DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” “According to the disclosure,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because they do not conform with 37 CFR 1.75 (i). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: supporting structure (Claims 1-11) and XY setting mechanism (Claims 7-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase “Lorentz type actuator” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(b)(III)(E) re. “type”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradley (WO2008085510A1).
Claim 1: a supporting structure (110),
an object table (122) for supporting the object and a positioning module (120, 130a-c, 150a-c) structured for positioning the object table relative to the supporting structure within the XYZ-system of coordinates,
wherein the positioning module comprises
a frame (120) for supporting the object table and
at least three actuator devices (150a-c),
each structured for positioning the frame in the Z-direction of the XYZ-system of coordinates (p. 7, lines 11-25);
Claim 2: wherein the positioning module comprises at least one further actuator device structured to rotate the frame around the Z- axis of the XYZ-system of coordinates (The three linear actuators 130a-c are disclosed to work together with rotational joints 142a-c and rotational joins 132a-c, such that a rotation of the wafer table is exerted, see Fig. 2 and page 7, line 11-page 8, line 11 of the description. So, Bradley discloses a positioning system wherein the positioning module comprises at least one further actuator device (130a-c) structured to rotate the frame around the Z-axis of the XYZ-system of coordinates.);
Claim 3: wherein the frame is formed as a triangle shaped frame, and wherein each of said at least three actuator devices are mounted at a vertex of the triangle shaped frame (a positioning system 100 wherein the frame is formed as a triangle shaped frame, and wherein each of said at least three actuator devices are mounted at a vertex of the triangle shaped frame; abstract, line 2);
Claim 4: wherein the at least one further actuator device is mounted to an edge of the triangle shaped frame (a positioning system 100 wherein the at least one further actuator device is mounted to an edge of the triangle shaped frame, by effect of rotational joints 142a-c);
Claim 7: wherein the positioning module comprising an XY setting mechanism for orienting the frame in the XY-plane of the XYZ-system of coordinates (Bradley discloses equally a positioning system wherein the positioning module comprising an XY setting mechanism for orienting the frame in the XY-plane of the XYZ-system of coordinates, because actuators 130a-c together with rotational joints 142a-c and rotational joins 132a-c provide placement of the frame 120 in an XY-plane.)
Claim 8: wherein the XY setting mechanism is structured to restrain the frame in the XY-plane of the XYZ-system of coordinates (Bradley discloses equally a positioning system according to claim 8 because Bradley discloses that / movements are provided on top of XY placements).
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 2013/0038853) (“Zhu”).
Claim 1: a supporting structure (3),
an object table (Figure 5; para. [0038]) for supporting the object and a positioning module (5-8) structured for positioning the object table relative to the supporting structure within the XYZ-system of coordinates (para. [0034]),
wherein the positioning module (Figure 5-8) comprises
a frame (rails of linear motors 17/18/19) for supporting the object table and
at least three actuator devices,
each structured for positioning the frame in the Z-direction of the XYZ-system of coordinates (Figure 5; coil 7 and similar coils);
Claim 5: wherein each actuator device is constructed as a Lorentz type actuator (para. [0005]/[0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradley in view of Hazelton et al (US 2003/0173833) (“Hazelton”). Bradley discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Bradley does not directly show:
Claim 6: wherein each actuator device is constructed as a variable reluctance magnetic bearing assembly.
Hazelton shows a similar device having:
Claim 6: wherein each actuator device is constructed as a variable reluctance magnetic bearing assembly (para. [0012]/[0031]-[0037]; FIG. 2-3);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a flexible and accurate positioning system with low forces exerted on the frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bradley as taught by Hazelton and include Hazelton’s similar device having:
Claim 6: wherein each actuator device is constructed as a variable reluctance magnetic bearing assembly;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a flexible and accurate positioning system with low forces exerted on the frame.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradley in view of Balan (US 2020/0400588). Bradley discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Bradley does not directly show:
Claim 9: wherein the XY setting mechanism comprises a spindle actuator.
Balan shows a similar device having:
Claim 9: wherein the XY setting mechanism comprises a spindle actuator (para. [0053]; at least a rotary-driving ball screw linear motor is a spindle actuator);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the settling time of the device into a desired position to improve fabrication results (para. [0003]-[0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bradley as taught by Balan and include Balan’s similar device having:
Claim 9: wherein the XY setting mechanism comprises a spindle actuator;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the settling time of the device into a desired position to improve fabrication results.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradley in view of Jacobsen (US 5481184). Bradley discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Bradley does not directly show:
Claim 10: wherein the XY setting mechanism comprises a flexible rod actuator;
Claim 11: wherein the flexible rod actuator includes a piezo-actuator.
Jacobsen shows a similar device having:
Claim 10: wherein the XY setting mechanism comprises a flexible rod actuator (FIG. 2A/2B; 56/76; col. 4, lines 19-26);
Claim 11: wherein the flexible rod actuator includes a piezo-actuator (FIG. 2A/2B; 56/76; col. 4, lines 19-26);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing precise actuation by electrical input into the actuator (FIG. 2A/2B; 56/76; col. 3, line 59 to col 4, line 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bradley as taught by Jacobsen and include Jacobsen’s similar device having:
Claim 10: wherein the XY setting mechanism comprises a flexible rod actuator;
Claim 11: wherein the flexible rod actuator includes a piezo-actuator;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing precise actuation by electrical input into the actuator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2008/0055756 discloses actuators 46A-46C.
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652