DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed on January 24, 2025 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sakariya (US 2015/0348504 A1, Published December 3, 2015).
As to claim 1, Sakariya discloses a display system for visually presenting information, comprising:
an organic light emitting diode (OLED) screen including a field of diodes (Sakariya at Figs. 1-2; ¶ [0035], [0060]) to provide voltage to the screen to emit light in one direction and receive light and detect voltage in an opposite direction (Sakariya at Figs. 2, 7; ¶ [0037] discloses “Each LED subpixel includes an LED that is coupled to a driving circuit and a sensing circuit through a sensing output data line. A selection device selects between the driving circuit and the sensing output data line to electrically couple to the LED. Accordingly, the LED is capable of being driven to emit light or sense light.” ¶ [0081]);
at least one switch configured to provide the voltage to the field of diodes of the OLED screen (Sakariya at Fig. 7, in particular, selection device 603; ¶ [0061]);
a timing controller coupled to the at least one switch and configured to control the at least one switch during a measurement mode to reverse a polarity of one diode of the field of diodes to receive light and to detect the voltage in the opposite direction (Sakariya at Figs. 1-2, 7; ¶ [0081]);
a sample and hold amplifier configured to receive the voltage from the field of diodes in the measurement mode, the received voltage indicative of an ambient light level next to the field of diodes (Sakariya at Figs. 1-2, sense receiver 115; ¶ [0051] discloses “In embodiments, the non-forward bias voltage 228 and sensing output data 230 flow through the same physical line. The sense receiver 115 may interpret the sensing output data 230 with sensing circuitry, such as, but not limited to, analog to digital converters, voltage samplers or comparators, current samplers or comparators, and charge amplifiers to form sense data 116. Thereafter, the sense receiver 115 relays corresponding sense data 116 to the sense timing controller 121.” A sample and hold circuit is necessarily present in an analog to digital converter);1 and
a controller configured to provide a brightness adjustment based on the indicated ambient light level as determined from the received voltage at the OLED screen in the opposite direction (Sakariya at Figs. 6R, steps 607-611).
As to claim 10, Sakariya discloses a display system for visually presenting information, comprising:
an organic light emitting diode (OLED) screen including a field of diodes (Sakariya at Figs. 1-2; ¶ [0035], [0060]) to provide voltage to the screen to emit light in one direction and receive light and detect voltage in an opposite direction (Sakariya at Figs. 2, 7; ¶ [0037] discloses “Each LED subpixel includes an LED that is coupled to a driving circuit and a sensing circuit through a sensing output data line. A selection device selects between the driving circuit and the sensing output data line to electrically couple to the LED. Accordingly, the LED is capable of being driven to emit light or sense light.” ¶ [0081]);
a controller configured to switch polarity of at least one diode of the field of diodes to receive light and detect the voltage in the opposite direction (Sakariya at Fig. 7, in particular, selection device 603; ¶ [0061]);
an amplifier configured to receive the voltage from the at least one diode of the field of diodes in a measurement mode, the received voltage indicative of an ambient light level next to the field of diodes (Sakariya at Figs. 1-2, sense receiver 115; ¶ [0051] discloses “In embodiments, the non-forward bias voltage 228 and sensing output data 230 flow through the same physical line. The sense receiver 115 may interpret the sensing output data 230 with sensing circuitry, such as, but not limited to, analog to digital converters, voltage samplers or comparators, current samplers or comparators, and charge amplifiers to form sense data 116. Thereafter, the sense receiver 115 relays corresponding sense data 116 to the sense timing controller 121.” A sample and hold circuit is a necessarily present of an analog to digital converter); 2 and
a controller configured to provide a brightness adjustment based on the ambient light level as determined from the received voltage at the screen in the opposite direction (Sakariya at Figs. 6R, steps 607-611).
As to claim 11, Sakariya discloses the display system of claim 10, further comprising: at least one switch configured to provide the voltage to the field of diodes of the screen (Sakariya at Fig. 7, in particular, selection device 603; ¶ [0061]).
As to claim 12, Sakariya discloses the display system of claim 11, further comprising a timing controller coupled to the at least one switch and configured to open the switch during the measurement mode to reverse the polarity of one of the diodes of the field of diode to receive light and detect voltage in the opposite direction (Sakariya at Figs. 1-2, 7; ¶ [0081]).
As to claim 13, Sakariya discloses the display system of claim 12, wherein the amplifier is a sample and hold amplifier configured to receive the voltages from the field of diodes in the measurement mode, the received voltage indicative of the ambient light level next to the field of diodes (Sakariya at Figs. 1-2, sense receiver 115; ¶ [0051] discloses “In embodiments, the non-forward bias voltage 228 and sensing output data 230 flow through the same physical line. The sense receiver 115 may interpret the sensing output data 230 with sensing circuitry, such as, but not limited to, analog to digital converters, voltage samplers or comparators, current samplers or comparators, and charge amplifiers to form sense data 116. Thereafter, the sense receiver 115 relays corresponding sense data 116 to the sense timing controller 121.” A sample and hold circuit is a necessarily present in an analog to digital converter).3
Claims 2, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakariya (US 2015/0348504 A1, Published December 3, 2015) in view of Zhang (US 2020/0227005 A1, Published July 16, 2020).
As to claim 2, Sakariya discloses the display system of claim 1.
Sakariya does not expressly disclose that the screen includes a plurality of areas of the screen each having a field of diodes, where the field of diodes in one area is adjusted independently of another field of diodes of another area based on the indicated ambient light level at that area.
However, Zhang does that the screen includes a plurality of areas of the screen each having a field of diodes, where the field of diodes in one area is adjusted independently of another field of diodes of another area based on the indicated ambient light level at that area (Zhang at Figs. 2, 14, in particular, Step S207. In addition, Examiner takes an official notice that local dimming is well-known in the art).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Zhang discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Zhang for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Zhang at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 14, Sakariya discloses the display system of claim 10.
Sakariya does not disclose that the screen includes a plurality of areas thereof, each having a field of diodes, where the field of diodes in one area is adjusted independently of another field of diodes of another area based on the indicated ambient light level at that area.
However, Zhang does disclose that the screen includes a plurality of areas thereof, each having a field of diodes, where the field of diodes in one area is adjusted independently of another field of diodes of another area based on the indicated ambient light level at that area (Zhang at Figs. 2, 14, in particular, Step S207. In addition, Examiner takes an official notice that local dimming is well-known in the art).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Zhang discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Zhang for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Zhang at ¶ [0005]).
Claims 3, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakariya and Zhang as applied to claims 2, 14 respectively above, and in further view of Zhang2 (US 2024/0312397 A1, Filed June 25, 2021).
As to claim 3, the combination of Sakariya and Zhang discloses the display system of claim 2.
The combination does not disclose that the plurality of areas of the screen includes four quadrants.
However, Zhang2 discloses the plurality of areas of the screen includes four quadrants (Zhang2 at Fig. 4).
The combination of Sakariya and Zhang discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Zhang2 discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Sakariya and Zhang the teachings of Zhang2 for the predictable result of adjusting brightness based human body position (Zhang2 at ¶ [0019]).
As to claim 15, the combination of Sakariya and Zhang discloses the display system of claim 14.
The combination does not disclose that the plurality of areas of the screen includes four quadrants.
However, Zhang2 discloses the plurality of areas of the screen includes four quadrants (Zhang2 at Fig. 4).
The combination of Sakariya and Zhang discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Zhang2 discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Sakariya and Zhang the teachings of Zhang2 for the predictable result of adjusting brightness based human body position (Zhang2 at ¶ [0019]).
Claims 4-9, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakariya (US 2015/0348504 A1, Published December 3, 2015) in view of Drzaic (US 2020/0226973 A1, Published July 16, 2020).
As to claim 4, Sakariya discloses the display system of claim 1.
Sakariya does not disclose that the brightness adjustment is based on a content to be displayed on the screen.
However, Drzaic does disclose that the brightness adjustment is based on a content to be displayed on the screen (Drzaic at Figs. 4-5, Application type 42).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 5, the combination of Sakariya and Drzaic discloses the display system of claim 4, wherein the content is determined based at least in part on emitted colors of the field of diodes (Drzaic at ¶ [0066]).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 6, the combination of Sakariya and Drzaic discloses the display system of claim 5, wherein the emitted colors of the field of diodes correspond to objects within the content (Drzaic at ¶ [0068]).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 7, the combination of Sakariya and Drzaic discloses the display system of claim 1, wherein the brightness adjustment is based on content being displayed and the ambient light level (Drzaic at Fig. 4).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Sakariya and Drzaic discloses the display system of claim 1, wherein the brightness adjustment is based on an emitted color of the diode (Drzaic at ¶ [0060]).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 9, the combination of Sakariya and Drzaic discloses the display system of claim 1, wherein the brightness adjustment is based on an emitted color of the diode and the ambient light level (Drzaic at Figs. 4, 9).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 16, Sakariya discloses the display system of claim 10.
Sakariya does not disclose that the brightness adjustment is based on a content to be displayed on the screen.
However, Drzaic does disclose that the brightness adjustment is based on a content to be displayed on the screen (Drzaic at Figs. 4-5, Application type 42).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 17, the combination of Sakariya and Drzaic discloses the display system of claim 16, wherein the content is determined based at least in part on emitted colors of the field of diodes (Drzaic at ¶ [0066]).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010])
As to claim 18, the combination of Sakariya and Drzaic discloses the display system of claim 17, wherein the emitted colors of the diodes correspond to objects within the content (Drzaic at ¶ [0068]).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 19, the combination of Sakariya and Drzaic discloses the display system of claim 10, wherein the brightness adjustment is based on content being displayed and the ambient light level (Drzaic at Figs. 4, 9; ¶ [0068]).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010])..
As to claim 20, the combination of Sakariya and Drzaic discloses the display system of claim 10, wherein the brightness adjustment is based on an emitted color of the at least one diode of the field of diodes and the ambient light level (Drzaic at Figs. 4, 9).
Sakariya discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Drzaic discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sakariya the teachings of Drzaic for the predictable result of reducing power consumption (Drzaic at ¶ [0010]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choo (US 2018/0151656 A1, Published May 31, 2018) is made of record for its relevance to claims 1, 10 by its disclosure of the following at Figs. 1, 9:
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
07/31/2026
1 See also Soto in Conclusion section below.
2 See also Soto in Conclusion section below.
3 See also Soto in Conclusion section below.