Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on May 18, 2026:
The abstract is amended.
Claims 12-13 are canceled.
Claim 22 is newly added.
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 14-21 are amended.
Claims 1-11, and 14-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In response to the remarks filed on May 18, 2026:
a. Objection to the abstract is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
b. Objection to claim 15 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
c. Applicant’s remarks regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 1-11, and 14-22 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
(i) Per step 2A – Prong 1, Applicant argues that each of the amended independent claims is not directed to an abstract idea because it recites specific, structured technical solution executed by a display controller/GPU to solve the technical problem of a relatively monotonous page background display.
This remark is unpersuasive. Under MPEP 2106.04(a), eligibility is evaluated based on the limitations explicitly recited in the body of the claim, not arguments or descriptions residing solely in the specification or response. Each independent claim recites high-level functional steps of receiving a first search operation, displaying a first search result, displaying a first page background, and displaying a second page background. Each claim contains no recitation of a display controller, GPU, graphics pipeline, framebuffer, or specialized rendering algorithm. Further, the collection of search queries, matching of data, and selective display of backgrounds based on search results fall directly into the judicial exceptions of Certain Functional Mental Processes (organizing and presenting information) and Concepts Relating to Managing Relationships or Building Human Interactions. Organizing page regions and changing visual backgrounds based on search context can be performed via mental logic or conventional computer functions for presented data (see Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstrom S.A.). Therefore, each independent claim remains redirected to an abstract idea.
(ii) Per step 2A – Prong 2, Applicant argues that each of the independent claims integrates the abstract idea into a practical application by enriching the search results page and improving the visual effect.
This argument is unpersuasive since an improvement to the visual layout, screen aesthetics, or making a display less monotonous is a change to user experience/presentation of content, not an improvement to the operational functioning of a computer or technological process (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). Each independent claim recites generic computer display operations, i.e., displaying a search result, displaying a page background. Merely applying an abstract data organization concept on a generic GUI without reciting a technical improvement to display hardware, memory bandwidth, or processing efficiency fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
(iii) Per step 2B, Applicant argues that displaying two distinct, region-specific backgrounds rendered simultaneously on the same results page is a non-conventional rendering configuration that supplies an inventive concept.
This argument is unpersuasive. Each independent claim recites the desired result of showing two backgrounds in two regions matching two search operations rather than the specific, non-conventional technical mechanism, e.g., specific memory pointers, GPU buffer compositing algorithms) used to achieve that result. Displaying multiple visual containers or regions with distinct background colors or images on a screen is a well-understood, routing, and conventional (WURC) activity in GUI design (see Interval Licensing LLC v AOL, Inc.). Simply tying the selection of conventional visual backgrounds to search context does not transform the abstract concept into patent eligible subject matter.
(iv) Because independent claims 1, 14, and 15 are directed to an abstract idea, fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and lack an inventive concept , the rejections of such claims and their respective dependent claims are maintained (including rejection for newly added claim 22 which is identical to claim 2).
d. Applicant’s remarks regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-10, and 14-21 have been fully considered. Applicant is noted that the each of the amended claims 1, 14, and 15 now narrows the technical state transition of the background layer requiring the specific second region’s background to transition into the global background. Thus, each independent claim necessitates a new ground of rejection presented here on (including rejection for newly added claim 22 which is identical to claim 2).
e. 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11 is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the Applicant’s submission of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on April 3, 2026 is acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the Examiner is attached to the instant Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention in claims 1-11, and 14-22 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-11, and 14-22 pass step 1 of the 35 U.S.C. 101 analysis since each claim is either directed to a method, an electronic device comprising at least one processor and at least on memory storing computer program executable by the at least one processor (i.e., hardware components such as RAM, ROM, CPU, GPU as known in the art per Figure 7 and [0131]-[0136] of instant specification); or a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.
(i) Claims 1, and 14-15 recite each, in part, elements that are directed to an abstract idea (“Courts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind.” Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015)). Each independent claim recites high-level functional steps of receiving a first search operation, displaying a first search result, displaying a first page background, and displaying a second page background. Each claim contains no recitation of a display controller, GPU, graphics pipeline, framebuffer, or specialized rendering algorithm. Further, the collection of search queries, matching of data, and selective display of backgrounds based on search results fall directly into the judicial exceptions of Certain Functional Mental Processes (organizing and presenting information) and Concepts Relating to Managing Relationships or Building Human Interactions. Organizing page regions and changing visual backgrounds based on search context can be performed via mental logic or conventional computer functions for presented data (see Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstrom S.A.). Therefore, each independent claim remains redirected to an abstract idea.
Per step 2A – Prong 2, each independent claim recites generic computer display operations, i.e., displaying a search result, displaying a page background. Merely applying an abstract data organization concept on a generic GUI without reciting a technical improvement to display hardware, memory bandwidth, or processing efficiency fails to integrate the exception into a practical application
Per step 2B, Each independent claim recites the desired result of showing two backgrounds in two regions matching two search operations rather than the specific, non-conventional technical mechanism, e.g., specific memory pointers, GPU buffer compositing algorithms) used to achieve that result. Displaying multiple visual containers or regions with distinct background colors or images on a screen is a well-understood, routing, and conventional (WURC) activity in GUI design (see Interval Licensing LLC v AOL, Inc.). Simply tying the selection of conventional visual backgrounds to search context does not transform the abstract concept into patent eligible subject matter. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in each claim, thus, the claims are ineligible.
Claims 2, and 22 then each defines which data is being organized to a respective displayed region as displaying a video card…in the first page region…, and displaying the search result in the second page region… This is merely the abstract concept of spatial organization of data. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 3 further recites …a width of the first page region is associated with a width of the search results page, and a height …is associated with a height of the video card which is mathematical relationship and a design choice of selecting width and height to display data. This is not a technical improvement to computer functionality. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claims 4, and 16 further recite in each claim …displaying the video card…in the first page region…, and playing a video in a first card region… which a WURC activity in any graphical user interface of video playback. Each claim lacks a ”how-to” element (e.g., a specific algorithm) that would make it a technical improvement. Thus, the claims are ineligible.
Claims 5, and 17-18 further recite in each claim partitioning the video card in to second, third, fourth regions for sub-event, object, and prompt information which merely describes categorizing data into specific boxes/regions based on content of the data (e.g., prompt vs object). This is a matter of information presentation as it simply applies positional data arrangement and does not improve the computer’s operation. Thus, the claims are ineligible.
Claim 6 further recites …after the display the video card…in the first page region…, displaying live information / object details…in response to a trigger operation… This is the abstract concept of displaying more data upon request (e.g., a functional mental process of visualizing additional data when a certain condition is met). The claim lacks a ”how-to” element (e.g., a specific algorithm) that would make it a technical improvement. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 7 further recites …after the display the video card…in the first page region…: adjusting a display size of the first object image, in response to…moving a cursor… The This is a WURC activity of mouse-over or mouse-hover effect to preview an image. The claim lacks a ”how-to” element (e.g., a specific algorithm) that would make it a technical improvement. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claims 8, and 19-21 further recite in each claim a first page component; and a component background….is associated with a page background… This is the concept of a “pinned” or “static” UI element using visual layering which is WURC technique used in every modern windowing system (e.g., Windows, MacOS). Each claim simply describes the visual result of “layering” which is an abstract concept without improving the underlying computer’s technology (e.g., a new way of managing the frame buffer of GPU memory). Thus, the claims are ineligible.
Claim 9 recites moving the background while preset component remains unchanged. This is considered as a WURC method of organizing visual information to create depth (e.g., Parallax Effect) found in every modern windowing system (e.g., Windows, MacOS). The claim simply describes the visual result of controlling a display which is an abstract concept without improving the underlying computer’s technology (e.g., a new way of managing the frame buffer of GPU memory). Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 10 recites …overlaying a background layer on top of an original background…” This is considered as a WURC method of organizing visual information using connected presentation layers to display data which can be found in every modern windowing system (e.g., Windows, MacOS). The claim simply describes the visual result of controlling a display which is an abstract concept without improving the underlying computer’s technology (e.g., a new way of managing the frame buffer of GPU memory). Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 11 recites …overlaying the first background layer on top of the original background…” This is considered as a WURC method of organizing visual information using connected presentation layers to display data which can be found in every modern windowing system (e.g., Windows, MacOS). The claim simply describes the visual result of controlling a display which is an abstract concept without improving the underlying computer’s technology (e.g., a new way of managing the frame buffer of GPU memory). Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cormican (Pub. No. US 2020/0301965, published on September 24, 2020) in view of White (Pub. No. US 2018/0246898, published on August 30, 2018) and further in view of Dunn et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0314419, published on December 22, 2011; hereinafter Dunn).
Regarding claims 1, and 14-15, Cormican clearly shows and discloses a method of page displaying (Abstract); an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory in communicative connection with the at least one processor; wherein at least one memory stores at least one computer program executable by the at least one processor, and the at least one computer program is executed by the at least one processor, so that the at least one processor is capable of executing the method of page displaying; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium has computer instructions stored thereon, and the computer instructions, when executed by a processor (Figure 1), implement the method of page displaying, comprising:
receiving a first search operation for first information (a user of the client device may enter a search query to obtain specific media content items for viewing. The client device may send the search query to a search engine platform configured to search a data store of a content sharing platform for media content items related to the search query. For example, the user of the client device may initiate a search for videos of a famous Hollywood actor by submitting a search query including the name of the actor, [0031]);
in response to the first search operation, displaying a first search result on a search results page (providing a user interface including a focus area and a scrollable search area. The focus area may be configured to present a preview of a media content item corresponding to a specific search result item that the user has indicated an interest in viewing, [0033]-[0035]), displaying a first page region in the search results page, and displaying a second page region in the search results page, wherein the first search result matches the first information (in FIG. 4F 50% of search result item 441, corresponding to the content media item for “Movie ABC” is displayed within the bottom 50% of the focus area 430. The top 50% of the focus area 430 continues to display the preview video for content media item related to Movie XYZ. In another example, if only the top 5% of a search result item overlaps with the focus area 430, then the display component 215 will display only the top 5% of the corresponding preview video within the bottom 5% of the focus area 430, while the top 95% of the focus area 430 will still display the bottom 95% of the previous preview video. Concurrent presentation of both preview videos for movies XYZ and ABC enables a seamless playing of preview videos for the user, [0095]. It is clear that presentation of both preview videos for movies XYZ and ABC enables a seamless playing of preview videos for the user).
White then discloses wherein the first information is associated with a first event, the first event comprises at least one of a second event and a first sub-event of the second event in response to a second search operation for second information (identifying a first athletic event occurring near the location… identifying a first set of athletes participating in the first athletic event…identifying one or more athletes involve in a recent play by accessing a database of play-by-play information…identifying a second athletic event occurring near the location by accessing the database of schedule information relating to athletic events, identifying a second set of athletes participating in the second athletic event…, [0011]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of White with the teachings of Cormican for the purpose of allowing users searching for sports events to retrieve specific sub-events and preview them directly within the UI before opening full broadcasts.
Dunn then discloses:
displaying a first page background as a background of a first page region in the search results page, and displaying a second page background as a background of a second page region in the search results page (the background-image selecting component 216 can also select a number of images to be displayed as a background. In one embodiment, multiple images can be simultaneously displayed as a unified or dispersed background image, [0042]);
in response to a second search operation for second information (rather than displaying search results, upon selecting an icon image, performance of a task or application can be initiated, such as, providing instant answers that relate to the user query, identifying stores for purchasing merchandise (physical stores or virtual stores), generating a map, or performance of other tasks related to the search query or search results in association therewith, [0052]), displaying a second search result on the search results page, and displaying the second page background as a page background of the search results page (as illustrated in FIG. 4, the selected location icon 402 may appear larger and/or brighter to indicate that such an icon is currently selected. Although illustrated in FIG. 4 as a larger icon, upon selecting an icon image, such an icon image can be modified in any manner to provide an indication that the particular icon is the currently selected icon or most recently selected icon. Alternatively to modifying the icon image, another indicator can be provided in association with the icon image to provide such an indication (e.g., a highlight or symbol can be placed around or near the icon image), [0053]), wherein the second information is different from the first information, and the second search result matches the second information ( A suggested-query selector, as shown at 324 of FIG. 3, can be selected to display alternative search query suggestions. In this regard, the query suggestions can be provided based on interests of the user as identified from, for example, prior search routines. Although not illustrated, as can be appreciated, a background selector can also be associated with the background image such that, upon selection, an alternative background image(s) is displayed as a background for the search results. Such an alternative background image(s) can be displayed either simultaneously with the currently presented background image or subsequent to a currently presented background image, [0055]-[0056]. It is clear that a subsequent image might be displayed based on a user indication showing a retrieval interest).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of White with the teachings of Cormican, as modified by Dunn, for the purpose of establishing clearer visual organization and enhancing user engagement while preserving the functional visual distinction between display regions on a search results page.
Regarding claim 2, Cormican further discloses displaying the first search result on the search results page, comprises:
displaying a video card of the first event in the first page region of the search results page (the display component 215 may be configured to present a preview of a media content item corresponding to a specific search result item within the focus area 430, [0076]), and
displaying the first search result in the second page region of the search results page (the scrollable search result area 435 may display a subset of the plurality of search result items received from the search engine platform 150, [00723]).
Regarding claim 3, Cormican further discloses:
a width of the first page region is associated with a width of the search results page (Figures 4C-4D show the width of region 430 is associated with a width of the search results page); and
a height of the first page region is associated with a height of the video card
(the display component 215 may be configured to display the focus area 430 with a configured height relative to the size of the display for the client device 110A, [0075]).
Regarding claims 4, and 16, Cormican further discloses displaying the video card of the first event in the first page region of the search results page, comprises:
displaying the video card of the first event in the first page region of the search results page (the display component 215 may be configured to present a preview of a media content item corresponding to a specific search result item within the focus area 430, [0076]), and
playing a video in a first card region of the video card, wherein the video corresponds to event state information of the first event (the preview request received may contain a request for a preview related to the media content item movie XYZ. The preview component 140 may maintain one or more related preview videos for the media content item movie XYZ. For instance, preview videos for movie XYZ may include other media content items such as a trailer of the movie, selected video clips of the movie, related summary videos of the movie, the actual video of movie XYZ, or any other associated video related to movie XYZ, [0078]. The preview component 140 sends, via the network 105, a preview video of the media content item corresponding to the search result item. At block 515, the display component 215 renders and presents the preview video of the media content item within the focus area 430, [0081]).
Regarding claim 5, and 17-18, Cormican then discloses the video card comprises at least one of a second card region, a third card region, and a fourth card region;
the second card region is used for exhibiting sub-event state information of at least one sub-event in the second event;
the third card region is used for exhibiting object information of at least one associated object of the second event (in FIG. 4F 50% of search result item 441, corresponding to the content media item for “Movie ABC” is displayed within the bottom 50% of the focus area 430. The top 50% of the focus area 430 continues to display the preview video for content media item related to Movie XYZ, [0095]. It is clear that the video card is the focus area 430 which can be split into 2 sub-regions. One sub-region is utilized for displaying “Movie ABC” at 50% of the height of focus area 430. The other sub-region is utilized for displaying “Movie XYZ” at the remaining 50% of the height of the focus area 430); and
the fourth card region is used for exhibiting associated prompt information of the first event.
Regarding claim 6, Cormican further discloses after the displaying the video card of the first event in the first page region of the search results page, the method further comprises at least one of the following:
displaying live information of the first sub-event corresponding to the first sub-event state information, in response to a trigger operation for the first sub-event state information;
displaying object details of a target associated object corresponding to first object information, in response to a trigger operation for the first object information (If the user swipes in a specific direction causing one of the search result items to shift its location into the focus area, reach the focus area or be located within at least a predetermined distance from the focus area, then the client device may initiate a preview of the media content item corresponding to the shifted search result item in the focus area, [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Cormican further discloses the object information comprises an object image, and after the displaying the video card of the first event in the first page region of the search results page, the method further comprises:
adjusting a display size of the first object image, in response to a trigger operation of moving a cursor into a display region where the first object image is located (in FIG. 4F 50% of search result item 441, corresponding to the content media item for “Movie ABC” is displayed within the bottom 50% of the focus area 430. The top 50% of the focus area 430 continues to display the preview video for content media item related to Movie XYZ. In another example, if only the top 5% of a search result item overlaps with the focus area 430, then the display component 215 will display only the top 5% of the corresponding preview video within the bottom 5% of the focus area 430, while the top 95% of the focus area 430 will still display the bottom 95% of the previous preview video. Concurrent presentation of both preview videos for movies XYZ and ABC enables a seamless playing of preview videos for the user, [0095]).
Regarding claims 8, and 19-21, Cormican further discloses the search results page further displays a first page component; and a component background of the first page component is associated with a page background in a current display position of the first page component (Upon receiving the plurality of search result items, the processing logic presents a search results user interface (UI) that includes a scrollable search result area and a focus area (block 310). FIG. 4C illustrates an example embodiment of a search results UI including the search text box 410, a focus area 430, and a scrollable search result area 435. Other embodiments of the search results UI may include displaying the focus area 430 and the scrollable search result area 435 without the search text box 410. Yet other embodiments may also include the display of the input keyboard 420 that may allow a user to input search text when updating the search request. Embodiments of the search results UI may include displaying the search text box 410, the focus area 430, the scrollable search result area 435, and/or the input keyboard 420 in different locations within the user interface, [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Cormican further discloses in response to a page content switch operation (At block 320, the processing logic determines whether the received user gesture indicates a user interest in a second media content item. In an embodiment, the gesture component 210 determines whether the received user gesture is a user gesture indicating an interest in a specific search result item, which causes the specific search result item to move into the focus area 430, [0087]), controlling the first search result and the page background of the search results page to move and updating the component background of the first page component based on the page background in the current display position of the first page component, wherein the display position of the first page component on a screen remains unchanged (The gesture component 210 may then cause the search result items 441-444 to shift upwards such that search result item 443 is located in the focus area 430 and search result item 444 is located at a location, within the scrollable search result area 435, directly below the focus area 430. In an embodiment, when the search result items 441-444 shift upwards, the display component 215 may determine a new subset of search result items from the plurality of search result items and render and display an updated search results UI with search result items 444-447 within the scrollable search result area 435, as depicted in FIG. 4E, [0087]).
Regarding claim 10, Cormican and Dunn further disclose displaying the first page background as the background of first page region in the search results page, and displaying the second page background as the background of the second page region in the search results page, comprises:
overlaying a background layer on top of an original background layer of the search results page, wherein the second page background is displayed within the original background layer, the first page background is displayed within the background layer, and a size of the background layer fits a size of the first page region (the display component 215 may be configured to overlay onto a preview video of a content media item, descriptive text related to the content media item. For example, if the preview video for movie ABC is playing within the focus area 430, then the display component 215 may overlay descriptive text from metadata in the corresponding search result item over the preview video. The result is that the user may view a summary of the content media item while viewing a preview of the content media item, [0097] of Cormican and as illustrated in FIG. 4, the selected location icon 402 may appear larger and/or brighter to indicate that such an icon is currently selected. Although illustrated in FIG. 4 as a larger icon, upon selecting an icon image, such an icon image can be modified in any manner to provide an indication that the particular icon is the currently selected icon or most recently selected icon. Alternatively to modifying the icon image, another indicator can be provided in association with the icon image to provide such an indication (e.g., a highlight or symbol can be placed around or near the icon image), [0053] of Dunn).
Regarding claim 12, Cormican further discloses in response to a second search operation for second information to be searched, displaying a second search result on the search results page, and displaying the search results page as the second page background, wherein the second information to be searched is different from the first information to be searched, and the second search result matches the second information to be searched (Figures 4E-4F show the first query “Actor A” and its associate results page. It is clear that when the second search query “World Cup soccer match” is entered, the focus area 430 and scrollable result area 435 would display relevant information and result related to the second search query. The areas 430 and 435 are therefore different with respect to each different query (e.g., “Actor A” vs “Word Cup soccer match”)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected for being dependent on a base rejected claim but would be allowable over the prior art (given that any pending rejection(s) being resolved) if rewritten in independent form to incorporate the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims.
Relevant Prior Art
The following references are considered relevant to the claims:
Marantz et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0174023) teaches search results are provided with rich content in defined display areas defined via a border, background, other like graphical elements, or combinations thereof. Within the defined display area, search results content is formatted to evoke a particular theme or concept appropriate for the information identified by the search result. Collections of search results are arranged in grids, like tiles. Search results are reviewed on a grid-by-grid basis, with small portions of prior, or subsequent, grids being displayed at the edges of the display, thereby visually indicating that further, or subsequent, grids are accessible.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Sherief Badawi can be reached on (571) 272-9782. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SON T HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169
August 11, 2026