DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on January 22, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the supply of fluids comes from a single source divided into two streams, a first stream for the deployment by eversion of the sleeve forming the body of the robot and a second stream supplying the sheath with fluid to create and to maintain a layer of fluid around the tubular element” (claim 6), and “the head of the tubular body carries a spatial positioning device, comprising at least one accelerometer and/or at least one gyro” (claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 4, the claim terminology “in particular” is not fully understood and fails to particularly point out the metes and bounds of the desired patent protection.
Claim 1, line 21, the claim terminology “with a view to applying a stream” is awkwardly worded making the claim unclear. Does applicant intend to define the operator interface being configured to supply a stream of fluid? Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim 2, line 4, the claim language “preferably being winding means” is unclear if applicant intends to positively recite the “winding means.”
Claim 8, the claim language “preferably water” is unclear if applicant intends to positively recite “water.”
Claim 12, the limitation “such as a spreader” is unclear if applicant intends to positively recite the spreader.
Claim 13, the limitation “such as pipes in a confined environment” is unclear if applicant intends to positively recite the pipes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9,and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (USPub 2021/0394358).
Ryu teaches a robot comprising an arm (200) deployable from a base (100) including a storage chamber (S), a control station (inherent) of said arm and an operator interface (inherent), said arm being a supple flexible pneumatic arm, comprising: a tubular body mounted on said base, said tubular body comprising a sleeve (220,240) formed of a turned back supple flexible inflatable membrane the two ends of which are fixed to said base including the storage chamber for the membrane of the sleeve, the storage chamber including at least one first inlet (a first pneumatic supply unit described at [0078]) for a fluid, termed the first stream of fluid, said sleeve being, in the non-deployed state, at least partially folded in the storage chamber and able to be inflated and to be deployed by eversion at the distal end of the tubular body of the arm, termed the apex, from said storage chamber by the action of the first stream of fluid, and, in the deployed state, forming an central inner sheath (210) along the axis of the tubular body, said sheath being able to serve for housing and passage of a flexible tubular element (310), the distal end of the tubular body of the arm, including a head equipped with at least one payload (320) carried by said tubular element and pushed during the deployment of the tubular body, and an operator interface (inherent) controlling the supply of fluid with a view to applying a stream for deployment by eversion of the sleeve from the storage chamber and thus a forward movement of the distal end of the tubular body of the arm of the robot, wherein said robot comprises a second fluid supply inlet (paragraph [0061] describes a flow is injected between the sheath 210 and an internal body 130 surrounding the tubular element 310), termed the second stream of fluid, connected to said sheath formed along the central axis of the tubular body, said second stream of fluid being able to create and to maintain a film of fluid around the tubular element in order to facilitate the introduction into and/or the movement in the sheath of said tubular element and thus the forward movement of the payload.
Claim 2: Ryu teaches the arm comprising a winding device (such as 20 in Fig. 1 or 400 in Fig. 13) for driving the sleeve out of and toward the storage chamber.
Claim 7: Ryu teaches at least one of the first and second fluid is a gas.
Claim 9: Ryu teaches the payload comprises a video camera, or at least one sensor (paragraph [0010] and [0058]).
Claim 12: Ryu teaches the storage chamber comprises a support for storing the membrane, configured to limit the friction between said storage support and said membrane, and at least one means for conditioning the membrane. Specifically, Ryu discloses (paragraph [0072]) the friction between the inner periphery (210) of the unit (200) and the cable (310) may be reduced by applying a coating with a material having a low coefficient of friction.
Claim 13: Ryu teaches (paragraph [0003] and [0058]) the robot being capable of inspecting straight or bent pipes.
Claim 14: Ryu teaches the robot being capable of transporting payloads in pipes.
Claim 15: Ryu teaches the robot being capable of operating in an industrial, sanitary, nuclear, marine, corrosive or rough environment.
Claim 16: Ryu teaches one of the first and second fluid is air.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (USPub 2021/0394358), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 109732581).
Ryu does not teach the arm having cables or cords, housed in longitudinal peripheral sheaths of the sleeve and connected to at least one traction mechanism, in order to direct and/or to orient the apex of the tubular body. Li teaches a robot arm (1) having cables or cords (2), housed in longitudinal peripheral sheaths (1-2) and connected to at least one traction mechanism (winding mechanism), in order to direct and/or to orient the apex of a tubular body. Further, Li teaches the cables have a first end of the cable fixed to the chamber (via the traction mechanism) for storing the sleeve, extends along the sheath of the tubular body, and is housed, all along said tubular body, in a longitudinal peripheral sheath, a second end of the cable or cord being connected to at least one traction mechanism; the external longitudinal peripheral sheaths housing the cables are disposed along generatrices of said tubular body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the robot arm of Ryu with a traction mechanism having pulling cables, as taught by Li, motivation being to direct/orient the tubular body.
Claim(s) 6, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (USPub 2021/0394358), as applied to claim 1 above.
Ryu teaches different fluid sources for deploying the sleeve and supplying the sheath with fluid to provide a layer of fluid around the tubular element. However, using a single compressor (fluid source) for supplying each fluid stream is considered an obvious modification to reduce costs, reduce the number of components, and to reduce the overall complexity of the robot arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the different fluid sources of Ryu, as a single air compressor that is divided into multiple air streams for the deployment of the sleeve and a second stream supplying the sheath with fluid to provide a layer of fluid around the tubular element, motivation being to reduce the number of fluid sources needed to control the robot.
Claim 11: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to make the sleeve of Ryu of a polymer material, such as polyethylene, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 8, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (USPub 2021/0394358), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hawkes et al. (USPub 2021/0354289).
Claim 8: Ryu teaches the robot arm using air as a fluid for controlling the arm movement, and does not teach using a liquid, such as water, for controlling the arm. The prior art to Hawkes teaches a robot arm using water for controlling the arm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the fluid used by Ryu to water, as disclosed by Hawkes, motivation being to use an non-compressible fluid capable of producing a predetermined force.
Claims 11 and 17: Ryu does not teach the sleeve being made of a polymer material, such as polyethylene. However, it was known to form a robot arm with a sleeve made from the claimed material. For example, Hawkes teaches a robot arm having a sleeve (bladder) made from low density polyethylene (paragraph [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to make the sleeve of Ryu from a polymer material, such as low density polyethylene, as taught by Hawkes, motivation being to form a flexible sleeve capable of producing a predetermined movement when subjected to fluid pressure.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (USPub 2021/0394358), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Challoner (USPub 2003/0178964).
Ryu does not teach the claimed positioning device. Challoner teaches (paragraph [0020] and elsewhere) a robot arm having a spatial positioning device with an accelerometer and/or at least one gyro. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to provide the robot arm of Ryu with a positioning device having a gyro, as taught by Challoner, motivation being to better control the movement of the robot art by accurately determining position of the end effector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the soft robotic arms disclosed in the cited references.
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618