DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in consideration of the Applicant’s response on July 29, 2026. Claims 15, 23, and 28 are amended by the Applicant. Claims 21 and 27 are canceled. Claims 1 – 14 were previously canceled. Claims 15 – 20, 22 – 26, and 28, where Claims 15, 23, and 28 are in independent form, are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued:
Regarding Claims 15 and 23, as amended, are directed to statutory subject matter under 101.
Regarding Claims 15 and 23, the combination of MacCarthy and Villax does not disclose or suggest the claimed limitations.
The Office respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions.
1. With regards to a), the Applicant argues that because the personal code may be a hashed function of the public key, the mathematical calculation cannot be reasonably performed in the human mind [See Remarks, Pg. 1]. Without agreeing to this statement, the Office directs the Applicant to the variant in which the personal code is a random number recorded as being associated with the public key [See Claim 15, line 5]. Since a random number is something a person and mentally associate with another value, the Applicant’s argument of computational complexity is irrelevant.
The Applicant further argues that the claims improve the re-associating of anonymized data because of the “specific technical architecture in which different cryptographic data elements…are distributed among segregated computer servers” [See Remarks, Pg. 2]. While the claims recited a public key, private key, and personal code, none of these elements are used in any form of cryptographic operation in the claims besides the hash of the public key which is an alternative to a random number for the personal code. The hash is not required in the claims and, therefore, holds no weight in the analysis of the claims. Multiple entities having various identifiers and personal information is not an improvement to a technical issue regarding segregated computing systems. As illustrated in the 101 rejection, the claimed functions can be performed by people mentally and there are no additional limitations integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The Applicant applies BASCOM to analysis under Step 2B to suggest the claims are analogous and are patent eligible [See Remarks, Pgs. 3-4]. Foremost, different subsets of cryptographic data being distributed between multiple computers is not more than an abstract idea. As indicated previously, different entities having privy to one subset of information and not another is nothing new. Associating a randomly generated number with a user, then using the randomly generated number to associate the user with tests, documents, etc. without providing the identity of the user is a well-known method of organizing human activity.
BASCOM utilized a communication filtering tool to address a technical problem. However, the court case merely indicated that the combination of all the elements should be considered for 101 analysis. The claims do not recite or provide any technical improvement that would overcome the 101 rejection as further illustrated below.
2. With regards to b), Applicant’s arguments regarding Villax not available as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C), Applicant has provided evidence in this file showing that the claimed invention and the subject matter disclosed in the prior art reference were owned by, or subject to an obligation of assignment to, the same entity as Mediceeus Dados de Saude, S.A. not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or the subject matter disclosed in the prior art reference was developed and the claimed invention was made by, or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement in effect not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention. However, although reference Villax has been excepted as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), it is still applicable as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) that cannot be excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C).
Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
The Applicant further argues that the flow of data described in MacCarthy is different than the data flow in the claims [See Remarks, Pg. 7]. While it is correct that the intermediate computer system generates a cumulative report based on the data collected from the source computer systems, the encrypted and de-identified patient data received from the source computer systems also comprise the personal code (anonymized patient identifier). Therefore, the collection computing system obtains the personal code from the source computer systems via the intermediate computing system. Nothing within the claims prevents the use of an intermediary from processing the data, then forwarding the processed data to the end destination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15 – 20, 22 – 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
3. Claims 15 and 23 recites a system and method for “accessing…anonymized data…transferring the personal code…matching the personal code with the public key…transferring the personal code…and matching the personal code to a data owner identifier,” which can be considered a mental process that can be performed in the human mind.
This process is routinely performed by people when they administer an exam in school. For example, a test taker is given a student ID (personal code) by the administration office. The test taker uses their student ID and adds it to any tests provided in a testing site (transferring the personal code from a first entity to a second entity). When the student hands in the test, the proctor can verify the student’s face matches the picture on the student ID (matching the personal code with public key at the second entity). The completed tests are graded by the teachers, each with their respective student IDs, and filed with the administration office (transferring the personal code from the second entity to a third entity). To provide the test grades to the students, each student provides their student ID to the administration office where the grades for the tests are retrieved using the student ID and associated with a student’s name (matching the personal code to a data owner identifier by the third entity). The administration office provides the re-associated anonymized data (accessing by the first entity the anonymized data stored by the second entity). The above process is method of organizing human activity of providing anonymized grading of tests. Therefore, this process is an abstract idea under Step 2, Prong One of the 2019 PEG.
Analysis under Step 2A, Prong Two, leads to the determination that this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the various entities being a third-party computer, a service provider computer server, and a user identification data computer server merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Furthermore, the use of a public key of the data owner and the personal code being a random number recorded in a computer file as being associated with the public key generally links the use of the judicial exception at a high level to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP 2016.05(f) and MPEP 2016.05(h).
Analysis under Step 2B leads to the determination that the claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. See MPEP 2106.05(e). Therefore the claims are rejected under 101.
4. Regarding Claim 28, the claims merely add limitations that use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2016.05(f)
5. Regarding Claims 16 – 20, 22, and 24 – 26, the claims merely add a “reason” to perform the functions, which only requires a data request, data processing, and transmission of data (e.g. Claims 17-20), which are insignificant extra-solution activity, See MPEP 2106.05(g), or merely describe the type of data used (e.g., Claims 16, 21, and 22) generally links the use of the judicial exception at a high level to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PGPub. 2016/0147945 (hereinafter “MacCarthy”), in view of PGPub. 2022/0222373 (hereinafter “Villax”).
6. Regarding Claim 15, MacCarthy discloses a computer-implemented method for re-associating anonymised data with a data owner, wherein the data owner has the method comprising:
accessing by a third-party computer the anonymised data stored on a service provider computer server [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0052; 0078-79];
transferring the personal code from the third-party computer to the service provider computer server [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0051, 0077-78];
transferring the personal code from the service provider computer server to a user identification data computer server [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0052-54, 0079-80]; and
matching the personal code to a data owner identifier by the user identification data computer server [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0054, 0081].
MacCarthy discloses the use of encryption keys to encrypt data [Para. 0049]. MacCarthy, however, does nwherein the public key is a public asymmetric cryptographic key of the data owner and the personal code is one of a hashed function of the public key of the data owner or a random number recorded in a computer file as being associated with the public key, or of matching the personal code with the public key at the service provider computer server.
Villax discloses a system and method for processing anonymized data [Abstract]. Villax further discloses that a communication can be validated by signing the anonymous identifier with a private key, where the recipient of the message can verify the message by verifying the signature by decrypting the signature with an attached public key (matching the personal code with the public key at the service provider computer server) [Para. 0084]. Villax additionally discloses that the public key is a public asymmetric cryptographic key of the data owner and the personal code is one of a hashed function of the public key of the data owner or a random number recorded in a computer file as being associated with the public key [Para 0071, 0123]. This process can be performed by each system that handles the request for information associated with the anonymized identifier. It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Villax with MacCarthy since both systems process anonymized data between parties. The motivation to do so is to ensure that the messages being received can be authenticated by the receiving party for improved security [Villax; Para. 0084].
7. Regarding Claim 28, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 15. MacCarthy further discloses of computer-readable medium comprising instructions (program) which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method [Para. 0092-95].
8. Regarding Claim 16, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 15. MacCarthy further discloses that the data owner identifier is at least one of a name or further personal identifiers of the data owner [Para. 0056].
9. Regarding Claim 17, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 15. MacCarthy further discloses that the accessing the anonymised data comprises obtaining a need to associate the anonymised data with the data owner [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0048-49].
10. Regarding Claim 18, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 17. MacCarthy further discloses that the obtaining a need to associate the anonymised data comprises obtaining a result derived from accessing and processing the anonymised data by the third-party computer [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0052-54].
11. Regarding Claim 19, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 18. MacCarthy further discloses of:
transferring the result together with the personal code from the third-party computer to the service provider computer server [Para. 0051-54]; and
transferring the result together with the personal code from the service provider computer server to the user identification data computer server [Para. 0051-54].
12. Regarding Claim 20, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 19. MacCarthy further discloses of transferring the result to a personal computing device of the data owner and to the computer of any authorised entity with the need to know the result [Para. 0042, 0055; doctor and/or patient].
13. Regarding Claim 21, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 19. Villax further discloses that the public key is known exclusively to the service provider computer server, and to the personal computing device of the data owner [Para. 0058].
14. Regarding Claim 23, MacCarthy discloses a system for re-associating anonymised data with a data owner [Fig. 1 and 4], wherein the data owner has the system comprising:
a. a service provider computer server for:
i. storing anonymised data [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0052-54, 0079-81],
iii. transferring the personal code to a user identification data computer server [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0052-54, 0079-81];
b. a third-party computer for accessing the anonymised data and for transferring the personal code to the service provider computer server [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0051-52, 0077-79]; and
c. the user identification data computer server for matching the personal code to a data owner identifier [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0054, 0081].
MacCarthy discloses the use of encryption keys to encrypt data [Para. 0049]. MacCarthy, however, does nwherein the public key is a public asymmetric cryptographic key of the data owner and the personal code is one of a hashed function of the public key of the data owner or a random number recorded in a computer file as being associated with the public key, or of matching the personal code with the public key at the service provider computer server.
Villax discloses a system and method for processing anonymized data [Abstract]. Villax further discloses that a communication can be validated by signing the anonymous identifier with a private key, where the recipient of the message can verify the message by verifying the signature by decrypting the signature with an attached public key (matching the personal code with the public key at the service provider computer server) [Para. 0084]. Villax additionally discloses that the public key is a public asymmetric cryptographic key of the data owner and the personal code is one of a hashed function of the public key of the data owner or a random number recorded in a computer file as being associated with the public key [Para 0071, 0123]. This process can be performed by each system that handles the request for information associated with the anonymized identifier. It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Villax with MacCarthy since both systems process anonymized data between parties. The motivation to do so is to ensure that the messages being received can be authenticated by the receiving party for improved security [Villax; Para. 0084].
15. Regarding Claim 24, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 23. MacCarthy further discloses of a data provider computer server for transferring the anonymised data to the service provider computer server [Para. 0052-54].
16. Regarding Claim 25, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 24. Villax further discloses of a personal computing device of the data owner for
a. generating the private key, the public key and the personal code [Para. 0071];
b. transferring the public key exclusively to the service provider computer server [Para. 0058, 0071]; and
c. transferring the personal code to the user identification data computer server, the data provider computer server, the service provider computer server and the third-party computer [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0051-54, 0079-81].
17. Regarding Claim 26, MacCarthy, in view of Villax, discloses the limitations of Claim 15. MacCarthy further discloses of storage of at least one of health data [Abstract] and electoral data.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contacts
/TAE K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496