DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s remarks
Applicant’s argument regarding the election of species restriction mailed date 6/24/2026 has been considered. The argument is moot in view of the corrected restriction noted below.
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species are as follows:
Species 1, figure 2, claims 22-25, 31-36, drawn to the circuit device 108 being a circuit breaker;
Species 2, figure 3, claims 22-24, 26-27, 31-36, drawn to the circuit device 108 being a current limiting reactor;
Species 3, figure 4, claims 22-24, 26, 28, 31-36, drawn to the circuit device 108 being a current limiting resistive device;
Species 4, figure 5, claims 22-24, 29-36, drawn to the circuit device 108 being a fuse;
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. Currently, the following claim(s) are generic: Claim 22 is generic.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Species 1-4 lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of the circuit device 108, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Pinheiro Martins et al (US Publication No. 20210362613) and Ozawa et al (US Patent No. 5107447).
The art of Pinheiro and Ozawa make obvious all of the technical features of claim 22 as follows:
Pinheiro teaches a substation (substation CSS; fig. 4) connectable to a high or extra-high voltage transmission line (extra-high voltage transmission line CST; fig. 4), the substation comprising:
a power line (power line/CST; fig. 4) having a first end (first end/CST; fig. 4) electrically connected to a singular point (singular point/CST; fig. 4) of the transmission line,
a circuit device (i.e., circuit device PRTG/CST; fig. 6) electrically connected to a second end (second end/CST; fig. 4) of the power line to receive the high or the extra-high voltage from the transmission line, the circuit device responsive to a faulty condition (i.e., protecting the charging station from electrical faults; [0049]) that can arise during operation of the substation and, while the transmission line is energized (e.g., protection equipment for protecting the transmission line from electrical faults of the charging station, and/or protection equipment for protecting the electric vehicle chargers from electrical faults; para. [0049]), configured to interrupt (i.e., interrupt via ES and LDS) (e.g., to remotely open or close the motorized line and earth disconnect switches; para. [0074]) or limit a flow of current indicative of the faulty condition; a power voltage transformer (power voltage transformer PT1; fig. 4) electrically connected to the circuit device (implicit, as seen in fig. 4), having a high-voltage side rated in a range from 60 kV to 800 kV (i.e., extra high voltage networks, in particular 60 kV to 800 kV networks; [0008]), wherein the power voltage transformer is configured to supply low voltage power (i.e., The charging station park CSP, according to an embodiment, includes the electric vehicle charging station loads (CS) connected to the low voltage feeders provided by the CSS; para. [0014]), wherein the low voltage power is below 1kV (i.e., for example below the medium voltage 1 kV to 69 kV networks, used for distribution in urban and rural areas; para. [0009]), directly transformed from the high or the extra high voltage power received by the power voltage transformer from the circuit device (e.g., The charging station substation CSS preferably includes all power transformers that are part of the high voltage electric vehicle charging station and the several low voltage feeders that will power supply the electric vehicle charging stations; para. [0064]); wherein transformation of the high or the extra-high voltage to the low voltage power is carried out without (i.e., bypass; [0019]) medium-voltage circuitry between the transmission line and the power voltage transformer (e.g., able to supply at least several kVA at low voltage receiving power directly from a high voltage transmission line, thus enabling the bypass of medium voltage network distribution; [0019]).
Pinheiro does not teach wherein the substation is an air insulated substation or a gas insulated substation, wherein the gas insulated substation is housed in a portable or mobile container.
Ozawa teaches in a similar field of endeavor in high voltage applications (i.e., gas insulated apparatus 1; fig. 1); wherein the gas insulated substation (i.e., gas insulated apparatus 1; fig. 1) is housed in a portable or mobile container (i.e., It is convenient to employ an exclusive portable type mounted onto a vehicle as the system 90CB and better economy can be obtained by using it for a plurality of substations. It is further possible to dispose the system B90SB in the form of a robot or the like inside the substation, which is operated upon abnormality detection by the system A90SA to make detailed diagnosis of the abnormality occurring portion; fig. 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the air/gas insulated substation in Pinheiro, as taught by Ozawa, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention or species may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected invention or species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
The restriction requirement of June 24, 2026 has been withdrawn as it did not apply the correct unity of invention standard. A new restriction requirement is presented above. Applicant provisionally elected the species of Figure 2 on August 19, 2026 in the applicant’s response/remarks. Applicant must affirm this election in the current reply. Claims 26-30 are withdrawn from consideration under 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-25 and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro Martins et al (US Publication No. 20210362613) in view of Ozawa et al (US Patent No. 5107447).
Regarding claim 22, Pinheiro teaches a substation (substation CSS; fig. 4) connectable to a high or extra-high voltage transmission line (extra-high voltage transmission line CST; fig. 4), the substation comprising: a power line (power line/CST; fig. 4) having a first end (first end/CST; fig. 4) electrically connected to a singular point (singular point/CST; fig. 4) of the transmission line, a circuit device (i.e., circuit device PRTG/CST; fig. 6) electrically connected to a second end (second end/CST; fig. 4) of the power line to receive the high or the extra-high voltage from the transmission line, the circuit device responsive to a faulty condition (i.e., protecting the charging station from electrical faults; [0049]) that can arise during operation of the substation and, while the transmission line is energized (e.g., protection equipment for protecting the transmission line from electrical faults of the charging station, and/or protection equipment for protecting the electric vehicle chargers from electrical faults; para. [0049]), configured to interrupt (i.e., interrupt via ES and LDS) (e.g., to remotely open or close the motorized line and earth disconnect switches; para. [0074]) or limit a flow of current indicative of the faulty condition; a power voltage transformer (power voltage transformer PT1; fig. 4) electrically connected to the circuit device (implicit, as seen in fig. 4), having a high-voltage side rated in a range from 60 kV to 800 kV (i.e., extra high voltage networks, in particular 60 kV to 800 kV networks; [0008]), wherein the power voltage transformer is configured to supply low voltage power (i.e., The charging station park CSP, according to an embodiment, includes the electric vehicle charging station loads (CS) connected to the low voltage feeders provided by the CSS; para. [0014]), wherein the low voltage power is below 1kV (i.e., for example below the medium voltage 1 kV to 69 kV networks, used for distribution in urban and rural areas; para. [0009]), directly transformed from the high or the extra high voltage power received by the power voltage transformer from the circuit device (e.g., The charging station substation CSS preferably includes all power transformers that are part of the high voltage electric vehicle charging station and the several low voltage feeders that will power supply the electric vehicle charging stations; para. [0064]); wherein transformation of the high or the extra-high voltage to the low voltage power is carried out without (i.e., bypass; [0019]) medium-voltage circuitry between the transmission line and the power voltage transformer (e.g., able to supply at least several kVA at low voltage receiving power directly from a high voltage transmission line, thus enabling the bypass of medium voltage network distribution; [0019]).
Martins does not teach wherein the substation is an air insulated substation or a gas insulated substation, wherein the gas insulated substation is housed in a portable or mobile container.
Ozawa teaches in a similar field of endeavor in high voltage applications (i.e., gas insulated apparatus 1; fig. 1); wherein the gas insulated substation (i.e., gas insulated apparatus 1; fig. 1) is housed in a portable or mobile container (i.e., It is convenient to employ an exclusive portable type mounted onto a vehicle as the system 90CB and better economy can be obtained by using it for a plurality of substations. It is further possible to dispose the system B90SB in the form of a robot or the like inside the substation, which is operated upon abnormality detection by the system A90SA to make detailed diagnosis of the abnormality occurring portion; fig. 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the air/gas insulated substation in Pinheiro, as taught by Ozawa, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 23, Pinheiro in view of Ozawa and the teachings of Pinheiro as modified by Ozawa have been discussed above.
Pinheiro further teaches the substation; wherein the circuit device is configured to inhibit effects of the faulty condition (implicit, as seen in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 24, Pinheiro in view of Ozawa and the teachings of Pinheiro as modified by Ozawa have been discussed above.
Pinheiro further teaches the substation; further comprising a current transformer (current transformer CT; fig. 4) electrically connected to an output of the circuit device (output M/CST; fig. 6), wherein the circuit device is configured to interrupt a flow of current (flow of current in CST; fig. 6) in response to the current transformer sensing a current flow (flow of current in CST; fig. 6) indicative of the faulty condition (e.g., to detect a short-circuit in the EHV circuit of CSS or eventually in the power transformers' primary winding, using an overcurrent protection that compares the magnitude of the measured current, with a predefined threshold value. In case of a positive detection, it sends and an auto recloser inhibit command to the transmission line end substations and also blocks the transmission line manual energization; para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 25, Pinheiro in view of Ozawa and the teachings of Pinheiro as modified by Ozawa have been discussed above.
Pinheiro further teaches the substation; wherein the circuit device is a circuit breaker (implicit, as seen in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 32, Pinheiro in view of Ozawa and the teachings of Pinheiro as modified by Ozawa have been discussed above.
Pinheiro further teaches the substation; wherein transformation of the high or the extra high voltage to the low power voltage is carried out directly (direct tap to the power line via CST; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 33, Pinheiro in view of Ozawa and the teachings of Pinheiro as modified by Ozawa have been discussed above.
Pinheiro further teaches the substation; connectable to power an electric vehicle charging station (CSS; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 34, Pinheiro in view of Ozawa and the teachings of Pinheiro as modified by Ozawa have been discussed above.
Pinheiro further teaches the substation; connectable for village electrification (implicit, as seen in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 35, Pinheiro in view of Ozawa and the teachings of Pinheiro as modified by Ozawa have been discussed above.
Pinheiro further teaches the substation; connectable for establishing a low voltage electrical power distribution in a rural or semi-rural area (implicit, as seen in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 36, Pinheiro in view of Ozawa and the teachings of Pinheiro as modified by Ozawa have been discussed above.
Pinheiro further teaches the substation; a system of substations (system; para. [0011]), a scalable power supply system (i.e., scalable as CST, CSS, and CSP; fig. 4). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 36 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 22. {See rejection of claim 22}
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro Martins et al (US Publication No. 20210362613) in view of Ozawa et al (US Patent No. 5107447) and further in view of Adili (US Publication No. 20220231451).
Regarding claim 31, Pinheiro in view of Ozawa and the teachings of Pinheiro as modified by Ozawa have been discussed above.
Neither Pinheiro nor Ozawa teaches wherein the high voltage side of the power voltage transformer is rated from 72 kV to 550 kV.
Adili teaches in a similar field of endeavor in high voltage applications (i.e., apparatus 1; fig. 1); wherein the high voltage side of the power voltage transformer is rated from 72 kV to 550 kV (i.e., The invention is preferably suitable for voltages above 50 kV, especially for voltages between 100 and 800 kV, preferably between 200 and 550 kV, as a high-voltage indoor cable end termination for example for a transformer. Preferably, this embodiment is used for voltages up to 72 kV; para. [0010]- [0064]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the transformer rating in Pinheiro, as taught by Adili, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838