DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim(s) 11-15 in the reply filed on 10/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/02/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 14 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 14, “the separator” should read “a separator” as this is the first time it is being introduced.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kubo et al. US 2016/0372273 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Kubo ‘273 discloses
An electrolytic capacitor comprising: an anode portion (21 – fig. 7A; para. [0038]) having a dielectric layer (21B – fig. 7A; para. [0038]) formed on a surface thereof (See fig. 7A); a cathode portion (22 – fig. 7A; para. [0039]); and a conductive polymer (25 – fig. 7A; para. [0041]) and an insulating material (24 – fig. 7A; para. [0041]) disposed between the dielectric layer and the cathode portion (See fig. 7A), wherein the insulating material contains at least one kind of material selected from the group consisting of insulating fibers and insulating particles (Para. [0041] discloses insulating fibers).
Regarding claim 12, Kubo ‘273 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to claim 11, further comprising: an additive (solvent of 16 – fig. 7A. Para. [0053] specifically prefers ethylene glycol so that the capacitor can be used in mid/high voltages.) disposed between the dielectric layer and the cathode portion (16 – fig. 7A), wherein the additive contains hydroxy groups (Para. [0052-0053] discloses alcohols and specifically teaches ethylene glycol), and a ratio Mh/Mt is 0.03 or more, where Mh is a total formula weight of the hydroxy groups contained in the additive and Mt is a molecular weight of the additive (As disclosed in para. [0038] of the applicant’s present specification, ethylene glycol has a ratio Mh/Mt of 0.55, meeting the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 13, Kubo ‘273 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to claim 11, wherein at least a portion of the insulating material adheres to the dielectric layer (Fig. 7A clearly shows a portion of the insulating material 24 adhering to the dielectric layer).
Regarding claim 14, Kubo ‘273 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to claim 11, further comprising: a stacked body (Fig. 14) formed of the anode portion (21 – fig. 14), the cathode portion (22 – fig. 14), and a separator (24 – fig. 7A; Note that 24 and 25 are included in 23) disposed between the dielectric layer and the cathode portion (fig. 14 and para. [0029]), wherein at least a portion of the insulating material adheres to at least one element selected from the group consisting of the dielectric layer, the cathode portion, and the separator (Fig. 7A clearly shows the insulating material in contact with the dielectric layer, the cathode, and the separator. Note that the insulating material is the separator and therefore adheres to it).
Regarding claim 15, Kubo ‘273 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to claim 14, wherein the stacked body is impregnated with a liquid component (16 – fig. 7A; Abstract and para. [0059]).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et al. JP 2014027040 A.
Regarding claim 11, Saito ‘040 discloses
An electrolytic capacitor comprising: an anode portion (Para. [0068]) having a dielectric layer (Para. [0068]) formed on a surface thereof; a cathode portion (Para. [0068]); and a conductive polymer (Para. [0011]) and an insulating material (Para. [0014]) disposed between the dielectric layer and the cathode portion (Para. [0069]), wherein the insulating material contains at least one kind of material selected from the group consisting of insulating fibers and insulating particles (Para. [0025] discloses a particle size of the inorganic oxide).
Regarding claim 12, Saito ‘040 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to claim 11, further comprising: an additive (Para. [0044] discloses a high-boiling point organic solvent is included. Ethylene glycol is particularly preferred) disposed between the dielectric layer and the cathode portion, wherein the additive contains hydroxy groups (Para. [0044] discloses ethylene glycol), and a ratio Mh/Mt is 0.03 or more, where Mh is a total formula weight of the hydroxy groups contained in the additive and Mt is a molecular weight of the additive additive (As disclosed in para. [0038] of the applicant’s present specification, ethylene glycol has a ratio Mh/Mt of 0.55, meeting the claimed range.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150287540 A1: Para. [0028] teaches ethylene glycol additive in dispersion
US 5972052 A: Col. 3 lines 16-25 teaches a conductive polymer with insulating powder
JP 2017220679 A: Paras. [0024] and [0027-0029] disclose ethylene glycol as an additive in the dispersion for decreasing ESR
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847