DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Child et al. (US 2022/0048121 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Child discloses a knife (Child; Figs. 1B-1C; 140) comprising a blade (140), the knife comprising:
a first surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 1B (Child) below) and a second surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 1B (Child) below) each extending at a predetermined angle (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 1B (Child) below) from a first direction (Child; Figs. 1B-1C; 120), which is a cutting direction (Child; P. 0035), and a third surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 1B (Child) below) extending in a second direction (Child; Figs. 1B-1C; 130) perpendicular to the first direction (Child; Figs. 1B-1C; 120),
wherein a first end of the first surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 1B (Child) below) and a first end of the second surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 1B (Child) below) contact each other at a vertex (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 1B (Child) below), which is the blade (140), and
wherein a first end and a second end of the third surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 1B (Child) below) contact a second end of the first surface and a second end of the second surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 1B (Child) below), respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Child discloses a secondary battery manufacturing device (Child; P. 0043-0044) comprising the knife (Child; Figs. 1B-1C; 140) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Child (US 2022/0048121 A1) in view of Lim (KR 10-1632228 B1) and Betacourt et al. (US 2020/0139563 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Child teaches the knife according to claim 1.
Child does not teach the knife wherein: the first surface and the second surface each comprise a protrusion part, which is a protruding area.
Lim teaches a knife (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1100), wherein a first surface (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1120) comprises a protrusion part (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1130), which is a protruding area (Lim; Fig. 7; 1130). Such protrusion parts help to allow air to vent to help prevent sticking during use (Lim; P. 0073).
Betancourt teaches a knife (Betancourt; Figs. 1-3; 10), wherein a first surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) below) and a second surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) above) each comprises a protrusion part (Betancourt; Figs. 1-3; 24), which is a protruding area (Betancourt; Figs. 1-3; 24; P. 0025). Such protrusion parts help to reduce sticking during use (Betancourt; P. 0026).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, when building the device from the ground up, to modify the knife taught by Child to include protrusion parts like the protrusion parts taught by Lim on both a first surface and a second surface as evidenced by Betancourt as such protrusion parts help to allow air to vent which help to prevent material sticking to the knife during use
Regarding claim 3, Child in view of Lim and Betancourt teaches the knife according to claim 2, wherein: the protrusion part (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1130) comprises a protrusion starting part (Lim; Fig. 4; 1131 and 1133), which is an area where the protrusion part starts relative to the vertex (Lim; Fig. 4; 1110), and a length from the vertex to the protrusion starting part is shorter than a height of the a sheet to be cut (Lim; Fig. 7; 1 and 1130).
Regarding claim 4, Child teaches the knife according to claim 1.
Child does not teach wherein the first surface and the second surface each comprise a recessed part, which is an area that is recessed from the first surface or the second surface.
Lim teaches a knife (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1100), wherein a first surface (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1120) comprises a recessed part (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1140), which is an area that is recessed from the first surface (Lim; Fig. 4; 1140; P. 0044). Such recessed parts help to allow air to vent to help prevent sticking during use (Lim; P. 0073).
Betancourt teaches a knife (Betancourt; Figs. 1-3; 10), wherein a first surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) above) and a second surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) above) each comprises a recessed part (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, when building the device from the ground up, to modify the knife taught by Child to include recessed parts like the recessed parts taught by Lim on both a first surface and a second surface as evidenced by Betancourt as such recessed parts help to allow air to vent which help to prevent material sticking to the knife during use.
Regarding claim 5, Child in view of Lim and Betancourt teaches the knife according to claim 4, wherein: the recessed part (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1140) comprises a recess starting part (Lim; Fig. 4; 1133) which is an area where the recessed part starts relative to the vertex (Lim; Fig. 4; 1110), and a length from the vertex to the recess starting part is shorter than a height of a sheet to be cut (Lim; Fig. 7; 1 and 1140).
Regarding claim 7, Child teaches the knife according to claim 1.
Child does not teach wherein: the first surface and the second surface each comprise a protrusion part, which is an area protruding from the first surface or the second surface, and the first surface and the second surface each comprise a recessed part, which is an area dug to be recessed from the first surface and or the second surface.
Lim teaches a knife (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1100), wherein a first surface (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1120) comprises a protrusion part (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1130), which is a protruding area (Lim; Fig. 7; 1130) and a recessed part (Lim; Figs. 1-4 and 7-8; 1140), which is an area that is recessed from the first surface (Lim; Fig. 4; 1140; P. 0044). Such parts help to allow air to vent to help prevent sticking during use (Lim; P. 0073).
Betancourt teaches a knife (Betancourt; Figs. 1-3; 10), wherein a first surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) above) and a second surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) above) each comprises a protrusion part (Betancourt; Figs. 1-3; 24), which is a protruding area (Betancourt; Figs. 1-3; 24; P. 0025) and wherein the first surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) above) and the second surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) above) each comprises a recessed part (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Betancourt) above). Such parts help to reduce sticking during use (Betancourt; P. 0026).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, when building the device from the ground up, to modify the knife taught by Child to include protrusion parts and recessed parts like the protrusion parts and recessed parts taught by Lim on both a first surface and a second surface as evidenced by Betancourt as such parts help to allow air to vent which help to prevent material sticking to the knife during use
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Child (US 2022/0048121 A1) in view of Lim (KR 10-1632228 B1) and Betacourt (US 2020/0139563 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Imanishi (JP 2019-63961 A).
Regarding claim 6, Child in view of Lim and Betancourt teaches the knife according to claim 4.
Child in view of Lim and Betancourt does not teach wherein: a radius of the recessed part is 0.01 mm or more.
Imanishi teaches a knife (Imanishi; Figs. 1-6; 1) wherein: a radius of the recessed part is 0.01 mm or more (Imanishi; P. 0008). Imanishi specifically teaches recessed parts of an ellipse shape with diameters (Imanishi; Fig. 4; L1 and L2) which range from 5 to 15 mm for L1 and 15 to 25 mm for L2 (Imanishi; P. 0019). As a radius is half of the diameter Imanishi teaches radii taught by Imanishi is in a range of 2.5 to 7.5 mm and 7.5 to 12.5 mm or more generally 2.5 mm or more (Imanishi; P. 0008). Such an arrangement helps to prevent material from sticking to the blade and thus prevents a decrease in cutting performance (Imanishi; P. 0012).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, when building the device from the ground up, to modify the knife taught by Child in view of Lim and Betancourt such that the radius of the recessed part were 0.01 mm or more or were any desirable radius as since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to specify the dimensions of a device. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Here, Imanishi shows that it is well known in the art to have recessed parts within the claimed range to help manage sticking during cutting but also shows that it is well known in the art of knives to dimension such structures however may be desirable or expedient at the time. Further, the result of such dimensions, to provide larger recessed areas in an effort to further reduce sticking, is a known benefit of such structures.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Child (US 2022/0048121 A1) in view of Warner et al. (US 5,077,901 A).
Regarding claim 8, Child teaches the knife according to claim 1.
Child does not teach wherein an angle of the vertex is 120 degrees or less. While Child does not specifically teach an angle of the vertex, Child does teach blades with different vertex (Child; Figs. 1B, 5A-6D and 8; 140, 510, 610 and 810).
Warner teaches a knife (Warner; Figs. 1-15) wherein an angle of the vertex is 120 degrees or less (Warner; Figs. 3, 7 and 9; b, d and b1) the angled being between 20 to 50 degrees (Warner; Col. 2; lines 49-54). Such an angle helps to increase the tip strength of the blade (Warner; Col. 3; lines 7-11).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, when building the device from the ground up, to modify the knife taught by Child such that the angle of the vertex were less than 120 degrees like the vertex angle taught by Warner as such an angle helps to improve the tip strength of the blade.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Child (US 2022/0048121 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 2021/0057728 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Child teaches the knife according to claim 1.
Child does not teach wherein the knife is cermet.
Song teaches a knife (Song; Fig. 1; 1) wherein the knife is cermet (Song; P. 0048). Such a material is preferred to avoid deformation during cutting (Song; P. 0048).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, when building the device from the ground up, to modify the knife taught by Child such that the knife was made of a cermet material like the material taught by Song since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Also see MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. states "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). Since Song teaches that it is known in the art to use a cermet material as a material for a knife and that it is known in the art to select said material due to its ability to avoid deformation during cutting, the designation of a specific material does nothing to enhance the patentability of a design.
Conclusion
/ROBERT D CORNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724