DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected for improper dependent form.
Appropriate action required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernat (US 20200073464 A1) and in view of Miyoshi (US 20130246679 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bernat discloses a power source control device [Figs. 1, 6, 8 and 9] comprising:
a power source supply unit that individually supplies power source to each accelerator; a controller that selects the accelerator to be a target of power control as a target accelerator and selects a power source control method for the target accelerator based on usage status and load status of each accelerator used by each application [0081][0082: set the power utilization limit of each accelerator device 1620, 1622 to ensure that the total power budget for the accelerator sled 1610 is not exceeded and to selectively increase or decrease the power utilization limit for each accelerator device 1620, 1622 (e.g., by increasing the frequency and/or voltage) to enable the corresponding kernel to satisfy the target performance specified in the SLA data (e.g., based on the profile data obtained by the management controller interface logic unit 1700 and based on predictions in power utilizations from the prediction logic unit 1702)][0083-0090]; and
Bernat does not explicitly disclose a control instruction unit that instructs the application using the target accelerator to perform processing of releasing the target accelerator, and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target accelerator after the application using the target accelerator no longer exists.
Miyoshi discloses a control instruction unit that instructs the application using the target accelerator to perform processing of releasing the target accelerator, and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target accelerator after the application using the target accelerator no longer exists [0078: the release control unit 28b retrieves the accelerator mounting information DB 24 (S302), and determines whether or not the corresponding accelerator used by the application is present in the expansion I/O box 10 (S303). In other words, the release control unit 28b determines whether or not there is an in use accelerator][0079: Then, when it is determined that the corresponding accelerator is present in the expansion I/O box 10 (Yes in S303), the release control unit 28b generates an interrupt, outputs the interrupt to the processor of the server, and instructs the processor of the server to execute HotRemove (S304) [0080: Next, the release control unit 28b outputs a transition instruction to enter the power saving mode to the accelerator in order to change the state of accelerator which is being used by the server from the in use state to the standby state (S305)][0054][0077-0082].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bernat and Miyoshi together because they both directed to control the power states of the accelerators. Miyoshi’s disclosing of instructing the application using the target accelerator to perform processing of releasing the target accelerator and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target accelerator after the application using the target accelerator no longer exists would allow Bernat to avoid interrupting active work while still enabling power saving method safely.
Regarding claim 3, Bernat discloses the power source control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller selects an optimum power source control method based on the load status of each of the accelerators and characteristics of each of the power source control methods [0081-0090].
Regarding claim 4, Barnat discloses a power source control device comprising:
a power source supply unit that individually supplies power source to each hardware [each accelerator device] used as an offload destination by each application; a controller that selects the hardware to be a target of power control as target hardware based on information obtained from each application and selects a power source control method for the target hardware [0081][0082: set the power utilization limit of each accelerator device 1620, 1622 to ensure that the total power budget for the accelerator sled 1610 is not exceeded and to selectively increase or decrease the power utilization limit for each accelerator device 1620, 1622 (e.g., by increasing the frequency and/or voltage) to enable the corresponding kernel to satisfy the target performance specified in the SLA data (e.g., based on the profile data obtained by the management controller interface logic unit 1700 and based on predictions in power utilizations from the prediction logic unit 1702)][0083-0090]; and
Bernat does not explicitly disclose a control instruction unit that instructs the application using the target hardware to perform processing of releasing the target hardware, and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target hardware after the application using the target hardware no longer exists.
Miyoshi discloses a control instruction unit that instructs the application using the target hardware to perform processing of releasing the target hardware, and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target hardware after the application using the target hardware no longer exists [0078: the release control unit 28b retrieves the accelerator mounting information DB 24 (S302), and determines whether or not the corresponding accelerator used by the application is present in the expansion I/O box 10 (S303). In other words, the release control unit 28b determines whether or not there is an in use accelerator][0079: Then, when it is determined that the corresponding accelerator is present in the expansion I/O box 10 (Yes in S303), the release control unit 28b generates an interrupt, outputs the interrupt to the processor of the server, and instructs the processor of the server to execute HotRemove (S304) [0080: Next, the release control unit 28b outputs a transition instruction to enter the power saving mode to the accelerator in order to change the state of accelerator which is being used by the server from the in use state to the standby state (S305)][0054][0077-0082].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bernat and Miyoshi together because they both directed to control the power states of the accelerators. Miyoshi’s disclosing of instructing the application using the target accelerator to perform processing of releasing the target accelerator and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target accelerator after the application using the target accelerator no longer exists would allow Bernat to avoid interrupting active work while still enabling power saving method safely.
Regarding claim 5, Barnet discloses a power source control system comprising a power source control device and an accelerator accommodation device, wherein the accelerator accommodation device includes a power source supply unit that individually supplies power source to each accelerator accommodated by the accelerator accommodation device, and the power source control device includes: a controller that selects the accelerator to be a target of power control as a target accelerator and selects a power source control method for the target accelerator based on usage status and load status of each of the accelerators used by each application [0081][0082: set the power utilization limit of each accelerator device 1620, 1622 to ensure that the total power budget for the accelerator sled 1610 is not exceeded and to selectively increase or decrease the power utilization limit for each accelerator device 1620, 1622 (e.g., by increasing the frequency and/or voltage) to enable the corresponding kernel to satisfy the target performance specified in the SLA data (e.g., based on the profile data obtained by the management controller interface logic unit 1700 and based on predictions in power utilizations from the prediction logic unit 1702)][0083-0090]; and
Barnat does not explicitly disclose a control instruction unit that instructs the application using the target accelerator to perform processing of releasing the target accelerator, and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target accelerator after the application using the target accelerator no longer exists.
Miyoshi discloses a control instruction unit that instructs the application using the target accelerator to perform processing of releasing the target accelerator, and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target accelerator after the application using the target accelerator no longer exists [0078: the release control unit 28b retrieves the accelerator mounting information DB 24 (S302), and determines whether or not the corresponding accelerator used by the application is present in the expansion I/O box 10 (S303). In other words, the release control unit 28b determines whether or not there is an in use accelerator][0079: Then, when it is determined that the corresponding accelerator is present in the expansion I/O box 10 (Yes in S303), the release control unit 28b generates an interrupt, outputs the interrupt to the processor of the server, and instructs the processor of the server to execute HotRemove (S304) [0080: Next, the release control unit 28b outputs a transition instruction to enter the power saving mode to the accelerator in order to change the state of accelerator which is being used by the server from the in use state to the standby state (S305)][0054][0077-0082].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bernat and Miyoshi together because they both directed to control the power states of the accelerators. Miyoshi’s disclosing of instructing the application using the target accelerator to perform processing of releasing the target accelerator and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target accelerator after the application using the target accelerator no longer exists would allow Bernat to avoid interrupting active work while still enabling power saving method safely.
Regarding claim 6, Barnet discloses a power source control method wherein
implemented by a power source control device includes including a power source supply
unit, a controller, and a control instruction unit, the method comprising: the power source supply unit individually supplies supplying power source individually to each accelerator, the supplying executed by the power source supply unit, the controller selects selecting the accelerator to be a target of power control as a target accelerator and selects selecting a power source control method for the target accelerator based on usage status and load status of each accelerator used by each application, the selecting both executed by the controller [0081][0082: set the power utilization limit of each accelerator device 1620, 1622 to ensure that the total power budget for the accelerator sled 1610 is not exceeded and to selectively increase or decrease the power utilization limit for each accelerator device 1620, 1622 (e.g., by increasing the frequency and/or voltage) to enable the corresponding kernel to satisfy the target performance specified in the SLA data (e.g., based on the profile data obtained by the management controller interface logic unit 1700 and based on predictions in power utilizations from the prediction logic unit 1702)][0083-0090], and
Miyoshi discloses the control instruction unit instructs instructing the application using the target accelerator to perform processing of releasing the target accelerator, and instructs instructing the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target accelerator after no application uses the target accelerator, the instructing both executed by the control instruction unit [0078: the release control unit 28b retrieves the accelerator mounting information DB 24 (S302), and determines whether or not the corresponding accelerator used by the application is present in the expansion I/O box 10 (S303). In other words, the release control unit 28b determines whether or not there is an in use accelerator][0079: Then, when it is determined that the corresponding accelerator is present in the expansion I/O box 10 (Yes in S303), the release control unit 28b generates an interrupt, outputs the interrupt to the processor of the server, and instructs the processor of the server to execute HotRemove (S304) [0080: Next, the release control unit 28b outputs a transition instruction to enter the power saving mode to the accelerator in order to change the state of accelerator which is being used by the server from the in use state to the standby state (S305)][0054][0077-0082].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bernat and Miyoshi together because they both directed to control the power states of the accelerators. Miyoshi’s disclosing of instructing the application using the target accelerator to perform processing of releasing the target accelerator and instructs the power source supply unit to perform power source control of the target accelerator after the application using the target accelerator no longer exists would allow Bernat to avoid interrupting active work while still enabling power saving method safely.
Regarding claim 7, this claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernat (US 20200073464 A1) and in view of Miyoshi (US 20130246679 A1) in further view of Bernat (US 20180150343 A1) hereinafter referred to as Bernat_2nd.
Regarding claim 2, Miyoshi and Bernat do not explicitly disclose the power source control device according to claim 1, wherein the power source supply unit is configured to individually supply power source to each power domain obtained by grouping a plurality of the accelerators, instead of a configuration in which the power source supply unit individually supplies power source to each accelerator; and the controller selects the plurality of the accelerators belonging to a same power domain as the target accelerators to be targets of the power source control simultaneously.
However, Bernat_2nd discloses wherein the power source supply unit is configured to individually supply power source to each power domain obtained by grouping a plurality of the accelerators, instead of a configuration in which the power source supply unit individually supplies power source to each accelerator; and the controller selects the plurality of the accelerators belonging to a same power domain as the target accelerators to be targets of the power source control simultaneously [0048: the system 1200 may include a different number of power domains and each power domain may include a different number of compute sleds 1204, storage sleds 1206, memory sleds 1208, resource sleds 1210, and/or other sleds (e.g., accelerator sleds)... The resource manager server 1202 may support a cloud operating environment, such as OpenStack, and the compute sled 1204, the storage sled 1206, the memory sled 1208, and the other resource sled 1210 may execute one or more applications or processes (i.e., workloads), such as in virtual machines or containers, on behalf of a user of the client device 1214][0049][0064][0084].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bernat, Miyoshi together for the same reasons disclosed above. It would have further been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bernat_2nd into the disclosure of Bernat and Miyoshi to increase the integrity and efficient by controlling multiple accelerators in group simultaneously.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner (see MPEP § 2123).
/PHIL K NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176