DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1-15 were amended and claims 16-20 are new.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner would welcome an interview to clarify any of the various rejections seen below in order to expedite prosecution of the instant application.
Due to pervasive issues of indefiniteness we recommend carefully redrafting all claims on amendment. We note that by eliminating all multiple dependencies and parenting dependent claims on claim 1 applicant has introduced many indefiniteness issues, but others stem from the underlying poor quality of the translated specification.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: P12/L27-33 of the specification lexicographically defines applicant’s “beacon”, otherwise seeming to be an electronic device, as a “signal fire”. This definition is so profoundly bizarre as to call into question the meaning of this crucial term and indeed the integrity of the entire disclosure. Moreover the term “beacon” itself is confusing to the point of obfuscation, as applicant seems to be suggesting it is a communications relay or repeater, which function is only distantly and tangentially related to that of a beacon in plain English. We also note the existence of a device called a “Bluetooth beacon” which is not applicant’s device because a Bluetooth beacon has no relay or repeater or throughput communication capabilities whatsoever. If applicant renames their beacon, their entire disclosure including the title of the application and all relevant claims must also be changed to conform with the new term.
Claim Interpretation
Many claims recite the term “communication path” as linking a controller and an “addressee” such as a mobile transport device on applicant’s rail network. The term is not lexicographically defined in the instant specification and thus is subject to broadest reasonable interpretation.
We observe, generally, that a core feature of the Internet and one of the original drivers of its creation is redundant communication paths. Network devices such as routers and switches may choose many paths to route a packet from a source to a destination. To the extent that applicant employs commercial network hardware, such redundancy is effectively inherent in the use of Internet Protocol. Any conventional Overhead Hoist Transport system that uses the Internet or Internet Protocol for its devices gains the benefit of communication path redundancy.
We further observe that any device that comprises two or more networking interfaces (a common feature of controllers and general purpose computers) also provides two or more communication paths regardless of network protocol. For example, devices with two Wi-Fi cards, a Wi-Fi card and a Bluetooth card, or two Bluetooth cards would all provide two communication paths.
Based on the above discussion, we interpret the term “communication path” as any logical or physical path between two networked devices. For example, every pair of IP addresses defines at least one logical path, and every network interface, router, switch, and similar device on a network is a node in what is usually a large plurality of possible physical paths. Different layers in the conventional OSI network model may each have their own forms of communication paths from the physical layer through the application layer.
Many claims recite the term “roll adapters”, not lexicographically defined in the instant specification. We interpret these as carriages or transport devices that carry applicant’s hanging bags along tracks or rails, typically comprising motorized wheels or rollers. These roll adapters are further limited as having “cotraveling longitudinal and transverse dynamics control” which confusing and not formally defined phrase we interpret as the carriage being able to move along the rails, and also being able to be switched from one rail to another at junction points or intersections in the rail network, perhaps by rotating the wheels.
We note several claims in which applicant has specified an overarching “or” or “and/or” for a list of alternatives which appears to render the bulk of the claim limitations irrelevant. Of course, alternative lists are commonplace in claim language, but in some of the instant claims a trivial and commonplace broadly limited alternative effectively eliminates the others from serious consideration. Applicant may wish to reconsider these drafting choices on amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite the word “suspendible”. The English word applicant intends is probably “suspensible”.
Claim 1 is further objected to because the claim recites, “such as a random, individual one of the hanging bags” (emphasis added). While we are aware of an informal secondary usage of “random” meaning “arbitrarily chosen”, the word’s primary meaning of “chosen by chance” is inapplicable and so the usage is confusing in context.
Claims 2-3, 6-8, 13, and 20 recite one or more of “beacons I”, “beacons II”, and “beacons III”. Since I, II, and III are reference characters for applicant’s drawings, for consistency with applicant’s redaction of all their other reference characters from the claims these terms may more properly be rendered as “clusters of first beacons”, “clusters of second beacons”, and “clusters of third beacons”, but other formulations are also possible.
Claim 11 is objected to because the first, terse limitation, “wherein the communication paths A and B have different time responses” covers the other wordy and/or limitations and so the rest of the claim may be redacted with no change in limiting force. As an aside, since no action is predicated on the different time responses, the claim appears to have no inventive value in any event.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 10 recites the term, “self-learning Meshnet”. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not know what a self-learning Meshnet is. The vendor of the Meshnet product, NordVPN, does not advertise a “self-learning” capability, and moreover, “self-learning” is not a standard term of art or readily interpretable to yield a concrete method or process according to the plain English meaning of “self-learning”, which is related to a person being an autodidact. Applicant may have intended “mesh network” rather than the particular product Meshnet offered by NordVPN, but the same objection applies to “self-learning” in that case. We may speculate such a network investigates its own deployed topology or comprises a machine-learning component of some sort, but both these alternatives are incompatible and in any event these speculations are unsupported by evidence in the disclosure. The instant specification recites the term four times, but nowhere is the term explained or a self-learning method disclosed.
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be based on a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. While some effort has plainly been made to correct pervasive drafting issues, many discursive, redundant, and even illogical phrasings remain.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 2-15 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “beacon” in claims 2-3, 6-8, 13, and 20 is used by the claim to mean “networked relay or repeater,” while the accepted meaning is “a strong light” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Further discussion of the indefiniteness of “beacon” follows. “Beacon” is lexicographically defined as a signal fire in P12/L27-33 of the instant specification. Of course, it is profoundly implausible for a signal fire to be deployed in a storage facility. Moreover, no signal fire can sensibly have networked communication capabilities. Thus the instant specification fails to redefine the term clearly. However, this is applicant’s definition and it cannot simply be ignored. Furthermore, even putting this signal fire issue aside, the plain English meaning of the word “beacon” has little to do with a device that acts as a radio signal or networked communications relay or repeater and so the use of the term is obfuscatory. Evidently both the term “beacon” and the relevant definition text in the instant specification were mistranslated.
A device called a “Bluetooth beacon” is known to exist, and because applicant discloses the use of Bluetooth this device must be considered in the role of applicant’s beacon; if it were apt, applicant’s term “beacon” would likewise be apt. However, applicant’s beacon is used as a relay or repeater on a communications path, and a Bluetooth beacon is incapable of performing this function. Rather, a Bluetooth beacon simply emits an ID value and does not respond to inputs; thus a device of this type cannot possibly serve as applicant’s claimed beacon; indeed in the context of a Bluetooth beacon, applicant’s nomenclature is even less appropriate than it would otherwise be.
For purposes of examination on the merits in this office action, we interpret applicant’s “beacon” as a “networking device” because, of the many networking devices that can possibly act as relays or repeaters, we do not know which the applicant intends. Examples include controllers, routers, switches, modems, and analog wireless repeaters as well as general-purpose computers. We note in particular that any networked controller that comprises an Internet-capable network interface can act as a repeater or relay for packets. Thus, load carriers or other conveyance devices that comprise networked controllers may be considered beacons.
We note as an aside that despite the frequent recitation of beacons in the claims, in many of the instant claims beacons are merely optional devices as they are recited as entries in lists of alternatives that include list items without beacons. As a further aside we note that many claims recite different groups of beacons, “beacons I”, “beacons II”, and/or “beacons III”. In most claims these beacon groups are not distinguished one from the other, and so any reference that discloses a plurality of devices mapped to beacons may also disclose one, two, or three groups of beacons that map to the beacons of such claims.
Claim 3 moreover recites:
wherein the communication path A from the control device to the addressee can be set up using:
an intermediate controller,
a beacons I,
a beacons II,
or directly from one of the beacons I, using respectively one route to the addressee and/or the beacon II can be set up, and/or
a plurality of the hanging bags can be directed to the addressee, and, independent of that, the communication path B can be directed from the control device via one of the beacons III to the addressee, wherein the communication paths A and B have different communication protocols and/or routes and/or radio frequencies.
Emphasis added. We note that the instances of “or” and “and/or” in this list mean that a rejecting reference need only teach one of these choices, not all of them. We also note there is no basis for distinguishing “a beacons I” from “a beacons II” in this claim. We consider the following points to be instances of indefiniteness and grounds for rejection:
We do not clearly understand what the fourth alternative limitation “or directly from one of the beacons I…” means as the text is ungrammatical and moreover a communication path from a control device cannot be traced “directly from one of the beacons” as applicant’s beacon is different from applicant’s control device. A beacon considered as a relay or repeater must be part of an indirect path from a control device to an addressee.
We do not understand what the direction of hanging bags to an addressee in the final limitation (a transportation task) has to do with setting up a communication path as claimed in the heading of the list of alternative limitations. For the bag to be so directed, a communication path must have already been set up.
We do not understand what “independent of that” means in the final limitation.
We do not understand what the final limitation’s mention of communication path B has to do with setting up communication path A which is recited as the activity of the claim and to which communication path B seems to have no connection.
These items each call into question the meaning of the claim and constitute points of indefiniteness.
Claims 3, 8, and 13 recite limitations with the term "the beacons III” in lines 11, 2, and 2 respectively. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claims.
Claim 5 recites, “…a density of the hanging bags and/or roll adapters on the network viewed in an x-direction and/or direction of travel and in case of a traveling in convoy or a storage in standstill….” These clauses are sufficiently ungrammatical and confusing as to render the claim indefinite as a whole. Moreover, the terms “a traveling in convoy” and “a storage in standstill”, though suggestive of meaning, are also individually indefinite. For purposes of examination on the merits in this office action, we consider that any density of the hanging bags measured in any dimension or situation of the bags is acceptable. We note as an aside that the further limitation “up to 20 of the hanging bags per meter” renders the whole claim almost meaningless, though this issue does not itself render the claim indefinite.
Claims 6-7 recite limitations with the term "the beacons I” in lines 2 and 3 respectively. The claims moreover recite limitations with the term “the beacons II” in lines 2 and 5 respectively. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claims.
Claims 8 and 14 recite the limitation "the second transceiving device” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
The term “high communication requirement” in claims 9 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high communication requirement” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination on the merits in this office action we disregard consideration of a high communication requirement.
The term “highly flexible” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “highly flexible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination on the merits in this office action we disregard consideration of flexibility.
Moreover, the term “self-learning Meshnet” in claim 10 is not understood and constitutes another point of indefiniteness. A method or process of “self-learning” must be disclosed and claimed to support this usage because the term “self-learning” is nonstandard and unexplained in the instant specification. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to design or provide such a network, which feature is not advertised by the Meshnet vendor, NordVPN. (If applicant intends the generic term “mesh network” they must amend and conform to this usage). For purposes of examination on the merits in this office action, we disregard the self-learning requirement and interpret the claim as requiring the use of a generic Meshnet product.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the plurality of hanging bags” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herzog-Lang, Viktor, DE 102018128417 (hereinafter Herzog-Lang) in view of Deloche, G., Internet RFC 11, 1969 (hereinafter Deloche). Note Herzog-Lang’s assignee is the same as the instant application and Herzog-Lang is also an inventor of the instant application, but the publication is acceptable as a rejecting reference under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) because it was published more than a year prior to the instant application.
Regarding claim 1,
Herzog-Lang discloses:
A hanging bag storage (system 13: fig. 1) for storing, picking, sorting and retrieving storage articles, comprising:
a network (rail network 15: fig. 1), on which the plurality of hanging bags (sorting bag 11: fig. 2) suspended on roll adapters (unit of 17, 29, etc.: fig. 1) can be displaced autonomously or at least partially autonomously (autonomy, [0006]) each using a cotraveling longitudinal and transverse dynamics control (steering element 51: fig. 4),
a control device (control device 31: fig 1), by which the hanging bag storage can be controlled and/or monitored and/or the storing, picking and sorting of the storage articles can be controlled and a sequence of the storage articles for a retrieval of the storage articles can be specified,
a plurality of roll adapters and hanging bags suspendible or suspended on the roll adapters, wherein the roll adapters or the hanging bags each comprise the cotraveling longitudinal and transverse dynamics control and wherein at least one of the storage articles, respectively, can be received and retrieved again in the hanging bags,Herzog-Lang discloses storage and retrieval in [0017]; the other aspects of the limitation are repeated from the first limitation above.
However, Herzog-Lang does not fully disclose:
a first communication configuration, using which a communication path A between the control device and an addressee such as a random, individual one of the hanging bags can be set up,
a second communication configuration, using another communication path B, which is independent of the communication path A, can be set up between the control device and the addressee, wherein the hanging bags and/or roll adapters and/or the addressee can each be electively addressed, communicated with and/or controlled by the control device by and electively using one or two of the two communication paths A and B. While Herzog-Lang discloses communications in [0006], it does not disclose multiple communication configurations or paths.
Deloche, a core publication for the ARPANET, teaches the missing aspects of:
a first communication configuration, using which a communication path A between the control device and an addressee such as a random, individual one of the hanging bags can be set up,
a second communication configuration, using another communication path B, which is independent of the communication path A, can be set up between the control device and the addressee, wherein the hanging bags and/or roll adapters and/or the addressee can each be electively addressed, communicated with and/or controlled by the control device by and electively using one or two of the two communication paths A and B.Deloche teaches primary and auxiliary connections (communication configurations and paths) between users in section 2.2. Deloche further teaches in this section that primary and auxiliary connections are different and that multiple different auxiliary connections may be established. Thus, Deloche teaches at least electable communication paths A and B as claimed. Deloche’s RFC 11 is the general basis for ARPANET, the network that preceded the public Internet. Ever since its publication, all Internet implementations have featured a plurality of alternative electable communication paths provided as a core feature of such networks. The vast majority of facility networks implemented today use the Internet and Internet Protocol. We note as an aside that any device with two network interfaces, a common provision of general-purpose computers as well as myriad special-purpose devices, also provides electable communication paths A and B regardless of protocol. In combination with Herzog-Lang, we employ Deloche to suppose that Herzog-Lang’s carriages have Internet addresses and use Internet Protocol for communication, as do most networked industrial devices today.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Herzog-Lang with a first communication configuration, using which a communication path A between the control device and an addressee such as a random, individual one of the hanging bags can be set up, a second communication configuration, using another communication path B, which is independent of the communication path A, can be set up between the control device and the addressee, wherein the hanging bags and/or roll adapters and/or the addressee can each be electively addressed, communicated with and/or controlled by the control device by and electively using one or two of the two communication paths A and B, as taught by Deloche, because for well over 50 years networks have been routinely configured to provide the claimed capability and indeed it would be difficult to find a data network today that doesn’t have the claimed capability.
We note as an aside that while it was convenient based on the wording of this and certain other claims to cite Deloche in rejection, myriad other examples of prior art teaching multiple network interfaces including Combs (cited below in the rejection of claim 14) could also have been used, because providing at least two network interfaces also necessarily results in the provision of at least two communication paths.
Regarding claim 2,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the communication configurations comprise at least one or a plurality of elements from the following group:
a hanging bag and/or a roll adapter with a cotraveling first transceiving device configured for the communication path A and a cotraveling second transceiving device configured for the communication path B,(not taught)
the control device, designed or configured for centrally controlling the hanging bag storage, generating, sending and/or receiving messages using the communication paths A and B,(not taught)
a plurality of intermediate controllers, which are arranged downstream of the control device, each equipped with an independent computing capacity and configured for the communication path A,Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches this limitation inasmuch as all Herzog-Lang’s roll adapter transport devices on its rail network are equipped with controllers and may communicate along communication path A; for any given such roll adapter, some other roll adapters will be “upstream” and some will be “downstream” on a path that includes a plurality of nodes.
a cluster of two to 10 beacons I, which is arranged downstream of one of the intermediate controllers and wherein the beacons I are each configured for the communication path A,
a cluster of two to 10 beacons II, which is arranged downstream of one of the beacons I and wherein the beacons I are configured for the communication path A,
a plurality of beacons III, which are arranged downstream of the control device and configured for the communication path B. Herzog-Lang also discloses the matter of the three alternative limitations immediately above because all Herzog-Lang’s controllers for its roll adapter transport devices can be considered beacons, and because the communication paths A and B are not distinguished in the claim and so either one may be considered to be used by any controller.
Regarding claim 3,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 1 but not:
wherein the communication path A from the control device to the addressee can be set up using:
an intermediate controller,Herzog-Lang teaches that its load carriers each comprise a controller in [0026]. Herzog-Lang further teaches in [0006] that its carrier vehicles can communicate with other sorter pockets, and in this scenario other load carrier controllers are intermediate controllers.
a beacons I,
a beacons II,Herzog-Lang also discloses the matter of the two alternative limitations immediately above because all Herzog-Lang’s controllers for its roll adapter transport devices can be considered beacons.
or directly from one of the beacons I, using respectively one route to the addressee and/or the beacon II can be set up, and/or (not taught)
a plurality of the hanging bags can be directed to the addressee, and, independent of that, the communication path B can be directed from the control device via one of the beacons III to the addressee, wherein the communication paths A and B have different communication protocols and/or routes and/or radio frequencies.(not taught)
Regarding claim 5,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein a density of the hanging bags and/or roll adapters on the network viewed in an x-direction and/or direction of travel and in case of a traveling in convoy or a storage in standstill, is up to 20 of the hanging bags per meter and/or the network comprises a plurality of travel paths with this density arranged in parallel viewed in a y- direction and/or z-direction, wherein the hanging bags and/or roll adapters and/or the addressee can each be electively addressed, communicated with or controlled by the control device by and using the two communication paths A and B. Applicant’s limitation “up to 20 of the hanging bags per meter” means that any lesser number is acceptable. Any storage system whatsoever can at least store 0 bags per meter (though more may be commonplace) and since 0 is less than 20, the requirements of the limitation will always be satisfied.
Regarding claim 6,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the beacons I, the beacons II and the hanging bags each comprise one of the first transceiving devices configured for the communication path A, which are configured for receiving, sending or relaying messages, wherein a number of the transceiving devices used for transmitting an individual message via the communication path A is flexible.Our interpretation of the indefinite term “beacons” admits any networked device including the plurality of controllers associated with load carriers disclosed by Herzog-Lang that make use of wireless networking. Any of that plurality may be “beacons I” or “beacons II” because no claimed features distinguish the two groups. As no known form of internetworking fixes a specific number of devices to be communicated with (at most various forms limit maximum numbers), we consider that the “flexible” requirement is satisfied for all devices and networks common to the art including those of Herzog-Lang.
Regarding claim 11,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the communication paths A and B have different time responses,
and/or the communication path A has a relatively slower time response than the communication path B, which time response is adapted to the storing and addressing at rest,
and/or that the communication path B has a faster time response than the communication path A, which time response is adapted to the sorting or sorting and controlling in conveying plants and sorting devices with a high communication requirement inside the hanging bag storage.Deloche teaches in section 2.2.2 that its primary connection path will be slower than its auxiliary connection path. Considering the primary path to be path A, the teaching is consistent with all three alternatives.
Regarding claim 12,
Herzog-Lang discloses:
A method for operating a hanging bag storage (system 13: fig. 1) equipped with at least partially autonomously or autonomously displaceable hanging bags (sorting bag 11: fig. 2), comprising
at least partially autonomous traveling of the hanging bags (autonomy, [0006]),
However Herzog-Lang does not disclose all aspects of:
wireless handing over of messages to the hanging bags for controlling the at least partially autonomous traveling using a communication path A and a communication path B independent thereof. While Herzog-Lang’s communication is wireless as claimed, Herzog-Lang does not disclose multiple communications paths.
Deloche, a core publication for the ARPANET, teaches the missing aspect of:
wireless handing over of messages to the hanging bags for controlling the at least partially autonomous traveling using a communication path A and a communication path B independent thereof.Deloche teaches primary and auxiliary connections (communication paths) between users in section 2.2. Deloche further teaches in this section that primary and auxiliary connections are different and that multiple different auxiliary connections may be established. Thus, Deloche teaches at least electable communication paths A and B as claimed. Deloche’s RFC 11 is the general basis for ARPANET, the network that preceded the public Internet. Ever since its creation, all Internet implementations have featured a plurality of alternative electable communication paths provided as a core feature of such networks. The vast majority of facility networks implemented today use the Internet and Internet Protocol. We note as an aside that any device with two network interfaces, a common provision of general-purpose computers as well as myriad special-purpose devices, also provides electable communication paths A and B regardless of protocol. In combination with Herzog-Lang, we employ Deloche to suppose that Herzog-Lang’s carriages have Internet addresses and use Internet Protocol for communication, as do most networked industrial devices today.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Herzog-Lang with wireless handing over of messages to the hanging bags for controlling the at least partially autonomous traveling using a communication path A and a communication path B independent thereof, as taught by Deloche, because for well over 50 years networks have been routinely configured to provide the claimed capability and indeed it would be difficult to find a data network today that doesn’t have the claimed capability.
Regarding claim 15,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 12 and also:
wherein electively transmitting a message or transmitting a message using the communication path A to only one of the hanging bags and/or roll adapters and/or to the addressee or simultaneously to multiple of the hanging bags and/or roll adapters. Herzog-Lang discloses communicating with a bag and/or adapter in the form of a load carrier in [0006].
Regarding claim 16,
Herzog-Lang discloses:
A hanging bag storage (system 13: fig. 1) for storing, picking, sorting or retrieving storage articles, comprising:
a network (rail network 15: fig. 1), on which the plurality of hanging bags (sorting bag 11: fig. 2) suspended on roll adapters can be displaced autonomously or at least partially autonomously each using a co-traveling longitudinal and transverse dynamics control (steering element 51: fig. 4),
a control device (control device 31: fig 1), by which the hanging bag storage can be controlled and/or monitored and/or the storing, picking and sorting of the storage articles can be controlled and a sequence of the storage articles for a retrieval of the storage articles can be specified,
a plurality of roll adapters and hanging bags suspendible,This adds nothing over the first limitation.
However, Herzog-Lang does not fully disclose:
a first communication configuration, using a communication path A between the control device and an addressee, and
a second communication configuration, using another communication path B, which is independent of the communication path A. While Herzog-Lang discloses communications in [0006], it does not disclose multiple communication paths.
Deloche, a core publication for the ARPANET, teaches the missing aspects of:
a first communication configuration, using a communication path A between the control device and an addressee, and
a second communication configuration, using another communication path B, which is independent of the communication path A. Deloche teaches primary and auxiliary connections (communication paths) between users in section 2.2. Deloche further teaches in this section that primary and auxiliary connections are different and that multiple different auxiliary connections may be established. Thus, Deloche teaches at least electable communication paths A and B as claimed. Deloche’s RFC 11 is the general basis for ARPANET, the network that preceded the public Internet. Ever since its creation, all Internet implementations have featured a plurality of alternative electable communication paths provided as a core feature of such networks. The vast majority of facility networks implemented today use the Internet and Internet Protocol. We note as an aside that any device with two network interfaces, a common provision of general-purpose computers as well as myriad special-purpose devices, also provides electable communication paths A and B regardless of protocol. In combination with Herzog-Lang, we employ Deloche to suppose that Herzog-Lang’s carriages have Internet addresses and use Internet Protocol for communication, as do most networked industrial devices today.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Herzog-Lang with a first communication configuration, using a communication path A between the control device and an addressee, and a second communication configuration, using another communication path B, which is independent of the communication path A, as taught by Deloche, because for well over 50 years networks have been routinely configured to provide the claimed capability and indeed it would be difficult to find a data network today that doesn’t have the claimed capability.
Regarding claim 17,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 16 and also:
wherein the hanging bags and/or roll adapters and/or the addressee can each be electively addressed, communicated with and/or controlled by the control device.Herzog-Lang teaches this communication and control in [0006].
Regarding claim 18,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 16 and also:
wherein the hanging bag storage is configured to partially autonomously or autonomously displace hanging bags. Herzog-Lang teaches the claimed autonomy in [0006].
Regarding claim 19,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 16 and also:
wherein the roll adapters or the hanging bags each comprise the co-traveling longitudinal and transverse dynamics control and wherein at least one of the storage articles can be received and retrieved again in the hanging bags. Herzog-Lang discloses storage and retrieval in [0017]; the other aspects of the limitation are repeated from parent claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 20,
Herzog-Lang discloses:
A hanging bag storage (system 13: fig. 1) for storing, picking, sorting and/or retrieving storage articles, comprising:
a network (rail network 15: fig. 1), on which the plurality of hanging bags (sorting bag 11: fig. 2) suspended on roll adapters (unit of 17, 29, etc.: fig. 1) can be displaced autonomously or at least partially autonomously (autonomy, [0006]) each using a co-traveling longitudinal and transverse dynamics control (steering element 51: fig. 4),
a control device (control device 31: fig 1), by which the hanging bag storage can be controlled and/or monitored and/or the storing, picking and sorting of the storage articles can be controlled and a sequence of the storage articles for a retrieval of the storage articles can be specified,
a plurality of roll adapters and hanging bags suspendible,This limitation adds nothing over the first limitation above.
However, Herzog-Lang does not fully disclose:
a first and a second communication configuration, wherein the communication configurations comprise at least one of the following:Herzog-Lang does not disclose multiple communications configurations.
a hanging bag, and/or a roll adapter with a cotraveling first transceiving device configured for a communication path A and a cotraveling second transceiving device configured for communication with a path B,Herzog-Lang only discloses one transceiving device.
the control device, designed or configured for centrally controlling the hanging bag storage, generating, sending and/or receiving messages using the communication paths A and B,While Herzog-Lang discloses a control device capable of communications, it does not disclose both paths.
a plurality of intermediate controllers, which are arranged downstream of the control device, each equipped with an independent computing capacity and configured for the communication path A,While Herzog-Lang discloses a plurality of intermediate controllers, at least some of which are downstream of the control device, in the form of additional load carriers each with their own controller in [0006], the matter of multiple paths is not disclosed.
Deloche, a core publication for the ARPANET, teaches the missing aspect of:
a first and a second communication configuration, wherein the communication configurations comprise at least one of the following:Deloche teaches primary and auxiliary connections (communication paths) between users in section 2.2. Deloche further teaches in this section that primary and auxiliary connections are different and that multiple different auxiliary connections may be established. Thus, Deloche teaches at least electable communication paths A and B as claimed. Deloche’s RFC 11 is the general basis for ARPANET, the network that preceded the public Internet. Ever since its creation, all Internet implementations have featured a plurality of alternative electable communication paths provided as a core feature of such networks. The vast majority of facility networks implemented today use the Internet and Internet Protocol. We note as an aside that any device with two network interfaces, a common provision of general-purpose computers as well as myriad special-purpose devices, also provides electable communication paths A and B regardless of protocol. In combination with Herzog-Lang, we employ Deloche to suppose that Herzog-Lang’s carriages have Internet addresses and use Internet Protocol for communication, as do most networked industrial devices today.
a hanging bag, and/or a roll adapter with a cotraveling first transceiving device configured for a communication path A and a cotraveling second transceiving device configured for communication with a path B,
the control device, designed or configured for centrally controlling the hanging bag storage, generating, sending and/or receiving messages using the communication paths A and B,
a plurality of intermediate controllers, which are arranged downstream of the control device, each equipped with an independent computing capacity and configured for the communication path A,Herzog-Lang discloses a plurality of intermediate controllers, at least some of which are downstream of the control device, in the form of additional load carriers each with their own controller in [0006]. In combination with Deloche, the overarching matter of two communication configurations and two associated communications paths A and B is taught.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Herzog-Lang with a first and a second communication configuration, wherein the communication configurations comprise at least one of the following: a hanging bag, and/or a roll adapter with a cotraveling first transceiving device configured for a communication path A and a cotraveling second transceiving device configured for communication with a path B, the control device, designed or configured for centrally controlling the hanging bag storage, generating, sending and/or receiving messages using the communication paths A and B, a plurality of intermediate controllers, which are arranged downstream of the control device, each equipped with an independent computing capacity and configured for the communication path A, as taught by Deloche, because for well over 50 years networks have been routinely configured to provide the claimed capability of multiple communications configurations and indeed it would be difficult to find a data network today that doesn’t have the claimed capability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche and further in view of: (video screenshot) psb intralogistics GmbH. Automated system solution for hanging items distribution. YouTube [online] [video]. PSB Intralogistics GmbH, January 6, 2017 [retrieved on 2026.10.09]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=083SY6f0bmM (hereinafter psb).
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the hanging bags and/or roll adapters and/or the addressee can each be electively addressed, communicated with and/or controlled by the control device by and using the two communication paths A and B. This limitation is a consequence of the limitations of claim 1. Given that all Internet-capable devices in a network provide a large plurality of communication paths (per Deloche) and that each hanging bag/roll-adapter/addressee has a network interface (per Herzog-Lang), it follows that all these items have multiple communication paths, and again by the nature of Internet communications, the path can be electively chosen by various networked devices including an upstream controller.
However, the references do not explicitly teach:
wherein the hanging bag storage is designed for and/or comprises at least 100,000, of the hanging bags,No numeric storage capacity is taught.
PSB, a commercial video on hanging item distribution, teaches:
wherein the hanging bag storage is designed for and/or comprises at least 100,000, of the hanging bags,PSB teaches (in the description text of the video, see attached screenshot) that its automatic distribution center can store 2 million hanging garments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Herzog-Lang and Deloche, wherein the hanging bag storage is designed for and/or comprises at least 100,000, of the hanging bags, as taught by PSB, because a high storage capacity is plainly a benefit for warehouse storage of articles, and because as a general rule warehouse capacity can be increased indefinitely by providing additional floorspace and additional conveyor capacity.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche and further in view of Perkins, et al., US 2011/0068892 (hereinafter Perkins).
Regarding claim 8,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 1, but not:
wherein the beacons III and the second transceiving devices of the hanging bags use the Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) standard and the communication path B can be established according to this standard. The references do not teach the claimed standard or second transceiving devices.
Perkins, an invention in the field of Bluetooth tracking, teaches:
wherein the beacons III and the second transceiving devices of the hanging bags use the Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) standard and the communication path B can be established according to this standard.Perkins teaches the use of BLE in networked tracking devices in [0054]. In combination with Herzog-Lang and Deloche, Bluetooth network interfaces like Perkins’ would be added to Herzog-Lang’s devices. Per our interpretation of the indefinite term “beacons” above, the networked devices of Herzog-Lang’s load carriers constitute beacons. With at least one communications path A being taught by Deloche based on the Internet the additional Bluetooth communications path would be the claimed path B and be associated with a second transceiver.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Herzog-Lang and Deloche, wherein the beacons III and the second transceiving devices of the hanging bags use the Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) standard and the communication path B can be established according to this standard, as taught by Perkins, because Bluetooth in general and BLE in particular is well known in the art as a low-energy networking solution, and lower energy expenditure equates to longer battery life and concomitant efficiency gains and cost savings.
Regarding claim 9,
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 1, but not:
wherein the communication path A can be set up over a first greater distance or over the first greater distance which extends in the region of the entire hanging bag storage and the communication path B can be set up over a second smaller distance or over the second smaller distance which extends in regions of the hanging bag storage with a high communication requirement and/or can be set up inside the hanging bag storage near conveying plants and sorting devices with the high communication requirement. The references do not teach the claimed path distances.
Perkins, an invention in the field of Bluetooth tracking, teaches:
wherein the communication path A can be set up over a first greater distance or over the first greater distance which extends in the region of the entire hanging bag storage and the communication path B can be set up over a second smaller distance or over the second smaller distance which extends in regions of the hanging bag storage with a high communication requirement and/or can be set up inside the hanging bag storage near conveying plants and sorting devices with the high communication requirement.Perkins teaches the use of BLE in networked tracking devices in [0054]. In combination with Herzog-Lang and Deloche, Bluetooth network interfaces like Perkins’ would be added to Herzog-Lang’s devices. Bluetooth in general and BLE in particular is known as a short-range communications form. Thus, in adding Perkins’ BLE-based network interface to the existing network interface of Herzog-Lang, a communications path B with shorter range than path A would be created. As the term “high communication requirement” is indefinite and relative, and as Bluetooth networking can in any event be set up regardless of communications requirements, we consider that the combination of Herzog-Lang, Deloche, and Perkins teaches this aspect of the claim as well.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Herzog-Lang and Deloche, wherein the communication path A can be set up over a first greater distance or over the first greater distance which extends in the region of the entire hanging bag storage and the communication path B can be set up over a second smaller distance or over the second smaller distance which extends in regions of the hanging bag storage with a high communication requirement and/or can be set up inside the hanging bag storage near conveying plants and sorting devices with the high communication requirement, as taught by Perkins, because Bluetooth in general and BLE in particular is well known in the art as a low-energy networking solution, and lower energy expenditure equates to longer battery life and concomitant efficiency gains and cost savings.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche and further in view of Hayes, Paul V., US 2006/0271314 (hereinafter Hayes).
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 1 but not:
wherein the communication path A has a highly flexible and/or self-learning Meshnet, and/or wherein a hierarchy of the communication path A can be adapted and/or generated by a self-learning operation.Herzog-Lang and Deloche do not disclose the use of Meshnet.
Hayes, an invention in the field of electrical power metering teaches:
wherein the communication path A has a highly flexible and/or self-learning Meshnet, and/or wherein a hierarchy of the communication path A can be adapted and/or generated by a self-learning operation.Per the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) above, we disregard the self-learning modifiers in this claim and also the requirement for high flexibility. Hayes discloses the use of a Meshnet in connection with Bluetooth in [0069]. In combination with Herzog-Lang, a Meshnet network interface could replace any other generic network interface used in Herzog-Lang’s system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Hayes and Deloche wherein the communication path A has a highly flexible and/or self-learning Meshnet, and/or wherein a hierarchy of the communication path A can be adapted and/or generated by a self-learning operation, as taught by Hayes because Meshnet is a commonly used commercial product of long standing that enables peer-to-peer networked communication among a wide variety of devices. A person of ordinary skill in the art might choose Meshnet for compatibility with their chosen device suite or because they already operate or subscribe to other NordVPN products or services.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche and further in view of Thomas, et al., DE 102022102207 (hereinafter Thomas).
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 12 but not:
wherein executing a handshake as soon as a respective one of the hanging bags is within a range of one of the beacons III, taking over the control of the respective one of the hanging bags using the communication path B for executing a sorting operation, retrieval operation and/or storage operation of the hanging bag storageThe references do not teach the claimed takeover of control.
Thomas, an invention in the field of plant vehicle navigation, teaches:
wherein executing a handshake as soon as a respective one of the hanging bags is within a range of one of the beacons III, taking over the control of the respective one of the hanging bags using the communication path B for executing a sorting operation, retrieval operation and/or storage operation of the hanging bag storage.We interpret this claim as the implementation of zone-based vehicle control, a common feature in segmented transport systems for manufacturing and storage facilities. Thomas teaches in [0042] the handover of control of a vehicle to a zone controller when a vehicle enters a particular zone. We relate the detection of the vehicle entering the zone to entering the range of a beacon, as the zone controller, being a networked device that relays commands, is a beacon. In this claim there is no basis for distinguishing a “beacon III” from any other beacon, nor is there a basis for distinguishing communication path B from any other path except inasmuch as path B is used to control the hanging bag’s actions; in effect whichever communication path is used to exercise this control can be considered path B. In combination with Herzog-Lang, Thomas’ zone controller would assume control of the bag’s sorting, retrieval, and storage operations when the bag enters the range of the beacon, i.e. when it enters the zone of control of one of Thomas’ controllers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Herzog-Lang and Deloche, wherein executing a handshake as soon as a respective one of the hanging bags is within a range of one of the beacons III, taking over the control of the respective one of the hanging bags using the communication path B for executing a sorting operation, retrieval operation and/or storage operation of the hanging bag storage, as taught by Thomas, because zone-based control of robotic vehicles operating on a rail network is a commonplace activity well known to the art; it is generally desirable for control functions to be executed in the particular region of a vehicle for reasons of responsiveness as well as to exploit any ephemeral or changing data regarding the local area that may be possessed by a zone controller and not or not yet possessed by other controllers in a facility.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche and further in view of Combs, et al., US 2012/0290126 (hereinafter Combs).
Herzog-Lang in view of Deloche teaches the limitations of claim 12 but not all aspects of:
wherein additionally using the second transceiving devices of the hanging bags and/or roll adapters configured for the communication path B for a travel dynamic control, a distance control and/or collision avoidance among one another and/orWhile multiple paths are taught per previous rejections (e.g. of claim 12), neither reference teaches a plurality of transceiving devices.
additionally interconnecting the hanging bags and/or roll adapters using the communication path B and/or a protocol of the communication path B for the travel dynamic control, distance control and/or collision avoidance.
Combs, an invention in the field of conveyor controllers, teaches the missing aspect of:
wherein additionally using the second transceiving devices of the hanging bags and/or roll adapters configured for the communication path B for a travel dynamic control, a distance control and/or collision avoidance among one another and/orCombs teaches a first and a second network interface for a conveyor controller in claim 7. A network interface card is a transceiver when it is a wireless card as in the case of Herzog-Lang’s load carriers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Herzog-Lang and Deloche, wherein additionally using the second transceiving devices of the hanging bags and/or roll adapters configured for the communication path B for a travel dynamic control, a distance control and/or collision avoidance among one another and/or additionally interconnecting the hanging bags and/or roll adapters using the communication path B and/or a protocol of the communication path B for the travel dynamic control, distance control and/or collision avoidance, as taught by Combs, because firstly myriad devices known to the art comprise multiple network interfaces and secondly providing a second network interface offers a simple means of isolating both logical and physical communications paths for a device or a system, and thirdly, where the network interfaces are wireless as in the current case, they may moreover use different frequencies which enables increased bandwidth.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding dependent claim 7, the requirement for beacons I, beacons II, and intermediate controllers all to be hardwired is inconsistent with the teaching of our references cited in rejection of parent claim 1. Primary reference Herzog-Lang’s devices, like most mobile units, all use wireless communication. While myriad references teach hardwired networked controllers that could be mapped to “beacons”, we could establish no motivation to combine such references with Herzog-Lang, whose beacons and intermediate controllers would not benefit from being hardwired and indeed would lose their mobility, a necessary feature of a transport device. Thus, the matter of claim 7 was neither found, nor taught, nor fairly suggested by the prior art of record.
Applicant is cautioned that rejections for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) associated with claims 1 and 7 are so profound that no guarantee of allowability should be assumed on the basis of canceling claim 7 and incorporating its limitations into parent claim 1. Amendments to overcome these rejections will necessarily trigger new search.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0047127, US 2014/0261058 and US 2017/0203921 teach many aspects of a hanging bag storage system. US 2005/0192099 teaches selection of slower and faster communications paths.
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
LAURENCE RAPHAEL BROTHERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3655A
/L.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3655