DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 30, applicant disclose “each actuation region” after only disclosing a first actuation region. It is unclear how many actuation regions there should be. Claim 30 is amended to reflect Examiner’s interpretation (only one actuation region).
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the..fourth directions.. the..third directions.." in lines 1-2 There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Neither claims 30 or 32 disclose a third and a fourth direction.
Claims 31-32 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 30.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 17 states the base body has “means on the foot region for fastening”. There is no corresponding structure in the claim. Based on the specifications, the means for fastening is the flange 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12,14-20,22,24-25,27-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mensch et al. US 12241291 (hereinafter referred to as Mensch).
Claim 11. Mensch discloses the vehicle door, comprising:
an electrically switchable lock (lock of vehicle door) and an actuating device (9, 27) for generating a switching signal (via engaging 25) for opening the lock,
wherein the actuating device has a first actuation region (annotated figure) and a sensor region (annotated figure) spaced from the first actuation region, and a second actuation region (annotated figure) which is spaced from the first actuation region and from the sensor region,
wherein a measuring device (25+29+30+31) is arranged in the sensor region, a portion or element (intervening space between 30,31) of which measuring device undergoes a deformation (see col7 lines 33-39) in a second direction (annotated figure)) when the first actuation region is subjected to force in a first direction (annotated figure), and the measuring device emits the switching signal due to the deformation in the second direction, the switching signal being of a first type (lock signal),
wherein the vehicle door further has a window (window pane) and an associated window shaft (8), wherein each actuation region is provided on (see fig2) a window shaft strip (10) closing off the window shaft or as a window shaft strip closing off the window shaft, and
wherein the portion or element or another portion or element of the measuring device undergoes a deformation in a fourth direction (annotated figure) which is different from the second direction when the second actuation region is subjected to force in a third direction (annotated figure), and
wherein the measuring device emits the switching signal due to the deformation in the fourth direction, the switching signal being of a second type (unlock signal).
Claim 12. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 11, wherein the second direction is different from the first direction (annotated figure).
Claim 14. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 11,wherein the first and fourth directions are identical and/or the second and third directions are identical. (annotated figure)
Claim 15. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 11, wherein the measuring device comprises a strain gauge, an inductive sensor and/or a capacitive sensor. (sensor can be a capacitive proximity sensor)
Claim 16. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 11, further comprising a base body (9+16+17+18), of which a handle portion (annotated figure) provides the first actuation region and/or the second actuation region and a foot portion (annotated figure) provides the sensor region.
Claim 17. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 16, wherein the base body has means (17) on the foot region for fastening the actuating device to an external object (surface of 6), in particular to a vehicle door (6). (fig3)
Claim 18. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 16, wherein the handle portion is C- shaped or L-shaped in cross section. (L-shaped, fig3)
Claim 19. Mensch discloses a motor vehicle (abstract) having the vehicle door according to claim 11. (fig1)
Claim 20. Mensch discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 19, wherein each actuation region is formed flush (fig1) with a window shaft strip (10, fig1) on another vehicle door following the vehicle door. (NOTE: each device is capable of being on every door)
Claim 22. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 12, wherein the measuring device comprises a strain gauge, an inductive sensor and/or a capacitive sensor (Capacitive proximity sensor). (fig1-4)
Claim 24. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 14, wherein the measuring device comprises a strain gauge, an inductive sensor and/or a capacitive sensor (Capacitive proximity sensor). (fig1-4)
Claim 25. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 12, further comprising a base body (9+16+17+18), of which a handle portion (annotated figure) provides the first actuation region and/or
Claim 27. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 12, further comprising a base body (9+16+17+18), of which a handle portion (annotated figure) provides the first actuation region and/or the second actuation region and a foot portion (annotated figure) provides the sensor region.
Claim 28. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 15, further comprising a base body (16), of which a handle portion (annotated figure) provides the first actuation region and/or the second actuation region and a foot portion (annotated figure) provides the sensor region.
Claim 29. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 17, wherein the handle portion is C-shaped or L-shaped in cross section (L-shaped, fig3)
Claim 30, Mensch discloses vehicle door (6), comprising:
an electrically switchable lock (lock of vehicle door) and an actuating device (9, 27) for generating a switching signal (via engaging 25) for opening the lock,
wherein the actuating device has a first actuation region (annotated figure) and a sensor region (annotated figure) spaced from the first actuation region,
wherein a measuring device (25+29+30+31) is arranged in the sensor region, a portion or element (intervening space between 30,31) of which measuring device undergoes a deformation (see col7 lines 33-39) in a second direction (annotated figure) when the first actuation region is subjected to force in a first direction (annotated figure), and the measuring device emits the switching signal due to the deformation in the second direction, the switching signal being of a first type (lock signal),
wherein the vehicle door further has a window (window pane) and an associated window shaft (8), wherein the first actuation region is provided on (see fig2) a window shaft strip (10) closing off the window shaft or as a window shaft strip closing off the window shaft, and
wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction.
Claim 31. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 30, further comprising:
a second actuating region (annotated figure) which is spaced from the first actuation region and from the sensor region, wherein the portion or element or another portion or element of the measuring device undergoes a deformation in a fourth direction (annotated figure) which is different from the second direction when the second actuation region is subjected to force in a third direction (annotated figure), and
wherein the measuring device emits the switching signal due to the deformation in the fourth direction, the switching signal being of a second type (unlock signal).
Claim 32, Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 30, wherein the measuring device comprises a strain gauge, an inductive sensor and/or a capacitive sensor (can be a capacitive proximity switch, abstract).
Claim 33. Mensch discloses the vehicle door according to claim 32, wherein the first and a fourth directiona third direction
Annotated Figure (Mensch)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-12,14-20,22,24,25,27-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new prior art rejection has been applied in light of Applicant’s amendments to claim 11 which has changed the scope of the claim disclosure. New claims 30-33 are rejected as well. Claim 17 is still subject to a 112(f) rejection in light of “means” language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to vehicle doors.
Related but not relied upon prior art: US 12573569, US 12546150 US 12241291.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675