DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: Line 8 recites “it”, this should specifically recite the limitation it is referring.
Line 10 and lines 11-12 each recite “normality conditions”, this has already been introduced in the claim. It is unclear if it is the same or a different limitation.
Regarding claims 3: Line 3 recites “a physics-based model”, this has already been introduced. It is unclear if it is the same or a different limitation.
Line 7 each recites “normality conditions”, this has already been introduced in the claim. It is unclear if it is the same or a different limitation.
Regarding claim 4: Lines 4-5 recite “at least one modelled anomaly situation”, this has already been introduced in the claim. It is unclear if it is the same or a different limitation.
Lines 10-11 recite “the calibrated fault-hybrid model”, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8: Line 4 recites “it”, this should specifically recite the limitation it is referring.
The remaining claims are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (“Kumar”; US 2022/0082090).
Regarding claim 1: Kumar discloses a computer-implemented method for training a classifier for failure diagnosis of a drivetrain of a wind turbine (Fig. 3), the method including the following steps:
training a physics-based model (paragraph 0039) of a drivetrain of a wind turbine with operation data (2) of the drivetrain in normality conditions (5), thus providing a normality hybrid model of the drivetrain of the wind turbine (paragraph 0058);
modelling at least one anomaly situation (7) in the normality hybrid model and training it with operation data of the drivetrain in failure conditions (6-8), thus providing a fault hybrid model (paragraph 0058) of the drivetrain of the wind turbine;
applying a set of input data of the drivetrain in normality conditions (6) to the normality hybrid model (Fig. 3), thus obtaining a set of synthetic data in normality conditions (5) for a certain parameter of the drivetrain;
applying a set of failure data (7) and a set of synthetic input data (710) associated to the at least one anomaly situation of the drivetrain to the fault hybrid model (Fig. 3), thus generating a set of synthetic failure data for the at least one anomaly situation (paragraph 0059, note it appears the reference numerals referring to Fig. 3 have a 20 added to the number in the figure, for example, ‘26’ is paragraph 0059 is referring to numeral ‘6’ in Fig. 3, and ‘34’ is ‘14’, etc.);
from a set of output data of the drivetrain (8), the obtained set of synthetic data in normality conditions and the set of synthetic failure data for the at least one anomaly situation, obtaining a set of condition indicators (9) for the at least one anomaly situation; and
training a classifier (12) with the set of condition indicators for the at least one anomaly situation (paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 2: Kumar discloses the physics-based model of the drivetrain of the wind turbine comprises a first module representing an aero-dynamical conversion stage of the drivetrain and a second module representing an electro-mechanical conversion stage of the drivetrain (paragraph 0037: the model is based on wind speed, or aero-dynamical conversion and shaft and gearbox housing flexure; and high-fidelity component loading models, which are part of the electro-mechanical conversion stage).
Regarding claim 4: Kumar discloses wherein the fault hybrid model is obtained with the following steps:
modelling at least one anomaly situation in the normality hybrid model (12, Fig. 3);
feeding the normality hybrid model which includes at least one modelled anomaly situation with operation data (7) of the drivetrain in failure conditions;
obtaining a prediction (12) of a parameter indicative of a faulty situation; and
selecting values of at least some of the model parameters defining the normality hybrid model modelled with at least one anomaly situation, wherein said values minimize a difference between said prediction and real operation data outputs corresponding to the real operation data inputs, thus obtaining the calibrated fault- hybrid model (in other words, the most accurate model is built, paragraphs 0061-0062 disclosed how the fault-hybrid model minimizes error in data).
Regarding claim 5: Kumar discloses the at least one anomaly situation is modelled by means of at least one failure model (7, or 27 in paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 6: Kumar discloses the at least one failure model is represented by a plurality of failure parameters and a set of equations representing a failure in the energy conversion of the drivetrain of the wind turbine (paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 7: Kumar discloses a computer-implemented method for optimizing the operation of a drivetrain of a wind turbine, comprising using the classifier as trained in claim 1 (inherent, as Kumar discloses claim 1).
Regarding claim 8: Kumar discloses the method further including the following steps:
from actual operation output data (2) and normality synthetic data (8) obtained from the normality hybrid model (Fig. 3) when it is fed with actual operation input data (2), obtaining a condition indicator (11);
providing the condition indicator (11) to the trained classifier (in that Fig. 3 depicts the classifier); and
outputting by the trained classifier whether the condition indicator corresponds to a failure situation or to a non-failure situation (paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 9: Kumar discloses including the following steps: when the classifier determines that the drivetrain operates under anomaly conditions, triggering an alarm (paragraph 0047: alarms are triggered during faults or damaged states).
Regarding claim 10: Kumar discloses when the condition indicator corresponds to a failure situation, actuating on the drivetrain of the wind turbine (paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 11: Kumar discloses a device comprising processing means configured to perform the method of claim 1 (inherent, as Kumar discloses claim 1).
Regarding claim 12: Kumar discloses a device comprising processing means configured to perform the method of claim 7 (inherent, as Kumar discloses claim 7).
Regarding claim 13: Kumar discloses a computer program product comprising computer program instructions/code for performing the method according to claim 1 (inherent, as Kumar discloses claim 1).
Regarding claim 14: Kumar discloses A computer-readable memory/medium that stores program instructions/code for performing the method according to claim 1 (inherent, as Kumar discloses claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar, in view of Tiwari et al. (“Tiwari”; US 2019/0203693).
Regarding claim 3: Kumar discloses the normality hybrid model is obtained with the following steps:
providing a physics-based model of the drivetrain of the wind turbine (Fig. 3, paragraph 0037), the physics-based model being represented by a plurality of model parameters and a set of equations representing energy conversion in the drivetrain of the wind turbine (paragraph 0038);
feeding the physics-based model with operation data of the drivetrain in normality conditions, the operation data comprising real operation data inputs and real operation data outputs (paragraph 0038: “Examples of such data streams may include, inter alia: time-series data from various sensors in a wind turbine—usually referred to as supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) data; various operational logs (e.g., logs of faults/alarms, logs of turbine operating states, or site notes entered manually by on-site maintenance technicians); digitized records of previous-known damage/failure diagnostics and reports (e.g., borescope images, oil analyses, or root-cause analysis reports, etc.); history of maintenance and replacement events on each wind turbine (e.g. bearing replacement, gearbox replacement, or routine maintenance); geo-spatial information, including geographic coordinates of each turbine or other geographic datasets (land use, terrain etc.) encompassing the entire wind farm; time-series data of meteorological data from point locations (and their coordinates) within the wind farm”);
selecting values of at least some of the model parameters, wherein said values minimize a difference between said prediction and real operation data outputs corresponding to said real operation data inputs, thus obtaining the physics-based model trained with operation data (in other words the error prediction data is minimized, paragraphs 0060 and 0061 detail how the control of Kumar minimizes the error in the data).
Kumar does not explicitly disclose obtaining a prediction of at least one of the following parameters: generated electric power, phase currents, phase voltages and electromagnetic torque.
However, Tiwari discloses obtaining a prediction of at least one of the following parameters: generated electric power, phase currents, phase voltages and electromagnetic torque (claim 13: power output).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the prediction data of Kumar to include generated electric power, as disclosed by Tiwari, in order to make the control more robust.
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834