DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim is confusing because claim 1 mentions only a tungsten corrosion inhibitor, but claim 7 is removing a titanium-containing film. Tungsten and oxide films are mentioned as well. Is this just a listing of films, or is there an actual claim limitation with respect to films removed?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stender et al, US 2025/0019568.
Stender et al teach a CMP composition for tungsten-containing semiconductors (see abstract) comprising hydrogen peroxide, cetyltrimethylammonium hydroxide and the balance water with a pH of 2.3 (¶209). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narita, US 2010/0210184.
Narita teaches a CMP composition comprising hydrogen peroxide, lauryltrimethylammonium chloride and the balance water with a pH of 5.5 (¶132, example 10). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lauter et al, US 2022/0267643.
Lauter et al teach a composition for tungsten etching inhibition comprising hydrogen peroxide, benzethonium chloride and the balance water with a pH of 6 (¶330, example 11). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al, US 2022/0049160.
Hong et al teach a composition for etching titanium nitride comprising benzyl dimethyl lauryl ammonium chloride, periodic acid, and the balance water (¶77, example 1), wherein the composition has a pH as low as 1 (claim 2) and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate example 1 with a pH of 1 with confidence of forming an effective semiconductor treatment liquid as this pH is taught as suitable by the reference.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie et al, US 2023/0365893.
Horie et al teach a cleaning composition for semiconductors comprising hydrogen peroxide, benzyltrimethylammonium hydroxide and the balance water wherein the composition has a pH of 8.7 (¶179, example 11). These compositions may have a pH as low as 7 (claim 4) and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate example 11 with a pH of 7 with confidence of forming an effective semiconductor cleaner as this pH is taught as suitable by the reference.
With respect to claim 7, both titanium and tungsten metals are cleaned with this composition (see table 7).
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikkawa et al, US 2022/0298416.
Kikkawa et al teach a treatment liquid for semiconductors comprising tetradecyltrimethylammonium bromide, ortho-periodic acid, and the balance water (¶156, example 13), and when the composition contains periodate ions, the pH is as low as 1 (¶50) and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate example 13 with a pH of 1 with confidence of forming an effective semiconductor treatment liquid as this pH is taught as suitable by the reference.
With respect to claim 7, these treatment liquids are tested wafers in which tungsten is deposited (see examples 15 and 17).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 2015/0021513.
Kim et al teach a CMP slurry comprising benzalkonium chloride (contains a benzyl group and a C12-14 alkyl group and so satisfies claim 6), perchloric acid, and the balance water (¶59 example 4), wherein these compositions have a preferred pH of from 2.2 to 3 (¶61) and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate example 4 with a pH of 2.2 to 3 with confidence of forming an effective semiconductor treatment liquid as this pH is taught as preferred by the reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Obviously, compositions containing cationic surfactants and bleaching agents are ubiquitous in the detergent arts. The examiner has focused on semiconductor treatment compositions to avoid an onerous action.
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761