Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13, 19, 36, 45 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chuang et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2020/0052845 A1, hereinafter, ‘Chuang’.
Consider Claims 1, Chuang teaches positioning method, comprising: obtaining, by a first terminal, configuration information of a positioning reference signal (PRS), wherein the PRS comprises a first PRS, the configuration information comprises at least one of a first time-domain configuration and a first bandwidth configuration of the first PRS (e.g., see at least claim 1 –“a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving one or more positioning reference signal parameters from a base station; determining resource elements in a transmission bandwidth carrying multiple positioning reference signals based on the positioning reference signal parameters”), wherein the first time-domain configuration comprises at least one of the following: for a periodic first PRS, a maximum of 14 symbols are occupied in one period, for a non-periodic first PRS, consecutive n slots are occupied, where n is an integer greater than or equal to 1(e.g., this is met based on the context of at least claim 1 and claims 22 and 23 teaches - “wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are periodic and wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are aperiodic, wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are semi-persistent” – see also figure 7 and paragraphs 0062-0064); and wherein the first bandwidth configuration indicates that the number of physical resource block (PRB) resources occupied by the first PRS is less than 24; and performing, by the first terminal, a positioning operation based on the configuration information(e.g., see figure 7 illustrating symbol periods used by the base station in addition to the discussion regarding the resource blocks).
Consider Claims 10 and 19, Claims 10 and 19 are rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1.
Consider Claims 36, 45 and 54, Claims 36 and 54 are rejected based on the hardware architecture illustrated in at least figures 1-3 and 18.
Consider Claims 2 and 11, Chuang teaches wherein the configuration information further comprises at least one of the following: a first subcarrier spacing number of the first PRS, wherein the first subcarrier spacing number comprises a subcarrier spacing number greater than 12, the subcarrier spacing number is the number of subcarriers between two adjacent subcarriers in the frequency domain occupied by the first PRS within the same symbol; first period information of the first PRS, wherein the first period information comprises at least one of the following: periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic; and first pattern information of the first PRS, wherein the first pattern information comprises at least one of the following: non-staggered pattern, staggered pattern, and partially staggered pattern (e.g., this is met based on the context of at least claim 1 and claims 22 and 23 teaches - “wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are periodic and wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are aperiodic, wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are semi-persistent”).
Consider Claims 3 and 13, Chuang teaches wherein the PRS further comprises a second PRS, and the configuration information further comprises at least one of a second time-domain configuration and a second bandwidth configuration of the second PRS, wherein the second time- domain configuration comprises at least one of the following: for a periodic second PRS, a maximum of 14 symbols are occupied in one period, for a non-periodic second PRS, consecutive n slots are occupied, where n is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and wherein the second bandwidth configuration indicates that the number of PRB resources occupied by the second PRS is less than 24 (e.g., this is met based on the citation above of claim 1 which anticipates the 2nd PRS based on exercising what is taught by the first PRS).
Consider Claim 4, Chuang teaches wherein the configuration information further comprises at least one of the following: a second subcarrier spacing number of the second PRS, wherein the second subcarrier spacing number comprises a subcarrier spacing number greater than 12, the subcarrier spacing number is the number of subcarriers between two adjacent subcarriers in the frequency domain occupied by the second PRS within the same symbol; second period information of the second PRS, wherein the second period information comprises at least one of the following: periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic; and second pattern information of the second PRS, wherein the second pattern information comprises at least one of the following: non-staggered pattern, staggered pattern, and partially staggered pattern(e.g., this is met based on the context of at least claim 1 and claims 22 and 23 teaches - “wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are periodic and wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are aperiodic, wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are semi-persistent”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2020/0052845 A1, hereinafter, ‘Chuang’ in view of S. Dwivedi et al., "Positioning in 5G Networks," in IEEE Communications Magazine, vol. 59, no. 11, pp. 38-44, November 2021, hereinafter, ‘Dwivedi’.
Consider Claims 5 and 14, Chuang teaches the claimed invention except wherein the first PRS is differed from the second PRS by at least one of the following: resource size of occupied frequency-domain resources, period, and resource type of occupied time-domain resources.
In analogous art, Dwivedi teaches in 5G NR cellular networks, the size and resource allocation of a Periodic Positioning Reference Signal (DL-PRS) is highly flexible and defined across three main dimensions: frequency domain size (bandwidth), time domain size (duration/symbols), and comb size (density) (e.g., see at least figure 2 and section 3 Positioning specific signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the first PRS is differed from the second PRS by at least one of the following: resource size of occupied frequency-domain resources, period, and resource type of occupied time-domain resources for the purpose of improving positioning.
Consider Claims 6 and 15, Chuang teaches the claimed invention except wherein the resource size of frequency- domain resources occupied by the first PRS is smaller than that of the second PRS; and/or if the first PRS and the second PRS are periodic signals, the period of the first PRS is shorter than the period of the second PRS; or the first PRS is a periodic signal, and the second PRS is a semi-persistent signal or aperiodic signal; or the first PRS is an aperiodic signal, and the second PRS is a semi-persistent signal or periodic signal.
Chaung teaches based on the context of at least claim 1 and claims 22 and 23 teaches - “wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are periodic and wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are aperiodic, wherein the plurality of positioning reference signal transmission occasions are semi-persistent”. Dwivedi teaches in 5G NR cellular networks, the size and resource allocation of a Periodic Positioning Reference Signal (DL-PRS) is highly flexible and defined across three main dimensions: frequency domain size (bandwidth), time domain size (duration/symbols), and comb size (density) (e.g., see at least figure 2 and section 3 Positioning specific signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chuang as modified by Dwivedi to arrive at the result wherein the resource size of frequency- domain resources occupied by the first PRS is smaller than that of the second PRS; and/or if the first PRS and the second PRS are periodic signals, the period of the first PRS is shorter than the period of the second PRS; or the first PRS is a periodic signal, and the second PRS is a semi-persistent signal or aperiodic signal; or the first PRS is an aperiodic signal, and the second PRS is a semi-persistent signal or periodic signal for the purpose of positioning in 5G radio.
Consider Claims 7 and 16, Chuang teaches the claimed invention except wherein performing the positioning operation based on the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: measuring, by the first terminal, at least one of the first PRS and the second PRS to obtain first measurement information, and transmitting the first measurement information to a location management function (LMF) or a second terminal, wherein at least one of the first PRS and the second PRS is transmitted by a network-side device or the second terminal; transmitting, by the first terminal, one of the first PRS and the second PRS to the network- side device, and measuring the other of the first PRS and the second PRS transmitted by the network-side device to obtain second measurement information, and transmitting the second measurement information to the LMF or the second terminal; and transmitting, by the first terminal, at least one of the first PRS and the second PRS to the network-side device.
In analogous art, Dwivedi teaches wherein performing the positioning operation based on the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: measuring, by the first terminal, at least one of the first PRS and the second PRS to obtain first measurement information, and transmitting the first measurement information to a location management function (LMF) or a second terminal, wherein at least one of the first PRS and the second PRS is transmitted by a network-side device or the second terminal; transmitting, by the first terminal, one of the first PRS and the second PRS to the network- side device, and measuring the other of the first PRS and the second PRS transmitted by the network-side device to obtain second measurement information, and transmitting the second measurement information to the LMF or the second terminal; and transmitting, by the first terminal, at least one of the first PRS and the second PRS to the network-side device (e.g., see at least page 41 section entitled measurements for positioning -LMF and UE Communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein performing the positioning operation based on the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: measuring, by the first terminal, at least one of the first PRS and the second PRS to obtain first measurement information, and transmitting the first measurement information to a location management function (LMF) or a second terminal, wherein at least one of the first PRS and the second PRS is transmitted by a network-side device or the second terminal; transmitting, by the first terminal, one of the first PRS and the second PRS to the network- side device, and measuring the other of the first PRS and the second PRS transmitted by the network-side device to obtain second measurement information, and transmitting the second measurement information to the LMF or the second terminal; and transmitting, by the first terminal, at least one of the first PRS and the second PRS to the network-side device for the purpose of positioning in NR.
Consider Claim 8, Chaung teaches the claimed invention except wherein the first measurement information is used to report at least one of the following: first positioning measurement quantity, and first positioning measurement quality; or the second measurement information is used to report at least one of the following: second positioning measurement quantity, and second positioning measurement quality.
In analogous art, Dwivedi teaches wherein the first measurement information is used to report at least one of the following: first positioning measurement quantity, and first positioning measurement quality; or the second measurement information is used to report at least one of the following: second positioning measurement quantity, and second positioning measurement quality(e.g., see at least page 41 section entitled measurements for positioning -measurement types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious o a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing ate to try wherein the first measurement information is used to report at least one of the following: first positioning measurement quantity, and first positioning measurement quality; or the second measurement information is used to report at least one of the following: second positioning measurement quantity, and second positioning measurement quality for the purpose of positioning in NR.
Consider Claim 9, Chuang teaches the claimed invention except wherein the first positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; or the first positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; or the first positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a third measurement quantity obtained by smoothing a second measurement quantity using a first measurement quantity, wherein the first measurement quantity is a measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS, and the second measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; or the second positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; or the second positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS.
In analogous art, Dwivedi teaches wherein the first positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; or the first positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; or the first positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a third measurement quantity obtained by smoothing a second measurement quantity using a first measurement quantity, wherein the first measurement quantity is a measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS, and the second measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; or the second positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; or the second positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS(e.g., see at least page 41 section entitled measurements for positioning -measurement types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious o a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing ate to try wherein the first positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; or the first positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS and the second PRS; or the first positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a third measurement quantity obtained by smoothing a second measurement quantity using a first measurement quantity, wherein the first measurement quantity is a measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS, and the second measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; or the second positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the first PRS; or the second positioning measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a phase measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; a time delay measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; an angle measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS; and a power measurement quantity measured based on the second PRS for the purpose of positioning in NR.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2018171793 A1 teaches a reference signal transmission technology. A base station divides a transmission bandwidth into multiple frequency-domain units, and sends a reference signal sending configuration information to a terminal. The terminal transmits a reference signal on one or more frequency-domain units, and the one or more frequency-domain units and other frequency-domain units form part of a transmission bandwidth supported by the base station. The terminal sends configuration information according to the reference signal, and sends the reference signal to the base station on the one or more frequency-domain units.
US 20190372617 A1 teaches a method and device for transmitting a positioning reference signal (PRS), and a computer storage medium. The method comprises: obtaining specified information related to transmission of a PRS, the specified information comprising at least one of a cycle, an offset, duration, subframe configuration information, and narrowband information; and determining a transmission resource for the PRS on the basis of the specified information, and transmitting the PRS by means of the transmission resource.
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646