DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0252559 A1 (Masters et al.).
As concerns claim 15, Masters et al. discloses a locking nut for locking a subsea unit relative to a guide rod, the guide rod being fixed to a subsea installation, the locking nut 400 comprising: a body having a first end and a second end (figure 4-figure 10) the body defining a bore 415 that extends from the first end to the second end, the bore configured to receive the guide rod 700, the body configured to separate into a first part and a second part along a direction extending from the first end to the second end (figure 7, figure 8), wherein the first part and the second part are held together with a removable fastening element (at 550), and wherein the first part and the second part, together, define the bore (figure 4)
As concerns claim 18, Masters et al. discloses the locking nut of claim 15, figure 4).
As concerns claim 19, Masters et al. discloses the locking nut of claim 18, wherein the body includes a tapered contact surface 420 that tapers outwardly from the first end towards the second end (figure 4).
As concerns claim 20, Masters et al. discloses the locking nut of claim 15, wherein each of the first part 400 and the second part 400 has a substantially half cylindrical shape (figure 4, figure 8), wherein the first part has a first mating surface and the second part has a second mating surface (Id.), wherein the first mating surface and the second mating surface abut one another when the first part and the second part are attached (see figure 10), wherein the first mating surface of the first part has a male fastening portion 550 projecting therefrom, and the second mating surface of the second part has a female fastening portion 560 adapted to receive the male fastening portion.
As concerns claim 21, Masters et al. discloses the locking nut of claim 20, wherein the male fastening portion comprises a first fastening aperture 515, and the second part comprises a second fastening aperture 515 that connects the female fastening portion 560 with an external surface of the second part (see figure 5), and wherein when the male fastening portion 550 is received in the female fastening portion 560 the first fastening aperture and the second fastening aperture align and the fastening element can be removably secured within the first aperture and the second aperture to fasten the first part and the second part together (see figures 4-6 and 0063).
As concerns claim 22, Masters et al. discloses the locking nut of claim 15, wherein the fastening element is a pin (see at least figure 5, the fastener can reasonably be interpreted as a “pin”).
As concerns claim 23, Masters et al. discloses the locking nut of claim 15, wherein the locking nut comprises a locking element with an externally threaded portion located within the bore (the configuration is contemplated, see at least 0050).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-26 are objected to as depending from a rejected base claim, but may be considered allowable if rewritten or incorporated and including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 27-29 and 32-34 are considered ready for allowance at this time, as the actuator assembly having the guide tube for receiving a guide rod and the associated locking nut as specified in the claim is not disclosed, taught or suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
JAMES G. SAYRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/JAMES G SAYRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672