DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-19, drawn to a flexible package, classified in B65D 33/1691.
II. Claim 20, drawn to a method of manufacturing a package, classified in B31B 70/60.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as a process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case, the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process that comprises an integral closing means.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
(e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Geza Ziegler on 10/8/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-19. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 is dependent on claim 1; however, it appear claim 12 is meant to be an independent claim. Because claim 12 currently depends from claim 1, the elements of claims 12-15 and 17-19 appear to be duplicates. Further clarification is required.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 5, “a second flank that is partly folded double” is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the closing surface." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gibson (WO 2011023983).
Regarding claim 1, Gibson discloses a closing means (6) for closing an open side of a flexible package (4), the closing means comprising a material blank which comprises at least two creases (crease between 30, 32, 34 and 8), an attachment surface (30), a re-closable closing surface (34), and a non-adhesive surface (8), wherein said attachment surface is provided with adhesive by which the closing means is intended to be attached to a first outer wall of the flexible package, and the attachment surface is provided between a first flank and the first crease of the closing means, and wherein the non-adhesive surface of the closing means is provided between the second crease and the second flank of the closing means, wherein the re-closable closing surface is arranged between the first and second creases is provided with adhesive, and the closing surface has a size either equal to or smaller than the non-adhesive surface and is arranged to be removably attached, in the closed position of the closing means, across the open side of the flexible package to the second outer wall of the flexible package and, in the open position, to the non-adhesive surface of the closing means. See Figs. 1-6.
Regarding claim 2, the non-adhesive surface consists of uncoated material of the material blank. See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 4, the edge area of the second flank on the non-adhesive surface is free from adhesive and is used as a flap. See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 12, Gibson discloses a re-closeable flexible package comprising a closing means, which is attached to the outer surface of the first wall of the flexible package by the attachment surface of the closing means, or wherein the closing means is an extension to the first wall comprising at least two creases, a re-closable closing surface and a non-adhesive surface; which the non-adhesive surface of the closing means is provided between the second crease and the second flank of the closing means, and which said re-closable closing surface is arranged between the first and second creases, and wherein adhesive is provided on said re-closable closing surface, whose size is either equal to or smaller than the non-adhesive surface; and wherein the attached closing means or the closing means being an extension to the first wall is configured to close the flexible package when the re-closable closing surface is removably attached across the open side of the flexible package to the outer surface of the second wall of the flexible package, and the flexible package is open when the re-closable closing surface is against the non-adhesive surface of the closing means. See Figs. 1-6.
Regarding claim 17, the edge area of the second flank on the non-adhesive surface is free from adhesive and is used as a flap. See Fig. 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson as applied above in further view of Hanning (US 5,908,243).
Regarding claim 3, Gibson discloses the claimed invention except for the use of silicone. Hanning, which is drawn to a package, discloses a non-adhesive surface (29) that consists of silicone or comprises silicone. See Fig. 1. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use silicone on the non-adhesive surface of Gibson, as disclosed by Hanning, in order to prevent sticking. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the non-adhesive surface consist of silicone or comprises silicone in order to prevent undesired adhesion, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson as applied above in further view of Nat Biscuit Co. (FR 1307820) (Nat).
Regarding claim 5, Gibson does not disclose a flap as claimed. Nat discloses an edge area (16) of a non-adhesive surface (at 18) on a side of a second flank that is partly folded double and glued from the direction of the second flank, to form a flap (Fig. 3, at 16). See Figs. 1-3. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the non-adhesive surface bent and folded as disclosed by Nat in order to create a tab that can grasped by a user.
Regarding claim 6, as modified above, a strip of material (See Nat, at 32) is glued onto the edge area of the second flank of the non-adhesive surface, to form a flap.
Regarding claim 10, as modified above, a gripping flap (See Nat, Fig. 3, at 16) is provided on the side of the closing means opposite to the re-closable closing surface, at the joint of the re-closable closing surface and the non-adhesive surface, or at the joint of the attachment surface and the re-closable closing surface.
Regarding claim 18, as modified above, the closing means comprises a gripping flap (See Nat, Fig. 3, at 16) provided on the side of the closing means opposite to the re-closable closing surface, at the joint of the re-closable closing surface and the non-adhesive surface, or at the joint of the attachment surface and the re-closable closing surface.
Claim(s) 7, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson as applied above in further view of Cornelissen et al. (US 5,065,868).
Regarding claims 7, 9 and 13, Gibson does not disclose the material as claimed. Cornelissen, which is drawn to a package, discloses the material of a material blank being recyclable paper fibre. See col. 4, ll. 48-53. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the blank of Gibson be recyclable paper fibre, as disclosed by Cornelissen, in order to have a reusable package that is better for the environment. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the claimed material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson as applied above in further view of Schneider (DE 102016012300).
Regarding claim 8, Gibson does not disclose a layer as claimed. Schneider, which is drawn to a closing means, discloses a re-closable closing surface or the non-adhesive surface that stiffened with a separate material layer (33). See Figs. 1-3. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have an extra layer as disclosed by Schneider on the surface of Gibson in order to have a stronger re-closable closing surface.
Regarding claim 15, Gibson does not disclose the closing means as claimed. Schneider, which is drawn to a closing means (Fig. 11), discloses the closing means being wider than a flexible package in the closed position, and wherein the flexible package is openable by detaching the edge parts of the closing means which are wider than the flexible package. See Figs. 1-11. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the closing means of Gibson be wider than the package, as disclosed by Schneider, in order to better protect the package and contents therein.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson as applied above in further view of Tanaike et al. (US 2014/0254960).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Gibson does not disclose a reinforcement as claimed. Tanaike, which is drawn to a package, discloses a closing means comprising a reinforcement (20, 30) at the top of a second wall of the package, outside the wall. See Figs. 1-8.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson as applied above in further view of Creamill (WO 2023/281163).
Regarding claim 14, Gibson discloses the claimed invention except for fibre rip stopper. Creamill, which is drawn to a package, discloses using an openable side comprising a fibre rip stopper (3) in connection with a seam closing an open side. See Figs. 1-3. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use a rip stopper, as disclosed by Creamill, on the package of Gibson in order to prevent undesired ripping.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734