DETAILED ACTION
Status
This instant application No. 18/997,363 has claims 1-12, and 14-21 pending based on the preliminary amendment filed on January 21, 2025.
Priority / Filing Date
Applicant’s claims for priorities of application No. PCT/CN2023/130049 (filed on November 7, 2023) and foreign application No. CHINA 202211387621.0 (filed on November 7, 2022) are acknowledged. The effective filing date of this application is November 7, 2022.
Abstract
The amended abstract of the disclosure filed on January 21, 2025 is objected due to the use of implied language. Note that in the abstract, the language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc… See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Note that in the abstract, Applicant cites “A method of page displaying, an electronic device and a storage medium are provided” on line 1. This citation clearly provokes the use of implied language and repeats the title. Revision and/or correction are required (e.g., removal of the entire first sentence of the abstract).
Drawings
The drawings received on January 21, 2025 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the Applicant’s submission of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on March 27, 2025 is acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the Examiner is attached to the instant Office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected for citing a “non-transient computer readable storage medium” without an explicit definition for the term “non-transient” in the disclosure. Since the specification ([0134]) only explicitly defines “non-transitory computer-readable medium,” it does not appear that the claimed “non-transient” refers to “non-transitory” in the same context. Applicant is suggested to replace the term “non-transient” with “non-transitory” to overcome the raised issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to nonstatutory subject matters.
Regarding claim 15, “A non-transient computer readable storage medium” is being recited for efficiently storing index data. However, since there is no explicit definition for the term “non-transient” and such term does not appear to align with “non-transitory” as provided in the disclosure ([0134] of instant specification). As such, the claimed “non-transient” medium appears to include computer-readable signal medium (e.g., an electromagnetic signal, an optical signal or any combination thereof per [0135] of instant specification) which typically embodies computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules or other data in modulated data signal such as carrier wave or other transport mechanism and includes any information delivery media. As such, the claim is drawn to a form of energy and is not statutory.
Applicant is suggested to replace “non-transient” with “non-transitory” to overcome the raised issue.
The claimed invention in claims 1-12, 14, and 16-21 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more. Applicant is noted that claim 15 would still be rejected for the similar reasons presented in claims 1 and 14 below even if “non-transitory…medium…” being recited.
Claims 1-12, 14, and 16-21 pass step 1 of the 35 U.S.C. 101 analysis since each claim is either directed to a method, an electronic device comprising at least one processor and at least on memory storing computer program executable by the at least one processor (i.e., hardware components such as RAM, ROM, CPU, GPU as known in the art per Figure 7 and [0131]-[0136] of instant specification); a non-transient computer readable storage medium.
Claims 1, and 14 recite each, in part, elements that are directed to an abstract idea (“Courts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind.” Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015)). Each claim recites the limitations of receiving a first search operation for first information to be searched…associated with a target event… The limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g., mentally gathering search conditions and subsequently executing the search based on mental or visual comparisons of the search conditions to find matching results). That is, other than reciting generic components (e.g., processor, memory, and computer-executable instructions), nothing in the claim precludes the limitations from being performed in the human mind per step 2A – prong 1 of the Abstract Idea Analysis. Thus, the limitation in each claim is a part of a mental process and is ineligible.
Each claim further recites additional limitations of …displaying a first search results…, displaying a first page region…, and displaying a second page region… which are extra-solution activities (per step 2A – prong 2 of the Abstract Idea Analysis) that cannot be integrated into a practical application (e.g., the elements recite trivial elements that occurred or would occur after the mental process). Each of the additional limitation(s) is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (e.g., processor, memory, and computer-executable instructions) to display search results of a query.
The extra-solution activities in step 2A - prong 2 are reevaluated in step 2B to determining if each limitation is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background of the limitations does not provide any indication that the computer components (e.g., processor, memory, and computer-executable instructions) are not off-the-shelf computer components. The Symantec, TLI, and OOP Techs court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere receiving, generating, storing, determining, identifying, displaying, and transmitting of data over a network are a well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Accordingly, a conclusion that the claims are well-understood, routine, conventional (WURC) activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in each claims, thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 2 then defines which data is being organized to a respective displayed region as displaying a video card…in the first page region…, and displaying the search result in the second page region… This is merely the abstract concept of spatial organization of data. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 3 further recites …a width of the first page region is associated with a width of the search results page, and a height …is associated with a height of the video card which is mathematical relationship and a design choice of selecting width and height to display data. This is not a technical improvement to computer functionality. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claims 4, and 16 further recite in each claim …displaying the video card…in the first page region…, and playing a target video in a first card region… which a WURC activity in any graphical user interface of video playback. Each claim lacks a ”how-to” element (e.g., a specific algorithm) that would make it a technical improvement. Thus, the claims are ineligible.
Claims 5, and 17-18 further recite in each claim partitioning the video card in to second, third, fourth regions for sub-event, object, and prompt information which merely describes categorizing data into specific boxes/regions based on content of the data (e.g., prompt vs object). This is a matter of information presentation as it simply applies positional data arrangement and does not improve the computer’s operation. Thus, the claims are ineligible.
Claim 6 further recites …after the display the video card…in the first page region…, displaying live information / object details…in response to a trigger operation… This is the abstract concept of displaying more data upon request (e.g., a functional mental process of visualizing additional data when a certain condition is met). The claim lacks a ”how-to” element (e.g., a specific algorithm) that would make it a technical improvement. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 7 further recites …after the display the video card…in the first page region…: adjusting a display size of the target object image, in response to…moving a cursor… The This is a WURC activity of mouse-over or mouse-hover effect to preview an image. The claim lacks a ”how-to” element (e.g., a specific algorithm) that would make it a technical improvement. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claims 8, and 19-21 further recite in each claim a preset page component; and a component background….is associated with a page background… This is the concept of a “pinned” or “static” UI element using visual layering which is WURC technique used in every modern windowing system (e.g., Windows, MacOS). Each claim simply describes the visual result of “layering” which is an abstract concept without improving the underlying computer’s technology (e.g., a new way of managing the frame buffer of GPU memory). Thus, the claims are ineligible.
Claim 9 recites moving the background while preset component remains unchanged. This is considered as a WURC method of organizing visual information to create depth (e.g., Parallax Effect) found in every modern windowing system (e.g., Windows, MacOS). The claim simply describes the visual result of controlling a display which is an abstract concept without improving the underlying computer’s technology (e.g., a new way of managing the frame buffer of GPU memory). Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 10 recites …overlaying a target background layer on top of an original background…” This is considered as a WURC method of organizing visual information using connected presentation layers to display data which can be found in every modern windowing system (e.g., Windows, MacOS). The claim simply describes the visual result of controlling a display which is an abstract concept without improving the underlying computer’s technology (e.g., a new way of managing the frame buffer of GPU memory). Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 11 recites …overlaying the first background layer on top of the original background…” This is considered as a WURC method of organizing visual information using connected presentation layers to display data which can be found in every modern windowing system (e.g., Windows, MacOS). The claim simply describes the visual result of controlling a display which is an abstract concept without improving the underlying computer’s technology (e.g., a new way of managing the frame buffer of GPU memory). Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 12 recites “a second search operation” for “second information” displayed as a “second page background…” This is simply repeating the abstract idea of claim 1 since performing a search twice or using the result of one search as a background for the next does not add an inventive concept. It is the same mental process of searching through multiple iterations. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cormican (Pub. No. US 2020/0301965, published on September 24, 2020).
Regarding claims 1, and 14-15, Cormican clearly shows and discloses a method of page displaying (Abstract); an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory in communicative connection with the at least one processor; wherein at least one memory stores at least one computer program executable by the at least one processor, and the at least one computer program is executed by the at least one processor, so that the at least one processor is capable of executing the method of page displaying; and a non-transient computer readable storage medium, wherein the non-transient computer readable storage medium has computer instructions stored thereon, and the computer instructions, when executed by a processor (Figure 1), implement the method of page displaying, comprising:
receiving a first search operation for first information to be searched (Referring to FIG. 4A, the user may input text for a search query for related media content items in a search text box 410 using input keyboard 420, [0066]), wherein the first information to be searched is associated with a target event, and the target event comprises at least one of a preset event and a target sub-event of the preset event (a channel X can include videos Y and Z. A channel can be associated with an owner, who is a user that can perform actions on the channel. Different activities can be associated with the channel based on the owner's actions, such as the owner making digital content available on the channel, the owner selecting (e.g., liking) digital content associated with another channel, the owner commenting on digital content associated with another channel, etc. The activities associated with the channel can be collected into an activity feed for the channel, [0045]. If the user prefers videos from subscribed channels, then the plurality of search result items may be ordered such that the videos from subscribed channels are first, [0072]);
in response to the first search operation, displaying a first search result on a search results page (FIG. 4C illustrates an example embodiment of a search results UI including the search text box 410, a focus area 430, and a scrollable search result area 435, [0070]), displaying a first page region of the search results page as a first page background (the display component 215 may be configured to present a preview of a media content item corresponding to a specific search result item within the focus area 430, [0076]), and displaying a second page region of the search results page as a second page background (the scrollable search result area 435 may display a subset of the plurality of search result items received from the search engine platform 150, [0072]), wherein the first search result matches the first information to be searched (The plurality of search result items received from the search engine platform 150 may be ordered in terms of relevance to the search request, where the first search result item is the most relevant search result item, [0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Cormican further discloses displaying the first search result on the search results page, comprises:
displaying a video card of the target event in the first page region of the search results page (the display component 215 may be configured to present a preview of a media content item corresponding to a specific search result item within the focus area 430, [0076]), and
displaying the first search result in the second page region of the search results page (the scrollable search result area 435 may display a subset of the plurality of search result items received from the search engine platform 150, [00723]).
Regarding claim 3, Cormican further discloses:
a width of the first page region is associated with a width of the search results page (Figures 4C-4D show the width of region 430 is associated with a width of the search results page); and
a height of the first page region is associated with a height of the video card
(the display component 215 may be configured to display the focus area 430 with a configured height relative to the size of the display for the client device 110A, [0075]).
Regarding claims 4, and 16, Cormican further discloses displaying the video card of the target event in the first page region of the search results page, comprises:
displaying the video card of the target event in the first page region of the search results page (the display component 215 may be configured to present a preview of a media content item corresponding to a specific search result item within the focus area 430, [0076]), and
playing a target video in a first card region of the video card, wherein the target video corresponds to event state information of the target event (the preview request received may contain a request for a preview related to the media content item movie XYZ. The preview component 140 may maintain one or more related preview videos for the media content item movie XYZ. For instance, preview videos for movie XYZ may include other media content items such as a trailer of the movie, selected video clips of the movie, related summary videos of the movie, the actual video of movie XYZ, or any other associated video related to movie XYZ, [0078]. The preview component 140 sends, via the network 105, a preview video of the media content item corresponding to the search result item. At block 515, the display component 215 renders and presents the preview video of the media content item within the focus area 430, [0081]).
Regarding claim 5, and 17-18, Cormican then discloses the video card comprises at least one of a second card region, a third card region, and a fourth card region;
the second card region is used for exhibiting sub-event state information of at least one sub-event in the preset event;
the third card region is used for exhibiting object information of at least one associated object of the preset event (in FIG. 4F 50% of search result item 441, corresponding to the content media item for “Movie ABC” is displayed within the bottom 50% of the focus area 430. The top 50% of the focus area 430 continues to display the preview video for content media item related to Movie XYZ, [0095]. It is clear that the video card is the focus area 430 which can be split into 2 sub-regions. One sub-region is utilized for displaying “Movie ABC” at 50% of the height of focus area 430. The other sub-region is utilized for displaying “Movie XYZ” at the remaining 50% of the height of the focus area 430); and
the fourth card region is used for exhibiting associated prompt information of the target event.
Regarding claim 6, Cormican further discloses after the displaying the video card of the target event in the first page region of the search results page, the method further comprises at least one of the following:
displaying live information of the target sub-event corresponding to the target sub-event state information, in response to a trigger operation for the target sub-event state information;
displaying object details of a target associated object corresponding to target object information, in response to a trigger operation for the target object information (If the user swipes in a specific direction causing one of the search result items to shift its location into the focus area, reach the focus area or be located within at least a predetermined distance from the focus area, then the client device may initiate a preview of the media content item corresponding to the shifted search result item in the focus area, [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Cormican further discloses the object information comprises an object image, and after the displaying the video card of the target event in the first page region of the search results page, the method further comprises:
adjusting a display size of the target object image, in response to a trigger operation of moving a cursor into a display region where the target object image is located (in FIG. 4F 50% of search result item 441, corresponding to the content media item for “Movie ABC” is displayed within the bottom 50% of the focus area 430. The top 50% of the focus area 430 continues to display the preview video for content media item related to Movie XYZ. In another example, if only the top 5% of a search result item overlaps with the focus area 430, then the display component 215 will display only the top 5% of the corresponding preview video within the bottom 5% of the focus area 430, while the top 95% of the focus area 430 will still display the bottom 95% of the previous preview video. Concurrent presentation of both preview videos for movies XYZ and ABC enables a seamless playing of preview videos for the user, [0095]).
Regarding claims 8, and 19-21, Cormican further discloses the search results page further displays a preset page component; and a component background of the preset page component is associated with a page background in a current display position of the preset page component (Upon receiving the plurality of search result items, the processing logic presents a search results user interface (UI) that includes a scrollable search result area and a focus area (block 310). FIG. 4C illustrates an example embodiment of a search results UI including the search text box 410, a focus area 430, and a scrollable search result area 435. Other embodiments of the search results UI may include displaying the focus area 430 and the scrollable search result area 435 without the search text box 410. Yet other embodiments may also include the display of the input keyboard 420 that may allow a user to input search text when updating the search request. Embodiments of the search results UI may include displaying the search text box 410, the focus area 430, the scrollable search result area 435, and/or the input keyboard 420 in different locations within the user interface, [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Cormican further discloses in response to a page content switch operation (At block 320, the processing logic determines whether the received user gesture indicates a user interest in a second media content item. In an embodiment, the gesture component 210 determines whether the received user gesture is a user gesture indicating an interest in a specific search result item, which causes the specific search result item to move into the focus area 430, [0087]), controlling the first search result and the page background of the search results page to move and updating the component background of the preset page component based on the page background in the current display position of the preset page component, wherein the display position of the preset page component on a screen remains unchanged (The gesture component 210 may then cause the search result items 441-444 to shift upwards such that search result item 443 is located in the focus area 430 and search result item 444 is located at a location, within the scrollable search result area 435, directly below the focus area 430. In an embodiment, when the search result items 441-444 shift upwards, the display component 215 may determine a new subset of search result items from the plurality of search result items and render and display an updated search results UI with search result items 444-447 within the scrollable search result area 435, as depicted in FIG. 4E, [0087]).
Regarding claim 10, Cormican further discloses displaying first page region of the search results page as the first page background, and displaying the second page region of the search results page as the second page background, comprises:
overlaying a target background layer on top of an original background layer of the search results page, wherein the second page background is displayed within the original background layer, the first page background is displayed within the target background layer, and a size of the target background layer fits a size of the first page region (the display component 215 may be configured to overlay onto a preview video of a content media item, descriptive text related to the content media item. For example, if the preview video for movie ABC is playing within the focus area 430, then the display component 215 may overlay descriptive text from metadata in the corresponding search result item over the preview video. The result is that the user may view a summary of the content media item while viewing a preview of the content media item, [0097]).
Regarding claim 12, Cormican further discloses in response to a second search operation for second information to be searched, displaying a second search result on the search results page, and displaying the search results page as the second page background, wherein the second information to be searched is different from the first information to be searched, and the second search result matches the second information to be searched (Figures 4E-4F show the first query “Actor A” and its associate results page. It is clear that when the second search query “World Cup soccer match” is entered, the focus area 430 and scrollable result area 435 would display relevant information and result related to the second search query. The areas 430 and 435 are therefore different with respect to each different query (e.g., “Actor A” vs “Word Cup soccer match”)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cormican in view of Seo et al. (Pub. No. US 2008/0022352, published on January 24, 2008; hereinafter Seo).
Regarding claim 11, Cormican then discloses the target background layer comprises a first background layer and a second background layer (the display component 215 may be configured to overlay onto a preview video of a content media item, descriptive text related to the content media item, [0097]); and
the overlaying a target background layer on top of an original background layer of the search results page, comprises:
overlaying the first background layer on top of the original background layer of the search results page, and overlaying the second background layer on top of the first background layer (if the preview video for movie ABC is playing within the focus area 430, then the display component 215 may overlay descriptive text from metadata in the corresponding search result item over the preview video. The result is that the user may view a summary of the content media item while viewing a preview of the content media item, [0097]. It is clear that the original background layer is the focus area 430 being top-layered with preview of a video. Then the preview of the video is top-layered by descriptive text of the video).
Seo then discloses wherein the first background layer and the second background layer display different background colors, a size of the first background layer fits the size of the first page region, and a size of the second background layer is less than or equal to the size of the first background layer (The blender can blend the video data of the primary and secondary service channels such that the blended video data are displayed in the PIP format. That is, the blender can display the primary screen and secondary screen on different layers and switch the layers in depth. In the following description, the primary screen is placed on a bottom layer as a full screen and the secondary screen is placed on a top layer as an inset screen. According to the characteristics of the layers, the top layer can cover the bottom layer. The multiply mode multiplies colors of the two layers. The screen mode inverts the colors of the two layers and multiplies the inverted colors. The overlay mode displays the top layer in association with the color of the bottom layer such that bright image becomes much brighter and dark image becomes much darker, [0128]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of Seo with the teachings of Cormican for the purpose of enhancing viewing experience of a user multiple video segments by arranging on the display screen a combination of screen displays such that the multiple video segments can be blended and viewed at the same time.
Relevant Prior Art
The following references are considered relevant to the claims:
Petrou et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0035406) teaches a visual query such as a photograph, screen shot, scanned image, or video frame is submitted to a visual query search system from a client system. Utilizing the search results, an interactive results document is created and sent to the client system. The interactive results document has at least one visual identifier for a sub-portion of the visual query with a selectable link to at least one search result for that sub-portion. The visual identifier may be a bounding box around the respective sub-portion, or a semi-transparent label over the respective sub-portion.
Wu et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0289401) teaches presenting the search results in different regions in the search result page comprises: dividing a search result presentation region of the search result page into a first sub-region and a second sub-region, presenting the commodity information in the first sub-region, and presenting the plurality of pieces of multimedia content in the second sub-region. In response to a trigger operation acting on the first sub-region, presenting a purchase page corresponding to the commodity information; or, in response to another second trigger operation acting on any piece of multimedia content in the second sub-region, performing full-screen playback on each piece of multimedia content in the second sub-region sequentially from the any piece of multimedia content.
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Sherief Badawi can be reached on (571) 272-9782. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SON T HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169
January 24, 2026