DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This action is the first action on the merits in response to the application filed on 01/23/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 filed on 10/13/2025 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but it appears they would be distinguished from the prior art references cited by the Examiner if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “plurality of data centers coordinated with each other” which renders the claim indefinite because the claim language does not clarify the nature of coordination (specification is also silent about the type of coordination).
Claim 12, the claim recites coordination limitations analogous to claim 1 above and is therefore rejected on the same premises.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “for each category of at least any of a category regarding whether a building at which the data center is to be provided is newly constructed or renovated, a category of a specification level of the data center, or a category in which whether the building at which the data center is to be provided is newly constructed or renovated and the specification level of the data center are combined” which renders the claim indefinite because the claim language does not make it clear which category must be evaluated.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “determining which category is appropriate” which renders the claim indefinite because the claim language does not clarify what makes a category appropriate.
Claim 8, the claim recites category limitations analogous to claim 3 above and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “determining which category is appropriate, based on the calculated profitability and the calculated safety rate for each category” which renders the claim indefinite because the claim language does not clarify how profitability and safety rates are evaluated together.
Claims 2-10 and 13-20 depend from claims 1 and 12 and do not cure the noted deficiency. Therefore, they are also rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Specifically, claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea without additional elements to integrate the claims into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 1-20 are directed to a process, machine, or manufacture (Step 1), however the claims are directed to the abstract idea determining whether or not the data center should be provided at the real estate corresponding to a received real estate information.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One of the frameworks, claim 1 recites an abstract idea. Claim 1 includes limitations for “An information processing method, the method comprising: receiving real estate information which is information on real estate as a candidate at which a data center should be provided in a data storage system composed of a plurality of data centers coordinated with each other; storing determination criterion information serving as a determination criterion for provision of the data center, in a storage unit in advance; and determining whether or not the data center should be provided at the real estate corresponding to the received real estate information, based on the received real estate information and the determination criterion information stored in the storage unit in advance”
The limitations above recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One. More particularly, the limitations above recite Mental Process because an ordinary skilled in the art can reasonably perform the claimed steps of determining whether or not the data center should be provided at the real estate corresponding to a received real estate information. As a result, claim 1 recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One.
Claim 12 recites substantially similar limitations to those presented with respect to claim 1. As a result, claim 12 recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One for the same reasons as stated above with respect to claim 1. Similarly, claims 2-10 and 13-20 recite a Mental Process recite Mental Process because an ordinary skilled in the art can reasonably perform the claimed steps of determining whether or not the data center should be provided at the real estate corresponding to a received real estate information. As a result, claims 2-10 and 13-20 recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two of the framework, claim 1 does not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 1 includes additional elements that do not recite an abstract idea. The additional elements of claim 1 include “performed by a computer executing a program”. When considered in view of the claim as a whole, the step of “receiving” does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because “receiving” is an insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception. When considered in view of the claim as a whole, the recited computer elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the computer elements are generic computer elements that are merely used as a tool to perform the recited abstract idea. As set forth in the 2019 Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55 “merely include[ing] instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer” is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
As a result, claim 1 does not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A Prong Two.
As noted above, claim 12 recites substantially similar limitations to those recited with respect to claim 1. Although claim 12 further recites “A computer configured to, by executing a program”, when considered in view of the claim as a whole, the recited computer elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the computer elements are generic computer elements that are merely used as a tool to perform the recited abstract idea. As a result, claim 12 does not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A Prong Two.
Claims 2-10 and 13-20 do not include any additional elements beyond those recited by independent claims 1 and 12. As a result, claims 2-10 and 13-20 do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A Prong Two.
With respect to Step 2B of the framework, claim 1 does not include additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. As noted above, claim 1 includes additional elements that do not recite an abstract idea. The additional elements of claim 1 include “performed by a computer executing a program”. The step of “receiving” does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because “receiving” is well-understood, routine, and conventional computer function in view of MPEP 2106.05(d)(ll). The recited computer elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the computer elements are generic computer elements that are merely used as a tool to perform the recited abstract idea. As a result, claim 1 does not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea under Step 2B.
As noted above, claim 12 recites substantially similar limitations to those recited with respect to claim 1. Although claim 12 further recites “A computer configured to, by executing a program”, the recited computer elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the computer elements are generic computer elements that are merely used as a tool to perform the recited abstract idea. Further, looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when considering the additional elements individually. As a result, claim 12 does not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea under Step 2B.
Claims 2-10 and 13-20 do not include any additional elements beyond those recited by independent claims 1 and 12. As a result, claims 2-10 and 13-20 do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea under Step 2B.
Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea without additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10, 12-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Zhang Dong et al. (CN 103491178 A) in view of Heckerman et al. (US 20170337337 A1).
[Claim 1] An information processing method performed by a computer executing a program, the method comprising: receiving real estate information which is information on real estate as a candidate at which a data center should be provided in a data storage system composed of a plurality of data centers coordinated with each other; storing determination criterion information serving as a determination criterion for provision of the data center, in a storage unit in advance; and determining whether or not the data center should be provided at the real estate corresponding to the received real estate information, based on the received real estate information and the determination criterion information stored in the storage unit in advance. Dong teaches [Dong, Abstract teaches “The invention claims a cloud data centre automatic addressing method and system… automatically identifying the best of the cloud data centre building address”. 0039 teaches “Further, the mathematical model for the addressing standard cloud data centre address to be selected for calculating lowest construction cost of cloud data centre address” wherein a determination criterion. 0043 teaches “O represents the ith address to be selected is not determined to be the cloud data center site point; q.sub.i is to select the address to be selected when building construction cost needed by the cloud data centre” wherein whether or not the data center should be provided at the real estate corresponding to the received real estate information. Also see 0023 “value of O or 1” select or not select. In addition, 0078 teaches multiple feasible solution/data-center location. 0016 teaches “The cloud data centre addressing standard to establish mathematical model of cloud data center site” wherein storing in storage unit in advance]
Dong does not specifically teach; however, Heckerman teaches [Heckerman, 0001 teaches “Site selection for data centers take into account the availability and price of power, land prices, climatic conditions, geological risks, and other factors” also, “climatic conditions, geological risks, and other factors. It is generally preferable to locate a data center in a place where power is relatively inexpensive to reduce the cost of the computers and where the climate is cool to assist with dissipating heat generated by the computers” wherein operating cost. Further, 0001 teaches “The factors that make a particular location well suited for a data center may also make the same location suitable for siting other facilities” wherein suitable location based on multiple conditions]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automated data center selection of Dong to incorporate the identified real estate evaluation factors of Heckerman. Both references addressing suitable locations for data centers. The motivation to combine Dong with Heckerman has the advantage of improving data site selection by accounting for additional cost and geographical risks.
[Claim 2] Dong in view of Heckerman teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (as above). comprising calculating a profitability in a case of providing the data center at the real estate, wherein in determining whether or not the data center should be provided at the real estate corresponding to the received real estate information, whether or not the data center should be provided at the real estate corresponding to the received real estate information is determined based on the profitability. Dong teaches [Dong 0039 teaches “Further, the mathematical model for the addressing standard cloud data centre address to be selected for calculating lowest construction cost of cloud data centre address” wherein a determination criterion. 0043 teaches “O represents the ith address to be selected is not determined to be the cloud data center site point; q.sub.i is to select the address to be selected when building construction cost needed by the cloud data centre” wherein appropriate site by minimizing location cost]. Heckerman teaches [Heckerman, 0001 teaches “Site selection for data centers take into account the availability and price of power, land prices, climatic conditions, geological risks, and other factors” also, “climatic conditions, geological risks, and other factors. It is generally preferable to locate a data center in a place where power is relatively inexpensive to reduce the cost of the computers and where the climate is cool to assist with dissipating heat generated by the computers” wherein operating cost.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automated data center selection of Dong to incorporate the identified real estate evaluation factors of Heckerman. Both references addressing suitable locations for data centers. The motivation to combine Dong with Heckerman has the advantage of improving data site selection by accounting for additional cost to maximize profitability.
[Claim 10] Dong in view of Heckerman teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (as above). Dong teaches wherein in a case where it is determined that the data center should be provided at the real estate corresponding to the received real estate information, if information indicating that the data center is to be provided at the real estate is received, information on the data center is stored in the storage unit [Dong, Abstract teaches “The invention claims a cloud data centre automatic addressing method and system… automatically identifying the best of the cloud data centre building address”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention implementing the automated data center selection of Dong to realize storing the selected site information in storage unit. The motivation to store such information is obvious and conventional.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2 above and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 10 above and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Boss et al. (US 20100057641 A1) teaches the selection of an optimal data center location for running a computational workload is based on multiple energy criteria. The location is chosen based on multivariate and predictive analysis of total direct and indirect energy costs, and other user-defined factors. Among the direct and indirect costs are power costs and cooling costs as well as structural and other details of a given data center. Among the other factors to be considered that can have an impact on present and future costs are weather patterns, data and forecasts, availability of energy providers, and energy attributes. A forecaster factors these direct and indirect costs along with extrinsic information such as historical trends and predictive sources into a forecast which is then input to a decision engine along with user defined criteria and with anticipated compute tasks and requirements to select a final location or locations for handling the workload.
/ABDALLAH A EL-HAGE HASSAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623