DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits based on the 18/997,655 application filed on 01/22/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-19, as originally filed, are currently pending and considered below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 1, “An exercise bike according to claim 3” should be --- The exercise bike of claim 3 ---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caccia (US Patent Pub. No. 2017/0136293; PD: 05/18/2017).
Regarding claim 1, Caccia discloses an exercise bike (Exercise bike 1; Figure 1) comprising: a base (Base 2; Figure 1); a frame (Frame 3; Figure 1); and a steering stem (Steering stem 11; Figure 1) rotatably mounted to the frame to allow rotation of the steering stem, relative to the frame, about a steering axis (Longitudinal axis 19; Figure 1; Para. [0004]) of the stem by a user, wherein the frame is rotatably mounted to the base to allow rotation of the frame, relative to the base, about a tilt axis (Horizontal axis 21; Figure 1), wherein a resilient member (Resilient member 17; Figure 1) is provided between the steering stem and the base, the resilient member configured such that: when the frame or steering stem is rotated in a direction, relative to its respective rotational axis, the other of the frame or steering stem is urged to rotate in the same direction, relative to its respective rotational axis (i.e., the rotation of the frame is in the same direction as the rotation of the steering stem to allow for a left or right tilt; Para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Caccia discloses the steering stem is provided with an arm (Adjusting mechanism 23 comprising a rod; Figure 1; Para. [0043]) which projects substantially rearwardly from the steering stem and the resilient member is connected between the arm and the base (i.e., the resilient member/resilient cord 22 extends forwardly and rearwardly from the steering stem and is connected between the arm/adjusting mechanism 23 and the base 2 by way of riser 18).
Regarding claim 3, Caccia discloses an exercise bike (Exercise bike 1; Figure 1) comprising: a base (Base 2; Figure 1); a frame (Frame 3; Figure 1); and a steering stem (Steering stem 11; Figure 1) rotatably mounted to the frame to allow rotation of the steering stem, relative to the frame, about a steering axis (Longitudinal axis 19; Figure 1; Para. [0004]) of the stem by a user, wherein the frame is rotatably mounted to the base to allow rotation of the frame, relative to the base, about a tilt axis (Horizontal axis 21; Figure 1), wherein the steering stem is provided with an arm (Adjusting mechanism 23 comprising a rod; Figure 1; Para. [0043]) which projects substantially rearwardly from the steering stem; wherein a resilient member is connected between the arm and the base (i.e., the resilient member/resilient cord 22 extends forwardly and rearwardly from the steering stem and is connected between the arm/adjusting mechanism 23 and the base 2 by way of riser 18).
Regarding claim 4, Caccia discloses the resilient member is further configured to urge the steering stem substantially into rotational alignment with a predetermined point on the base (i.e., the resilient member urges and provides a biasing towards a vertical point on the base; (Para. [0004] “… the second resilient mounting further configured to urge the stem substantially into rotational alignment with a predetermined point on the base.”).
Regarding claim 5, Caccia discloses a resilient mounting (Resilient bush 20b; Figure 1) is provided between the frame and the base.
Regarding claim 6, Caccia discloses the resilient member is configured to bias the frame towards a substantially upright position relative to the base (Para. [0044] “As the steering stem 11 is rotated about the longitudinal axis 19, the end of the rod of the adjusting mechanism 23 is caused to prescribe an arc. In so doing, since the riser 18 is fixed relative to the base 2, the rotation of the steering stem 11 causes the resilient cord 22 to stretch. The resiliency of the resilient cord 22 progressively resists any further rotation of the steering stem 11. The resilient cord 22 effectively urges the steering stem 11 into substantial rotational alignment with the top of the riser 18 (such that the rod and resilient cord 22 are substantially co-axial).”).
Regarding claim 7, Caccia discloses the resilient mounting is configured to bias the frame towards a substantially upright position relative to the base (Para. [0004] “…the first and second resilient mountings, together, configured to bias the frame towards a substantially upright…”; ).
Regarding claim 8, Caccia discloses the resilient mounting and resilient member, together, are configured to bias the frame towards a substantially upright position relative to the base (Para. [0044] “As the steering stem 11 is rotated about the longitudinal axis 19, the end of the rod of the adjusting mechanism 23 is caused to prescribe an arc. In so doing, since the riser 18 is fixed relative to the base 2, the rotation of the steering stem 11 causes the resilient cord 22 to stretch. The resiliency of the resilient cord 22 progressively resists any further rotation of the steering stem 11. The resilient cord 22 effectively urges the steering stem 11 into substantial rotational alignment with the top of the riser 18 (such that the rod and resilient cord 22 are substantially co-axial).”; Para. [0004] “…the first and second resilient mountings, together, configured to bias the frame towards a substantially upright…”).
Regarding claim 9, Caccia discloses the resiliency of the resilient member is adjustable (Para. [0043] “The second resilient member 17 preferably comprises a resilient cord 22 and adjusting mechanism 23. In the arrangement shown, the adjusting mechanism 23 comprises a rod which passes through an aperture in the steering stem 11. The rod may translate within the aperture in the steering stem 11, and be locked into place with a pin (not shown).”).
Regarding claim 11, Caccia discloses the resilient member and the steering axis of the steering stem are angled with respect to the vertical; or wherein the resilient member and the steering axis of the steering stem are substantially vertical (i.e., the resilient member and steering axis 19 tilt together to the left or right or are in a neutral vertical position; Para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 13, Caccia discloses a drive mechanism for operation by a user (Para. [0016] “Conveniently, the exercise bike further comprises a drive mechanism and associated fly wheel.”).
Regarding claim 14, Caccia discloses the resilient member is further configured to urge the steering stem substantially into rotational alignment with a predetermined point on the base.
Regarding claim 15, Caccia discloses the resilient member is configured to bias the frame towards a substantially upright position relative to the base (Para. [0004] “… the second resilient mounting further configured to urge the stem substantially into rotational alignment with a predetermined point on the base.”).
Regarding claim 16, Caccia discloses the resiliency of the resilient member is adjustable ([0007] “Conveniently, the resiliency of the second mounting is adjustable.”).
Regarding claim 17, Caccia discloses the resilient member and the steering axis of the steering stem are angled with respect to the vertical; or wherein the resilient member and the steering axis of the steering stem are substantially vertical (i.e., the resilient member and steering axis 19 tilt together to the left or right or are in a neutral vertical position; Para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Caccia discloses the exercise bike according to claim 3, further comprising a drive mechanism for operation by a user (Para. [0016] “Conveniently, the exercise bike further comprises a drive mechanism and associated fly wheel.”).
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wilfert (US Patent Pub. No. 2025/0135272; FP: 09/01/2021).
Regarding claim 1, Wilfer discloses an exercise bike (Exercise bike 1; Figure 1) comprising: a base (Base 10; Figure 1); a frame (Frame 40; Figure 1); and a steering stem (Steering post 47; Figure 1) rotatably mounted to the frame to allow rotation of the steering stem, relative to the frame, about a steering axis (i.e., the axis of the steering post 47) of the stem by a user, wherein the frame is rotatably mounted to the base to allow rotation of the frame, relative to the base, about a tilt axis (i.e., the axis of the bar 20; Para. [0049]), wherein a resilient member (Resilient member 37; Figure 1) is provided between the steering stem and the base, the resilient member configured such that: when the frame or steering stem is rotated in a direction, relative to its respective rotational axis, the other of the frame or steering stem is urged to rotate in the same direction, relative to its respective rotational axis (i.e., the rotation of the stem 47 rotates the base 10 and the frame 40 of the bicycle; Para. [0018] “In at least one embodiment, the steering module and/or drive module are mounted for rotation about the longitudinal axis of the base.”)
Regarding claim 4, Wilfert discloses the resilient member is further configured to urge the steering stem substantially into rotational alignment with a predetermined point on the base (Para. [0019] “In at least one embodiment, the steering module and/or drive module are biased into a predetermined angular position about the longitudinal axis of the base.”)
Regarding claim 6, Wilfert discloses the resilient member is configured to bias the frame towards a substantially upright position relative to the base (Para. [0015] “In at least one embodiment, the steering module further comprises a resilient member attached between the first and second members, configured to resist rotation of the second member relative to the first member away from a predetermined angular position.”).
Regarding claim 11, Wilfert discloses the resilient member and the steering axis of the steering stem are angled with respect to the vertical; or wherein the resilient member and the steering axis of the steering stem are substantially vertical (i.e., the resilient member 37 and steering stem 47 are angled vertically).
Regarding claim 12, Wilfert discloses the resilient member is substantially parallel to the steering axis of the steering stem (i.e. the resilient member 37 and the steering stem 47 are parallel to each other as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Wilfert discloses a drive mechanism (Drive module 11; Figure 1) for operation by a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record Wilfer (US Patent Pub. No. 2025/0135272; PD: 05/01/2025), Anderson (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0197015; PD: 07/01/2021), Caccia (US Patent Pub. No. 2017/0136293; PD: 05/18/2017), Caccia (US Patent Pub. No. 2025/0177811; PD:06/05/2025), and Hawkins (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0146198; PD: 05/20/2021) fail to teach or render obvious claims 10, 12, and 18. Neither Caccia or Wilfer teach the feature of rearwardly extending arm that holds a resilient member substantially parallel to a steering stem of the bicycle.
Conclusion
/ANDREW M KOBYLARZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3784