DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 2025/0142056, hereafter Zhang).
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses a method of video coding, the method comprising:
receiving input data associated with a current block, wherein the input data comprise pixel data for the current block to be encoded at an encoder side or encoded data associated with the current block to be decoded at a decoder side (¶ 546);
determining a target motion shift from one or more neighbouring blocks comprising at least one non-adjacent spatial neighbouring block of the current block (¶ 547, 555, 559);
determining a collocated block in a reference picture based on the target motion shift (¶ 547 and 550; ¶ 550; a candidate motion shift in the at least one motion shift list comprises a motion vector (MV) pointing to a co-located frame of the current video block.);
deriving subblock motion information for subblocks of the current block based on motion information of corresponding subblocks of the collocated block; generating an SbTMVP (Subblock-based Temporal Motion Vector Prediction) candidate for the current block based on the subblock motion information for the subblocks of the current block (¶ 552); and
encoding or decoding the current block by using a motion prediction set comprising the SbTMVP candidate (¶ 552).
As per claim 2, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the SbTMVP candidate is used for Skip mode, Merge mode, Direct mode, Inter mode, IBC mode or a combination thereof (¶ 565).
As per claim 3, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the target motion shift is derived from one or more motion shift candidates from said one or more neighbouring blocks based on one or more schemes involved with TM (Template Matching), ARMC-TM (Adaptive Reordering of Merge Candidates with Template Matching) or both (¶ 503).
As per claim 4, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein the target motion shift is derived by refining one motion shift candidate based on the TM with one or more templates of the current block (¶ 226).
As per claim 5, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein two or more motion shift candidates from one or more neighbouring adjacent blocks of the current block, one or more neighbouring non-adjacent blocks of the current block or both are determined, and wherein said two or more motion shift candidates are reordered according to the ARMC-TM (¶ 226).
As per claim 6, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein a first motion shift candidate in reordered two or more motion shift candidates is selected as the target motion shift (¶ 503).
As per claim 7, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein a first motion shift candidate in reordered two or more motion shift candidates is refined by the TM and used as the target motion shift (¶ 226 and 547).
As per claim 8, Zhang discloses the method of claim 3, wherein two or more motion shift candidates from one or more neighbouring adjacent blocks of the current block, one or more neighbouring non-adjacent blocks of the current block or both are determined, and wherein said two or more motion shift candidates are refined according to the TM and then reordered according to the ARMC-TM (¶ 226, 503, and 547).
As per claim 9, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 8, wherein a first motion shift candidate in reordered two or more motion shift candidates is selected as the target motion shift (¶ 226, 503, 547).
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for clam 1 are applicable for claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10 - 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487