DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/996, 123 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “the polarizing element has an effective diameter B1; a distance from the polarizing element to the display screen is L1, which satisfies: 0<(B1/2-D1/2)/L1<0.8” from the independent claim as claimed in claim 1 of the instant application and the addition of the limitation “a distance from the beam splitting element (5) to the display screen (1) is A3” renders claims 1-13 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/996, 123 (reference application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/995, 785 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “a distance from the human eye to the polarizing element is A1; and wherein an eyebox (EB) of the human eye satisfies: 0.5 <=(EB/A1)<=1” from the independent claim as claimed in claim 1 of the instant application and the addition of the limitations “a display screen having with a size of D1; the polarizing element has an effective diameter B1; a distance from the polarizing element to the display screen is L1; which satisfies: -0.2<(B1/2-D1/2)/L1<0.8” and the addition of the limitations renders claims 1-13 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/995, 785 (reference application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et at. (US 2018/0164590) in view of Yang et al. (CN 212111989 with US 12,704,714 being used as a translation).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses, an optical module (Figs. 1-13), comprising:
a display screen (30) with a size of D1 (Para. 0050), comprising a light-emitting side (see Fig. 2),
a lens group (10, 20) located on the light-emitting side of the display screen, wherein the lens group comprises at least one a first lens (10),
a polarizing element (Para. 0042), and
a phase retarder (Para. 0042),
wherein the polarizing element has an effective diameter of B1 (Para. 0066, 0068 and see “Table 1” and “Table 2”);
the polarizing element, the beam splitting element, and the phase retarder are provided on either one or more of a first side of the first lens facing away from the display screen (see Fig. 2) and a second side of the first at least one-lens facing towards the display screen (see Fig. 2);
a distance from the polarizing element to the display screen is L1 (Para. 0066, 0068 and see “Table 1” and “Table 2”;
wherein a ratio of (B1/2-D1/2)/L1 satisfies: -0.2 < (B1/2- D1/2)/L1 < 0.8 (Para. 0066, 0068 and see “Table 1” and “Table 2”).
Li does not explicitly disclose a beam splitting element.
Yang teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an optical module that it would have been desirable to include a beam splitting element (Col. 4, lines 26-27 and 40-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a beam splitting element as taught by the optical module of Yang in the optical module of Li since Yang teaches it is known to include this feature in an optical module for the purpose of providing an optical module with enhanced performance from an increased optical path length to further reduce cost, size, and enhance comfort for a user.
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Yang further discloses, the ratio of (B1/2-D1/2)/L1 satisfies: -0.05< (B1/2- D1/2)/L1 <0.8 (Para. 0066, 0068 and see “Table 1” and “Table 2”).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Yang further discloses, the lens group (10, 20) further comprises a second lens (20) adjacent to the display screen (see Fig. 2), the second lens has a surface facing towards the display screen (see Fig. 2).
Furthermore, Yang teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an optical module that it would have been desirable to make the beam splitting element is located on one side of the surface of the second lens (Col. 4, lines 26-27 and 40-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the optical module of Yang in the optical module of Li since Yang teaches it is known to include this feature in an optical module for the purpose of providing an optical module with enhanced performance from an increased optical path length to further reduce cost, size, and enhance comfort for a user.
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Li further discloses, the polarizing element (Para. 0042) is provided on the first side of the at least one lens group (10, 20) facing away from the display screen (see Fig. 2); or the lens group (10, 20) comprises at least two lenses (10, 20), which comprise a second lens (20) closest proximate to an eye side (see Fig. 2), wherein the second lens has a surface facing away from a human eye (see Fig. 2), and the polarizing element is located on one side of the surface facing away from the human eye (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Li further discloses, a first phase retarder (Para. 0042), which is provided on the first side of the at least one lens facing away from the display screen (Para. 0042), and is provided closer to the display screen than to the polarizing element (Para. 0042); or the lens group (10, 20) comprises at least two lenses, which comprise a second lens closest to an eye side, wherein the second lens has a surface facing away from a human eye, and the first phase retarder is located on one side of the surface and is provided farther away from the second lens than from the polarizing element.
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Li further discloses, the phase retarder comprises a second phase retarder (Para. 0042), the lens group further comprises a second lens (20) adjacent to the display screen, the second lens has a surface facing towards the display screen (see Fig. 2), and the second phase retarder is located on one side of the surface and is provided closer to the display screen than to the beam splitting element (Para. 0042 and see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Li further discloses, the lens group further comprises a second lens (20) adjacent to the display screen (see Fig. 2), and the second lens has a positive optical power (Para. 0008 and 0043).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Li further discloses, wherein L1 satisfies: 10mm < L1 < 35mm (Para. 0066, 0068 and see “Table 1” and “Table 2”).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Li further discloses, wherein b satisfies: 30mm<B1<55mm (Para. 0066, 0068 and see “Table 1” and “Table 2”).
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Li further discloses, the optical module has field of view (FOV) from 80[Symbol font/0xB0] to 120[Symbol font/0xB0] (Para. 0066, 0068 and see “Table 1” and “Table 2”).
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Li further discloses, the optical module has an effective focal length of F, which satisfies: 14mm <F< 38.5mm (Para. 0066, 0068 and see “Table 1” and “Table 2”).
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Yang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Li further discloses, a head mounted display, characterized by comprising: a housing (Para. 0101-0102; note, discloses a helmet); and an optical module according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et at. (US 2018/0164590) in view of Yang et al. (CN 212111989 with US 12,704,714 being used as a translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lu et al. (US 11,448,303).
Li in view of Yang remains as applied to claim 1 above.
Li in view of Yang does not disclose the optical module has a field-of-view magnification b, which satisfies: 7.5 < b < 19.
Lu teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an optical module that it would have been desirable to make the optical module has a field-of-view magnification b, which satisfies: 7.5 < b < 19 (Col. 8, lines 22-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the optical module has a field-of-view magnification b, which satisfies: 7.5 < b < 19 as taught by the optical module of Lu in the combination of Li in view of Yang since Lu teaches it is known to include this feature in an optical module for the purpose of providing an optical module with an enlarged field of view and enhanced resolution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Carollo et al. (US 2017/0227777), Wheelwright et al. (US 10,955,675) and Song et al. (US 12,717,132) discloses an optical module that includes a display screen, a lens group, a beam splitting element and a phase retarder.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 09/07/2025