DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the magnetographic system including the plurality of magnetic field sensors and the calculation unit must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 and 13 recite “M is the monopolarity, i the sensor index and bi the magnetic field gradient” however this should be read as “M is the monopolarity, i is the sensor index and bi is the magnetic field gradient. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a calculation unit being configured to determine” in claim 12 and “the calculation unit is configured to calculate” in claim 13.
The calculation unit is described on page 21 of the specification by reciting “The calculation unit may, for example, be an integrated circuit, a Personal Computer or other programmable apparatus, or part thereof”. Therefore for examination purposes the calculation unit will be interpreted as a personal computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, claims 1 and 12 recite “determining, using the magnetic field data measured by the at least one magnetic field sensor”. However “the magnetic field data” has not been previously defined therefore it lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear what the magnetic field data is referring to. For examination purposes the limitation will be read as “determining, using magnetic field data measured by the at least one magnetic field sensor”.
Dependent claims are also rejected due to their dependency.
Regarding claims 9, 19, and 20, each of claims 9, 19, and 20 recite “wherein the individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current is the Ito.” Claims 9, 19, and 20 do not define Ito and independent claim 1 also does not define Ito therefore it is unclear what the current Ito is referring to. Pg. 12 line 14 of the current application recites “Ito = transient outward potassium current”. Therefore for examination purposes the claim will be interpreted as “wherein the individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current is the transient outward potassium current (Ito).”
Claim 17 is unclear under 35 USC 112(b), since a claim which purports to be both machine and process is ambiguous and therefore does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the invention. Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (1990). It is unclear if claim 19 is a method claim or an apparatus claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kandori (US 20040210127).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 17, Kandori discloses a magnetographic method ([0002] – “The present invention relates to a biomagnetic measurement technique detecting a very weak magnetic field such as a magnetocardiogram and a magnetoencephalogram”), the method comprising the following steps: [claim 1]
a magnetographic system (Abstract – “The biomagnetic measurement apparatus”, Fig. 1), comprising, a plurality of magnetic field sensors (Fig. 2, [0037] – “The detection coils 8 are integrated with the SQUID sensors”)…and a calculation unit (Abstract – “The biomagnetic measurement apparatus including an operating circuit for magnetometer, and means collecting output data of the operating circuit for magnetometer, has means calculating a current vector at time t”, [0036] – “computer 6”) [claim 12]
a data carrier comprising a computer program for carrying out the method of claim 1 (Abstract – “The biomagnetic measurement apparatus including an operating circuit for magnetometer, and means collecting output data of the operating circuit for magnetometer, has means calculating a current vector at time t”, [0036] – “computer 6”). [claim 17]
a) measuring, at least at one given point in time or over at least one given time period, at least one component of a biomagnetic field at least at one position above a tissue or organ of a subject using at least one magnetic field sensor ([0039] – “The top figure of FIG. 4 shows an overlapped waveform 11 of magnetic field waveforms in which the magnetocardiogram waveforms (the grid map 9) of 64 channels shown in FIG. 3 are overlapped with each other on one trace to be displayed”, [0030] – “A biomagnetic measurement apparatus of an embodiment of the present invention in which when a plane in parallel with a plane contacted with the surface of a chest”, [0037] – “The detection coils 8 are integrated with the SQUID sensors”), and
b) determining, using the magnetic field data measured by the at least one magnetic field sensor, an individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current in the tissue or organ ([0043] – “FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram showing the cell-membrane ionic current”, [0030] – “current vectors from magnetic fields produced from a heart and absolute values of the current vectors are calculated at a plurality of measurement points (x, y)”), wherein the determination step is computer-implemented (Abstract – “The biomagnetic measurement apparatus including an operating circuit for magnetometer, and means collecting output data of the operating circuit for magnetometer, has means calculating a current vector at time t”, [0036] – “computer 6”).
Regarding claim 6, Kandori further discloses wherein the determination of the rotational behavior of the measured biomagnetic field involves the determination of a change of the field map angle and/or the maximum current angle ([0015] – “a current vector (Ix (t), Iy (t)) at time t and an absolute value of the current vector (Ixy (t)={square root}{(Ix (t))2+I (t))2}) is calculated at time ti (i=0, 1, . . . , n)”, one with ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the variations in the angle of the current vector over time would show any rotational behavior).
Regarding claim 7, Kandori further discloses wherein the at least one component of the biomagnetic field is measured at a plurality of positions above the tissue or organ of the subject using a plurality of magnetic field sensors, each sensor of the plurality of magnetic field sensors being arranged at one of the positions of the plurality of positions above the tissue or organ of the subject ([0030] – “A biomagnetic measurement apparatus of an embodiment of the present invention in which when a plane in parallel with a plane contacted with the surface of a chest”, [0037] – “The detection coils 8 are integrated with the SQUID sensors”, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kandori further discloses wherein the individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current is an individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current of or during an action potential at the cell membrane of a cell or multiple cells (Figs. 4 and 5, Fig. 4 shows individual current vectors and Fig. 5 shows the relation between a cell-membrane ionic current, a ventricular muscle action potential).
Regarding claims 10 and 15, Kandori further discloses wherein the component of the magnetic field is the z-component of the magnetic field ([0033] – “a plurality of detection coils detecting, when a plane in parallel with a plane contacted with a living body is xy plane and an axis vertical to the (x, y) plane is z, element Bz in z direction of a magnetic field produced from the living body, and a data collection device collecting detected signal data of the element Bz in the z direction”).
Regarding claim 14, Kandori further discloses wherein the magnetographic system is a magnetocardiographic system ([0002] – “The present invention relates to a biomagnetic measurement technique detecting a very weak magnetic field such as a magnetocardiogram and a magnetoencephalogram”, Abstract – “The biomagnetic measurement apparatus”).
Regarding claim 16, Kandori further discloses comprising a computer being or comprising the calculation unit (Abstract – “The biomagnetic measurement apparatus including an operating circuit for magnetometer, and means collecting output data of the operating circuit for magnetometer, has means calculating a current vector at time t”, [0036] – “computer 6”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 4, 11, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandori (US 20040210127) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Ehrlen (EP 3308703 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Kandori discloses all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 1.
Conversely Kandori does not teach wherein the determination of the individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current in the tissue or organ involves the determination of the magnetic polarity or rotational behavior of the measured biomagnetic field.
However Ehrlen discloses wherein the determination of the individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current in the tissue or organ involves the determination of the magnetic polarity or rotational behavior of the measured biomagnetic field ([0008] – “Determining, using the magnetic field data measured by the plurality of magnetic field sensors, the monopolarity of the magnetic field at at least one given point in time or over at least one given time period”).
Ehrlen is an analogous art considering it is in the field of magnetocardiography.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the determination of magnetic polarity of Ehrlen to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it “provides a measure for indicating the presence and the severity of cardiac muscle tissue disorder” (Ehrlen – [0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Kandori and Ehrlen disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1 and 2.
Conversely Kandori does not teach wherein the monopolarity of the magnetic field at at least one given point in time or over at least one given time period is determined, the monopolarity of the magnetic field representing a measure for the deviation of the magnetic field from a dipolar shape, and wherein the monopolarity of the magnetic field is calculated by the following formula
M
=
∑
b
i
∑
b
i
wherein M is the monopolarity, i the sensor index and bi the magnetic field gradient measured by the i-th magnetic field sensor.
However Ehrlen discloses wherein the monopolarity of the magnetic field at at least one given point in time or over at least one given time period is determined, the monopolarity of the magnetic field representing a measure for the deviation of the magnetic field from a dipolar shape ([0008] – “the monopolarity of the magnetic field at at least one given point in time or over at least one given time period…the monopolarity of the magnetic field representing a measure for the deviation of the magnetic field from a dipolar shape”), and wherein the monopolarity of the magnetic field is calculated by the following formula (1)
M
=
∑
b
i
∑
b
i
wherein M is the monopolarity, i the sensor index and bi the magnetic field gradient measured by the i-th magnetic field sensor (Paragraph [0008] recites the claimed equation and “wherein M is the monopolarity, i the sensor index and bi the magnetic field gradient measured by the i-th magnetic field sensor”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the determination of monopolarity of Ehrlen to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it “provides a measure for indicating the presence and the severity of cardiac muscle tissue disorder” (Ehrlen – [0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Kandori and Ehrlen disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 2, and 3.
Conversely Kandori does not teach wherein a dipolarity D of the magnetic field is calculated with the following formula (2)
D
=
1
-
M
D being the dipolarity, and M being the monopolarity.
However Ehrlen discloses wherein a dipolarity D of the magnetic field is calculated with the following formula (2)
D
=
1
-
M
D being the dipolarity, and M being the monopolarity ([0012] – “A perfect dipolar shape of a magnetic field would result in an axially symmetric isocontour map plotted from measured data of a plurality of sensors, e.g. axial gradiometers, positioned directly above the magnetic field source and oriented in the z-axis using standard heart coordinates. A shift to a more monopolar shape, i.e. a magnetic field having a higher monopolarity, would result in an axially asymmetric isocontour map, where, for example, the majority of the sensors of a plurality of magnetic field sensors positioned directly above the magnetic field source would measure negative or positive values”, [0023] – “The above formula provides a monopolarity score lying between 0 (zero, no monopolarity) and 1 (one, complete monopolarity)”, therefore one with ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that to measure the dipolarity it can be found by taking 1-M with M being the monopolarity).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the determination of monopolarity and dipolarity of Ehrlen to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it “provides a measure for indicating the presence and the severity of cardiac muscle tissue disorder” (Ehrlen – [0009]).
Regarding claim 11, Kandori discloses all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 1.
Conversely Kandori does not teach wherein the subject is a mammal.
However Ehrlen discloses wherein the subject is a mammal (0018] – “The term "subject" as used herein refers preferably to a vertebrate, further preferred to a mammal, and most preferred to a human”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the subject being a mammal of Ehrlen to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because the behaviors of a healthy heart of mammals are the most commonly known.
Regarding claim 13, Kandori discloses all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 12.
Conversely Kandori does not teach wherein the calculation unit is configured to calculate the monopolarity of the magnetic field by the following formula (1)
M
=
∑
b
i
∑
b
i
wherein M is the monopolarity, i the sensor index and bi the magnetic field gradient measured by the i-th magnetic field sensor, or the dipolarity of the magnetic field by the following formula (2):
D
=
1
-
M
D being the dipolarity, and M being the monopolarity.
However Ehrlen discloses wherein the calculation unit is configured to calculate the monopolarity of the magnetic field by the following formula (1)
M
=
∑
b
i
∑
b
i
wherein M is the monopolarity, i the sensor index and bi the magnetic field gradient measured by the i-th magnetic field sensor (Paragraph [0008] recites the claimed equation and “wherein M is the monopolarity, i the sensor index and bi the magnetic field gradient measured by the i-th magnetic field sensor”), or the dipolarity of the magnetic field by the following formula (2):
D
=
1
-
M
D being the dipolarity, and M being the monopolarity ([0012] – “A perfect dipolar shape of a magnetic field would result in an axially symmetric isocontour map plotted from measured data of a plurality of sensors, e.g. axial gradiometers, positioned directly above the magnetic field source and oriented in the z-axis using standard heart coordinates. A shift to a more monopolar shape, i.e. a magnetic field having a higher monopolarity, would result in an axially asymmetric isocontour map, where, for example, the majority of the sensors of a plurality of magnetic field sensors positioned directly above the magnetic field source would measure negative or positive values”, [0023] – “The above formula provides a monopolarity score lying between 0 (zero, no monopolarity) and 1 (one, complete monopolarity)”, therefore one with ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that to measure the dipolarity it can be found by taking 1-M with M being the monopolarity).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the determination of monopolarity and dipolarity of Ehrlen to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it “provides a measure for indicating the presence and the severity of cardiac muscle tissue disorder” (Ehrlen – [0009]).
Regarding claim 18, Kandori discloses all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 1.
Conversely Kandori does not teach wherein the subject is a human.
However Ehrlen discloses wherein the subject is a human (0018] – “The term "subject" as used herein refers preferably to a vertebrate, further preferred to a mammal, and most preferred to a human”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the subject being a human of Ehrlen to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because the behaviors of a healthy heart of humans are the most commonly known.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandori (US 20040210127) and Ehrlen (EP 3308703 B1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Petrovich (RU 2551918 C1) machine translation.
Regarding claim 5, Kandori and Ehrlen disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 2, 3, and 4.
Conversely Kandori does not teach wherein at least one of the monopolarity M and the dipolarity D determined over a period of time are multiplied with an averaged root mean square value calculated for the magnetic field data measured over the period of time.
As cited above Ehrlen discloses the Monopolarity M and the Dipolarity D ([0008], [0012], [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the determination of monopolarity and dipolarity of Ehrlen to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it “provides a measure for indicating the presence and the severity of cardiac muscle tissue disorder” (Ehrlen – [0009]).
Conversely Kandori and Ehrlen do not teach wherein […magnetic field] determined over a period of time are multiplied with an averaged root mean square value calculated for the magnetic field data measured over the period of time.
However Petrovich wherein […magnetic field] determined over a period of time are multiplied with an averaged root mean square value calculated for the magnetic field data measured over the period of time ([0008] – “root mean square corrected value of the magnetic field strength is determined”, [0010] – “where H<sub>w</sub> is the root mean square corrected value of the magnetic field strength”, [0011] – “H<sub>i</sub> - root mean square magnetic field strength”, [0013] – “A<sub>D</sub> - decade normalization factor”, [0021] – “The root-mean-square corrected value of the intensity is the value of the magnetic field intensity averaged over the frequency in the decade frequency bands”).
Petrovich is an analogous art considering it is in the field of measuring a magnetic field.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the determination of the corrected magnetization of Petrovich to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “the obtained root mean square corrected value of the magnetic field intensity affecting a person in a given ten-day band is compared with the value of its maximum permissible level and, if it is exceeded, the possibility of developing unfavorable changes in a person’s health is predicted.” (Petrovich – [0020]).
Claims 9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandori (US 20040210127) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of June-Bum Kim NPL 2013 “Channelopathies” and Lome NPL 2022 “ECG Basics QRS Complex”.
Regarding claims 9, 19, and 20, Kandori discloses all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 1.
Kandori further discloses wherein the method is a magnetocardiographic method ([0002] – “The present invention relates to a biomagnetic measurement technique detecting a very weak magnetic field such as a magnetocardiogram”), the tissue being heart tissue or the organ being the heart of a subject ([0009] – “a magnetic field produced from a heart is detected”).
Conversely Kandori does not teach wherein the individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current is an individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current of or during an action potential at the cell membrane of a myocardial cell or multiple myocardial cells, and wherein the at least one time period preferably includes or consists of the last 40, 37, and 35 milliseconds of the QRS complex, and wherein the individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current is the Ito.
However June-Bum Kim discloses wherein the individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current is an individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current of or during an action potential at the cell membrane of a myocardial cell or multiple myocardial cells (Fig. 4 shows a comparison of an action potential with measured potassium and calcium currents), and wherein the at least one time period preferably includes or consists of the last 40, 37, and 35 milliseconds of the QRS complex, and wherein the individual membranous or cytosolic ionic current is the Ito (Fig. 4 shows a comparison of an action potential, the measured potassium and calcium currents, and an ECG signal, as seen in Fig. 4 Ito mainly occurs in the last half of QRS complex, as cited below in the tertiary reference a normal duration of the QRS complex is between 0.08 and 0.1 seconds therefore one with ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use a time period of the last 40, 37, and 35 milliseconds to measure the transient outward potassium current (Ito)).
June-Bum Kim is an analogous art considering it is in the field of electrical currents of the heart tissue.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the measurement of ionic current within a particular time period of June-Bum Kim to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would allow one to identify potassium channel disfunction which could help one make a diagnosis.
Tertiary reference Lome discloses the duration of the QRS complex (pg. 1 – “The normal duration (interval) of the QRS complex is between 0.08 and 0.10 seconds — that is, 80 and100 milliseconds”, therefore as recited above one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the teachings of Lome and Fig. 4 of June-Bum Kim that a time period of the last 40, 37, and 35 milliseconds can be used to measure the transient outward potassium current (Ito)).
Lome is an analogous art considering it is in the field of cardiac measurements.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kandori to incorporate the QRS duration of Lome to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would provide a knowing of when to take measurements of the inward and outward currents.
Conclusion
/R.C.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797