Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 6/22/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 22-39 and 41-58 are cancelled. Claims 21 and 40 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-21 and 40 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that in view of the new amendments of 6/22/2026, the cited prior art in the restriction requirement of 4/22/2026 does not disclose all the shared technical features of Groups I, II, and III. This is not found persuasive because as disclosed below in the 35 USC 103 section, these new technical features are disclosed by new prior arts. Thus, there is a lack of unity of invention between these groups. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 21 and 40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: valve element in claim15.
Claim 15 has the limitation “valve element”. The Examiner interprets this under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because (A) the claim uses the placeholder term “element” and (B) the terms “element” is modified by the functional language “valve” and (C) the term “element” is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the function of valving. The Examiner interprets “valve element” as numeral 54 depicted in the instant FIG. 13 and described in [0062] and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the dispensing valve" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-20 are dependent on claim 1 and are rejected as well. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner replaces this limitation with “the dispensing valve unit” that is recited in claim 1, line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZAMBRANA (WO-2022146864-A1; of record), hereinafter ZAMBRANA, in view of SMITH (US 5,747,102), hereinafter SMITH. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1-4 and 13-17, ZAMBRANA discloses A polymer processing device {[abstract], [0003] note thermoplastic}, comprising:
an extruder unit configured to receive, melt, and mix an adhesive {[0003]-[0004] note thermoplastic reads on the adhesive, also note that adhesive or material worked upon by a device does not limit the device, see MPEP 2115, [abstract] note the screw performs the mixing}.
ZAMBRANA, however, is silent on a positive displacement valve unit that receives the melt. ZAMBRANA, instead, discloses a positive displacement pump unit {[0003]}.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to dispensing viscous material, SMITH discloses and a dispensing valve unit configured to dispense the adhesive onto a substrate {[abstract]},
the dispensing valve unit comprising a positive displacement type valve that provides discrete dispensing of the adhesive, a module body, and a valve stem mounted for movement within the module body {[C2, L65], [C12, L19-22] note drop or discrete, [FIG. 2] note stem or shaft 42 and module body 34/70; note stem 42 moves up or down within the body},
wherein the dispensing valve unit is configured to be implemented as a pneumatic valve, an electrically operated valve, a solenoid operated valve, and/or a hydraulically operated valve (claim 2), wherein the dispensing valve unit is implemented as a pneumatic valve (claim 13) {[C2, L64], [C10, L5-10] note operation of valve by air, thus pneumatic},
wherein the dispensing valve unit is configured to control a flow of the adhesive for dispensing of the adhesive generated by the extruder unit (claim 3), further comprising electrical connections configured to transfer power, data, control, and/or sensor information to or from one or more components of the dispensing valve unit and/or one or more components of the extruder unit (claim 17) {[C8, L27-41] note control mechanism for flow, [FIG. 1] note temperature controller that is a data controller and connection 106/104},
wherein the dispensing valve unit is configured to close and stop a flow of the adhesive generated by the extruder unit (claim 4) {[C8, L26] note closing the passageway},
wherein the dispensing valve unit comprises a supply chamber arranged in the module body (claim 14) {[FIG. 2] 31},
wherein: the dispensing valve unit comprises a valve seat and a valve element; and the valve stem is moved to provide open and closed conditions by a selective application of air pressure to a piston assembly (claim 15) {[FIG. 2] note valve seat 38 and clave element 92, [C10, L5-11] note selective application of air, [C18, L29-30] note air actuated piston},
further comprising an air supply valve configured to supply pressurized air to the dispensing valve unit (claim 16) {[C10, L6-8] note air solenoid or valve 128}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the positive displacement pump of ZAMBRANA, with the positive displacement valve of SMITH, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the skill of an artisan {see MPEP 2143 (I)(B)}.
Predictable results are obtained because the objective of both SMITH {[C3, L16]} and ZAMBRANA {[0003]} is the precise dispensing of a viscous liquid/melt material on a substrate and the valve of SMITH can substitute the pump of ZAMBRANA for this purpose. Moreover, both SMITH and ZAMBRANA are analogous arts.
Regarding claim 5, modified ZAMBRANA discloses wherein the extruder unit comprises an extruder barrel and an extruder screw {[abstract]}.
Regarding claim 6, modified ZAMBRANA discloses further comprising a manifold comprising one or more conduits configured to guide the adhesive from an outlet of the extruder unit to the dispensing valve unit {[FIG. 7B] note the housing or manifold and the conduit between the barrel and melt pump that is replaced with the valve of SMITH}.
Regarding claim 7, modified ZAMBRANA discloses wherein the extruder unit comprises an outlet at a distal end of the extruder barrel {[FIG. 7B]}.
Regarding claim 8, modified ZAMBRANA discloses wherein the extruder unit comprises one or more heating elements configured to melt the adhesive during a dispensing operation {[FIG. 7A]}.
Regarding claim 9, modified ZAMBRANA discloses wherein the extruder unit comprises an inlet configured to receive the adhesive; and wherein the extruder screw, and/or the extruder barrel are configured to mix and melt the adhesive and provide the adhesive to the dispensing valve unit {[FIG. 7B]}.
Regarding claims 10-11, modified ZAMBRANA discloses wherein the extruder unit comprises a drive mechanism for rotating the extruder screw to move the adhesive through the extruder unit to the dispensing valve unit (claim 10), wherein the drive mechanism comprises a motor (claim 11) {[0009]}.
Regarding claim 11 remaining limitation of “a gearbox”, modified ZAMBRANA teaches using a gear mechanism for the melt pump {[0035]}. Modified ZAMBRANA, however, is silent on a gearbox for the screw motor and driving mechanism.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a gearbox or a gear mechanism for the screw driving mechanism of modified ZAMBRANA, since the same inventor teaches this mechanism for another pump.
Regarding claim 12, modified ZAMBRANA discloses wherein the manifold comprises one or more heating elements {[FIG. 7B] note heaters are in the manifold}.
Regarding claim 18, SMITH discloses further comprising a controller configured to provide drive signals to one or more components of the dispensing valve unit and/or one or more components of the extruder unit {[FIG. 1] note control mechanism 48 uses signals form a controller to drive stem or shaft 42 up or down}.
Regarding claims 19 limitation of “wherein the controller is configured to operate the extruder unit to begin operation of the drive mechanism prior to operation of the dispensing valve unit”, and claim 20 limitation of “wherein the controller is configured to operate the extruder unit to begin operation of the drive mechanism and after a time delay begin operation of the dispensing valve unit”, combination of ZAMBRANA and SMITH is explicitly silent on these limitations.
However, and at the effective filing date of instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have started the operation of the extruder first, since in the modified device of ZAMBRANA, the pellet material is first sent to the extruder and the positive displacement valve is located downstream of the extruder {[FIG. 7A]} and therefore, it is obvious to start the valve after certain delay time that corresponds to the residence time of the material in the extruder since there is no point in starting the valve when no material is present at the inlet of the valve.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748