DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11, filed 4/24/2026, with respect to the pendency of the outstanding claims and the Examiner interview are hereby acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11-12, filed 4/24/2026, with respect to the objection of the claims 1-13 because of informalities and the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered. The applicant argues, inter alia, that “Applicant respectfully traverses each of these objections and rejections, as the Examined claims were not intended for the subject application and should not have been entered.” See Remarks pg. 11. In response to applicant’s Remarks, MPEP §714.01(e) states “A preliminary amendment filed with a submission to enter the national stage of an international application under 35 U.S.C. 371 is not part of the original disclosure under 37 CFR 1.115(a) because it was not present on the international filing date accorded to the application under PCT Article 11. See MPEP § 1893.03(b). Accordingly, a “Notice to File Corrected Application Papers” requiring a substitute specification will not ordinarily be mailed in an international application even if the national stage submission includes a preliminary amendment.” More importantly, MPEP §2173.06 sets out the USPTO’s guidance for conducting a compact prosecution, which is a structured examination process aimed at resolving all essential issues in the first Office action to avoid piecemeal examination and unnecessary delays. In the instant application, the applicant received a Notice of Publication of Application on 1/23/2026 identifying the entered Preliminary Amendment submitted by applicant and the applicant did not notify the Office of the alleged error. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. However, in view of the newly amended limitations, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamano; Royce US 20110279311 A1 (hereafter Hamano) and in further view of Elend; Adam et al. US 20130024891 A1 (hereafter Elend) and in further view of Huang; Jeffrey US 20140168243 A1 (hereafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, “a method for video generation, comprising: obtaining location information carried by a first video in response to a navigation trigger operation on a playback page of the first video, and starting navigation using the location information as a navigation destination; and obtaining a multimedia material based on an onboard camera during navigation, wherein the multimedia material is used to generate a target video” Hamano teaches an in-vehicle navigation system for selecting and playing a first video wherein the displayed media content comprises metadata comprising geographic location information to direct the user to the referenced media content and/or to the geographic location associated with the media content, and/or vice versa; the media content and/or geographic location may direct the user to directions to the geographic location such as graphic directions, textual directions, audio directions, any other suitable directions, or any combination thereof (Hamano para 47, 65-69, 73, 76-79, 87-89, 108-109, 123). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably inferred and/or understood that based on Hamano’s teachings, the media content delivered to the in-navigation system comprises metadata including geographic location information as discussed in paragraph [0073]. Whereas Hamano teaches the in-vehicle navigation comprises a camera to facilitate the input of geographic images and/or video to enable a user to add or update media content, geographic location, and or associations thereof for locations associated with the media content (para 122-125) (corresponds to obtaining a multimedia material based on an onboard camera during navigation, wherein the multimedia material is used to generate a target video), Hamano does not use the term “target” with reference to videos.
With respect to Hamano’s teachings regarding obtaining location information carried by a first video the media content delivered to the in-navigation system comprises metadata including geographic location information as discussed in paragraph [0073], a person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably inferred that the metadata is part of the delivered media content wherein the prior art to Elend teaching that route and/or locations that are pertinent to video program are associated with the video program and geo-tags are part of the entertainment program used with social networks (Elend para 21, 28, 40-42, 52-55). Elend does not disclose and obtaining a multimedia material based on an onboard camera during navigation, wherein the multimedia material is used to generate a target video, however, these elements are disclosed in the teaching of Hamano as discussed above.
In an analogous art, Huang teaches utilizing a camera that is part of a vehicle navigation system wherein the camera captures video content to generate a target video in order to enable users to access the target video comprising gps information, map data information and points of interest or other information and providing the target video to other users to referencing points of interest in the video media target content (Fig. 1-6 and para 36-39 and 52-55) corresponds to obtaining a multimedia material based on an onboard camera during navigation, wherein the multimedia material is used to generate a target video.
Therefore, it have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamano’s invention for an in-vehicle navigation system for selecting and playing a first video media content wherein the displayed media content comprises metadata comprising geographic location information to direct the user to the referenced media content and/or to the geographic location associated with the media content, and/or vice versa in order to utilize the media content and/or geographic location to direct a user to directions to geographic locations including as graphic directions, textual directions, audio directions, any other suitable directions with interactive programming by further incorporating known elements of Elend’s invention for an interactive program viewing comprising route and/or locations that are pertinent to video program that are associated with the video program and geo-tags are part of the entertainment program used with social networks and enable social network users to upload content referencing geo-tags added to the video program in order to improve on Hamano’s invention enabling the users to utilizing a camera associated with the in-vehicle navigation to facilitate the input of geographic images and/or video to enable a social network user to add or update media content, geographic location, and or associations thereof for locations associated with the media content and improve the interactive media application providing more interaction options. It have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hamano and Elend’s invention comprising an in-vehicle navigation system for selecting and playing a first video media content wherein the displayed media content comprises metadata comprising geographic location information to direct the user to the referenced media content and/or to the geographic location associated with the media content and enable users to upload video content comprising geo-tag metadata for updating or adding video content for points of interest referenced in the video media content by further incorporating known elements of Huang’s invention utilizing a camera that is part of a vehicle navigation system wherein the camera captures video content to generate a target video in order to enable social media users to access the target video comprising gps information, map data information and points of interest or other sensory information relating to navigating points of interest and providing the target video to other users for referencing points of interest in the video media target content and improve the interactive media application providing more user interaction options.
Regarding claim 2, “wherein before obtaining the location information carried by the first video in response to the navigation trigger operation on the playback page of the first video, the method further comprises: presenting at least one position identifier on a navigation map interface, wherein the position identifier has a corresponding relationship with at least one video, and the position identifier is used to identify the location information carried by a corresponding video; and determining a video corresponding to a target position identifier as the first video in response to a trigger operation for the target position identifier in the at least one position identifier, and playing the first video” is further rejected on obvious grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein Hamano Fig. 10-11 and para 74 wherein a user is presented with point of interest listing or a tag on a map to link and view related video programs; See also Elend Fig. 3-4 and para 55, 69, 72-75 enabling a user to navigate through various content items including programs based on the user’s selections of interactive icons.
Regarding claim 3, “wherein before presenting the at least one position identifier on the navigation map interface, the method further comprises: obtaining a recommended video list based on current position information, wherein the recommended video list comprises a plurality of videos carrying location information, and there is a preconfigured relationship between the location information and the current position information; correspondingly, presenting the at least one position identifier on the navigation map interface comprises: presenting, on the navigation map interface, the position identifiers corresponding to location information carried by respective videos in the recommended video list” is further rejected on obvious grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2 wherein Hamano Fig. 10-11 and para 74 wherein a user is presented with point of interest listing or a tag on a map to link and view related video programs; See also Elend Fig. 3-4 and para 29, 55, 69, 72-77 enabling a user to navigate through various content items including programs based on the user’s selections of interactive icons.
Regarding claim 4, “wherein after starting the navigation using the location information as the navigation destination, the method further comprises: obtaining a driving track position record, wherein the driving track position record is used to generate the target video” is further rejected on obvious grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-3 wherein Hamano teaches the in-vehicle navigation comprises a camera to facilitate the input of geographic images and/or video to enable a user to add or update media content, geographic location, and or associations thereof for locations associated with the media content (para 122-125); See also Elend para 45 wherein users/viewers para 43-49, 53-55, 70-74, 80 - user-generated content that can be displayed can include text (e.g., comments, reviews), pictures (e.g., pictures an audience member has of a point of interest along a route), videos or links to other content pertaining to the route/geographic region of the interactive map content or RBEP CONTENT.
Regarding claim 5, wherein after obtaining the multimedia material based on the onboard camera during the navigation, the method further comprises: uploading the multimedia material and/or the driving track position record to a cloud storage module, wherein the multimedia material and the driving track position record in the cloud storage module are used to generate the target video on an onboard client and/or a mobile end, and the onboard client and the mobile end are logged in based on the same user account” is further rejected on obvious grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-4 wherein Hamano teaches the in-vehicle navigation comprises a camera to facilitate the input of geographic images and/or video to enable a user to add or update media content, geographic location, and or associations thereof for locations associated with the media content (para 122-125); See also Elend para 49 teaches a social media network includes Facebook and Twitter understood to require user accounts; see also Elend para 45 wherein users/viewers para 43-49, 53-55, 70-74, 80 - user-generated content that can be displayed can include text (e.g., comments, reviews), pictures (e.g., pictures an audience member has of a point of interest along a route), videos or links to other content pertaining to the route/geographic region of the interactive map content or RBEP CONTENT. See also Huang teaches utilizing a camera that is part of a vehicle navigation system wherein the camera captures video content to generate a target video in order to enable users to access the target video comprising gps information, map data information and points of interest or other information and providing the target video to other users to referencing points of interest in the video media target content (Fig. 1-6 and para 36-39 and 52-55); see also Huang para 68 wherein users of a social media account logs into a video content access application on a cloud service and para 55 teaches a social media application used by third parties to access video content service is interpreted as requiring a user account for logging in.
Regarding claim 6, “wherein the method further comprises: generating the target video based on the multimedia material and/or the driving track position record, and publishing the target video” is further rejected on obvious grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-5 wherein Huang teaches utilizing a camera that is part of a vehicle navigation system wherein the camera captures video content to generate a target video in order to enable users to access the target video comprising gps information, map data information and points of interest or other information and providing the target video to other users to referencing points of interest in the video media target content (Fig. 1-6, para 36-39 and 52-55).
Regarding claim 7, “wherein the first video carries a driving track position record, and the method further comprises: presenting a driving track line corresponding to the driving track position record on the navigation map interface in the process of playing the first video” is further rejected on obvious grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-6 wherein Huang teaches utilizing a camera that is part of a vehicle navigation system wherein the camera captures video content to generate a target video in order to enable users to access the target video comprising gps information, map data information and points of interest or other information and providing the target video to other users to referencing points of interest in the video media target content (Fig. 1-6 and para 36-39 and 52-55). See also Huang Fig. 1 comprising a map with the vehicle location along a driving path based on the geographical position of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, “wherein before obtaining the multimedia material based on the onboard camera during navigation, the method further comprises: displaying a capturing confirmation pop-up window on a navigation page, wherein the capturing confirmation pop-up window is used to confirm whether to start the navigation; correspondingly, obtaining the multimedia material based on the onboard camera during the navigation comprises: obtaining the multimedia material based on the onboard camera after the capturing is confirmed based on the capturing confirmation pop-up window” is further rejected on obvious grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-7 wherein Huang teaches utilizing a camera that is part of a vehicle navigation system wherein the camera captures video content to generate a target video in order to enable users to access the target video comprising gps information, map data information and points of interest or other information and providing the target video to other users to referencing points of interest in the video media target content (Fig. 1-6 and para 36-39 and 52-55). See also Huang Fig. 1 comprising a map with the vehicle location along a driving path based on the geographical position of the vehicle. See also Elend Fig. 4C teaching the use of pop up notifications that drive viewers to specific actions. Wherein Huang teaches that the driver can initiate a recording mode for capturing video content, Elend teaches providing the driver with pop-up notifications to perform specific actions. There mere rearrangement of elements according to known functions performs predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, "wherein at least a point of interest (POI) is presented on the playback page of the first video, and the method further comprising: obtaining the location information based on the POI” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-8 wherein Hamano Fig. 10-11 and para 74, 85-86, 89-91 teaches points of interest. See also Hamano teaches an in-vehicle navigation system for selecting and playing a first video wherein the displayed media content comprises metadata comprising geographic location information to direct the user to the referenced media content and/or to the geographic location associated with the media content, and/or vice versa; the media content and/or geographic location may direct the user to directions to the geographic location such as graphic directions, textual directions, audio directions, any other suitable directions, or any combination thereof (Hamano para 47, 65-69, 73, 76-79, 87-89, 108-109, 123). See also Elend para 47, 53, 64, 69. See also Huang para 43-46, 48-49, 58-59, 66.
Regarding claim 13, "further comprising: presenting a video edit control; and enabling a re-editing function in response to a trigger operation on the video edit control” is further rejected on obvious grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-8 and 12 wherein Hamano teaches the in-vehicle navigation comprises a camera to facilitate the input of geographic images and/or video to enable a user to add or update media content, geographic location, and or associations thereof for locations associated with the media content (para 122-125); See also Elend para 43-49, 53-55, 70-74, 80 - user-generated content that can be displayed can include text (e.g., comments, reviews), pictures (e.g., pictures an audience member has of a point of interest along a route), videos or links to other content pertaining to the route/geographic region of the interactive map content or RBEP CONTENT.
Regarding device claims 14-22 and non-transitory computer readable media claim 23, the claims are grouped and rejected with the method claims 1-8 and 12-13 because the steps of the method claims are met by the disclosure of the apparatus and methods of the reference(s) as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-8 and 12-13 and because the steps of the method are easily converted into elements of computer implemented device and non-transitory computer readable media claim by one of ordinary skill in the art.
CONCLUSION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALFONSO CASTRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421