DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 15-19, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 20230309081 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a paging response method (see Huang, fig. 17), comprising: receiving a paging message (see Huang, fig. 17, 1002, 1004, 1006), wherein the paging message contains first indication information, and the first indication information indicates execution of mobile terminated-small data transmission (MT-SDT) (see Huang, [0459] Referring to FIG. 17, with this and other concepts, systems, and methods of the present invention, a method 1000 for a UE in a wireless communication system comprises receiving a first paging, indicating MT-SDT, from the NW (step 1002)…); and transmitting a paging response message on a resource other than an SDT resource (see Huang, fig. 17, 1002, 1004, 1006).
Regarding claim 11, A paging response method (see Huang, fig. 17), comprising: transmitting a paging message (see Huang, fig. 17, 1002, 1004, 1006), where the paging message contains first indication information, and the first indication information indicates execution of mobile terminated-small data transmission (MT-SDT) (see Huang, [0459] Referring to FIG. 17, with this and other concepts, systems, and methods of the present invention, a method 1000 for a UE in a wireless communication system comprises receiving a first paging, indicating MT-SDT, from the NW (step 1002)…); and receiving a paging response message on a resource other than an SDT resource (see Huang, fig. 17, 1002, 1004, 1006).
Regarding claim 19, the limitations have addressed in the citations of the rejection of claim 1, further see fig. 3 for a transceiver; a processor coupled to the transceiver; and a memory storing a computer program.
Regarding claim 2, the method according to claim 1, Huang fails to specifically disclose further comprising: receiving second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates that paging response is supported on the resource other than the SDT resource (see Huang, ¶[0389, 0390]); wherein transmitting the paging response message on the resource other than the SDT resource comprises: transmitting the paging response message on the resource other than the SDT resource according to the second indication information (see Huang, ¶[0389, 0390]).
Regarding claim 3. The method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting the paging response message on the resource other than the SDT resource comprises: transmitting the paging response message on the resource other than the SDT resource in a case where a preset condition is met (see Huang, fig. 17 1002-1008, discloses that the UE has no UL data to transmit (RRC resume request) to begin to receive downlink data).
Regarding claim 4. The method according to claim 3, wherein the preset condition comprises: no available SDT resource; and/or no uplink data to be transmitted (see Huang, fig. 17 1002-1008, discloses that the UE has no UL data to transmit (RRC resume request) to begin to receive downlink data).
Regarding claim 6. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining whether to transmit the paging response message on the SDT resource in a case where there is uplink data to be transmitted (see Huamg, fig. 13).
Regarding claim 7. The method according to claim 1, wherein after transmitting the paging response message on the resource other than the SDT resource, the method further comprises: remaining in a radio resource control_inactive (RRC_inactive) state for data transmission or starting an SDT timer (see Huang, ¶[0007]).
Regarding claim 8. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates an SDT search space (see Huang, ¶[0392], “The UE may receive the DL assignment in a RRC message (e.g., a RRCRelease when transitioning the UE from RRC_CONNECTED state to RRC_INACTIVE state). The UE may receive the DL assignment in a system information (e.g., a SIB in the RRC_INACTIVE state). The UE may receive the DL assignment in a paging (e.g., in the RRC_INACTIVE state). The UE may receive the DL assignment in a Msg4, and/or MSGB (e.g., in the RA procedure triggered for MT-SDT).; receiving scheduling information on an SDT resource belonging to the SDT search space; and transmitting uplink data and/or receiving downlink data on a resource indicated by the scheduling information (see Huang, ¶[0392], “The UE may receive the DL assignment in a RRC message (e.g., a RRCRelease when transitioning the UE from RRC_CONNECTED state to RRC_INACTIVE state). The UE may receive the DL assignment in a system information (e.g., a SIB in the RRC_INACTIVE state). The UE may receive the DL assignment in a paging (e.g., in the RRC_INACTIVE state). The UE may receive the DL assignment in a Msg4, and/or MSGB (e.g., in the RA procedure triggered for MT-SDT). Throughout the disclosure, the “DL assignment” may be (part of) the information of the DL assignment received on the PDCCH. Throughout the disclosure, the DL assignment may indicate a transmission on a DL-SCH and/or provide relevant HARQ information. Throughout the disclosure, the “DL assignment” may indicate and/or be referred to the PDSCH resources (e.g., for DL SPS, for MT-SDT), and/or configured DL assignment (e.g., for DL SPS, in RRC_INACTIVE state).” ).
Regarding claim 9. The method according to claim 2, wherein the second indication information is contained in the paging message, a system message, or an RRCRelease message (see Huang, fig. 17).
Regarding claim 10. The method according to claim 1, wherein the resource other than the SDT resource comprises: a 4-step random access (RA) resource or a 2-step RA resource (see Huang, ¶0392).
Regarding claim 12. The method according to claim 11, further comprising: transmitting second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates that paging response is supported on the resource other than the SDT resource (see Huang, ¶0378], “The UE would be configured with the CG-SDT resources (e.g., CG Type 1 resources) in a RRC Release message (e.g., RRCRelease) from a Network (NW) in RRC_CONNECTED state. The UE may send a RRC request message (e.g., RRCResumeRequest) and the small data in a Msg3 (in RA-SDT), Message A (MSGA) (in RA-SDT), and/or Protocol Data Unit (PDU) to be transmitted using the CG-SDT resources (in CG-SDT). If there is more data which could not be transmitted within the first (or initial) small data transmission (e.g., in Msg3, MSGA, and/or the first PDU using CG-SDT resources), subsequent small data transmission(s) and the RRC state transition decision would be under NW control. The subsequent small data may be transmitted using (pre-) configured PUSCH resources (of CG-SDT), and/or dynamic grant(s) provided by the NW. There may be one or more subsequent small data transmissions after the first (or initial) small data transmission.”).
Regarding claim 15, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, the method according to claim 15, Huang discloses wherein transmitting the third indication information comprises: transmitting the third indication information in a case where no SDT resource is configured (see Huang, ¶0378, fig. 14, 13, scheduling information is sent as part of the SDT configuration, therefore SDT hasn’t been configured yet).
Regarding claim 17, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 10.
20-24. (canceled)
Regarding claim 25 the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Jiang (US 20240163954 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the method according to claim 4, Huang fails to specifically disclose wherein no available SDT resource comprises that: no SDT resource is configured by a network, or a configured SDT resource is unavailable.
Jiang discloses wherein no available SDT resource comprises that: no SDT resource is configured by a network, or a configured SDT resource is unavailable (see Jiang, ¶[0062], fig. 4 401).
Given that Huang discloses providing access for a UE to transmit SDT data and further given that Jiang discloses providing alternative forms of data transmission for a UE when certain resources are unavailable, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Huang with the SDT transmission process of Jiang, thereby providing a more efficient data transmission process.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations have been addressed in the cited sections of the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the method according to claim 11, Huang doesn’t specifically disclose wherein receiving the paging response message on the resource other than the SDT resource comprises: receiving the paging response message on the resource other than the SDT resource in a case where there is no available SDT resource.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jiang discloses when SDT resources are unavailable, sending SDT responses on a different channel other than SDT resources as disclosed in ¶0062.
Given that Huang discloses providing access for a UE to transmit SDT data and further given that Jiang discloses providing alternative forms of data transmission for a UE when certain resources are unavailable, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Huang with the SDT transmission process of Jiang, thereby providing a more efficient data transmission process.
Conclusion
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648