Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 10-12, 17-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. US 20260032777 A1 (Domestic Priority July 12, 2022).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Wu discloses a method for receiving an inactive multicast broadcast service, performed by a terminal (see, UE and/or a RAN perform the techniques for supporting MBS for the UE operating in a connected state and/or inactive state, section 0075), comprising: receiving the inactive multicast broadcast service according to a first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, UE in the inactive state continues receiving or attempting to receive MBS data for the first MBS session from the DU, section 0174) corresponding to a first cell where the terminal resides (see, An MBS Service Area Information IE in the first MBS area information includes a list of cell identity/identities and/or a list of tracking area identity/identities (TAT(s)), section 0092).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Wu discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the receiving the inactive multicast broadcast service by using the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the first cell comprises at least one of: activating the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration; or resuming the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, if the CU-CP determines to configure or reconfigure MRB(s) for the first MBS session, the CU-CP includes an MRB configuration in the RRC resume message to configure or reconfigure the MRB(s), section 0193).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Wu discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the stopping using the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the second cell where the terminal has resided comprises at least one of: deactivating the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration; or suspending the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, UE stops or suspends receipt of MBS data from the DU in response to the RRC release message or transitioning to the inactive state, section 0175).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Wu discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining whether the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the second cell where the terminal has resided is the same as the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration comprises: determining, according to indication information sent by a network device, whether the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is the same as the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, CU-CP generates the second MBS QoS flow configuration(s) based on preconfigured MBS QoS flow configuration where the second MBS QoS flow configuration(s) are the same as the preconfigured MBS QoS flow configuration(s), section 0087; noted UE continues receiving MBS data of the first MBS session after the mobility operation since the MRB configuration for the inactive state and/or MC configuration parameters for the inactive state are applied across the base stations, as the multicast configuration parameters are the same, section 0218).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Wu discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the multicast broadcast service configuration specific to the BWP corresponding to the first cell comprises a common frequency resource (CFR) configuration of the multicast broadcast service (see, the base station (e.g., the MN or SN) can transmit MBS data over multicast radio resources (i.e., the radio resources common to one or more other UEs), or a DL BWP of a cell from the base station to the UE, via the MRB. The DL BWP can be an initial DL BWP, a dedicated DL BWP, or an MBS DL BWP (i.e., a DL BWP that is specific to MBS, or not for unicast), section 0042).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Wu discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the CFR configuration of the multicast broadcast service (see, the base station (e.g., the MN or SN) can transmit MBS data over multicast radio resources (i.e., the radio resources common to one or more other UEs), section 0042) comprises at least one of: a frequency domain resource location (see, SPS multicast radio resource activation command (e.g., DCI) includes configuration parameters configuring the SPS multicast radio resource where the configuration parameters include Frequency domain resource assignment, section 0145) and a bandwidth (see, the base station can transmit MBS data over multicast radio resources (i.e., the radio resources common to the UE and one or more other UEs), or a DL BWP of a cell from the base station to the UE, via the MRB where DL BWP can be MBS DL BWP, section 0041); a physical downlink control channel PDCCH configuration (see, UE in the inactive state continues monitoring a PDCCH with a G-RNTI and/or a G-CS-RNTI to receive MBS data of the first MBS session from the DU, section 0174); a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH configuration (see, DU can includes in the DU configuration, a PDSCH configuration (e.g., PDSCH-Config IE) configuring the MCS table for unicast transmissions or the DU transmits to the UE, another DU configuration including the PDSCH configuration, section 0141); or a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration (see, each of the SPS multicast transmissions includes a particular MAC PDU, which includes an MBS data packet or a portion of an MBS data packet, section 0145).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Wu discloses a method for sending an inactive multicast broadcast service configuration, performed by a network device, comprising: sending a first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, UE in the inactive state continues receiving or attempting to receive MBS data for the first MBS session from the DU, section 0174) corresponding to a first cell to a terminal (see, An MBS Service Area Information IE in the first MBS area information includes a list of cell identity/identities and/or a list of tracking area identity/identities (TAT(s)), section 0092), wherein the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is configured for the terminal to receive an inactive multicast broadcast service according to the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration after the terminal resides in the first cell (see, UE transitions to the inactive state and receives MBS data of the first MBS session while operating in the inactive state where the inactive state initiates an RRC connection resume procedure with the DU via a cell, section 0188).
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Wu discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the multicast broadcast service configuration specific to the BWP corresponding to the first cell comprises a common frequency resource (CFR) configuration of the multicast broadcast service (see, the base station (e.g., the MN or SN) can transmit MBS data over multicast radio resources (i.e., the radio resources common to one or more other UEs), or a DL BWP of a cell from the base station to the UE, via the MRB. The DL BWP can be an initial DL BWP, a dedicated DL BWP, or an MBS DL BWP (i.e., a DL BWP that is specific to MBS, or not for unicast), section 0042).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Wu discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the CFR configuration of the multicast broadcast service (see, the base station (e.g., the MN or SN) can transmit MBS data over multicast radio resources (i.e., the radio resources common to one or more other UEs), section 0042) comprises at least one of: a frequency domain resource location (see, SPS multicast radio resource activation command (e.g., DCI) includes configuration parameters configuring the SPS multicast radio resource where the configuration parameters include Frequency domain resource assignment, section 0145) and a bandwidth (see, the base station can transmit MBS data over multicast radio resources (i.e., the radio resources common to the UE and one or more other UEs), or a DL BWP of a cell from the base station to the UE, via the MRB where DL BWP can be MBS DL BWP, section 0041); a physical downlink control channel PDCCH configuration (see, UE in the inactive state continues monitoring a PDCCH with a G-RNTI and/or a G-CS-RNTI to receive MBS data of the first MBS session from the DU, section 0174); a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH configuration (see, DU can includes in the DU configuration, a PDSCH configuration (e.g., PDSCH-Config IE) configuring the MCS table for unicast transmissions or the DU transmits to the UE, another DU configuration including the PDSCH configuration, section 0141); or a semi-persistent scheduling SPS configuration (see, each of the SPS multicast transmissions includes a particular MAC PDU, which includes an MBS data packet or a portion of an MBS data packet, section 0145).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), Wu discloses a communication apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program; wherein the processor (see, processing hardware includes an MBS controller that is configured to manage or control transmission of MBS information received, section 0043) is configured to: receive an inactive multicast broadcast service according to a first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, UE in the inactive state continues receiving or attempting to receive MBS data for the first MBS session from the DU, section 0174) corresponding to a first cell where a terminal resides (see, An MBS Service Area Information IE in the first MBS area information includes a list of cell identity/identities and/or a list of tracking area identity/identities (TAT(s)), section 0092).
Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), Wu discloses a communication apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 12 (see, processing hardware includes an MBS controller that is configured to manage or control transmission of MBS information received, section 0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. US 20260032777 A1 (Domestic Priority July 12, 2022) in view of Fujishiro et al. US 20230262423 A1 (Domestic Priority October 22, 2020).
Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the inactive multicast broadcast service according to the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the first cell where the terminal resides comprises at least one of: receiving the inactive multicast broadcast service by using the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the first cell; or stopping using a second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to a second cell where the terminal has resided.
However Fujishiro from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the inactive multicast broadcast service according to the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the first cell where the terminal (see, UE is in the RRC connected state in a cell of the gNB where the gNB transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message including the first MBS configuration and the second MBS configuration to the UE, sections 0131-0132 Fujishiro) resides comprises at least one of: receiving the inactive multicast broadcast service by using the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the first cell (see, first MBS configuration may include an identifier indicating that the configuration may be used in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state, section 0134 Fujishiro); or stopping using a second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to a second cell where the terminal has resided (see, second MBS configuration may include an identifier indicating that this is a reception configuration for the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state, or may include an identifier indicating that the configuration is not to be used in the RRC connected state, section 0135 Fujishiro).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Wu with the MBS configurations as taught by Fujishiro. The motivation would have been to improve a mobile communication system providing a multicast and broadcast service.
Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5 (Original), the method according to claim 2, wherein the receiving the inactive multicast broadcast service by using the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration comprises: determining whether the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the second cell where the terminal has resided is the same as the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration; and receiving, in response to the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration being different from the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration, the inactive multicast broadcast service by using the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration.
However Fujishiro from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 2, wherein the receiving the inactive multicast broadcast service by using the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration comprises: determining whether the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the second cell where the terminal has resided is the same as the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, the validity period of the MBS configuration may be different for each MBS session, section 0115 Fujishiro); and receiving, in response to the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration being different from the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, the validity period of the MBS configuration may common (only one) for all of the MBS sessions, 0115 Fujishiro), the inactive multicast broadcast service by using the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, the first MBS configuration may include an identifier indicating that the configuration may be used in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state, section 0134 Fujishiro).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Wu with the MBS configurations as taught by Fujishiro. The motivation would have been to improve a mobile communication system providing a multicast and broadcast service.
Claims 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. US 20260032777 A1 (Domestic Priority July 12, 2022) in view of Fujishiro et al. US 20230262423 A1 (Domestic Priority October 22, 2020), and in further view of Hong et al. US 20230380002 A1 (Foreign Priority October 19, 2020).
The combination of Wu and Fujishiro discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining whether the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the second cell where the terminal has resided is the same as the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration comprises: determining a second applicable scope corresponding to the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration in an association relationship between an inactive multicast broadcast service configuration and an applicable scope; determining, in response to that the first cell does not belong to the second applicable scope, that the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is different from the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration; and determining, in response to that the first cell belongs to the second applicable scope, that the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is the same as the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining whether the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to the second cell where the terminal has resided is the same as the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, MBS BWP may be configured to be associated/mapped to one or more MBS sessions, section 0204 Hong) comprises: determining a second applicable scope corresponding to the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration in an association relationship between an inactive multicast broadcast service configuration and an applicable scope (see, information for indicating that the MBS control logical channel is configured area-specifically may be included on the MBS-related system information (or MBS control logical channel information) of the cell, for each MBS session, section 0179 Hong; noted network may allow the UE in the RRC idle/inactive state to receive (in the next period) the MBS configuration (e.g., MBS control logical channel) periodically broadcast, section 0151 Hong); determining, in response to that the first cell does not belong to the second applicable scope (see, some of the MBS sessions provided per cell differ from the other, section 0177 Hong), that the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is different from the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, some of the MBS sessions provided per cell differ from the other, section 0177 Hong); and determining, in response to that the first cell belongs to the second applicable scope (see, in a broadcast communication service, the same service and the same specific content data may be simultaneously provided to all UEs within one geographic area and in the multicast communication service, the same service and the same specific content data may be simultaneously provided to a designated set of UEs, sections 0106-0107 Hong), that the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is the same as the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, data may be received using the same MBS configuration for the same MBS if the cell is in a predesignated area, section 0169 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wu and Fujishiro with the MBS sessions as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to improve processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data.
The combination of Wu and Fujishiro discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 2, wherein the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration comprises a multicast broadcast service configuration specific to a bandwidth part (BWP) corresponding to the first cell.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 2, wherein the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration comprises a multicast broadcast service configuration specific to a bandwidth part (BWP) corresponding to the first cell (see, RRC idle/inactive UE interested in MBS reception may receive MBS configuration information on the initial downlink BWP, receiving MBS data, section 0202 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wu and Fujishiro with the MBS sessions as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to improve processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data.
The combination of Wu and Fujishiro discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9 (Original), the method according to claim 8, wherein the multicast broadcast service configuration specific to the BWP corresponding to the first cell comprises a multicast broadcast service configuration specific to an initial BWP corresponding to the first cell.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 8, wherein the multicast broadcast service configuration specific to the BWP corresponding to the first cell comprises a multicast broadcast service configuration specific to an initial BWP corresponding to the first cell (see, NR base station indicates an initial BWP through an SIB1 message where the SIB1 message includes an initial downlink BWP and initial uplink information in the downlink configuration common information element (downlinkConfigCommon IE) and uplink configuration common information element (uplinkConfigCommon IE), respectively, included in the serving cell configuration common information element (servingCellConfigCommon IE), section 0201 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wu and Fujishiro with the MBS sessions as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to improve processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. US 20260032777 A1 (Domestic Priority July 12, 2022) in view of Hong et al. US 20230380002 A1 (Foreign Priority October 19, 2020).
Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 12, further comprising: sending an association relationship between the inactive multicast broadcast service configuration and an applicable scope to the terminal; wherein the association relationship is configured for the terminal to determine a second applicable scope corresponding to a second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration of a second cell where the terminal has resided; in a case where the first cell does not belong to the second applicable scope, it is determined that the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is different from the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration; and in a case where the first cell belongs to the second applicable scope, it is determined that the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is the same as the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 12, further comprising: sending an association relationship between the inactive multicast broadcast service configuration and an applicable scope to the terminal (see, information for indicating that the MBS control logical channel is configured area-specifically may be included on the MBS-related system information (or MBS control logical channel information) of the cell, for each MBS session, section 0179 Hong; noted network may allow the UE in the RRC idle/inactive state to receive (in the next period) the MBS configuration (e.g., MBS control logical channel) periodically broadcast, section 0151 Hong); wherein the association relationship is configured for the terminal to determine a second applicable scope corresponding to a second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration of a second cell where the terminal has resided (see, MBS BWP may be configured to be associated/mapped to one or more MBS sessions, section 0204 Hong); in a case where the first cell does not belong to the second applicable scope (see, some of the MBS sessions provided per cell differ from the other, section 0177 Hong), it is determined that the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is different from the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, some of the MBS sessions provided per cell differ from the other, section 0177 Hong); and in a case where the first cell belongs to the second applicable scope (see, in a broadcast communication service, the same service and the same specific content data may be simultaneously provided to all UEs within one geographic area and in the multicast communication service, the same service and the same specific content data may be simultaneously provided to a designated set of UEs, sections 0106-0107 Hong), it is determined that the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration is the same as the second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, data may be received using the same MBS configuration for the same MBS if the cell is in a predesignated area, section 0169 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Wu with the MBS sessions as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to improve processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data.
Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Original), the method according to claim 12, further comprising: sending indication information to the terminal, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate whether a second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to a second cell where the terminal has resided is the same as the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 12, further comprising: sending indication information to the terminal, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate whether a second inactive multicast broadcast service configuration corresponding to a second cell where the terminal has resided is the same as the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration (see, MBS BWP may be configured to be associated/mapped to one or more MBS sessions, section 0204 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Wu with the MBS sessions as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to improve processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data.
Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 12, wherein the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration comprises a multicast broadcast service configuration specific to a BWP corresponding to the first cell.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 12, wherein the first inactive multicast broadcast service configuration comprises a multicast broadcast service configuration specific to a BWP corresponding to the first cell (see, RRC idle/inactive UE interested in MBS reception may receive MBS configuration information on the initial downlink BWP, receiving MBS data, section 0202 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Wu with the MBS sessions as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to improve processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data.
Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16 (Original), the method according to claim 15, wherein the multicast broadcast service configuration specific to the BWP corresponding to the first cell comprises a multicast broadcast service configuration specific to an initial BWP corresponding to the first cell.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 15, wherein the multicast broadcast service configuration specific to the BWP corresponding to the first cell comprises a multicast broadcast service configuration specific to an initial BWP corresponding to the first cell (see, NR base station indicates an initial BWP through an SIB1 message where the SIB1 message includes an initial downlink BWP and initial uplink information in the downlink configuration common information element (downlinkConfigCommon IE) and uplink configuration common information element (uplinkConfigCommon IE), respectively, included in the serving cell configuration common information element (servingCellConfigCommon IE), section 0201 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Wu with the MBS sessions as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to improve processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473