Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 1/21/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 7-9 would be allowable if the ODP rejection was overcome.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,768,098*. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a continuous strip process for carbamating cellulosic paper.
*10/20/2026 expected issue date.
Claim 1 see patent claim 1.
Claim 2 see patent claim 2.
Claim 3, 7, and 8 see patent claims 1, 3, 4, and 6.
Claim 4 see patent claim 1.
Claim 5 see patent claim 3.
Claim 6 see patent claims 1, 3, 4, and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP1306484 BRACEWELL, hereinafter BRACEWELL, as evidenced by Handbook for Pulp and Paper Technologists by SMOOK, hereinafter SMOOK.
As for claims 1 and 6, discloses producing pulp into a continuous sheet (strip) on a fourdrinier paper machine with a size press treatment with urea [abstract, claim 2-4 and 0025]. A fourdrinier machine with size press includes a wet end, press section, partial drying, coating at size press and finally drying again as evidenced by SMOOK [pg. 228 Figure 16-1 fourdrinier paper machine and pg. 283 col. 1 par. 3]. The drying in a fourdrinier machine is between heated rolls (drying cylinders/cans) [pg. 228 Figure 16-1 fourdrinier paper machine].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP1306484 BRACEWELL, hereinafter BRACEWELL, in view of Papermaking Part 2, Drying edited by KARLSSON, hereinafter KARLSSON.
As for claims 1, 2, and 4-6, BRACEWELL teaches the features as per above including producing pulp into a continuous sheet (strip) on a fourdrinier paper machine with a size press treatment with urea [abstract, claim 2-4 and 0025]. The Examiner argued that in BRACEWELLL a fourdrinier with size press was understood to wet end, press section, partial drying, coating at size press and finally drying again as evidenced by SMOOK.
Alternatively, should the applicant argue that those features are not anticipated by BRACEWEL, they are obvious over KARLSSON. KARLSSON discloses a size press that is between the dryer sections [pg. 213-214 and pg. 358 Table 4].
At the time of the invention it would be obvious to combine the known drying techniques of KARLSSON with the papermaking drying of BRACELL. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the dry the paper after size coating while allowing for high-speed production in the conventional fourdrinier paper machine.
As for claim 2, KARLSSON discloses heated rolls [pg. 48 Figure 6 and pg. 111]. KARLSSON discloses that a paper machine of max size is 11 meters (11,000 mm) [pg. 508 section 5.1]. Therefore KARLSSON suggest a paper machine size of 11,000 mm or less which overlaps with the instant claimed range. KARLSSON also discloses specific machines with a width of 7 to 9 m [pg. 387].
As for claim 4, KARLSSON discloses the moisture level of 3% for fine papers at the size press [pg. 358 Table 4]. Further the dryer of KARLSSON has multiple dryer sections that goes to near 0% moisture [pg. 48 Figure 6].
As for claim 5, KARLSSON shows the sheet temperature going from 60 to 130 degrees C, which falls within the claimed range [pg. 48 Figure 6].
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748