DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS/IDSs) submitted on 1/21/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS/IDSs is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Document No. JP3993658B2 to Harioka et al.
Regarding claim 1, Harioka teaches a battery servicing system, comprising: a plurality of actuators (¶ [0159]); and a controller configured to: cause the plurality of actuators to connect a fluid line (¶ [0159]) and an electrical line to a battery pack placed in a battery servicing station (¶ [0130]); perform one or more tests on the battery pack to identify an anomaly in one or more cells in the battery pack (¶ [0133]); and control the plurality of actuators to automatically disconnect the fluid line and the electrical line from the battery pack being tested to eject the battery pack from the battery servicing station when the anomaly is identified (¶¶ [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 1, wherein the performing of the one or more tests to identify the anomaly comprises: measuring a defined set of battery parameters of the battery pack being tested (¶ [0036]); and comparing the measured defined set of battery parameters with a predefined set of reference parameters to find whether a deviation of one or more battery parameters is greater than a corresponding threshold value (¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 2, wherein the defined set of battery parameters of the battery pack comprises: voltage (¶ [0036]) and current parameters (¶ [0110]), an amount of heat generated while being charged (¶¶ [0239] & [0241]), a fluid leakage (¶ [0191]), a charge-discharge rate (¶ [0119]), and a status of health (SoH) parameters (¶ [0108]).
Regarding claim 4, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 1, further comprising a link harness, wherein the fluid line and the electrical line are connected to the battery pack via the link harness (figure 1 elements 26 & 28).
Regarding claim 5, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 4, wherein the fluid line and the electrical line is automatically disconnected from the battery pack by a pulling action of the link harness caused by the controlling of the plurality of actuators (¶ [0129]).
Regarding claim 6, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 6, wherein the performing of the one or more tests further comprises determining a severity level of damage to the battery pack (¶ [0146]).
Regarding claim 7, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 6, wherein the determining of the severity level of damage to the battery pack comprises determining a number of cells that needs to be replaced in the battery pack (¶ [0203]-[0204]).
Regarding claim 8, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 6, wherein the battery pack is ejected from the battery servicing station when the severity level of the anomaly is greater than a defined threshold (¶ [0150]).
Regarding claim 11, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to control one or more actuators of the plurality of actuators to position the battery pack on a lid that is configured as a test plate on a workstation during the one or more tests of the battery pack, and wherein the ejection of the battery pack further comprises automatically dropping a container part on to the battery pack to contain the battery pack (¶¶ [0211][-0212]).
Regarding claim 14, Harioka teaches a method for servicing a battery pack, comprising: causing a plurality of actuators to connect a fluid line (¶ [0159]) and an electrical line (¶ [0130]) to a battery pack placed in a battery servicing station (¶ [0159]); performing one or more tests on the battery pack to identify an anomaly in one or more cells in the battery pack (¶ [0133]); and controlling the plurality of actuators to automatically disconnect the fluid line and the electrical line from the battery pack being tested to eject the battery pack from the battery servicing station when the anomaly is identified (¶¶ [0030]-[0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harioka in view of Chinese Patent Document No. CN115015793A to Zhang et al.
Regarding claim 9, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 7, but does not teach explicitly wherein the controller is further configured to generate simulation data indicative of an extent of restoration of the battery pack feasible by replacing the one or more cells that are identified with the anomaly.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the controller is further configured to generate simulation data indicative of an extent of restoration of the battery pack feasible by replacing the one or more cells that are identified with the anomaly (“Through the above embodiments, the invention establishes SOC-voltage function model by verifying the battery cell, so as to detect the battery cell to be maintained battery pack, according to the SOC-voltage function model, screening and confirming the electric core with bad consistency, so as to realize accurate replacement, and for repairing replacement of the electric core, the replacement battery parameter is controllable, repairing replacement is accurate, replacing efficiency is high, the consistency of the battery pack after maintenance and replacement is good.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the modeling of Zhang with the system of Harioka to determine the extent of positive effect of replacing certain cells would have on the battery pack, thereby creating greater efficiency in resource management.
Regarding claim 10, Harioka in view of Zhang teaches the battery servicing system of claim 9, and Zhang further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: execute a re-testing of the battery pack after replacement of the one or more cells that are identified with the anomaly; and re-generate simulation data indicative of the extent of restoration achieved and a status of health of the battery pack after replacement of the one or more cells that are identified with the anomaly (“a second analysis module, the second analysis module is in communication connection with the first analysis module and the model calculation module, calculating SOCmin, SOCmax and Vmax according to the minimum voltage Vmin in the residual electric core, outputting the electric core number of the electric core voltage greater than Vmax; an operation module, the operation module is used for changing the electric core voltage less than Vmint, the operation module sends the discharging signal to the charging and discharging module, the electric core voltage is greater than Vmax for discharging, discharging to the battery core SOC value is SOCA, finishing the maintenance of the battery pack”).
Regarding claim 15, Harioka teaches the method of claim 14, but does not teach explicitly further comprising generating simulation data indicative of an extent of restoration of the battery pack feasible when the one or more cells that are identified with the anomaly are replaced.
However, Zhang teaches further comprising generating simulation data indicative of an extent of restoration of the battery pack feasible when the one or more cells that are identified with the anomaly are replaced (“Through the above embodiments, the invention establishes SOC-voltage function model by verifying the battery cell, so as to detect the battery cell to be maintained battery pack, according to the SOC-voltage function model, screening and confirming the electric core with bad consistency, so as to realize accurate replacement, and for repairing replacement of the electric core, the replacement battery parameter is controllable, repairing replacement is accurate, replacing efficiency is high, the consistency of the battery pack after maintenance and replacement is good.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the modeling of Zhang with the method of Harioka to determine the extent of positive effect of replacing certain cells would have on the battery pack, thereby creating greater efficiency in resource management.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harioka in view of United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20160039542 to Wang.
Regarding claim 12, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 1, but does not teach explicitly further comprising an off-grid energy storage system wherein operations of the battery servicing system are powered by the off-grid energy storage system.
However, Wang discloses an off-grid energy storage system (¶[0120]: The power source may be provided via the battery station 520. Examples of the power source may include, but are not limited to, a utility grid power source, an off-grid power source, a renewable energy source, and/or an energy storage device, such as one or more batteries.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an off-grid energy storage system to power the battery servicing system in order to allow for use in locations where mains power is unavailable and/or to utilize self-contained renewable energy like solar panels.
Regarding claim 13, Harioka teaches the battery servicing system of claim 1, but does not teach explicitly wherein the battery servicing station wherein the battery servicing station is an off-grid mobile electric vehicle battery servicing station disposed in a vehicle.
However, Wang discloses an off-grid energy storage system (¶ [0120]: The power source may be provided via the battery station 520. Examples of the power source may include, but are not limited to, a utility grid power source, an off-grid power source, a renewable energy source, and/or an energy storage device, such as one or more batteries.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an off-grid energy storage system to power the battery servicing system in order to allow for use in locations where mains power is unavailable and/or to utilize self-contained renewable energy like solar panels.
But Harioka in view of Wang does not teach explicitly a mobile electric vehicle battery servicing station disposed in a vehicle.
However, making the off-grid battery servicing station taught by Harioka in view of Wang integral to the vehicle does not patentably distinguish over the prior art because it is desirable to have all-in-one design that is better protected from external disturbances and travels with the vehicle and making the components integral is therefore an obvious engineering design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20210369539 to Campbell et al. discloses battery systems and methods for a mobile robot.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20200384882 to Falls et al. discloses a vehicle frame and power supply assembly and related systems and methods.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20180251102 to Han discloses internet-of-things controlled battery pack replacement and explosion protection system on electric vehicle chassis.
/ROBERT P ALEJNIKOV JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857