guidance to the early neuroprotective treatment of the newborn.
NPL “A Machine Learning Approach for the Prediction of Fetal Health using CTG” discloses use of machine learning models for predicting fetal health using CTG data. Several classifiers such as Logistic Regression, KNN, Random Forest, and Gradient Boosting Machine(GBM) have been used for the purpose, and their performance was evaluated in terms of accuracy, precision, recall, and F1-score. Experimental results show that Random Forest has the highest accuracy of 0.99.
NPL “Classification of Normal and Hypoxic Fetuses From Systems Modeling of Intrapartum Cardiotocography” discloses modeling cardiotocograph data as an input–output system using a system identification approach to estimate their dynamic relation in terms of an impulse response function. FHR baseline was modeled with a linear fit and FHR variability unrelated to UP using the power spectral density, computed from an auto-regressive model. Using a perinatal database of normal and pathological cases, support vector-machine classifiers were trained with feature sets from these models. These results demonstrate the utility of the method for the early detection of cases needing clinical intervention.
US 20240170147 A1 discloses a computer implemented method of training a machine learning model for prediction of unplanned Cesarean Delivery (uCD), comprising: creating or receiving a multi-record training dataset, wherein a record comprises: at least one fetal biometric parameter of a sample fetus obtained by an ultrasonography device, at least one personal parameter of a sample mother of the sample fetus, and a ground truth indicating whether a birth of the sample fetus by the sample mother was a uCD, and training the machine learning model on the multi-record training dataset for generating an outcome indicating likelihood of uCD for a target mother in response to an input of at least one fetal biometric parameter of a target fetus of the target mother and at least one personal parameter of the target mother.
US 20230178244 A1 discloses systems/techniques that facilitate two-tiered machine learning generation of birth risk score. In various embodiments, a system can access a plurality of medical feature collections associated with a pregnant patient. In various aspects, the system can generate, via execution of a plurality of first trained machine learning models, a plurality of embedded features based on the plurality of medical feature collections. In various instances, the system can compute, via execution of a second trained machine learning model, a risk score based on the plurality of embedded features, wherein the risk score indicates an amount of risk to a health of the pregnant patient or a health of a fetus of the pregnant patient that is associated with performing a caesarian-section on the pregnant patient or with waiting for the pregnant patient to give birth naturally.
/JONATHON A. SZUMNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686