DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 15-20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Long et al. (US 20100205049 A1) (Long).
Regarding claim 1, Long discloses A method for live stream playback generation, comprising:
initiating, at a first instant during a live stream, generation of first playback data associated with a live stream content from a live stream starting instant to the first instant;
[0062]-[0064] and Fig. 4 for steps 404-412 for Managing advertisements for multimedia content delivered over the Internet for a live event. the method receives the multimedia content over a network connection for playback on a media player, and receives a first advertisement marker that indicates a first start time and a first scheduled duration of a first advertisement break.
in response to a completion of the generation of the first playback data, providing an access entry for the first playback data;
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects one or more advertisements to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or selecting one or more advertisements to file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration.
initiating, at a second instant during the live stream, generation of second playback data associated with a live stream content from the live stream starting instant to the second instant; and
[0062]-[0064] and as shown in Fig. 4 at the step 418 the method returns to block 404 to receive multimedia content for playback of the live event and continue to adjust/insert next advertisement to the live video.
in response to a completion of the generation of the second playback data, associating the second playback data to the access entry to replace the first playback data.
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects next advertisement to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration.
Regarding claim 2, Long discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first instant is separated from the second instant by a predetermined duration.
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects next advertisement to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 3, Long discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining time constraint information indicating at least one time segment that needs to be processed during a first time segment from the live stream starting instant to the first instant; and
Fig. 5A-Fig. 5C for The first advertisement break 504 and the second advertisement break 508
generating the first playback data corresponding to the at least one time segment.
[0072] for calculating the adjustment to the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 4, Long discloses The method of claim 3, wherein the generation of the second playback data is further based at least in part on the time constraint information.
[0072] for calculating the adjustment to the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 5, Long discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating third playback data associated with a live stream content from the first instant to the second instant; and
Fig. 5A-Fig. 5C for The first advertisement break 504 and the second advertisement break 508
generating the second playback data based on the first playback data and the third playback data.
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects next advertisement to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 6, Long discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first playback data and/or the second playback data are generated based on transmuxing at least a part of respective live stream content.
[0072] for calculating the adjustment to the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 15, Long discloses An electronic device, comprising:
at least one processing unit; and
Fig. 8 for a processor 802,
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when performed by the at least one processing unit, causing the electronic device to perform acts comprising:
Fig. 8 for memory 804,
initiating, at a first instant during a live stream, generation of first playback data associated with a live stream content from a live stream starting instant to the first instant;
[0062]-[0064] and Fig. 4 for steps 404-412 for Managing advertisements for multimedia content delivered over the Internet for a live event. the method receives the multimedia content over a network connection for playback on a media player, and receives a first advertisement marker that indicates a first start time and a first scheduled duration of a first advertisement break.
in response to a completion of the generation of the first playback data, providing an access entry for the first playback data;
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects one or more advertisements to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or selecting one or more advertisements to file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration.
initiating, at a second instant during the live stream, generation of second playback data associated with a live stream content from the live stream starting instant to the second instant; and
[0062]-[0064] and as shown in Fig. 4 at the step 418 the method returns to block 404 to receive multimedia content for playback of the live event and continue to adjust/insert next advertisement to the live video.
in response to a completion of the generation of the second playback data, associating the second playback data to the access entry to replace the first playback data.
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects next advertisement to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration.
Regarding claim 16, Long discloses The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the first instant is separated from the second instant by a predetermined duration.
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects next advertisement to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 17, Long discloses The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the acts further comprise:
determining time constraint information indicating at least one time segment that needs to be processed during a first time segment from the live stream starting instant to the first instant; and
Fig. 5A-Fig. 5C for The first advertisement break 504 and the second advertisement break 508
generating the first playback data corresponding to the at least one time segment.
[0072] for calculating the adjustment to the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 18, Long discloses The electronic device of claim 17, wherein the generation of the second playback data is further based at least in part on the time constraint information.
[0072] for calculating the adjustment to the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 19, Long discloses The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the acts further comprise:
generating third playback data associated with a live stream content from the first instant to the second instant; and
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects next advertisement to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration
generating the second playback data based on the first playback data and the third playback data.
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects next advertisement to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 20, Long discloses The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the first playback data and/or the second playback data are generated based on transmuxing at least a part of respective live stream content.
[0072] for calculating the adjustment to the scheduled duration
Regarding claim 23, Long discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program being executable by a processor to implement acts comprising:
initiating, at a first instant during a live stream, generation of first playback data associated with a live stream content from a live stream starting instant to the first instant;
[0062]-[0064] and Fig. 4 for steps 404-412 for Managing advertisements for multimedia content delivered over the Internet for a live event. the method receives the multimedia content over a network connection for playback on a media player, and receives a first advertisement marker that indicates a first start time and a first scheduled duration of a first advertisement break.
in response to a completion of the generation of the first playback data, providing an access entry for the first playback data;
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects one or more advertisements to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or selecting one or more advertisements to file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration.
initiating, at a second instant during the live stream, generation of second playback data associated with a live stream content from the live stream starting instant to the second instant; and
[0062]-[0064] and as shown in Fig. 4 at the step 418 the method returns to block 404 to receive multimedia content for playback of the live event and continue to adjust/insert next advertisement to the live video.
in response to a completion of the generation of the second playback data, associating the second playback data to the access entry to replace the first playback data.
[0063] for The method selects one or more advertisements for playback on the media player to fill the first adjusted duration of the first advertisement break, see also Fig. 4 for the processing logic selects next advertisement to fill the scheduled duration (block 410). or file the adjusted duration (block 414), instead of the scheduled duration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAMIRA MONSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422