DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/24/2025 and 01/16/2026 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/24/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “decoding device is configured to perform…” in claim 21 and “coding device is configured to perform…” in claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 12, and 18 recite the limitation “the predicted residual value of the first pixel point”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Dependent claims 2-11 and 13-14 fall together accordingly.
The term “just noticeable” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “just noticeable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-14, 18, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wee US 2019/0206092 A1, hereafter Wee.
Regarding claim 1, Wee discloses a picture decoding method, performed by a decoding device (image processing method and system; at the time when decoding is implemented, accordingly, inverse quantization can be performed with the quantization values) [title; 0006], comprising:
determining a predicted residual value of a pixel point according to a prediction manner of the pixel point (prediction value pred(Pk)) [0055], wherein the predicted residual value is configured to reflect a gradient of the pixel point (the pixel data of the pixels may be represented with the pixel values Pk or differential values dk. The differential value dk is defined as a difference value between the pixel value Pk of the corresponding pixel and a prediction value pred(Pk) of the corresponding pixel) [0055], the prediction manner is configured to indicate a position of one or more reconstructed pixel points referenced when performing prediction on a pixel point (the image processing system 100 check the pixel data of a influencing pixel used in determining the quantization value of the first pixel 14 among the surround pixels…around the first pixel 14) [0058], and the pixel point is any pixel point in a current coding block (processing order of first pixel S100) [FIG. 2];
determining a target quantization parameter (QP) value of a first pixel point according to the predicted residual value of the first pixel point (calculating quantization/inverse quantization value S120; the quantization value of the first pixel 14 can be defined as a given function with the pixel values…of influencing pixels…as parameters) [FIG. 2; 0070], wherein the first pixel point is a target pixel point in the current coding block (quantization is performed in the unit of a given block) [0005], and the target pixel point is a preset pixel point for adjusting the QP value (the influencing pixel may be a pixel set in advanced to be used in determining the quantization value of the first pixel 14) [0059]; and
performing dequantization on the first pixel point according to the target QP value of the first pixel point (quantization/inverse quantization S130) [FIG. 2].
Regarding claim 2, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wee further discloses the prediction manner comprises at least one of:
performing prediction according to reconstructed pixel points on a left side and a right side of the pixel point; performing prediction according to one or more reconstructed pixel points on the left side of the pixel point; or performing prediction according to one or more reconstructed pixel points on an upper side of the pixel point (as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4…given pixels 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 ;when the decoding is implemented…the pixel decoded before the first pixel 14, that is, at least one of the decoding precedent pixels is determined as the influencing pixel) [0055; 0061].
Regarding claim 3, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Wee further discloses the prediction manner of the pixel point is to perform prediction according to the reconstructed pixel points on the left side and the right side of the pixel point, and determining the predicted residual value of the pixel point according to the prediction manner of the pixel point comprises:
calculating a difference between a pixel value of a second pixel point and a pixel value of a third pixel point as a first difference value, or taking a residual value of the second pixel point after performing dequantization as the first difference value, wherein the second pixel point is a first reconstructed pixel point on a left side of the pixel point, and the third pixel point is a first reconstructed pixel point on an upper side of the second pixel point (as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4…given pixels 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are located on original images…the pixel data of the pixels may be represented with the pixel values Pk or differential values dk. The differential value dk is defined as a difference value between the pixel value Pk of the corresponding pixel and a prediction value pred(Pk) of the corresponding pixel; the image processing system 100 is not limited to using only the directly adjacent pixels to the first pixel 14 as the surrounding pixels around the first pixel 14; as shown in FIG. 5, the surrounding pixels around a given first pixel 20 are defined as the directly adjacent pixels) [0055; 0080; 0081];
calculating a difference between a pixel value of a fourth pixel point and a pixel value of a fifth pixel point as a second difference value, or taking a residual value of the fourth pixel point after performing dequantization as the second difference value, wherein the fourth pixel point is a first reconstructed pixel point on a right side of the pixel point, and the fifth pixel point is a first reconstructed pixel point on an upper side of the fourth pixel point (as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4…given pixels 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are located on original images…the pixel data of the pixels may be represented with the pixel values Pk or differential values dk. The differential value dk is defined as a difference value between the pixel value Pk of the corresponding pixel and a prediction value pred(Pk) of the corresponding pixel; the image processing system 100 is not limited to using only the directly adjacent pixels to the first pixel 14 as the surrounding pixels around the first pixel 14; as shown in FIG. 5, the surrounding pixels around a given first pixel 20 are defined as the directly adjacent pixels) [0055; 0080; 0081]; and
taking an average value of an absolute value of the first difference value and an absolute value of the second difference value as the predicted residual value of the pixel point (the image complexity can be processed using the average, deviation, or variance of differences between the pixel values (for example, abs(p1-p2), abs(p2-p3), abs(pe-p4), abs(p4-p1), here abs( ) means absolute value) of the influencing pixels) [0069].
Regarding claim 4, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Wee further discloses the prediction manner of the pixel point is to perform prediction according to the one or more reconstructed pixel points on the left side of the pixel point, and determining the predicted residual value of the pixel point according to the prediction manner of the pixel point comprises:
taking an absolute value of a difference between a pixel value of a tenth pixel point and a pixel value of an eleventh pixel point as the predicted residual value of the pixel point, wherein the tenth pixel point is a first reconstructed pixel point on a left side of the pixel point, and the eleventh pixel point is a first reconstructed pixel point on a left side of the tenth pixel point (as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4…given pixels 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are located on original images…the pixel data of the pixels may be represented with the pixel values Pk or differential values dk. The differential value dk is defined as a difference value between the pixel value Pk of the corresponding pixel and a prediction value pred(Pk) of the corresponding pixel; the image processing system 100 is not limited to using only the directly adjacent pixels to the first pixel 14 as the surrounding pixels around the first pixel 14; as shown in FIG. 5, the surrounding pixels around a given first pixel 20 are defined as the directly adjacent pixels) [0055; 0080; 0081]; or
taking an absolute value of a difference between the pixel value of the tenth pixel point and a pixel value of a twelfth pixel point as the predicted residual value of the pixel point, wherein the twelfth pixel point is a first reconstructed pixel point on an upper side of the tenth pixel point; or
taking an absolute value of a residual value of the tenth pixel point after performing dequantization as the predicted residual value of the pixel point (the image complexity can be processed using the average, deviation, or variance of differences between the pixel values (for example, abs(p1-p2), abs(p2-p3), abs(pe-p4), abs(p4-p1), here abs( ) means absolute value) of the influencing pixels) [0069].
Regarding claim 5, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Wee further discloses the prediction manner of the pixel point is to perform prediction according to the one or more reconstructed pixel points on the upper side of the pixel point, and determining the predicted residual value of the pixel point according to the prediction manner of the pixel point comprises:
taking an absolute value of a difference between a pixel value of a thirteenth pixel point and a pixel value of a fourteenth pixel point as the predicted residual value of the pixel point, wherein the thirteenth pixel point is a first reconstructed pixel point on an upper side of the pixel pixel point, and the fourteenth pixel point is a first reconstructed pixel point on an upper side of the thirteenth pixel point (as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4…given pixels 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are located on original images…the pixel data of the pixels may be represented with the pixel values Pk or differential values dk. The differential value dk is defined as a difference value between the pixel value Pk of the corresponding pixel and a prediction value pred(Pk) of the corresponding pixel; the image processing system 100 is not limited to using only the directly adjacent pixels to the first pixel 14 as the surrounding pixels around the first pixel 14; as shown in FIG. 5, the surrounding pixels around a given first pixel 20 are defined as the directly adjacent pixels) [0055; 0080; 0081]; or
taking an absolute value of a residual value of the thirteenth pixel point after performing dequantization as the predicted residual value of the pixel point (the image complexity can be processed using the average, deviation, or variance of differences between the pixel values (for example, abs(p1-p2), abs(p2-p3), abs(pe-p4), abs(p4-p1), here abs( ) means absolute value) of the influencing pixels) [0069].
Regarding claim 6, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wee further discloses the predicted residual value of the pixel point comprises:
a target value or an average value of target values, wherein the target value is a gradient of one or more reconstructed pixel points surrounding the pixel point, or the target value is an absolute value of the gradient of the one or more reconstructed pixel points surrounding the pixel point, or the target value is a residual value of the one or more reconstructed pixel points surrounding the(the image complexity can be processed using the average, deviation, or variance of differences between the pixel values (for example, abs(p1-p2), abs(p2-p3), abs(pe-p4), abs(p4-p1), here abs( ) means absolute value) of the influencing pixels) [0069].
Regarding claim 7, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wee further discloses determining a predicted QP value of the pixel point, wherein the predicted QP value of the pixel point is a QP value of the current coding block (so as to decode the first pixel 14, accordingly, the image processing system 100 performs a process for obtaining the pixel value P’k of the first pixel 14 as follows) [0090],
wherein determining the target QP value of the first pixel point according to the predicted residual value of the first pixel point comprises:
adjusting the predicted QP value of the first pixel point according to the predicted residual value of the first pixel point to obtain the target QP value of the first pixel point (if dk and pred(Pk) are obtained, accordingly the processing system 100 can obtain the pixel value P’k; the quantization value of the first pixel 14 is determined on the basis of the influencing pixels (for example, at least one of pixel 10, 11, 12, and 13); while the quantization is being implemented the quantization values of the given pixel is determined based on the pixel data of the influencing pixels…the quantization values of given pixel can be recognized in the same manner, and if quantization value of the given pixel is recognized, their inverse quantization can be implemented with the same values) [0092; 0093; 0094].
Regarding claim 8, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
Wee further discloses adjusting the predicted QP value of the first pixel point according to the predicted residual value of the first pixel point to obtain the target QP value of the first pixel point comprises:
in response to the predicted QP value of the first pixel point being greater than or equal to a first threshold and less than or equal to a second threshold and the predicted residual value of the first pixel point being less than or equal to a third threshold, adjusting the predicted QP value of the first pixel point to obtain the target QP value, wherein the target QP value is less than the predicted QP value (determine the quantization value in proportion to the image complexity of the area corresponding to the first pixel 14 and the influencing pixels) [0066]; and
otherwise, taking the predicted QP value of the first pixel point as the target QP value of the first pixel point (the quantization value of the first pixel 14 can be defined as a given function with the pixel values…of the influencing pixels…as parameters) [0070].
Regarding claim 12, Wee discloses a picture coding method, performed by a coding device (image processing method and system) [title], comprising:
determining a predicted residual value of a pixel point according to a prediction manner of the pixel point (prediction value pred(Pk)) [0055], wherein the predicted residual value is configured to reflect a gradient of the pixel point (the pixel data of the pixels may be represented with the pixel values Pk or differential values dk. The differential value dk is defined as a difference value between the pixel value Pk of the corresponding pixel and a prediction value pred(Pk) of the corresponding pixel) [0055], the prediction manner is configured to indicate a position of one or more reconstructed pixel points referenced when performing prediction on a pixel point (the image processing system 100 check the pixel data of a influencing pixel used in determining the quantization value of the first pixel 14 among the surround pixels…around the first pixel 14) [0058], and the pixel point is any pixel point in a current coding block (processing order of first pixel S100) [FIG. 2];
determining a target quantization parameter (QP) value of a first pixel point according to the predicted residual value of the first pixel point (calculating quantization/inverse quantization value S120; the quantization value of the first pixel 14 can be defined as a given function with the pixel values…of influencing pixels…as parameters) [FIG. 2; 0070], wherein the first pixel point is a target pixel point in the current coding block (quantization is performed in the unit of a given block) [0005], and the target pixel point is a preset pixel point for adjusting the QP value (the influencing pixel may be a pixel set in advanced to be used in determining the quantization value of the first pixel 14) [0059]; and
performing quantization on the first pixel point according to the target QP value of the first pixel point (quantization/inverse quantization S130) [FIG. 2].
Regarding claim 13, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Wee further discloses the predicted residual value of the pixel point comprises:
a target value or an average value of target values, wherein the target value is a gradient of one or more reconstructed pixel points surrounding the pixel point, or the target value is an absolute value of the gradient of the one or more reconstructed pixel points surrounding the pixel pixel point, or the target value is a residual value of the one or more reconstructed pixel points surrounding the pixel point after performing dequantization, or the target value is an absolute value of the residual value of the one or more reconstructed pixel points surrounding the pixel point after performing dequantization (the image complexity can be processed using the average, deviation, or variance of differences between the pixel values (for example, abs(p1-p2), abs(p2-p3), abs(pe-p4), abs(p4-p1), here abs( ) means absolute value) of the influencing pixels) [0069].
Regarding claim 14, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Wee further discloses determining a predicted QP value of the pixel point, wherein the predicted QP value of the pixel point is a QP value of the current coding block (so as to decode the first pixel 14, accordingly, the image processing system 100 performs a process for obtaining the pixel value P’k of the first pixel 14 as follows) [0090],;
wherein determining the target QP value of the first pixel point according to the predicted residual value of the first pixel point comprises:
adjusting the predicted QP value of the first pixel point according to the predicted residual value of the first pixel point to obtain the target QP value of the first pixel point (if dk and pred(Pk) are obtained, accordingly the processing system 100 can obtain the pixel value P’k; the quantization value of the first pixel 14 is determined on the basis of the influencing pixels (for example, at least one of pixel 10, 11, 12, and 13); while the quantization is being implemented the quantization values of the given pixel is determined based on the pixel data of the influencing pixels…the quantization values of given pixel can be recognized in the same manner, and if quantization value of the given pixel is recognized, their inverse quantization can be implemented with the same values) [0092; 0093; 0094].
Claim 18 is drawn to an electronic device adapted to implement the method of claim 1, and is therefore rejected in the same manner as above. However, the claim also recites a processor and a memory, which Wee also teaches (processor 110, memory 120) [FIG. 1].
Claim 20 is drawn to an electronic device adapted to implement the method of claim 12, and is therefore rejected in the same manner as above. However, the claims also recites a processor and a memory, which Wee also teaches (processor 110, memory 120) [FIG. 1].
Claim 21 is drawn to a coding system adapted to implement the method of claim 1, and is therefore rejected in the same manner as above. However, the claims also recite a coding device, which Wee also teaches (image processing system 100 refers to a data processing device capable of decoding and decoding an image) [0040].
Claim 22 is drawn to a coding system adapted to implement the method of claim 12, and is therefore rejected in the same manner as above. However, the claims also recite a decoding device, which Wee also teaches (image processing system 100 refers to a data processing device capable of decoding and decoding an image) [0040].
Computer readable medium claim 23 is drawn to the instructions corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore, computer readable medium claim 23 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of unpatentability as used above.
Computer readable medium claim 24 is drawn to the instructions corresponding to the method of claim 12. Therefore, computer readable medium claim 24 corresponds to method claim 12 and is rejected for the same reasons of unpatentability as used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wee in view of Lin et al. US 2021/0337205 A1, hereafter Lin.
Regarding claim 9, Wee addresses all of the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
However, Wee fails to explicitly disclose the first threshold is a QP value corresponding to just noticeable distortion, and the second threshold is an adjustable maximum QP value.
Lin, in an analogous environment, discloses the first threshold is a QP value corresponding to just noticeable distortion, and the second threshold is an adjustable maximum QP value (determine, based on the determined gradient value and the gradient direction complexity, the JND threshold corresponding to each pixel point in the at least one pixel block S204; determine a block JND threshold corresponding to each pixel block, based on the JND threshold corresponding to each pixel point in the at least one pixel block S 205) [FIG. 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the threshold, as disclosed by Lin, with the invention disclosed by Wee, the motivation being improving speed [0039].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Galpin et al. US 2018/0255302 A1 discloses adjusting a quantization parameter for encoding and decoding
Conclusion
STEFAN GADOMSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2485
/STEFAN GADOMSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485