Claim Objections
Claim 27 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 27, the recitation “wherein e circumferential angle range covered by the spring part” should be changed to “where a circumferential angle range covered by the spring part”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-19, 24, 29, 31, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oezcan (DE 102011121790, submitted by applicant).
As to claim 16, Oezcan discloses a brake assembly (Para 0040), comprising: a shaft (Para 0030); an annular driver connected to the shaft for conjoint rotation and including an outer toothing (1; Fig. 2); a brake-lining carrier having an inner toothing in engagement with the other toothing of the driver (4; Fig. 2); and a spring part accommodated in an annular groove and is supported against the driver (31; Fig. 5); wherein the spring part is adapted to generate a spring force having a first force component that presses against the brake-lining carrier in a radial direction (Para 0010), and having a second force component directed in an axial direction and acting upon the brake- lining carrier (Para 0052).
As to claim 17, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16, wherein the driver is connected to the shaft for conjoint rotation in a form-fitting manner by a feature-key connection (Para 0040), and the brake-lining carrier is arranged on the driver (Para 0040).
As to claim 18, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16, wherein the inner toothing of the brake-lining carrier is in engagement with play (Fig. 4).
As to claim 19, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16, wherein the spring part is arranged as a spring part including a bent round wire (31; Fig. 3), and the annular groove is arranged as an annular inner groove (Fig. 1).
As to claim 24, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16, wherein the spring part has radially directed bends (Fig. 3).
As to claim 29, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 19, wherein a ring axis is oriented coaxially to an axis of rotation of the shaft (Fig. 3).
As to claim 31, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16, wherein at least one groove wall of the annular groove is beveled by an angle of 20° to 40°.
As to claim 36, Oezcan discloses an electric motor (Para 0025), comprising: the brake arrangement recited in claim 16; wherein the shaft is arranged as a rotor shaft of the electric motor (Para 0025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oezcan, and in view of Heitbaum (US 20220260122).
As to claim 20, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16, wherein the brake-lining carrier including a ring part (2; Fig. 2) having the inner toothing and to which at least one support disk is attached (Fig. 2).
Oezcan fails to disclose a friction lining is fitted.
Heitbaum discloses a friction lining is fitted (Para 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Oezcan with a friction lining is fitted, to generate a frictional connection (Para 0031).
As to claim 21, the combination of Oezcan and Heitbaum discloses the brake assembly according to claim 20, wherein a smallest radial distance of the ring part is radially spaced and arranged radially within a radial distance range covered by the supporting disk (Fig. 2 Oezcan).
As to claim 22, the combination of Oezcan and Heitbaum discloses the brake assembly according to claim 20, wherein the ring part includes the annular groove (Fig. 3 Oezcan).
As to claim 23, the combination of Oezcan and Heitbaum discloses the brake assembly according to claim 22, wherein the annular groove is arranged axially next to the inner toothing (Fig. 3 Oezcan).
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oezcan, and in view of Grauss (DE 102022113216).
As to claim 25, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16.
Oezcan fails to disclose wherein the spring part is shaped in a rising spiral form in the axial direction.
Grauss discloses wherein the spring part is shaped in a rising spiral form in the axial direction (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Oezcan with wherein the spring part is shaped in a rising spiral form in the axial direction, to generate tension in the axial direction.
As to claim 26, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16.
Oezcan fails to disclose wherein the spring part includes a plurality of axial bends.
Grauss discloses wherein the spring part includes a plurality of axial bends (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Oezcan with wherein the spring part includes a plurality of axial bends, to increase the amount of axial tension in the spring.
Claims 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oezcan, and in view of Fischer (EP 1004788).
As to claim 32, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16.
Ozecan fails to disclose wherein at least one groove wall of the annular groove has a circular section.
Fischer discloses wherein at least one groove wall of the annular groove has a circular section (Fig. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Oezcan with wherein at least one groove wall of the annular groove has a circular section, to reduce stress concentration associated with v- shaped or rectangular grooves.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oezcan, and in view of Fichtner (WO 2022200037).
As to claim 33, Ozecan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16, wherein the shaft is rotatably mounted relative to a body (Para 0046), an armature disk is arranged axially between the body and the brake-lining carrier (Fig. 2), the armature disk is connected to the body for conjoint rotation (Fig. 2), spring elements supported on the body press onto the armature disk (Fig. 1), and the brake-lining carrier is axially arranged between the armature disk and a friction surface (Fig. 1).
Ozecan fails to disclose a magnetic body, and a winding suppliable with electric current is accommodated in an annular recess in the magnetic body.
Fichtner discloses a magnetic body (Para 0018), and a winding suppliable with electric current is accommodated in an annular recess in the magnetic body (Para 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Oezcan with a magnetic body, and a winding suppliable with electric current is accommodated in an annular recess in the magnetic body, to simplify the manufacturing process of the assembly, by incorporating magnetic components into the body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-28, 30, and 34-35 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 27, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16.
Oezcan fails to disclose wherein a circumferential angle range covered by the spring part in a circumferential direction extends over less than 270 and/or between 180 and 270.
As to claim 28, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 18, wherein the driver includes the annular groove.
Oezcan fails to disclose the annular groove interrupts the outer toothing in the axial direction and/or is arranged within a range covered by the outer toothing in the axial direction.
As to claim 30, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16.
Oezcan fails to disclose wherein a groove width of the annular groove measured in the axial direction decreases monotonically with increasing groove depth.
As to claim 34, the combination of Oezcan and Fichtner discloses the brake assembly according to claim 33, wherein the friction surface is arranged on a plate connected to the magnet body for conjoint rotation, the spring elements are arranged as annular springs, bolts attached to the magnet body protrude through recesses in the armature disk (5; Fig. 2 Oezcan).
Oezcan fails to disclose wherein the friction surface is arranged on a plate connected to the magnet body for conjoint rotation and in a detachable manner, and the spring elements supported on the magnet body press onto the armature disk so that when the winding is supplied with current, the armature disk is pulled towards the magnet body against a spring force generated by the spring elements and the brake-lining carrier is moved away from the friction surface via the second force component and so that when the winding is not supplied with current, the spring elements press the armature disk towards the brake-lining carrier, thus pressing the brake-lining carrier against the friction surface.
As to claim 35, Oezcan discloses the brake assembly according to claim 16.
Oezcan fails to disclose wherein a diameter of a round wire of the spring part is larger than a smallest groove width of the annular groove measured in the axial direction.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834