DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIU et al. (U.S> Pub No. 20220224129).
Regarding claims 1, 12, LIU et al. disclose an off-grid battery servicing system, comprising: a rechargeable energy storage device for an off-grid energy storage and supply; and a controller storage device from a first set of cells in the one or more battery packs, wherein the energy from the first set of cells of the one or more battery packs is drawn and stored in the rechargeable energy storage device from a discharging operation of the first set of cells when the first set of cells are identified as defective (See paragraph 0513-0524); and charge a second set of cells in the one or more battery packs from the stored energy in the rechargeable energy storage device(See paragraph 0518-0551) .
Regarding claim 2 Liu et al. disclose wherein the off-grid battery servicing system, wherein the off-grid battery test and characterization comprises evaluating one or more of: a state of health, a state of power, a state of charge, or a battery health in accordance with a defined battery testing standard (See paragraph 0164).
[0164] With some of the embodiments, as shown in Table 3, a battery system may support a plurality of operational modes: Off (Sleep), Balancing, and Charging/Discharging. While a single mode is shown for charging/discharging, charging and discharging are separate operations based on the interaction of the battery system with its external environment. For example, when the wake and safety interlock indicators are on and if charger (typically external to the battery system) is sensed via a CAN bus, the battery system enters the charging state. However, if the battery system senses an end device (for example, an appliance), the battery system enters the discharging state. As will be discussed in further detail, a battery system may support “smart charging” when in the charging mode and “smart discharging” when in the discharging mode.
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al. disclose the off-grid battery servicing system wherein the off-grid battery test and characterization comprises evaluating one or more of: an amount of heat generated in the one or more battery packs while being charged, a fluid leakage, and a charge-discharge rate (See paragraph 0164).
Regarding claims 4, 13, Liu et al. disclose the off-grid battery servicing system, wherein the off-grid battery test and characterization further comprises identifying one or more first components repairable in the one or more battery packs (See paragraph 0342).
[0342] In step 3906, the system determines the total virtual current providable by the battery system. In step 3907, the system generates a message indicating the virtual battery system current. In step 3908, the system determines whether a virtual current from any of the battery packs exceeds an individual pack warning threshold and/or whether the combined virtual current from the battery packs exceeds a combined pack warning threshold. The determination of step 3908 may relate to either individual pack warning threshold or the combined pack warning threshold or both. If one threshold is not met (if only one threshold is compared) or if both thresholds are not met (if both thresholds are being compared), then in step 3909, the message is sent via the communication channel. If one or more of the thresholds are met in step 3908, then in step 3910, the message is augmented with the specific pack current and/or combined pack currents. In step 3911, the system determine whether the battery pack virtual current exceeds an error threshold. If the threshold is not exceeded by the battery pack virtual current, then in step 3912, the system triggers a warning notification output and then sends the notification, in step 3909, via the communication channel. If the threshold is exceeded in step 3911, then the system initiates a fault recovery process (as described herein) in step 3913. The fault process may comprise reducing power output from the battery packs, limiting a maximum current from the battery packs, limiting a maximum voltage from the battery packs, disabling one or more battery packs while permitting other battery packs to operate, swapping one or more battery packs for spare battery packs, and the like.
Regarding claims 5, 14, Liu et al. disclose the off-grid battery servicing system further comprising an augmented reality apparatus configured to generate one or more instructions to guide an operator to repair the identified one or more first components (See paragraph 0342-0343).
Regarding claims 6, 15, Liu et al. disclose the off-grid battery servicing system wherein the off-grid battery test and characterization further comprises identifying one or more second components non-repairable in the one or more battery packs, wherein the controller is further configured to replace the one or more second components in the one or more battery packs to restore the one or more battery packs (See paragraph 0342-0343).
Regarding claim 7, Liu et al. disclose the off-grid battery servicing system, wherein the controller is configured to arrange the one or more battery packs on a lid configured as a test plate of a workstation to perform the off- grid battery test and characterization of the one or more battery packs (See paragraph 0342-0343).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al. disclose the off-grid battery servicing system further comprises an integrated safety system, wherein the controller is configured to communicate with the integrated safety system to detect, via a detection system, an unsafe condition and bring the off-grid battery servicing system to a safe halt (See paragraph 0342-0343, monitoring health of battery and warning notification of unsafe condition 0342).
Regarding claim 9, Liu et al. disclose the off-grid battery servicing system, wherein the controller is further configured to re-test the one or more battery packs after installation of the
Regarding claim 16, Liu et al. disclose a vehicle for use as a mobile and off-grid battery servicing system, comprising the off-grid battery servicing system (See paragraph 1003).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not specifically disclose the off-grid battery servicing system, further comprising an electrically controlled arm, wherein the controller is configured to generate the one or more instructions on the augmented reality apparatus to guide the operator to control the electrically controlled arm to withdraw the first set of cells from one or more specific locations in the one or more battery packs and install the second set of cells at the one or more specific locations in lieu of the first set of cells.
Nor does the prior arts disclose the off-grid battery servicing system, wherein the controller is configured to control the rechargeable energy storage device to maintain an approximately uniform charge in each cell in the one or more battery packs when the second set of cells are installed in the one or more battery packs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 20130249289) disclose a system includes an energy storage system capable of receiving electrical energy from an energy source and can supply electrical energy to a first load during a first period and to the first load during a second period. The first load differs in usage rate from the first period relative to the second period. A system controller maintains the energy storage system such that the energy storage system maintains a first amount of stored electrical energy during a first mode, and a second amount of electrical energy during a second mode. The system controller maintains the energy storage system in the first mode during a first portion of the first period, and in the second mode during a second portion of the first period.
/GERTRUDE ARTHUR JEANGLAUDE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661