Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on July 9, 2026 amends claims 13, 20, 23, 25, 28, and 30. Claims 13-32 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 9, 2026 regarding the newly presented claim limitations have been fully considered and are moot as shown in the rejections that follow. The amended independent claims, which necessitate a new grounds of rejection, are taught by a combination of the previously cited references and newly presented reference, Wang et al. (US 2023/0047354), as shown in the rejections that follow.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 25, the word “permitting” should be deleted in “(c) permitting continued operation …”.
The foregoing change is required to correct antecedent basis, clerical and/or grammatical errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geis-Esser et al. (US 2025/0074380) in view of Worrel (US 2004/0164612) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0047354).
Regarding claim 13, Geis-Esser teaches a safety system for an electrically drivable motor vehicle, the safety system comprising: a primary braking system; a secondary braking system; a tertiary braking system; (see at least Geis-Esser at [0002] which discloses that vehicles with electromechanical braking systems, for example, have multiple electromechanical braking devices as actuators, each of which is supplied with energy for operation in groups by different energy supply devices; see Geis-Esser at [0005] which discloses that an electromechanical braking system for a vehicle is provided which has at least one first actuator, at least one first energy supply device, and a second energy supply device, wherein the first actuator is assigned one of the energy supply devices as the primary source for supplying electrical energy and the first actuator has a connection to the energy supply device assigned to it as the primary source. The first actuator also has a connection to an energy supply device assigned to it as a secondary source for supplying the first actuator; see Geis-Esser at [0009] which discloses that in another embodiment, at least one of the actuators is assigned one of the energy supply devices as a secondary source that is not assigned to it as a primary source; see Geis-Esser at [0019] which discloses that in another embodiment, at least one of the actuators is assigned a third energy supply device as a secondary source. Examiner maps an actuator assigned to the first energy supply device to a primary braking system, the actuator assigned to a second energy supply device to a secondary braking system, and the actuator assigned to a third energy supply device to a tertiary braking system.)
a monitoring device configured to recognize an operating error in the primary braking system and/or the secondary braking system; (see Geis-Esser at [0031] which discloses a controllable selection device; see Geis-Esser at [0033] which discloses that in other embodiments, the selection device is set up to select energy from the energy supply device connected to the secondary energy absorption device for use by the actuator in the event of a malfunction of the energy supply device connected to the primary energy absorption device; see Geis-Esser at [0054] which discloses that the braking devices 12, 14, 18 and 20 each have a control device which is set up to detect a failure and/or malfunction of the energy supply device. Examiner maps malfunction and/or failure to operating error. Examiner notes that the malfunction may occur to the primary, secondary, or tertiary braking system based on whether a first, second, or third energy supply fails and/or malfunctions. Examiner notes that Applicant has used the phrase “and/or” in the instant claim. The Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) has held that use of the phrase “and/or” within a claim is not indefinite. According to the PTAB, “and/or” is not wrong, but it’s not preferred verbiage (see Ex Parte Gross, Appeal No. 2011-004811). Nevertheless, during patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification (see MPEP § 2111; Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005)). Based upon this guidance from the MPEP and the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals, the Examiner interprets the phrase “and/or” under its broadest reasonable interpretation of “or” for purposes of examination of the instant Application.)
As was previously shown, Geis-Esser teaches a tertiary braking system. Furthermore, while Geis-Esser at [0030] discloses that control devices and control units can regulate the braking force applied and that the maximum braking force is reduced, but is still sufficient to ensure sufficient deceleration of the vehicle, Geis-Esser does not expressly disclose a detection unit configured to detect motor vehicle data; an evaluation unit configured to evaluate, based on the motor vehicle data, an achievable deceleration potential of the [tertiary braking system]; a comparison unit configured to compare the evaluated deceleration potential of the [tertiary braking system] to at least one defined safety criterion; which, in a related art, Worrel teaches (see Worrel at [0009] which discloses that a primary speed sensing system, operatively connected with said brake controller, determines the speed and deceleration of the vehicle, and a primary comparator, operatively connected with the brake controller, compares the desired rate of deceleration with the rate of deceleration determined by the primary speed sensing system. Examiner maps speed and/or deceleration of the vehicle to motor vehicle data. Examiner maps primary speed sensing system to the recited detection unit. Also, see Worrel at [0010] which discloses that a brake monitor receives the sensor outputs from the operator of the vehicle, and determines an audit rate of deceleration of the vehicle, and that a redundant deceleration sensor, operatively connected with the brake monitor, determines the vehicle's deceleration. Further, see Worrel at [0011-0012] which discloses that a secondary comparator, operatively connected with said brake monitor, compares the audit rate of deceleration with the output from the redundant deceleration sensor, and a friction braking system, operatively connected with both said brake controller and with said brake monitor, provides additional braking in the event that the comparison results from either the primary comparator or the secondary comparator indicate that said regenerative braking system is not producing the desired rate of deceleration and that the brake monitor preferably determines an audit rate of deceleration of the vehicle including lower and upper deceleration targets, with the secondary comparator comparing the output from the redundant deceleration sensor with both of these deceleration targets. Examiner maps brake monitor to the recited evaluation unit. Examiner maps primary comparator and/or secondary comparator to the recited comparison unit. Examiner maps lower and upper deceleration targets to the at least one defined safety criterion.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geis-Esser to include a detection unit configured to detect motor vehicle data; an evaluation unit configured to evaluate an achievable deceleration potential of the [tertiary braking system] using the motor vehicle data; a comparison unit configured to compare the evaluated deceleration potential of the [tertiary braking system] to at least one defined safety criterion, as taught by Worrel.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to determine a desired rate of deceleration of a vehicle, as suggested by Worrel at the Abstract.
The modified Geis-Esser further teaches a control unit configured to control the electrically drivable motor vehicle based on the recognition of the operating error and/or the comparison between the evaluated deceleration potential and the defined safety criterion (see Worrel at [0009] which discloses the regenerative braking system being commanded by said brake controller to produce a braking torque corresponding to the desired rate of deceleration; see Worrel at [0011-0012] which discloses that a secondary comparator, operatively connected with said brake monitor, compares the audit rate of deceleration with the output from the redundant deceleration sensor, and a friction braking system, operatively connected with both said brake controller and with said brake monitor, provides additional braking in the event that the comparison results from either the primary comparator or the secondary comparator indicate that said regenerative braking system is not producing the desired rate of deceleration and that the brake monitor preferably determines an audit rate of deceleration of the vehicle including lower and upper deceleration targets; see Worrel at [0015] which discloses commanding a regenerative braking system to produce a braking torque corresponding to the desired rate of deceleration, followed by the step of measuring the speed and deceleration of said vehicle by means of a primary speed sensor, and comparing the desired rate of deceleration with the measured rate of deceleration, by means of a primary comparator. Examiner maps brake controller to the recited control unit. As was previously stated above, the Examiner interprets the phrase “and/or”, as recited in the foregoing clause, under its broadest reasonable interpretation of “or” for purposes of examination of the instant Application.)
While Geis-Esser at [0059] discloses an actuator assigned to a third energy supply device for teaching a tertiary braking system, a brake controller for teaching a control unit, and the use of energy supply devices and actuators to meet appropriate safety standards, the modified Geis-Esser does not expressly disclose [a comparison unit} to determine whether [the tertiary braking system] is capable of satisfying the at least one defined safety criterion and [a control unit configured to control the electrically drivable motor vehicle] such that the at least one defined safety criterion is satisfied, which in a related art Wang teaches (see Wang at [0027] which discloses that trained GP model outputs acceleration commands 230 that are processed by a predictive safety filter 240 to ensure the ultimate acceleration commands that are used to control a vehicle 100 comply with predetermined safety requirements and that Certified acceleration commands 250 from predictive safety filter 240 are used to control the vehicle dynamical system 260 of vehicle 100 (e.g., aspects of vehicle 100 involving acceleration and deceleration such as an engine throttle and a braking system), Wang at [0027] further discloses that the acceleration commands have been processed by the predictive safety filter 240 to ensure that they satisfy certain predetermined safety requirements (e.g., that the vehicle 100 not follow a lead vehicle too closely or collide with the lead vehicle). Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language in light of what is written in the specification.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geis-Esser to determine whether [the tertiary braking system] is capable of satisfying the at least one defined safety criterion and [a control unit configured to control the electrically drivable motor vehicle] such that the at least one defined safety criterion is satisfied, as taught by Wang.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to comply with predetermined safety requirements, as suggested by Wang at [0027].
Regarding claim 14, the modified Geis-Esser teaches the safety system of claim 13, wherein the control unit is further configured to control the secondary braking system and/or the tertiary braking system based on the recognition of the operating error and/or the comparison between the evaluated deceleration potential and the defined safety criterion (see Geis-Esser at [0002], [0005], [0009], and [0019] which teaches one or more of primary, secondary, tertiary braking systems, as was previously shown by the Examiner. Also, see Worrel at the Abstract which discloses a system for providing regenerative and friction braking in a vehicle includes a brake controller for determining a desired rate of deceleration from sensor outputs which are responsive to inputs from an operator of a vehicle and a regenerative braking system operatively connected with the brake controller. Examiner maps brake controller to the recited control unit. As was previously stated above, the Examiner interprets the phrase “and/or”, as recited in the foregoing clause, under its broadest reasonable interpretation of “or” for purposes of examination of the instant Application.)
Regarding claim 17, the modified Geis-Esser teaches the safety system of claim 13, wherein the control unit is further configured to control the secondary braking system and/or the tertiary braking system in such a way that a deceleration of the motor vehicle, a maximum permitted motor vehicle speed, a deceleration time for bringing the motor vehicle to a halt, or a remaining driving time of the motor vehicle is triggered (see Geis-Esser at [0002], [0005], [0009], and [0019] which teaches one or more of primary, secondary, tertiary braking systems, as was previously shown by the Examiner. Also, see Worrel at [0009] which discloses that the regenerative braking system being commanded by said brake controller to produce a braking torque corresponding to the desired rate of deceleration. As was previously stated, the Examiner interprets the phrase “and/or”, as recited in the foregoing clause, under its broadest reasonable interpretation of “or” for purposes of examination of the instant Application.)
Claims 15-16, 20-25, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geis-Esser et al. (US 2025/0074380) in view of Worrel (US 2004/0164612) in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0047354) and further in view of Brenn et al. (US 2016/0214582).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Geis-Esser teaches a detection unit (Examiner previously mapped primary speed sensing system to the recited detection unit.). The modified Geis-Esser does not expressly disclose the safety system of claim 13, wherein the [detection unit] is further configured to detect or receive driving surroundings information, and the motor vehicle data includes the driving surroundings information which, in a related art, Brenn teaches (see Brenn at [0024] which discloses that the virtual driver 20 calculates the necessity of a brake request by monitoring the surroundings of the vehicle 10 with sensors and the known intended navigation path of the driver.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geis-Esser to include wherein the [detection unit] is further configured to detect or receive driving surroundings information, and the motor vehicle data includes the driving surroundings information, as taught by Brenn.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to determine the deceleration or pressure/torque based on the known intended navigation path of the driver based on the surroundings of the vehicle, as suggested by Brenn at [0024].
Regarding claim 16, the modified Geis-Esser teaches a detection unit (Examiner previously mapped primary speed sensing system to the recited detection unit.). The modified Geis-Esser does not expressly disclose the safety system of claim 13, wherein the [detection unit] is further configured to detect or receive motor vehicle state information, and the motor vehicle data includes the motor vehicle state information, which in a related art, Brenn teaches (see Brenn at [0033-0034] which discloses that the DBCM 16 monitors the brake pressure and the UBCM 14 can: inform the DBCM 16 about active ABS intervention; or directly tell the downstream brake control module (DBCM) 16 about the intended brake pressure at the outlets 36. As such, the DBCM 16 can modify its monitoring to avoid unnecessary activation of the DBCM 16, which will interfere with the ABS intervention and that DBCM 16 informs the virtual driver 20, so the virtual driver 20 can trigger a transition to a safe state driven by the loss of redundancy. Examiner maps brake pressure to motor vehicle state information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geis-Esser to include wherein the [detection unit] is further configured to detect or receive motor vehicle state information, and the motor vehicle data includes the motor vehicle state information, as taught by Brenn.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to monitor the brake pressure and the allow a transition of the vehicle to a safe state, as suggested by Brenn at [0033-0034].
Independent claim 20 is directed toward a method that performs the steps recited in the systems of claims 13 and 15-16. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claims 13 and 15-16 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 20. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claims 13 and 15-16 above. Furthermore, Worrel teaches wherein the control includes triggering a first safety measure (see Worrel at [0009] which discloses that according to one aspect of the present invention, a system for providing regenerative and friction braking in a vehicle includes a brake controller for determining a desired rate of deceleration from sensor outputs, … and that the regenerative braking system being commanded by said brake controller to produce a braking torque corresponding to the desired rate of deceleration. Examiner maps determining the desired deceleration of the vehicle by way of producing a braking torque commanded by the brake controller to triggering a first safety measure.)
Regarding claim 21, the modified Geis-Esser teaches the method of claim 20, further comprising: recognizing, by the monitoring device, an operating error in the secondary braking system; and controlling, by the control unit, the tertiary braking system, wherein the control comprises triggering a second safety measure (see Geis-Esser at [0002], [0005], [0009], and [0019] which teaches one or more of primary, secondary, tertiary braking systems, as was previously shown by the Examiner. See Worrel at [0011] which discloses that a secondary comparator, operatively connected with said brake monitor, compares the audit rate of deceleration with the output from the redundant deceleration sensor, and a friction braking system, operatively connected with both said brake controller and with said brake monitor, provides additional braking in the event that the comparison results from either the primary comparator or the secondary comparator indicate that said regenerative braking system is not producing the desired rate of deceleration. Examiner maps malfunction to the operating error. Examiner maps providing additional braking from the comparison made by the secondary comparator to the recited second safety measure.)
Regarding claim 22, the modified Geis-Esser teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the first safety measure comprises a deceleration of the motor vehicle (see Worrel at [0009] which discloses that according to one aspect of the present invention, a system for providing regenerative and friction braking in a vehicle includes a brake controller for determining a desired rate of deceleration from sensor outputs, … and that the regenerative braking system being commanded by said brake controller to produce a braking torque corresponding to the desired rate of deceleration.)
Regarding claim 23, the modified Geis-Esser teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the second safety measure comprises deceleration bringing the motor vehicle to a halt (see Worrell at [0011] which discloses the use of a secondary comparator operatively connected with both said brake controller and with said brake monitor, provides additional braking in the event that the comparison results from either the primary comparator or the secondary comparator indicate that said regenerative braking system is not producing the desired rate of deceleration; see Worrell at [0024] which discloses that the frictional brake assemblies selectively and frictionally brake these respective wheels 40, 42, 48, and 50, effective to slow or stop the vehicle 10 (e.g., to brake the vehicle 10), and a controller 70 which is operable under stored program control and which is physically and communicatively coupled to the clutch 24 and to the frictional brake assemblies 60-66.)
Regarding claim 24, the modified Geis-Esser teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the motor vehicle data detected by the detection unit comprises at least one of: (a) vehicle mass; (b) vehicle speed; (c) tire temperature; (d) battery state of charge; and(e) road grade (see Worel at [0009] which discloses that a primary speed sensing system, operatively connected with said brake controller, determines the speed and deceleration of the vehicle, and a primary comparator, operatively connected with the brake controller, compares the desired rate of deceleration with the rate of deceleration determined by the primary speed sensing system. Examiner mapped speed and/or deceleration of the vehicle to motor vehicle data. Examiner mapped primary speed sensing system to the recited detection unit.)
Regarding claim 25, the modified Geis-Esser teaches the method of claim 20, wherein controlling the electrically drivable motor vehicle further comprises: controlling the secondary braking system and/or the tertiary braking system to achieve at least one of the following: (a) a defined maximum permitted speed of the motor vehicle; (b) a deceleration time for bringing the motor vehicle to a halt; and (c) permitting continued operation of the motor vehicle for a remaining driving time (see Geis-Esser at [0059] which discloses that for example, this energy provided by the third energy supply device 40 may be limited in its available power, however, even this limited power can be used, for example, to generate a braking effect, which, for example in combination with the functioning braking systems, 212, 14, 18, 20, is sufficient to meet appropriate safety standards, for example. Examiner notes that braking which is sufficient to meet appropriate safety standards corresponds to controlling the secondary and/or tertiary braking systems to achieve a deceleration time for bringing the motor vehicle to a halt.)
Independent claim 28 is directed toward a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium that performs the steps recited in the method of claim 20. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 20 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the computer program product of claim 28. Therefore, claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 20 above.
Claim 29 is directed toward a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium that performs the steps recited in the method of claim 21. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 21 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the computer program product of claim 29. Therefore, claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 21 above.
Claim 30 is directed toward a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium that performs the steps recited in the method of claim 23. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 23 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the computer program product of claim 30. Therefore, claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 23 above.
Claim 31 is directed toward a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium that performs the steps recited in the method of claim 25. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 25 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the computer program product of claim 31. Therefore, claim 31 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 25 above.
Claim 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geis-Esser et al. (US 2025/0074380) in view of Worrel (US 2004/0164612) in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0047354) and further in view of Leiber (US 2022/0041150).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Geis-Esser teaches a tertiary braking system (Geis-Esser at [0002], [0005], [0009], and [0019], for example, which teaches one or more of primary, secondary, tertiary braking systems, as was previously shown by the Examiner.)
The modified Geis-Esser does not expressly disclose the safety system of claim 13, wherein [the tertiary braking system] is configured to function as an electric motor braking system, which in a related, art Leiber teaches (see Lieber at [0008] which discloses an electric motor and a complex electromechanical mechanism are required for each wheel brake.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geis-Esser to include wherein [the tertiary braking system] is configured to function as an electric motor braking system, as taught by Lieber.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to allow for the maximum recuperation of the vehicle's kinetic energy through maximum utilization of the braking power by electric motors, as suggested by Leiber at [0024].
Regarding claim 19, the modified Geis-Esser teaches a tertiary braking system (Geis-Esser at [0002], [0005], [0009], and [0019], for example, which teaches one or more of primary, secondary, tertiary braking systems, as was previously shown by the Examiner.)
The modified Geis-Esser teaches the safety system of claim 18, wherein [the tertiary braking system] is further configured to operate as a generator braking system (see Leiber at [0066] which discloses that use of the used traction motors to increase the braking torque with simultaneous recuperation of kinetic vehicle energy. Further, see Worrel at the Abstract which discloses a system for providing regenerative and friction braking in a vehicle that includes a brake controller. Examiner notes that the simultaneous recuperation of kinetic vehicle energy corresponds to the use of a generator braking system.)
Claims 26-27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geis-Esser et al. (US 2025/0074380) in view of Worrel (US 2004/0164612) in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0047354) in view of Brenn et al. (US 2016/0214582) and further in view of Leiber (US 2022/0041150).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Geis-Esser teaches a tertiary braking system (see Geis-Esser at [0002], [0005], [0009], and [0019], for example, which teaches one or more of primary, secondary, tertiary braking systems, as was previously shown by the Examiner.)
The modified Geis-Esser does not expressly disclose the method of claim 20, wherein evaluating the achievable deceleration potential of [the tertiary braking system] comprises: determining a deceleration distance achievable by the tertiary braking system based on generator-based power which in a related art Leiber teaches (see Leiber at [0025] which discloses the use of available braking torques, e.g., from drive motors to simplify the braking systems or shorten the braking distance; see Leiber at [0028] which discloses high demands on the control accuracy for further braking distance reduction, in particular when electric drive motors and hydraulic braking torques work together; see Leiber at [0066] which discloses that use of the used traction motors to increase the braking torque with simultaneous recuperation of kinetic vehicle energy. Examiner notes that shortening the braking distance to attain braking distance reduction while obtaining simultaneous recuperation of kinetic vehicle energy by way of using electric drive motors corresponds to wherein evaluating the achievable deceleration potential of [the tertiary braking system] comprises: determining a deceleration distance achievable by the tertiary braking system based on generator-based power.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geis-Esser to include wherein evaluating the achievable deceleration potential of [the tertiary braking system] comprises: determining a deceleration distance achievable by the tertiary braking system based on generator-based power, as taught by Lieber.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to allow for control accuracy for further braking distance reduction, as suggested by Leiber at [0028].
Claim 27 is directed toward a method that performs the steps recited in the systems of claims 18 and 19. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejections of claims 18 and 19 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 27. Therefore, claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claims 18 and 19 above.
Claim 32 is directed toward a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium that performs the steps recited in the systems of claims 18 and 19. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejections of claims 18 and 19 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the computer program product of claim 32. Therefore, claim 32 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claims 18 and 19 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROY RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664