DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 01/23/2025.
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-24 are presented for examination.
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2023/071766 filed on 08/07/2023 which has PRO 63/370,512 filed on 08/05/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16-17 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (KR 101413445 B1).
Re Claims 1, 17 and 24: Choi teaches card for electronic payment with multi IC chip, which includes a card {herein card 10} (see pages 2-3 of translated document), a plurality of micromodules {herein defined in the background of the invention, a chip is a micromodule comprising an integrated circuit with a memory. Therefore, Choi discloses a plurality of IC chips 40} mounted on said card such that each micromodule is capable of being selected for engagement with a chip reader {herein a card terminal, not shown}, wherein said plurality of micromodules are disposed on a circular dial rotatably {herein Choi teaches the rotation means is mounted such that the said rotary plate (30) is inserted} associated with the card (see figs.# 1 & 2; pages 3-4 of translated document).
Re Claim 16: Choi teaches s device, wherein each micromodule within said plurality of micromodules is associated with an issuing entity {herein a financial institution} (see pages 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 101413445 B1) in view of Liu (US 2012/0043383).
The teachings of Choi have been discussed above. Choi discloses a rotating means (see page 2+)
Choi fails to specifically teach (in Claim 3) that the card further comprises micromodule selection means, said selection means being at least one a physical means, a magnetic means, and an electrical means, (in Claim 4) wherein the physical means comprises at least one prong extending from a living spring, and (in Claim 5) an antenna.
Liu teaches system for electronically sealing an item and verifying the authenticity of the item sealed, wherein the card further comprises micromodule selection means, said selection means being at least one a physical means, a magnetic means, and an electrical means, wherein the physical means comprises at least one prong extending from a living spring (74+, 97+), and an antenna (¶ 7+).
In view of Liu’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to employ into the teachings of Choi one prong from a living spring and an antenna so as to enable attachment to a base providing a conductive metal contact of the IC pad. Furthermore, such modification will be beneficial whereas the use of antenna will enable wireless/contactless communication between the electronic payment card and the card reader/terminal.
Claim(s) 6-7, 12-13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 101413445 B1) as modified by Liu (US 2012/0043383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moncada (US 2021/0256339).
The teachings of Choi have been discussed above. Choi also teaches the rotating means includes a circular groove dented to a predetermined depth from the front side of the card body to allow the rotation plate to be inserted and held therein (see the abstract).
Choi fails to specifically teach that plurality micromodules are releasably inserted into a corresponding plurality of adaptors, wherein said dial is formed with a plurality of recesses in a surface thereof, said recesses dimensioned to receive each said plurality of adaptors.
Moncada teaches smart card system for holding multiple smart cards, wherein plurality micromodules are releasably inserted into a corresponding plurality of adaptors {herein the micro EMV chip body 608a includes a smart chip card system 610a configured to place/insert an EMV chip into a cutout 612a}, wherein said dial is formed with a plurality of recesses in a surface thereof, said recesses dimensioned to receive each said plurality of adaptors (see fig.# 6; 50-67+).
In view of Moncada’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to employ into the teachings of Choi plurality micromodules are releasably inserted into a corresponding plurality of adaptors, wherein said dial is formed with a plurality of recesses in a surface thereof, said recesses dimensioned to receive each said plurality of adaptors so as to provide means inserting the Damn/IC chip into an adaptor to be fitted into the electronic payment card.
Claim(s) 8, 10-11, 14-15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 101413445 B1) as modified by Liu (US 2012/0043383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moncada (US 2021/0256339).
The teachings of Choi have been discussed above. Choi also teaches an electronic payment card having a plurality of Damn chip (see pages 2-3+).
Choi as modified by Liu fails to specifically teach an antenna within said card for at least one of RFID, near-field communications and energy harvesting.
Moncada teaches smart card system for holding multiple smart cards, which includes an antenna within said card for at least one of RFID, near-field communications and energy harvesting (see 30-33+, 83-92+).
In view of Moncada’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to employ into the teachings of Choi an antenna within said card for at least one of RFID, near-field communications and energy harvesting so as to enable means of performing wireless/contact communication between the card and a reader.
Re Claims 10-11: See the rejections as set forth above in claims 3-4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ludcke (DE 102015101702) teaches polygon card device with chip functions.
Coveley (WO 9814916 A2) teaches universal credit card.
Aiyer et al. (US 2014/0224883) teaches multi-chip smart card.
Rao (CA 2881463 A1) teaches system and method for providing smart electronic wallet and reconfigurable transaction card.
Choi (KR 101413445 B1) teaches card for electronic payment with multi IC chip.
Hosny et al. (US 2016/0217455) teaches payment cards for multiple accounts, and method associated therewith.
Alieri (US 2017/0244437) teaches social network and apps card.
Sindelar et al. (US 2024/0311602) teaches transaction card.
Yu (CN 208969703 U) teaches a multi-chip intelligent card.
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876