DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (Korean Applications KR 10-2022-0099353 filed August 9th, 2022 and KR 10-2023-0089974 filed July 11th, 2023).
Response to Amendment
Applicant filed a Preliminary Amendment on January 23rd, 2025.
Applicant amended the Abstract and the Specification. Objections will be made towards the original Specification Paragraph numbering.
Applicant amended claims 1 – 18 for appearance and antecedent basis issues.
The pending claims are 1 – 18.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 23rd, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (this Office Action). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed January 23rd, 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance (the incorrect abstract for KR-20220071030 was given), as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language (no translation of the NPL was provided). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Figure 1, reference character “130” has a product sign for multiplication rather than an addition symbol or plus sign as the reference character represents an adder.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a preamble which ordinarily is not afforded patentable weight (“of reconstructing a current block by a video decoding device”) thus the claim has Indefinite metes and bounds. Additionally, should the preamble be afforded patentable weight then a “device” is claimed to implement a method thus the claim is Indefinite regarding the category (functionally claimed apparatus or a method claim).
Regarding claims 2 – 11, the dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of independent claim 1 from which the depend and thus are similarly Rejected.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites a preamble which ordinarily is not afforded patentable weight (“of encoding a current block by a video encoding device”) thus the claim has Indefinite metes and bounds. Additionally, should the preamble be afforded patentable weight then a “device” is claimed to implement a method thus the claim is Indefinite regarding the category (functionally claimed apparatus or a method claim).
Regarding claims 13 – 17, the dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of independent claim 12 from which the depend and thus are similarly Rejected.
Regarding claim 5, the claim semantically has a horizontal flag for indicating horizontal or vertical directions which has Indefinite metes and bounds as there are no values or assessed quantities in the flag and both cases are not required as the claim is written. Further, the next limitation only embodies horizontal splitting and does not process or treat the vertical processing case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0287017 A1 referred to as “Wang” throughout).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches a computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream generated by a video encoding method [Wang Paragraphs 571 – 576 and 610 – 611 (non-transitory media storing a bitstream where there is no structural
differences in the bitstream see MPEP2113 I)], the video encoding method comprises [The method steps do not carry patentable weight as the claim is a product-by-process claim in which only the bitstream (product) generated / created is given weight (see MPEP2113 I and II)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 10 and 12 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, and further in view of Lim, et al. (US PG PUB 2026/0006187 A1 referred to as “Lim” throughout) and Zhao, et al. (CA-3-225-288 A1 referred to as “Zhao” throughout).
Regarding claim 18, while the method steps are not afforded patentable weight (product by process claim), in the sole interest to expedite prosecution the claim when afforded patentable weight is similarly rejected to claim 12 as the method claimed and in view of the Wang citations in the 102 Rejection (see above) as the non-transitory medium storing a program to perform a method to generate a bitstream.
Regarding claim 1, see claim 12 which is the encoder performing the steps of the decoder where the decoder performs reciprocal steps of an encoder as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art [Wang Paragraph 104].
Regarding claim 5, see claim 14 which is the encoder performing the steps of the decoder where the decoder performs reciprocal steps of an encoder as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art [Wang Paragraph 104].
Regarding claim 7, see claim 16 which is the encoder performing the steps of the decoder where the decoder performs reciprocal steps of an encoder as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art [Wang Paragraph 104].
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
decoding, from a bitstream, a reorder flag that indicates whether the subblocks are to be reordered [Wang Figures 6 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 356 – 358 (signaling use of RR IBC mode to flip predictors or not then regular / other IBC mode is signaled), 571 – 576 (enable / disabling RR IBC for forming the predicted block / manipulating block); Lim Figures 69 – 70 as well as Paragraphs 2583 – 2589 (RR IBC signaling the flip based on MV and split of the block)]; and
checking the reorder flag [Wang Paragraphs 356 – 360 (signaling use of RR IBC mode to flip predictors or not (e.g. false obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art) then regular / other IBC mode is signaled) and 571 – 576 (enabling / disabling reordering an obvious variant of the claimed true / false to one of ordinary skill in the art)],
wherein, when the reorder flag is true, performing obtaining the splitting direction through generating the final prediction block of the current block [Wang Figures 6 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 356 – 358 (signaling use of RR IBC mode to flip predictors or not then regular / other IBC mode is signaled), 571 – 576 (enable / disabling RR IBC for forming the predicted block / manipulating block which includes considerations of split direction); Lim Figures 69 – 70 as well as Paragraphs 2583 – 2589 (RR IBC signaling the flip based on MV and split of the block) to combine with Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information) and 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_HOR” or “SPLIT_BT_HOR” syntax element rendering obvious horizontal split)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
when the reorder flag is false [Wang Paragraphs 356 – 358 (signaling use of RR IBC mode to flip predictors or not (e.g. false obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art) then regular / other IBC mode is signaled) and 571 – 576 (enabling / disabling reordering an obvious variant of the claimed true / false to one of ordinary skill in the art)]:
generating a prediction block of the current block according to the IBC mode [Wang Figures 6 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 122 – 128 (IBC signaled as a flag), 356 – 358 (signaling use of RR IBC mode to flip predictors or not then regular / other IBC mode is signaled), 571 – 576 (enable / disabling RR IBC for forming the predicted block / manipulating block); Lim Figures 69 – 70 as well as Paragraphs 2583 – 2589 (RR IBC signaling the flip based on MV and split of the block) using splitting directions taught in Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information) and 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_HOR” or “SPLIT_BT_HOR” syntax element rendering obvious horizontal split)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
decoding, from the bitstream, an IBC flag indicates whether the IBC mode is to be applied [Wang Figures 6 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 122 – 128 (IBC signaled as a flag), 356 – 358 (signaling use of RR IBC mode to flip predictors or not then regular / other IBC mode is signaled)]; and
checking the IBC flag [Wang Figures 6 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 122 – 128 (IBC signaled as a flag and checked with semantics regarding IBC tools used for coding / decoding (combine with reciprocal encoding / decoding functions in Paragraph 104)), 356 – 358 (signaling use of RR IBC mode to flip predictors or not then regular / other IBC mode is signaled and checked)],
wherein, when the IBC flag is true, performing decoding the reorder flag [Wang Figures 6 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 122 – 128 (IBC signaled as a flag and checked with semantics regarding IBC tools used for coding / decoding (combine with reciprocal encoding / decoding functions in Paragraph 104)), 356 – 358 (signaling use of RR IBC mode to flip predictors as part of regular IBC processing)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
implicitly determining the splitting direction based on a size of the current block [Wang Figures 33 – 35 and 69 – 70 as well as Paragraphs 324 – 333 (splitting based on transform types / transform partitioning), 356 – 358 and 571 – 576 (RR IBC usage implies split direction based on flipping and zero component block vector used for the predictor); Zhao Figures 4 – 6 as well as Paragraphs 115 – 118 (flags / syntax for partition directions) and 123 – 128 (implicitly signaled tree / partition information based on block size and partition sizes used)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
implicitly determining the ratio of the subblocks based on an aspect ratio of the current block [Wang Figures 33 – 35 and 69 – 70 as well as Paragraphs 324 – 333 (splitting based on transform types / transform partitioning), 356 – 358 and 571 – 576 (RR IBC usage implies split direction / obvious variant of the ratio (e.g. horizontal / vertical split of block)); Zhao Figures 4 – 6 as well as Paragraphs 115 – 118 (flags / syntax for partition directions and tree partitioning which includes the ratio of the partitions (e.g. the 1:2:1 ratio in triple tree partitioning)) and 123 – 128 (implicitly signaled tree / partition information (obvious variant of the claimed ratio to one of ordinary skill in the art) based on block size and partition sizes used)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
generating a block vector of the current block based on an IBC merge mode or an IBC advanced motion vector predictor (AMVP) mode [Wang Figures 6 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 126 – 135 (block vector derivation in IBC merge or IBC AMVP mode)]; and
generating, by using the block vector, the initial prediction block from a reconstructed region in a current frame [Wang Figures 6 – 8, 40 – 41 and 45 as well as Paragraphs 126 – 135 (IBC merge or IBC AMVP for predictor determination), 350 – 355 and 359 – 370 (reference area used and searching for predictor for IBC from an initial guess / location in searching for merge / BV candidates), and 384 – 393 (determine BV predictor from IBC merge and IBC AMVP), and 551 – 557 (BV determination in IBC merge or IBC AMVP)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
applying a preset filter to samples adjacent to a boundary between reordered subblocks [Wang Figure 4 (see at least the deblocking filter) as well as Paragraph 114 (filter types to apply which are predefined rendering obvious the “preset” feature claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art) to combine with Lim Figures 2 (see at least reference character 260 as well as Paragraphs 290 (rendering obvious various modifications to filtering including known / preset filters) and 1170 – 1176 (deblocking boundaries); Zhao Figures 18 – 19 (filtering after prediction) as well as Paragraphs 149 – 156 (post filtering on predicted samples)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
generating an initial prediction block of the current block according to an intra block copy (IBC) mode [Wang Figures 42 and 49 (IBC) as well as Paragraphs 372 – 394 (merge candidates for IBC determines as initial prediction block), 430 – 443 (block location / depth / partition part of prediction block consideration) and 545 – 555 (merge candidates identified for IBC)];
obtaining a splitting direction of the current block, the splitting direction indicating a horizontal split or a vertical split [Lim Figures 3 – 5 as well as Paragraphs 348 – 350 (horizontal or vertical direction for splits with suggested ratios) to combine with Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information) and 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_VER” and “SPLIT_TT_HOR” syntax elements (or QT and BT variants) rendering obvious horizontal / vertical splits)];
obtaining a ratio of subblocks with respect to the current block [Wang Figures 34 – 35 and 66 – 70 as well as Paragraph 322 to be modified by Lim Figure 3 (exemplary partitioning with ratio considerations) as well as Paragraphs 348 – 350 (horizontal and vertical ratios for partitioning), 1208 – 1212 (tree type information to signal such as single or dual tree usage), and 2680 – 2685 (block size for the predictor of the current block); Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information) and 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_VER” and “SPLIT_TT_HOR” syntax elements rendering obvious horizontal / vertical splits)];
splitting the initial prediction block into subblocks based on the splitting direction and the ratio of the subblocks [Wang Figures 34 – 35 and 66 – 70 as well as Paragraphs 322 – 325 and 563 – 566 (tree type part of IBC considerations); Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information), 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_VER” and “SPLIT_TT_HOR” syntax elements (or BT or QT elements as well) rendering obvious horizontal / vertical splits), 132 – 135 (partitioning blocks using flags in Paragraphs 115 – 117 and 160), 196 – 200 (signaling partition information)]; and
generating a final prediction block of the current block by reordering the subblocks [Wang Figures 43 – 44 (reordering / flipping to refine prediction block / predictor vector to the predictor block) as well as Paragraphs 356 – 358 (RR IBC (reordered IBC) flipping / manipulating the subblocks / predictors), 550 – 556 and 568 – 571 (reordering predictor list and using RR IBC); Lim Figures 62 – 65 and 69 – 72 as well as Paragraphs 2576 – 2584 and 2604 – 2605 (RR IBC and reordering candidates)].
The motivation to combine Lim with Wang is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video coding using block vectors [Lim Paragraphs 9 – 15] in order to improve coding efficiency in inter prediction / data used for prediction [Lim Paragraphs 5 – 8, 35 – 36, and 595 – 598 and 660 – 661 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Zhao with Lim and Wang is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video encoding / decoding [Zhao Paragraphs 1 – 4] in order to improve performance of the codec including minimizing error / mismatched in performing inter prediction [Zhao Paragraphs 1 – 4 and 89 – 91 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
determining, based on the initial prediction block and the final prediction block, a reorder flag that indicates whether the subblocks are to be reordered [Wang Figures 2 (see at least reference character 214) and 42 – 45 as well as Paragraphs 81 and 90 – 101 (encoding inter / intra / IBC prediction information in the entropy coder) and 356 – 359 (RR IBC signaled and based on selected predictor block from candidates and signaled from encoder to decoder); Lim Figures 68 – 70 as well as Paragraphs 2584 – 2592 (suggested syntax for flipping in RR IBC to reorder subblocks)]; and
encoding the reorder flag [Wang Figures 2 (see at least reference character 214) and 42 – 45 as well as Paragraphs 81 and 90 – 101 (encoding inter / intra / IBC prediction information in the entropy coder) and 356 – 359 (RR IBC signaled and based on selected predictor block from candidates and signaled from encoder to decoder)].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
determining a horizontal flag that indicates whether the splitting direction is the horizontal split or the vertical split [Lim Figures 3 – 5 as well as Paragraphs 348 – 350 (horizontal or vertical direction for splits with suggested ratios) to combine with Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information) and 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_HOR” or “SPLIT_BT_HOR” syntax element rendering obvious horizontal split)]; and
setting the splitting direction according to the horizontal flag [Wang Figures 34 – 35 and 66 – 70 as well as Paragraphs 322 – 325 and 563 – 566 (tree type part of IBC considerations); Lim Figures 3 – 5 as well as Paragraphs 348 – 350 (horizontal or vertical direction for splits with suggested ratios); Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information), 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_HOR” or “SPLIT_BT_HOR” syntax element rendering obvious horizontal split), 132 – 135 (partitioning blocks using flags in Paragraphs 115 – 117 and 160), 196 – 200 (signaling partition information)].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
encoding the horizontal flag [Wang Figures 2 (see at least reference character 214) as well as Paragraphs 81 and 90 – 101 (encoding inter / intra / IBC prediction information in the entropy coder); Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information), 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_HOR” or “SPLIT_BT_HOR” syntax element rendering obvious horizontal split), 132 – 135 (partitioning blocks using flags in Paragraphs 115 – 117 and 160), 196 – 200 (signaling partition information)].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
determining a split index that indicates one of preset ratios of the subblocks [Wang Figures 34 – 35 and 66 – 70 as well as Paragraph 322 to be modified by Lim Figure 3 (exemplary partitioning with ratio considerations) as well as Paragraphs 348 – 350 (horizontal and vertical ratios for partitioning), 1208 – 1212 (tree type information to signal such as single or dual tree usage), and 2680 – 2685 (block size for the predictor of the current block); Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information) and 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_VER” and “SPLIT_TT_HOR” syntax elements rendering obvious horizontal / vertical splits by a ratio)]; and
determining the ratio of the subblocks according to the split index [Wang Figures 34 – 35 and 66 – 70 as well as Paragraph 322 to be modified by Lim Figure 3 (exemplary partitioning with ratio considerations) as well as Paragraphs 348 – 350 (horizontal and vertical ratios for partitioning), 1208 – 1212 (tree type information to signal such as single or dual tree usage), and 2680 – 2685 (block size for the predictor of the current block); Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information) and 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_VER” and “SPLIT_TT_HOR” syntax elements rendering obvious horizontal / vertical splits by a ratio of 1:2:1)].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches reordering blocks / partitions during intra block copy (IBC or IntraBC) processing and other features / enhancements to the intra block copy process. Lim teaches using tree / partitioning information with the intra block copy and using the predictor block partition information for the current block as well as additional techniques to enhance intra block copy. Zhao teaches alternative syntax and techniques in signaling ratio / tree partition information for the intra block copy processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intra block copy processing of Wang to include the signaling of partition information techniques of Lim and other considerations / embodiments for intra block copy and the syntax / ratio signaling techniques of Zhao for intra block copy. The combination teaches
encoding the split index [Wang Figures 2 (see at least reference character 214) as well as Paragraphs 81 and 90 – 101 (encoding inter / intra / IBC prediction information in the entropy coder); Zhao Figures 2 – 5 and 23 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 90 – 91 (predictor receive partitioning information), 115 – 117 (see at least the “SPLIT_TT_VER” and “SPLIT_TT_HOR” syntax elements), 132 – 135 (partitioning blocks using flags in Paragraphs 115 – 117 and 160), 196 – 200 (signaling partition information)].
See claim 12 for the motivation to combine Wang, Lim, and Zhao.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 11, while the filter strength as a function of the boundary (boundary strength) is typically known in the art, the prior art does not fairly teach all the features of claim 11 in regarding to boundary strength determination for reordered blocks (an active reordered step is claimed) unlike the prior art cited.
Conclusion
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487