DETAILED ACTION
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. In the current Abstract filed on 01/23/2025, the word count is 41.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because several are of poor image quality. Specifically, FIG. 4B it is unclear what element 14 is intended to recite. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
The term “software module” is used in claim(s) 1, for analyzing the information of the acoustic emission signals, reflection and transmission data following the operation of each transducer at multiple ultrasound frequencies and analyzing and comparing the reflection patterns received from adjacent parts of the same transceivers invokes 35 USC 112(f).
The term “classification system” is used in claim(s) 1, for analyzing the acoustic signals for each transceiver and evaluating the quality of the skin contact invokes 35 USC 112(f).
The term, “module””/”system” is a non-structural generic placeholder that does not include any specific structure for performing the accompany functions. See MPEP 2181.I.A: The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6: "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." Welker Bearing Co., v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Massachusetts Inst. of Tech. v. Abacus Software, 462 F.3d 1344, 1354, 80 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Personalized Media, 161 F.3d at 704, 48 USPQ2d at 1886–87; Mas-Hamilton Group v. LaGard, Inc., 156 F.3d 1206, 1214-1215, 48 USPQ2d 1010, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation of “software module” does not have structural information disclosed in the specification. The phrase, “software module” is interpreted to include functions as defined in the specification as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation of “classification system” does not have structural information disclosed in the specification. The phrase, “classification system” is interpreted to include functions as defined in the specification as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
As discussed above, the claim limitations below are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f).
Claim 1: “software module”
Claim 1: “classification system”
In the specification, there is no mention of any hardware (i.e., processor, computer, memory non-transitory computer-readable medium). Note; the recitation of the term “hardware” in line 4 of the Background of the invention, is not sufficient. The drawings do not provide any further detail. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would not understand the specification, the drawing and the original claims to disclose any particular structure that achieves the disclosed functionality. Indeed, the specification meticulously defines the functional requirements (i.e., inputs/outputs), and decision rules for the software module’s functions; the specification is completely silent with regard the underlying computational algorithms for image inversion, signal analysis thresholding, and pattern comparison as generically defined in the claims.
These limitations each fail to comply with the written description requirement as the limitations are unbound functional imitations which cover all ways of performing the respective functions and inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of such an invention. The limitations therefore fails to comply with the written description requirement. See MPEP 2181.II.A.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Examiners Notes
Due to the numerous claim language issues that the Examiner has identified, Applicant is requested to check through the entire claim set to ensure that the claim drafting follows the guideline in MPEP 608.01 to ensure that proper antecedent basis and consistent claim language are practiced. When the Applicant submits amendments regarding the claims in response to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in this Office Action, the Examiner would prefer that Applicant submit two sets of claims: set 1) includes indicators for the status of the claim and all marked amendments to the claims without mistakes; and set 2) claims that contains a clean version of all the amendments without mistakes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
line 4: “the information”: There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes information. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 4-5: “the acoustic emission signals, reflection, and transmission data”: There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes acoustic emission signals, reflection and transmission data. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 5: “the operation”: There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an operation. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 5: “each transducer”: It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from “a plurality of ultrasound transceivers”. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes each transducers refers to the ultrasound of transceivers. Appropriate correction is required.
line 7: the second recitation of “a software module”. It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from “a software module” in line 4. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the software module. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
line 7: “the reflection patterns”:
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the reflection pattern is indicative of the reflection data. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from the reflection data. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the reflection pattern is indicative of the reflection data. Appropriate correction is required.
line 8: “the same transceivers”:
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
It is unclear if the same transceivers refers to or is separate from a plurality of ultrasound transceivers and/or each transceiver. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes they are. Appropriate correction is required.
line 9: “the acoustic signals”:
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
It is unclear if the acoustic signals refers to or is separate from the acoustic emission signals. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes it refers to the acoustic emission signals. Appropriate correction is required.
line 9: “each transceiver”: It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from “a plurality of ultrasound transceivers”. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes they are. Appropriate correction is required.
line 10: “the quality”: There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a quality. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 10: “the skin contact”: There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a skin contact. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 11: “the device”: There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a device. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 11-12: “the quality of the acoustic transmitted and or reflected signals for each transceiver”:
For the recitations of: “the quality” and “the acoustic transmitted and or reflected signals” there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the phrase refers to the previous recitation of quality. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
The phrase “and or” is grammatically incorrect and should recite “and/or”. Appropriate correction is required.
For the recitation of: “reflected signals” it is unclear if the term refers to or is separate from the reflection patterns and/or reflection data. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the phrase refers to the reflection data. Appropriate correction is required.
For the recitation “each transceiver”. It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from “a plurality of ultrasound transceivers”. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes each transceiver refers to the plurality of ultrasound transceivers. Appropriate correction is required.
line 13: “the user”: There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a user. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 13: “the adherence”: There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 13-14: specific areas or specific transceivers”:
The term “specific” in claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
It is unclear if the areas refers to or is separate from the patients skin. It is unclear if these specific transceivers refers to or is separate from a plurality of ultrasound transceivers, or each transceivers, or the same transceivers. Inconsistent claim language is consistently used throughout the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the specific transceivers refers to the plurality of ultrasound transceivers. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the specific areas refer to areas of the patients skin. Appropriate correction is required.
line 15: “the skin contact”: There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the phrase refers to the previous recitation of the skin contact. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
Claim 2:
line 2: “the feedback is presented on each transceiver”. Its unclear if the “presented” refers to a physical presentation on the each transceiver or whether the feedback is generated for each transceiver separately to be viewable by the user. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes that feedback is generated for each transceiver separately to be viewable by the user. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3:
line 1: “the visualization”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 1: “the transceivers”:
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from “a plurality of ultrasound transceivers”. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes they refer to the plurality of ultrasound transceivers. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4:
line 1: ‘or an automatic system”. It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from “an automatic system” recited in line 13 of claim 1. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the automatic system (i.e., the same). Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
line 2: “the specific transceivers”:
The term “specific” in claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
It is unclear if these specific transceivers refers to or is separate from a plurality of ultrasound transceivers, or each transceivers, or the same transceivers. Inconsistent claim language is consistently used throughout the claims. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the specific transceivers refers to the plurality of ultrasound transceivers. Appropriate correction is required.
line 2: the term in quotation marks “intermediate”. Claim positively recites “intermediate” in quotation marks. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if the limitation within the quotation marks is required. Thus, the claim is indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an intermediate score. Appropriate correction is required.
line 3: “its adherence”. It is unclear what “its adherence refers to in the context of the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the term refers the transceiver of the plurality of transceivers. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5:
line 1: the term in quotation marks “bad”.
Claim positively recites “bad” in quotation marks. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if the limitation within the quotation marks is required. Thus, the claim is indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
The term “bad” in claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes poor quality. Appropriate correction is required.
line 1: “the transceivers”:
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from “a plurality of ultrasound transceivers”. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes they refer to the plurality of ultrasound transceivers. Appropriate correction is required.
line 3: “the imaging processing”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a imaging processing. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
Claim 6:
lines 1-2: ‘the patient skin”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required. The phrase should recite “the patient’s skin” as its recited in line 3 of claim 1. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7:
line 3: “the acoustic input”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the acoustic input is indicative of the acoustic emission signals. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 3-4: “the ultrasonic contact quality”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the phrase refers to the quality. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 1-4: it is unclear how any of the steps defined in the claim 7 evaluate a contact quality as set forth in the preamble. The context of the claim requires no reasonable steps which clearly indicate evaluation of contact quality. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8:
line 2: “the emitter location”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an emitter location. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
Claim 9:
line 2: “at least one sensor said at least one sensor”. It is unclear if the sensor refers to or is separate from the plurality of transceivers. Upon review of the specification the sensors are indeed identified as transceivers. In other words, the claim recitation merely amounts to a broader term to define transceivers, but since claim 7 refers to a plurality of transceivers the claimed recitation of “at least one sensor said at least one sensor” is indeed ambiguous and the phrase is grammatically redundant. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the at least one sensor refers to a transceiver of the plurality of transceivers. Appropriate correction is required.
line 2-3: “the emitter location”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an emitter location. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
Claim 10:
line 1: “each transducer”: Its is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from “a plurality of ultrasound transceivers”. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes they refer to the plurality of transceivers. Appropriate correction is required.
line 2: the term in quotation marks “high”. Claim positively recites “high” in quotation marks. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if the limitation within the quotation marks is required. Thus, the claim is indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a any value above a lower value is considered high. Appropriate correction is required.
lines 2-3: claim positively recites (greater than 700 KHz) & (20 KHz -700 Khz). The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if the limitation within parenthesis is required. Thus, the claim is indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. The claim is indefinite regarding the metes and bounds of greater than 700 kHz (i.e., the upper limit of the frequency is not specified). In addition, the first recitation of KHz should recite kilohertz (kHz).. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes at least one frequency above 700 kHz and at least one additional frequency somewhere between 20 kHz and 700 kHz. Appropriate correction is required.
line 3 & line 4: “the system”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an ultrasound system. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 3: “the signals”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes signals. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 4: “all transceivers”. Its is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from “a plurality of ultrasound transceivers” in claim 1 or “each transceiver” as defined in claim 10.. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes they refer to each of the plurality of transceivers. Appropriate correction is required.
line 4: “each frequency” it is unclear if “each frequency refers to the frequencies positively recited in the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes they refer to both a frequency in both the high and low frequency ranges. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11:
line 1: “the adherence”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an adherence. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 1, the term “specific” in claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
line 1 & in line 3: “transceiver/s” it is unclear if the term refers to a transceiver or transceivers. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a transceiver. Appropriate correction is required.
line 2-3: the term in quotation marks “low quality contact”. Claim positively recites “low quality contact” in quotation marks. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if the limitation within the quotation marks is required. Thus, the claim is indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes poor quality. Appropriate correction is required.
line 3: “lack to show local rejection”. The phrase is grammatically incorrect. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes shows poor reflection. Appropriate correction is required.
lines 3-4: “the transmitter area”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an area of transmission. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 4: “some or all lower frequencies”. These phrase is open-ended and lacks a clear upper or lower bound rendering the scope of the claims ambiguous. Accordingly, the metes and bound of the claims are indefinite. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes any frequency considered low. Appropriate correction is required.
line 4: “the emitter location”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an emitter location. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
Claim 12:
line 1-2: the term in quotation marks “low quality contact”. Claim positively recites “low quality contact” in quotation marks. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if the limitation within the quotation marks is required. Thus, the claim is indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes poor quality. Appropriate correction is required.
line 2: “the system user”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). In addition, its unclear what the phrase means in the context of the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a system. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
Claim 13:
line 1-2: the term in quotation marks “low quality contact”. Claim positively recites “low quality contact” in quotation marks. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if the limitation within the quotation marks is required. Thus, the claim is indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes poor quality. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14:
lines 1-4: the claim is a “use claim” that does not positively set forth any step and therefore is indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(q). Appropriate correction is required.
line 2: “transceiver/s” it is unclear if the term refers to a transceiver or transceivers. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a transceiver. Appropriate correction is required.
line 3: “significantly different”. The term, “significantly” in claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes anything different. Appropriate correction is required.
line 3-4: “the same CMUT transmitter area”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). In addition, the claim does not positively set forth what CMUT refers to in the context of the claim nor does the specification refer or provide clarity on the term “CMUT”. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a CMUT transmitter area. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
Claim 15:
lines 1-3: is a “use claim” that does not positively set forth any step and therefore is indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(q). Appropriate correction is required.
In addition, line 2: “the use”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Note; the term itself is not what defines the claim as a “use claim”. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
Claim 16:
lines 1-4: “wherein the transceivers that show no skin contract are defined as transceivers that show local reflection at the emitter location along with 180° phase inversion, or a transceiver that do not show local reflection and fails to communicate with other transceivers in all the tested frequencies.”, is indefinite. Its unclear how the transceivers (plural) that show no skin contact can logically be defined using a singular “transceiver” that do not show local reflection and fails to communicate with other transceivers in all the tested frequencies. In addition, the behavior of the defined categories is ambiguous; hence, the tor examination purposes, the Examiner assumes wherein the transceivers that show no skin contact are those that exhibit either local reflection at the emitter location with 180° phase inversion, or do not show local reflection and fail to communicate with other transceivers at all tested frequencies.
line 2: “the emitter location”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an emitter location. Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required.
line 4: “all the tested frequencies”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper ordinal numbering and/or antecedent basis is required. In addition, the claim does not set forth any numerical frequencies render the claim ambiguous with respect to the metes and bounds of the recited term. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes any frequency. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Specification
Due to the numerous claim language issues that the Examiner has identified, above, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Specifically, Applicant is requested to check through the entire specification to ensure that the drafting follows the appropriate grammar and consistent term usage.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities and should recite:
Claim 1: line 14, “prior to re-evaluating[[e]] the skin contact”.
Claim 7: lines 1-4:
“A method of evaluation of transceiver skin ultrasonic contact quality comprising the steps of: [[by]]
receiving ultrasonic signal feedback comprising of a reflection waveform and a transmission waveform from a plurality of transceivers; and
performing an analysis of the acoustic input to classify the ultrasonic contact quality.” Appropriate correction is required. Note; the suggested claim objection is needed; however, this alone does not obviate the 35 USC § 101 or the 112(b).
Claim 14: line 1, “processing[[/]] or”.
Claim 16: line 2: “the transceivers”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 1 recitation positively recites the human body: ““transceivers attached to a patient’s skin”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claims 7-10 are directed to a “method” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a process.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One:
Claim 7 recites (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows:
“performing analysis of the acoustic input to classify the ultrasonic contact quality.”
In claims 7, the above recited step fall within the groupings of mathematical concepts and mental process because the steps identified above do not require any implementation beyond the manipulation and evaluation of information itself. The act of analyzing the input to classify ultrasonic contact quality merely relies on manipulating and evaluating waveform data, which constitutes mathematical concepts, and the act of classifying that data reflects evaluative reasoning that can be performed through mental observation and judgement aligning with mental processes. There is nothing recited in the claim to suggest an undue level of complexity in how the analysis is conducted. Therefore, a person would be able to perform through mathematical and mental concepts.
Prong Two: Claims 7 do not include additional elements that integrate the mental process into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recites (1) additional steps of “comprising of reflection waveform and transmission waveform from plurality of transceivers”-(claim 7);
The steps in (1) represent merely data gathering or pre-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality with conventionally used tools (see below Step IIB for further details). Data gathering and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05 (f and g)).
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea and to output a notification based on the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on conventionally used tools. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improvement to the technology is evident, and the information is not outputted in any way such that a practical benefit is realized. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, there is no evidence of record that would support the assertion that this step is an improvement to a computer or technological solution to a technological problem. Ultimately, the Applicant’s describe improvement in the process of using quality contact techniques, but this is not an improvement in the function of a computer or other technology (See MPEP 2106.05(a)(ii); “the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology”; See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1); 2106.05(a); and 2106.05(f)). The claims are directed to the abstract idea. Also, there does not appear to be any particular structure or machine, treatment or prophylaxis, transformation, or any other meaningful application that would render the claim eligible at step 2A, prong 2.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claims 7 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the claims recite additional steps of receiving ultrasonic signal feedback comprising of reflection waveform and transmission waveform from plurality of transceivers. These steps represents mere data gathering, data outputting or pre/post/extra-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality. Furthermore, as discussed above, limitations with respect to the processor languages/terms, respectively, amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B and does not provide an inventive concept. The data gathering steps that were considered insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A Prong Two, have been re-evaluated in Step 2B and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
As an evidence, Zhu et al (US 2017/0052253 A1) discloses:
¶0004, ‘Ultrasound transducers are known in the art for transmitting ultrasound waves and detecting a reflection or echo of the transmitted wave.”
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea.
Dependent Claims
The following dependent claims merely further describe the extra-solution activities and therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application for similar reasons:
describing the wherein the feedback comprises local reflection measured at the emitter location.-(claim 8). The data gathering steps and pre-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
describing wherein the feedback comprises attenuation signals received by at least one sensors said at least one sensor not located at the emitter location.-(claim 9). The data gathering steps and pre-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
describing wherein each transceiver emits at least two ultrasonic frequencies one "high" frequency (greater than 700 KHz) and lower frequencies (20 Khz-700 KHz) and wherein the system analyzes the signals received by all transceivers on the system for each frequency.-(claim 10). The data gathering steps and pre-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves technology other than the technical field of the claimed invention, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baym et al (US 2017/0273664 A1).
Claim 7: Baym discloses, A method of evaluation of transceiver skin ultrasonic contact quality by receiving ultrasonic signal feedback comprising of reflection waveform and transmission waveform from plurality of transceivers and performing analysis of the acoustic input to classify the ultrasonic contact quality.
-Baym discloses, the process conducted by the controller 106 to evaluate the acoustic coupling quality of multiple ultrasound elements (i.e., transceivers) using their emitted and received ultrasound signals. The controller 106 is programmed and configured to monitor signals from ultrasound elements 102 that indicate the quality of their acoustic coupling with the body. The determining of the quality of acoustic coupling is performed at each ultrasound element. The quality of the acoustic signal coupling is determined utilizing the ultrasound 102, itself. This determination uses one or more ultrasonic signals applied or detected by the ultrasound element. The determining of the quality of acoustic coupling includes the determining of the magnitude of an echo or reflection from the surface of the body. A strong echo signal or reflection nis associated with good coupling. The received ultrasound signals include one or more signal components of the applied ultrasound signals. These ultrasound elements function as body the transmission and receiver, ¶0076, ¶0079-0081, ¶0090-¶0095.
-Baym further discloses a plurality of ultrasound elements, with the control monitoring the acoustic coupling of these elements within one or more arrays, ¶0077, ¶0092. The controller performs analyses with the received electrical signals or values to assess the contact quality. The controller simply omits or discards imaging data received from an ultrasound element that does not meet a contact quality threshold. This mechanism relies on classifying the coupling into acceptable (i.e. good coupling) or unacceptable (i.e., poor contact) categories. The measured quantification is sorted and percentage is determined, ¶0077, ¶0082, ¶0090-0096.
Claim 8: Baym discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Baym discloses, wherein the feedback comprises local reflection measured at the emitter location. (¶0076-0077, ¶0091, ¶0095).
Claims 11 and 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baym et al (US 2014/0058263 A1, herein Baym ‘63).
Claim 11: Baym ’63 discloses, A method of improving transceiver skin ultrasonic contact quality using ultrasonic feedback analysis and adjusting the adherence of specific transceiver/s with "low quality contact", said "low quality contact" transceiver/s lack to show local reflection to the transmitter area, and show transmission in some or all lower frequencies on sensors not located at the emitter location.
-Baym ’63 disclose using acoustic data to determine contact quality and taking remedial action. Specifically, Baym ’63 describes an ultrasound method that includes determining a quality of acoustic coupling with the body at each transducer element. The system is configured to response to determined quality of acoustic coupling by remediating poor coupling. This response constitutes the method of improving contact quality, ¶0004-¶0006, ¶0023, Claim 44. The method is configured to respond to determined quality of acoustic coupling by adjusting a quality of coupling fluid or by adjusting a contact for of a transducer. Specifically, the system remediates transducers having poor acoustic coupling. This action of (e.g., dispensing additional ultrasound gel or adjusting contact force) is targeted at specific areas or specific transducers elements/sources/receivers, ¶0004-0006, ¶0023.
-Determining coupling quality includes determining magnitude of an echo or reflection from the surface of the body. A strong echo signal is “good coupling”. Conversely, a lack of reflection (e.g., low or null signal) is used to identify elements having poor contact quality, ¶0011, ¶0028-0030.
-The system uses a configuration where the ultrasound sources and receivers are separate. The controller determines the coupling quality of an ultrasound source using feedback received by a separate ultrasound receiver (i.e., sensor not located at the emitter location), ¶0005-0009, Claim 23.
-Determining coupling quality involves applying an ultrasound signal at first frequency to determine a set of coupling quantities, while gathering ultrasound data at a second frequency different from the first frequency. The claim does not define what constitutes some or all lower frequencies.
Claim 13: Baym ’63 discloses all the elements above in claim 11, Baym ’63 discloses, wherein the adherence of each "low quality contact" transceiver is adjusted by an automatic system. (¶0004-0009, ¶0011, ¶0021, ¶0023)
Claim 15: Baym ’63 discloses, A method of improving ultrasonic imaging processing / ultrasound inversion processing by feedback analysis and eliminating the use of transceivers that show no skin contact. (¶0004-0006, ¶0030, Claims 1-22)
Claim 16: Baym ’63 discloses all the elements above in claim 15, Baym discloses, wherein the transceivers that show no skin contract are defined the transceivers that do not show local reflection and fails to communicate with other transceivers in all the tested frequencies.
-Baym ’63 teaches “out-of-contact” transducer elements, ¶0006, ¶0011. These elements are handled by ignoring null signals from them, ¶0006, ¶0011. In determining quality includes determining magnitude of an echo or reflection from the surface of the body, ¶0004-0006, ¶0008, ¶0010, ¶0028-0029, Claim 8. A strong echo signal is associated with good coupling, ¶0028-0029. Therefore, a low or absent reflection signal (i.e., null signal) is used as an indicator of out of contact (i.e., no skin contact) of the transceiver at the respective frequency. In addition, determining quality also includes determining magnitude of the signal passing though the body, ¶0004-0006, ¶0008, ¶0010, ¶0028-0029, Claim 9. If a ultrasound element has no skin contact (i.e., “out-of-contact”), it fails to couple energy, resulting in a null signal that signifies a failure to communicate and hence a failure to communicate with other transceivers.
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brock et al (US 2024/0151838 A1).
Claim 14: Brock discloses, A method of improving ultrasonic imaging processing/ ultrasound inversion processing quality using ultrasonic feedback analysis and eliminating the transceiver/s that show significantly different reflection patterns in different adjacent areas of the same CMUT transmitter area.
-Brock discloses, performance of one or more pixels by performing current pixel performance receive cycle. This cycle involves the pixels to transmit an ultrasonic signal, which then reflect off an acoustic impedance mismatched boundary, The pixels received this reflected waveform and serve as the ultrasonic waveform, ¶Abstract, ¶0109, ¶0119-¶0124, ¶0162, Claim 52. The reflected ultrasonic waveform is converted into electrical signal, which generates a current pixel performance dataset (i.e., time-domain signal), ¶0111-0114. This current dataset is compared with a baseline pixel performance data set. This comparison analysis allows the determination of a defective pixel dataset for one or more defective pixels, ¶Abstract, ¶0114-0115, ¶0161-0162, Claim 52. Once the defects are identified, the system utilizes this defective pixel data to enhance imaging, by selecting a frame reconstruction algorithm, ¶0142-0143, ¶0193-0194.
Specifically, Brock discloses, identifying pixels that show altered reflection pattern (i.e., significantly different reflection patterns) compared to baseline, and then managing the associated transmit and receive channels, effectively eliminating them (i.e. of the same CMUT transmitter area) from use in imaging, ¶0044-0045, ¶0078, ¶0116, ¶0134-0136, ¶0138, ¶0166-0167, ¶0172-0177, ¶0189-0191, ¶0197-0198, Claim 59-60, also see ¶0038-0039, ¶0043, ¶0047, ¶0051, ¶0054.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baym et al (US 2017/0273664 A1) in view of Baym et al (US 2014/0058263 A1, herein Baym ‘63).
Claim 1: Baym discloses, A system for improving ultrasonic transceivers skin contact using feedback from ultrasound sensors comprising: (¶Abstract)
a plurality of ultrasound transceivers attached to a patient's skin;
-The fetal imaging device includes one or more ultrasound elements. These elements 102 include at least one ultrasonic sensor, transceiver, or transducers. The device includes a plurality of ultrasound elements 102. These elements are coupled to a garment wearable over the body. Support members are also included on the garment to facilitate appropriate positioning or contact between the ultrasound elements and the body, ¶Abstract, ¶0006, ¶0070, ¶0076-0077, ¶0080.
a software module analyzing the information of the acoustic emission signals, reflection and transmission data following the operation of each transducer at multiple ultrasound frequencies;
-The device of Baym includes controller 106 which executes program instructions 112, acting as a software module. This controller is configured to monitor signals from the ultrasound elements 102 that indicate quality of their acoustic coupling with the body. The quality of the acoustic coupling can be determined utilizing the ultrasound element itself. Such determination uses one or more ultrasonic signals applied or detected by the ultrasound element, which can be at the imaging frequency or at another frequency. Specifically, the determining coupling quality, includes measuring the magnitude of an echo or reflection from the surface of the body either at the imaging frequency or at a different frequency, ¶0078, ¶0090-0091, ¶0095.
a classification system analyzing the acoustic signals for each transceiver and evaluating the quality of the skin contact;
-The controller 106 is configured to monitor acoustic coupling of the ultrasound elements 102 with the body. The controller can also simply omit or discard imaging data received from an ultrasound element that does not meet a contact quality threshold. A strong echo or reflection is associated with good coupling. The controller also applies weighting to the electrical signals or values received from the ultrasound elements based upon the detected quality of acoustic coupling, ¶0090, ¶0092, ¶0095.
a real time visual reference of the device presenting the quality of the acoustic transmitted and or reflected signals for each transceiver; and
-The controller dynamically monitors the contact with various ultrasound elements and continuously adjust the resultant image. The image can include false color to identify more or less “reliable areas”. For instance, pixels are shaded in red in areas where contact with the body is poor, and in green in areas where it is good. Alternatively, the image may have holes indicating insufficient contact with the body in those areas. This information collective can be communicated to a user via the interface device 138 configured to display imaging data, ¶0092-0093, ¶0110.
a guidance for the user or an automatic system to adjust the adherence of specific areas or specific transceivers and prior to re-evaluate the skin contact.
-The control 106 provides one or more indications or control signals in an attempt to remediate ultrasound elements having poor acoustic coupling. Remediation involves the controller providing an indication to the user. Alternatively, it can involved an automatic system adjustment via the control signal to a dispenser to dispense additional ultrasound gel or another coupling agent, or a control signal to an actuator to adjust a contact force in the are having poor contact rating, ¶0094.
-Baym fails to disclose: a software module analyzing and comparing the reflection patterns received from adjacent parts of the same transceivers;
However, Baym ’63 in the context of an adaptive ultrasonic array discloses, a software module analyzing and comparing the reflection patterns received from adjacent parts of the same transceivers;
-Baym ’63 teaches the controller uses the determined coupling quantities to apply a weighitng to ultrasonic data. This weighting involves the comparison of spatial data. The system uses contact information from other transducers to determine the weight given to a signal from one or more transducers, ¶0004, ¶0009-0010, ¶0033, Claim 1,. The data may be downgraded and used only if there is no data available from a nearby transducer element in better connect with the body, ¶0021.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the software module of Baym in view of the teachings of Baym ’63. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the quality and reliability of the resulting ultrasonic data or image by selectivity utilizing or weighting data based on localized contact quality across the array, as suggested by Byam ’63, ¶Abstract, ¶0004, ¶0009.
Claim 2: Baym as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Baym discloses, wherein the feedback is presented on each transceiver separately to be viewable by the user. (¶0077, ¶0092-¶0095, ¶0110)
Claim 3: Baym as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Baym discloses, wherein the visualization of the transceivers contact is presented on a remote screen on a cellular device or computer. (¶0092, ¶0110-0111, ¶0113-0114)
Claim 4: Baym as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Baym discloses, wherein the user or an automatic system is guided to adhere the specific transceivers that receive "intermediate" adherence score prior to reevaluation of its adherence. (¶0090-0095)
Claim 5: Baym as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Baym discloses, wherein the transceivers that received "bad" score (-elimination of data based on poor adherence, (¶0091-0095, ¶0099), or show different reflection pattern from two adjacent parts of the same transceiver are flagged to be eliminated from the imaging processing.
Claim 6: Baym as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Baym discloses, wherein the transceivers attached to the patient skin without using gel, water or any other non-solid coupling medium. (¶0080, ‘As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the one or more ultrasound elements 102 or arrays 104 can be included in or coupled to a wearable garment 120.’)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baym et al (US 2017/0273664 A1), as applied to claim 7, in further view of Baym et al (US 2014/0058263 A1, herein Baym ‘63).
Claim 9: Baym discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Baym fails to disclose: wherein the feedback comprises attenuation signals received by at least one sensors said at least one sensor not located at the emitter location.
However, Baym ’63 in the context of an adaptive ultrasonic array discloses, wherein the feedback comprises attenuation signals received by at least one sensors said at least one sensor not located at the emitter location.
-Baym ’63 discloses an ultrasound array that includes a plurality of ultrasound soures configured to contact the body and a plurality of ultrasound receivers configured to receive ultrasound from the plurality of sources, ¶0005, Claim 23. The controller is configured to determine quality of acoustic coupling at each ultrasound source, ¶0005, ¶0007-0008. When determining the coupling quality of a specific ultrasound source using a signal passing through the body, that signal must be detected by a distinct sensor (i.e., one of the plurality of ultrasound receivers) positioned elsewhere on the body. Therefore, the feedback signal used to access the source’s coupling quality is received by a sensor that is not the source itself (i.e., not located at the emitter location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback received by at least one sensor of Baym in view of the teachings of Baym ’63. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to accurately assess and control the acoustic power coupled into the body, enabling the system to achieve high specific and reliable transmission.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baym et al (US 2017/0273664 A1), as applied to claim 7, in further view of Pollock et al (US 2012/0277639 A1).
Claim 10: Baym discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Baym fails to disclose: wherein each transceiver emits at least two ultrasonic frequencies one "high" frequency (greater than 700 KHz) and lower frequencies (20 Khz-700 KHz) and wherein the system analyzes the signals received by all transceivers on the system for each frequency.
However, Pollock in the context of transducers that generate double frequency discloses, wherein each transceiver emits at least two ultrasonic frequencies one "high" frequency (greater than 700 KHz) and lower frequencies (20 Khz-700 KHz) and wherein the system analyzes the signals received by all transceivers on the system for each frequency. (FIG. 2a-2b; ¶0046, ‘The transducer construction used to generate the double frequency is to have a single device (the `transducer` 20) vibrate in both bending mode (for the low frequency, 50 kHz) and thickness mode (for the high frequency, 3 MHz).’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic frequencies of each transceiver of Baym in view of the teachings of Pollock. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as provide enhanced depth penetration when driven as suggested by Pollock, ¶0062.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baym et al (US 2014/0058263 A1, herein Baym ‘63) as applied to claim 11, in further view of Baym et al (US 2017/0273664 A1).
Claim 12: Baym ’63 discloses all the elements above in claim 11, Baym ’63 fails to disclose: wherein the adherence of each "low quality contact" transceiver is manually adjusted by the system user.
However, Baym in the context of wearable ultrasonic imaging devices discloses, wherein the adherence of each "low quality contact" transceiver is manually adjusted by the system user. (¶0094, ‘the controller 106 can provide an indication for a user or a control signal to an actuator to adjust a contact force in the area having a poor contact rating.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adherence of each transceiver of Baym ’63 in view of the teachings of Baym. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as remediating poor contact as suggested by Baym, ¶0094.
Conclusion
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798