DETAILED ACTION
The present office action represents a final action on the merits.
Priority
This application claims the priority date of foreign application KR10-2022-0094921 dated July 29, 2022 and 371 of PCT/KR2023/009964 dated July 12, 2023.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 31, 51-52, and 61 are amended, Claim 50 is cancelled, and Claims 1, 31-36, 44-47, 51-53, 55-58, and 61 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 31-36, 44-47, 51-53, 55-58, and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is drawn to a method for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., process). Claims 31-36, 44-47, 51-53, 55-58 are drawn to a device for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., machine). Claim 61 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., machine).
Claim 1 recites a method for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group and a test result notification in a computing apparatus using a memory, a processor, and one or more programs stored on the memory and configured to be executed by the processor, the method comprising:
generating, by the processor, a community group including a plurality of users;
providing, by the processor, a test information for the infectious disease test to the plurality of users included in the community group;
receiving, by the processor, test results of the infectious disease test conducted on the plurality of users;
generating, by the processor, an integrated test result of the community group using the test results, wherein the integrated test result includes infectious disease statistical information of the community group;
providing, by the processor, the integrated test result to a health manager of the community group; and
providing, by the processor, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group when the test results and/or the integrated test results for the plurality of users belonging to the community group are not less than a threshold value.
Claims 31-36, 44-47, 51-53, 55-58 recite a device for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group and a test result notification, the device comprising:
a memory configured to store at least one instruction; and
a processor;
wherein the at least one instruction is executed by the processor, to:
generate a community group including a plurality of users;
provide a test information for the infectious disease test to the plurality of users included in the community group;
receive test results of the infectious disease test conducted on the plurality of users;
generate an integrated test result of the community group using the test results, wherein the integrated test result includes infectious disease statistical information of the community group;
provide the integrated test result to a health manager of the community group and
provide, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group when the test results and/or the integrated test results for the plurality of users belonging to the community group are not less than a threshold value.
Claim 61 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group and a test result notification, the computer program configured to perform:
generate a community group including a plurality of users;
provide a test information for the infectious disease test to the plurality of users included in the community group;
receive test results of the infectious disease test conducted on the plurality of users;
generate an integrated test result of the community group using the test results, wherein the integrated test result includes infectious disease statistical information of the community group;
provide the integrated test result to a health manager of the community group; and
provide, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group when the test results and/or the integrated test results for the plurality of users belonging to the community group are not less than a threshold value.
The bolded limitations, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a certain method of organizing human activity, but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g., computing apparatus, memory, or processor, etc.). The underlined limitations are not part of the identified abstract idea (the method of organizing human activity) and are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Dependent claims 32-36, 44-47, 51-53, and 55-58 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide an inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination. These limitations only serve to further limit the abstract idea (or contain the same additional elements found in the independent claim), and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 1, 31, and 61.
The dependent claims include additional limitations, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 1, 31, and 61.
The additional elements from claims 1 and 31 include:
memory (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
processor (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements from claim 1 include:
a computing apparatus (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
one or more programs stored on the memory and configured to be executed by the processor (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements from claim 31 include:
a device (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
store at least one instruction (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements from claim 61 include:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group and a test result notification, the computer program configured to perform (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
These additional elements, in the independent claims are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e., the limitations not identified as part of the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
Amount to mere instructions to apply an exception – for example, the recitation of “a processor”, “a memory”, “a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium”, and “a computing apparatus”, which amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea e.g., see Specification Paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0017]-[0021], [0054], and [0160] (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Furthermore, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception because, the additional elements (i.e., the elements other than the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrated by:
The Specification discloses that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in nature (i.e., the Specification Paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0017]-[0021], [0054], and [0160] discloses that the additional elements (i.e., a processor, a memory, a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, and a computing apparatus) comprise a plurality of different types of generic computing systems that are configured to perform generic computer functions that are well understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry (i.e., a computer);
Relevant court decisions: The following example of court decision demonstrating well understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g., see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II): Receiving medication use data, e.g., see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec – similarly, the current invention receives patient test results.
Dependent claims 32-36, 44-47, 51-53, and 55-58 include other limitations, but none of these functions are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to “significantly more” than the above identified abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
The application is an attempt to organize human activity, using a method and computing apparatus for testing community group infectious disease and notifying test results, which is not patentable. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claims 1, 31-36, 44-47, 51-53, 55-58, and 61 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 31-34, 44-46, 53, 55-58, and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0395419 A1) in view of Luthra (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0298416 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jain discloses a method for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group and a test result notification in a computing apparatus using a memory, a processor, and one or more programs stored on the memory and configured to be executed by the processor, the method comprising (Paragraphs [0018]-[0022], [0034], [0054], [0161] discuss methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer programs encoded on computer-storage media, for automated contact tracing, the system can evaluate the risks and needs of different communities and can use the information to provide contact to individuals involved, for example, in response to determining that a person was in contact with someone who has a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19, the system can send a notification or warning to the person, instructions or recommendations to the person also, such as recommending a disease testing kit.):
generating, by the processor, a community group including a plurality of users (Paragraphs [0022]-[0024] discuss the system can obtain monitoring data from individuals on an ongoing or continual basis using digital platforms, as well as obtain aggregated data regarding communities and the effects of a disease, provide diagnostic testing across a community, can schedule doctor appointments or laboratory tests, etc.);
providing, by the processor, a test information for the infectious disease test to the plurality of users included in the community group (Paragraphs [0016]-[0020] discuss the system can combine disease status information gathered from multiple people and evaluate the risks and needs of different communities.);
receiving, by the processor, test results of the infectious disease test conducted on the plurality of users (Paragraphs [0012] and [0016] discuss the system can trigger various prompts or requests for information from users, for example, in response to determining that a person was in contact with someone who has a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19, the system can send a notification or warning to the person, send instructions or recommendations recommending a disease testing kit, and receive information about disease status for an individual, e.g., a positive COVID-19 test result.);
generating, by the processor, an integrated test result of the community group using the test results, wherein the integrated test result includes infectious disease statistical information of the community group (Paragraphs [0017]-[0022] and [0256] discuss the system can generate prediction after gathering disease status from multiple people, evaluate the risks and needs of the communities and statistical models and rule-based models can be used, the computer system can analyze the examples data about many users in a database to determine relationships between data factors and COVID-19 disease outcomes and conditions.);
providing, by the processor, the integrated test result to a health manager of the community group (Paragraph [0385] and FIG. 12 discuss provide infection information and recommendations for a community can be provided to users associated with a community, including researchers studying the disease, doctors treating patients in the community, government leaders in the community, business owners for businesses having locations in the community, and so on.); and
providing, by the processor, information when the test results and/or the integrated test results for the plurality of users belonging to the community group are not less than a threshold value (Paragraphs [0064], [0104]-[0108], and [0161] discuss instructions that when executed by data processing apparatus, identifying locations in community that have a corresponding disease transmission score that satisfies a threshold; and generating data that designates the identified locations as regions of elevated potential for disease transmission, comparing the output with a threshold.).
Jain does not explicitly disclose:
providing, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group.
Luthra teaches:
providing, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group (Paragraphs [0037]-[0038] discuss enable entities or persons, referred to herein as verifiers, to verify whether a person has recently tested negative for an infectious disease (e.g., a pathogen, a virus, a bacteria, etc.) before granting the person access to a particular location or area, verifiers may include airlines, offices, malls, libraries, sporting arenas, schools, theatres, retailers, utilities, employers, governments, facility managers, and/or any other entity or person that desires to control access to a particular location and a user, may be tested for a particular infectious disease. If the results are negative, a digital pass (which may also be referred to as an electronic pass, a digital health pass, an electronic health pass, a health pass, a digital health card, an electronic health card, or a health card) is generated that can be stored on the user’s electronic device, such as, for example, his/her smartphone, smartwatch, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain to include, providing, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group, as taught by Luthra, in order to enable testers to administer tests and record results efficiently, manage throughput of employees in a reasonable fashion, and maintain the safety of employees awaiting testing and results. (Luthra Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 31, Jain discloses device for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group and a test result notification, the device comprising (Paragraphs [0579], [0582], and [0587] discuss selecting and communicating by the one or more computers a recommended disease management action for individuals and/or communities, for example, the condition of any user having an exposure score over 20 may be encouraged to take a test for COVID-19 and the system can provide information about exposure at the community level and provide the information to community health organizations.):
a memory configured to store at least one instruction (Paragraph [0789] discusses a processor will receive instructions and data from a read only memory or a random access memory or both. The essential elements of a computer are a processor for performing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data.); and
a processor (Paragraph [0789] discusses a processor.);
wherein the at least one instruction is executed by the processor, to (Paragraph [0789] discusses a processor will receive instructions and data from a read only memory or a random access memory or both. The essential elements of a computer are a processor for performing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data.):
generate a community group including a plurality of users (Paragraph [0020] discusses the system can evaluate the risks and needs of different communities to customize various disease-related measurements, predictions, and recommendations for the different communities and the communities can be different geographic regions, and fine-grained recommendations can be made for areas such as counties, cities, zip codes, or neighborhoods using individuals in the community.);
provide a test information for the infectious disease test to the plurality of users included in the community group (Paragraph [0019] discusses once contacts between individuals are identified, the system can use the information to provide contact to individuals involved, for example, in response to determining that a person was in contact with someone who has a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19, the system can send a notification or warning to the person, instructions or recommendations, such as instructing a period of isolation following the contact, recommending a visit to a doctor, recommending a disease testing kit.);
receive test results of the infectious disease test conducted on the plurality of users (Paragraphs [0012] and [0016] discuss the system can trigger various prompts or requests for information from users, for example, in response to determining that a person was in contact with someone who has a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19, the system can send a notification or warning to the person, send instructions or recommendations recommending a disease testing kit, and receive information about disease status for an individual, e.g., a positive COVID-19 test result.);
generate an integrated test result of the community group using the test results, wherein the integrated test result includes infectious disease statistical information of the community group (Paragraphs [0017]-[0022] and [0256] discuss the system can generate prediction after gathering disease status from multiple people, evaluate the risks and needs of the communities and statistical models and rule-based models can be used, the computer system can analyze the examples data about many users in a database to determine relationships between data factors and COVID-19 disease outcomes and conditions.);
provide the integrated test result to a health manager of the community group (Paragraph [0385] and FIG. 12 discuss provide infection information and recommendations for a community can be provided to users associated with a community, including researchers studying the disease, doctors treating patients in the community, government leaders in the community, business owners for businesses having locations in the community, and so on.); and
provide, information when the test results and/or the integrated test results for the plurality of users belonging to the community group are not less than a threshold value (Paragraphs [0064], [0104]-[0108], and [0161] discuss instructions that when executed by data processing apparatus, identifying locations in community that have a corresponding disease transmission score that satisfies a threshold; and generating data that designates the identified locations as regions of elevated potential for disease transmission, comparing the output with a threshold.).
Jain does not explicitly disclose:
provide, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group.
Luthra teaches:
provide, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group (Paragraphs [0037]-[0038] discuss enable entities or persons, referred to herein as verifiers, to verify whether a person has recently tested negative for an infectious disease (e.g., a pathogen, a virus, a bacteria, etc.) before granting the person access to a particular location or area, verifiers may include airlines, offices, malls, libraries, sporting arenas, schools, theatres, retailers, utilities, employers, governments, facility managers, and/or any other entity or person that desires to control access to a particular location and a user, may be tested for a particular infectious disease. If the results are negative, a digital pass (which may also be referred to as an electronic pass, a digital health pass, an electronic health pass, a health pass, a digital health card, an electronic health card, or a health card) is generated that can be stored on the user’s electronic device, such as, for example, his/her smartphone, smartwatch, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain to include, provide, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group, as taught by Luthra, in order to enable testers to administer tests and record results efficiently, manage throughput of employees in a reasonable fashion, and maintain the safety of employees awaiting testing and results. (Luthra Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 32, Jain discloses wherein the at least one instruction executed by the processor further comprises providing, to the health manager, an infectious disease comparison information obtained by comparing an infection index generated using the test results with an infection index generated using infectious disease test results for at least one of an administrative district including the community group and another community (Paragraph [0385]-[0378], [0423], and FIG. 12 discuss provide infection information and recommendations for a community can be provided to users associated with a community, including researchers studying the disease, doctors treating patients in the community, government leaders in the community, business owners for businesses having locations in the community, and so on; the system can access data for many different individuals, not only those in the specific community of interest, for example, while information about the those who reside in a community has a high impact on the community, the health and behavior of outside visitors the community has an impact, as does the health and behavior of those in outside areas where community members visit.).
Regarding claim 33, Jain discloses wherein the infection index includes at least one of an infection rate (positive rate) for the infectious disease, a basic reproduction number for the infectious disease, local safety index for the infectious disease, and contagion index for the infectious disease (Paragraph [0272] discusses models used to predict infection take into account infection rates in the user’s community, etc.).
Regarding claim 34, Jain discloses wherein the test information includes at least one selected from a group consisting of test reception request information, sampling method information, sampling available time information, sampling place information, test schedule information, questionnaire and medical institution reservation request information for the infectious disease test (Paragraphs [0019], [0036], [0199], and [0255] discuss the system can send instructions or recommendations to the person also, such as instructing a period of isolation following the contact, recommending a visit to a doctor, recommending a disease testing kit, selecting medical devices and settings for them, and so on.).
Regarding claim 44, Jain discloses wherein the integrated test result includes an infectious disease statistical information for the community group generated using the test results corresponding to the plurality of users (Paragraphs [0016]-[0017], [0281] and [0387]-[390] discuss obtain disease status of individuals, test results and community data indicates disease measures for the community and monitoring data comes in (e.g., through sensor data for the user and self-reported data for the user), and community statistical reports for COVID-19 are updated.).
Regarding claim 45, Jain discloses wherein the infectious disease statistical information is generated by the infectious disease test results and previous infectious disease test results to provide at least one of i) information on a change in a positive rate of the infectious disease test over time, ii) information on a positive rate prediction using the change in the positive rate, and iii) information on a positive rate prediction using a cycle threshold (Ct) value of the infectious disease test over time (Paragraphs [0017] and [0389] discuss system can use information gathered about the disease status of individuals (e.g., positive test results, disease symptoms, disease status predictions generated using machine learning models, etc.) in combination with location tracking data to identify instances where COVID-19 may have spread or has actually spread; community data can be collected on an ongoing basis, such as results of COVID—19 testing, predictions, transmission rate metrics, and more, the community data can indicate periodic (e.g., daily) counts of individuals in the community who have (i) been diagnosed with COVID-19.).
Regarding claim 46, Jain discloses wherein the integrated test result further includes the test results for the plurality of users (Paragraphs [0389] discuss community data can indicated periodic (e.g., daily) counts of individuals in the community who have been diagnosed with COVID-19 and results of COVID-19 testing.).
Regarding claim 47, Jain does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one instruction executed by the processor further comprises generating return time point information when a previously positive user turns out the negative for the infectious disease test result and then to the community group.
Luthra teaches:
wherein the at least one instruction executed by the processor further comprises generating return time point information when a previously positive user turns out the negative for the infectious disease test result and then to the community group (Paragraphs [0030], [0041]-[0042], and [0054] discuss a processing platform structured to execute the instructions and a digital pass management system where the verifier is a workplace that desires to keep their employees safe, the verifier may require that the employees have a valid digital pass every day the employees enter the workplace, the digital pass expires after a certain period of time after being tested (e.g., 5 days, 7 days, 10 days, etc.), therefore, the employees may need to be tested multiple times and/or on a regular basis, the verifier organization can send the reports to a local, state, or federal government agency (e.g., the Center for Disease Control (CDC)), another business, another verifier organization, and/or any other entity (e.g., a parent-teacher association).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain to include, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the processor further comprises generating return time point information when a previously positive user turns out the negative for the infectious disease test result and then to the community group, as taught by Luthra, in order to enable testers to administer tests and record results efficiently, manage throughput of employees in a reasonable fashion, and maintain the safety of employees awaiting testing and results. (Luthra Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 51, Jain discloses wherein the at least one instruction executed by the processor further comprises displaying the data on a digital map provided by the computing apparatus using a location information on the community group (Paragraphs [0161], [0264], [0302], and FIGS. 15A-15C discuss instructions that when executed by data processing apparatus show examples of associating disease risks with locations, community level data, combined with map data describing regions, the community disease measures can include values quantifying cases of a disease, hospitalizations for the disease, deaths from the disease, rates or percentages of positive and negative tests for the disease, etc.).
Jain does not explicitly disclose:
displaying the generated certificate on a digital map provided by the computing apparatus using a location information on the community group.
Luthra teaches:
displaying the generated certificate on a digital map provided by the computing apparatus using a location information on the community group (Paragraphs [0037], [0197] discuss machine readable instruction executed by processor circuitry and a processing platform structured to execute the instructions and systems, methods, and articles of manufacture that enable entities or persons, referred to herein as verifiers, to verify whether a person has recently tested negative for an infectious disease (e.g., a pathogen, a virus, a bacteria, etc.), if the results are negative, a digital pass (which may also be referred to as an electronic pass, a digital health pass, an electronic health pass, a health pass, a digital health card, an electronic health card, or a health card) is generated that can be stored on the user’s electronic device, such as, for example, his/her smartphone, smartwatch, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain to include, displaying the generated certificate on a digital map provided by the computing apparatus using a location information on the community group, as taught by Luthra, in order to enable testers to administer tests and record results efficiently, manage throughput of employees in a reasonable fashion, and maintain the safety of employees awaiting testing and results. (Luthra Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 52, Jain discloses wherein the at least one instruction executed by the processor further comprises providing, to an external computing apparatus, user data and the location information on the community group so that the user data is displayed on a digital map provided by the external computing apparatus (Paragraphs [0161], [0264], [0302], and FIGS. 15A-15C discuss instructions that when executed by data processing apparatus show examples of associating disease risks with locations, community level data, combined with map data describing regions, the community disease measures can include values quantifying cases of a disease, hospitalizations for the disease, deaths from the disease, rates or percentages of positive and negative tests for the disease, etc.).
Jain does not explicitly disclose:
a certificate information including the generated certificate and the location information on the community group so that the certificate is displayed on a digital map provided by the external computing apparatus.
Luthra teaches:
a certificate information including the generated certificate and the location information on the community group so that the certificate is displayed on a digital map provided by the external computing apparatus (Paragraphs [0037], [0197] discuss machine readable instruction executed by processor circuitry and a processing platform structured to execute the instructions and systems, methods, and articles of manufacture that enable entities or persons, referred to herein as verifiers, to verify whether a person has recently tested negative for an infectious disease (e.g., a pathogen, a virus, a bacteria, etc.), if the results are negative, a digital pass (which may also be referred to as an electronic pass, a digital health pass, an electronic health pass, a health pass, a digital health card, an electronic health card, or a health card) is generated that can be stored on the user’s electronic device, such as, for example, his/her smartphone, smartwatch, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain to include, a certificate information including the generated certificate and the location information on the community group so that the certificate is displayed on a digital map provided by the external computing apparatus, as taught by Luthra, in order to enable testers to administer tests and record results efficiently, manage throughput of employees in a reasonable fashion, and maintain the safety of employees awaiting testing and results. (Luthra Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 53, Jain discloses wherein in the generating of the community group, the community group is generated using personal information on the plurality of users (Paragraphs [0020] discuss communities can be different geographic regions, and fine-grained recommendations can be made for areas such as counties, cities, zip codes, or neighborhoods; for example, if a trip is planned for a family, a group of families, a business or other organization, etc., the system can detect a high risk of disease exposure and can take a disease management action in response.).
Regarding claim 55, Jain discloses wherein the at least one instruction executed by the processor further comprises, prior to the providing of the test information, providing, to at least one of the plurality of users or the health manager, a plurality of infectious disease test items, for selection of an infectious disease test to be performed in the community group (Paragraphs [0019]-[0020], [0161] discuss instructions that when executed by data processing apparatus, the system can send instructions or recommendations to the person, such as instructing a period of isolation following the contact, recommending a visit to a doctor, recommending a disease testing kit, and so on, the system can evaluate the risks and needs of different communities to customize various disease-related measurements, predictions, and recommendations.); and
receiving, from at least one of the plurality of users or the health manager, a selected test item from the plurality of infectious disease test items (Paragraphs [0036], [0051], and [0058] discuss monitoring data and predictions can be used to select a testing kit for the user.).
Regarding claim 56, Jain discloses wherein the infectious disease test items include at least one selected from a group consisting of COVID-19, influenza, 2022 monkeypox, sexually transmitted infections, human papillomavirus infections, respiratory infections, gastrointestinal tract infections, tuberculosis, drug resistance, and meningitis (Paragraph [0058] discusses selecting, from among a plurality of COVID-19 testing kits, a testing kit for the particular individual.).
Regarding claim 57, Jain discloses wherein the infectious disease test is a molecular diagnostics test (Paragraphs [0769] and [0772] discuss data collected can include lab and diagnostic data, e.g., blood test results, tissue sample, DNA.).
Regarding claim 58, Jain discloses wherein the community group is at least one selected from a group consisting of an educational institution, a childcare institution, a postnatal care center, a company, a car sharing service, a transportation, a religious facility, a restaurant, a travel agency, a nursing home, a performance facility, a sports facility, and a shopping mall (Paragraph [0411] discusses a community (e.g., school class, business, sports team, etc.).).
Regarding claim 61, Jain discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for processing a request for an infectious disease test for a community group and a test result notification, the computer program configured to perform (Claims 16-20, Paragraphs [0579], [0582], and [0587] discuss one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions, selecting and communicating by the one or more computers a recommended disease management action for individuals and/or communities, for example, the condition of any user having an exposure score over 20 may be encouraged to take a test for COVID-19 and the system can provide information about exposure at the community level and provide the information to community health organizations.):
generate a community group including a plurality of users (Paragraph [0020] discusses the system can evaluate the risks and needs of different communities to customize various disease-related measurements, predictions, and recommendations for the different communities and the communities can be different geographic regions, and fine-grained recommendations can be made for areas such as counties, cities, zip codes, or neighborhoods using individuals in the community.);
provide a test information for the infectious disease test to the plurality of users included in the community group (Paragraph [0019] discusses once contacts between individuals are identified, the system can use the information to provide contact to individuals involved, for example, in response to determining that a person was in contact with someone who has a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19, the system can send a notification or warning to the person, instructions or recommendations, such as instructing a period of isolation following the contact, recommending a visit to a doctor, recommending a disease testing kit.);
receive test results of the infectious disease test conducted on the plurality of users (Paragraphs [0012] and [0016] discuss the system can trigger various prompts or requests for information from users, for example, in response to determining that a person was in contact with someone who has a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19, the system can send a notification or warning to the person, send instructions or recommendations recommending a disease testing kit, and receive information about disease status for an individual, e.g., a positive COVID-19 test result.);
generate an integrated test result of the community group using the test results, wherein the integrated test result includes infectious disease statistical information of the community group (Paragraphs [0017]-[0022], [0256] discuss the system can generate prediction after gathering disease status from multiple people, evaluate the risks and needs of the communities and statistical models and rule-based models can be used, the computer system can analyze the examples data about many users in a database to determine relationships between data factors and COVID-19 disease outcomes and conditions.);
provide the integrated test result to a health manager of the community group (Paragraph [0385] and FIG. 12 discuss provide infection information and recommendations for a community can be provided to users associated with a community, including researchers studying the disease, doctors treating patients in the community, government leaders in the community, business owners for businesses having locations in the community, and so on.); and
provide, information when the test results and/or the integrated test results for the plurality of users belonging to the community group are not less than a threshold value (Paragraphs [0064], [0104]-[0108], and [0161] discuss instructions that when executed by data processing apparatus, identifying locations in community that have a corresponding disease transmission score that satisfies a threshold; and generating data that designates the identified locations as regions of elevated potential for disease transmission, comparing the output with a threshold.).
Jain does not explicitly disclose:
provide, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group.
Luthra teaches:
provide, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group (Paragraphs [0037]-[0038] discuss enable entities or persons, referred to herein as verifiers, to verify whether a person has recently tested negative for an infectious disease (e.g., a pathogen, a virus, a bacteria, etc.) before granting the person access to a particular location or area, verifiers may include airlines, offices, malls, libraries, sporting arenas, schools, theatres, retailers, utilities, employers, governments, facility managers, and/or any other entity or person that desires to control access to a particular location and a user, may be tested for a particular infectious disease. If the results are negative, a digital pass (which may also be referred to as an electronic pass, a digital health pass, an electronic health pass, a health pass, a digital health card, an electronic health card, or a health card) is generated that can be stored on the user’s electronic device, such as, for example, his/her smartphone, smartwatch, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain to include, provide, to the health manager, a certificate for infectious disease management or safety for the community group, as taught by Luthra, in order to enable testers to administer tests and record results efficiently, manage throughput of employees in a reasonable fashion, and maintain the safety of employees awaiting testing and results. (Luthra Paragraph [0042]).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Luthra and in further view of White (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0391041 A1).
Regarding claim 35, Jain discloses wherein the sampling method information relates to a method for collecting samples from the plurality of users for the infectious disease test, and includes information that allows the plurality of users to select iii) the plurality of users directly collecting samples, or information provided to the plurality of users about a pre-selected sampling method (Paragraphs [0278], [0319] discuss the system can make progressive changes in monitoring, including through sensor data collection, providing surveys and direct user interactions with digital devices, requesting laboratory tests or COVID-19 tests (e.g., nasal swab test, antibody tests, etc.; the delivery agent can consider actions such as the ordering of or registration of a user for laboratory tests (e.g., blood test, urine test, etc.), sending the user a disease testing kit to detect the disease).
Jain does not explicitly disclose:
one of i) the plurality of users visiting the medical institution, ii) a sample collector visiting a location where the plurality of users are located.
White teaches:
one of i) the plurality of users visiting the medical institution, ii) a sample collector visiting a location where the plurality of users are located (Paragraphs [0043]-[0044] discuss a test being administered may be performed at a medical facility or point of care, at a third-party testing location (the entrance to a person's place of employment, an educational facility, an entertainment venue, a testing kiosk, etc.), or the test could be performed at home or other private location by the person themself taking the test.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain to include, one of i) the plurality of users visiting the medical institution, ii) a sample collector visiting a location where the plurality of users are located, as taught by White, in order to provide safe access by user to venues based on valid, accurate, and verifiable test sample results. (White Paragraph [0096]).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Luthra and in further view of White and Blanco (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0174943 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Jain discloses wherein, in the sampling method information, iii) when the plurality of users directly collecting samples is selected, location information is received from each of the plurality of users and the received location information is set as a delivery location of a sampling kit (Paragraphs [0011] and [0322] discuss obtain location tracking data for users and causing an item to be delivered to the user, for example, a disease testing kit, a medical monitoring device, a laboratory test sample collection kit, an at-home laboratory testing kit, a medication, etc., the delivery agent may carry this out by communicating with an fulfillment system to initiate ordering and/or shipment of the items that it selects.).
Jain does not explicitly disclose:
i) when the plurality of users visiting the medical institution is selected, location information is received from each of the plurality of users and at least one of medical institution information adjacent to each of the received location information is provided to the plurality of corresponding users, ii) when the sample collector visiting the location where the plurality of users are located is selected, location information is received from each of the plurality of users and each of the received location information is provided to the sample collector.
Blanco teaches:
i) when the plurality of users visiting the medical institution is selected, location information is received from each of the plurality of users and at least one of medical institution information adjacent to each of the received location information is provided to the plurality of corresponding users, ii) when the sample collector visiting the location where the plurality of users are located is selected, location information is received from each of the plurality of users and each of the received location information is provided to the sample collector (Paragraphs [0011] discuss a entering type(s) of test(s) needed by a patient, determining a geolocation position of the patient, providing a list of POC facilities with available POC devices to the user based on the type(s) of test(s) needed and the geolocation position of the patient, based on the list of POC facilities with available POC devices, providing a map to the user showing physical locations of POC facilities with POC devices with availability for the type(s) of test(s) needed near the geolocation position of the patient, selecting one of the nearby POC devices from the list of POC facilities with available POC devices by touching the map location of the POC facility on the map and booking that POC device for the type(s) of test(s) needed at a particular time slot at that POC facility, and communicating the booking of the selected POC device to POC facility, wherein the selected POC device blocks that time slot from other users to select.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain to include, i) when the plurality of users visiting the medical institution is selected, location information is received from each of the plurality of users and at least one of medical institution information adjacent to each of the received location information is provided to the plurality of corresponding users, ii) when the sample collector visiting the location where the plurality of users are located is selected, location information is received from each of the plurality of users and each of the received location information is provided to the sample collector, as taught by Blanco, in order to allow a patient to find the nearest POC facility with a required and available POC device in order to have the required testing needed done. (Blanco Paragraph [0010]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101:
With respect to claim 1 and the Prong 1 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, Applicant’s amendment fails to overcome the previous rejection. Claim 1 recites an abstract idea, a method of organizing human activity and/or mathematical concepts. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People. Here, Applicant’s claims are directed to testing community group for infectious disease and notifying test results, which is not a technical problem rooted in the technology. Here, no additional element is being improved. The improvement here is to the abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Practical application is a way to overcome the Prong 2 35 U.S.C 101 rejection, however, here, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP 2106.05(a) indicate that a practical application may be present where the claimed invention provides a technical solution to a technical problem. Applicant states, “the recited operation requires computer-implemented aggregation and transformation of test data from a plurality of users into derived statistical constructs that cannot practically be performed mentally or manually at the recited scale. Therefore, the recited features constitute a technical data processing operation that transforms and structures data for a specific purpose. In particular, the processor generates new data objects (i.e., infectious disease statistical information and integrated test results) that are not present in the raw test data and are derived through system-driven computations applied across multiple users, thereby transforming the underlying data. Additionally, the claims tie this transformed data to a specific downstream system action including the generation of a certificate based on a threshold comparison, which imposes a concrete rule-based constraint on system operation and moves the claims beyond mere data analysis or information presentation into applied system control.” (Remarks, page 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here, there is no technical improvement to the processor or any additional element, the aggregation and transformation of test data is part of the abstract idea and the abstract idea cannot be used to integrate itself into a practical application. Here, the additional elements, do not result in a practical application or technical improvement, as they are recited at an apply it level, as stated above. Here, the Application is an improvement to the abstract idea and does not result in a practical application.
Step 2B
Applicant states, the “Claims 1, 31, and 61 recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the alleged judicial exception. The claims do not merely aggregate or report data, but instead recite a non-conventional arrangement of processing steps performed by a computing system.” (Remarks, page 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees. All components in the claims are being used for their intended purpose and as written do not result in a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea. Here, individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. There is nothing significant about testing community group for infectious disease and notifying test results, in the claims. The claims recite features that are "well-understood, routine, conventional activities”. There is no technological improvement to any additional element. For the reasons stated above, claims 1, 31, and 61 fail to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102:
The amendment overcomes the 102 rejection. Applicant’s arguments with regard to 102 are amended above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWN T. HAYNES/
Art Unit 3686
/JASON B DUNHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3686