DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drain inlet must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. In line 1, “The invention relates to” should be deleted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “a. either with only the first water inlet, b. or with only the first water inlet and the second water inlet,” should read – (a) either with only the first water inlet; (b) or with only the first water inlet and the second water inlet; (c) or with only the first water inlet and the third water inlet --. Appropriate correction is required. (MPEP 608.01(m)).
In claim 5 and 9, the claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with vague language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clear and positively define the functional relationship of a limitation or specify conditions. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. For example, the phrases: “or able to be”, “after having been provided”, “is arranged” and “provided that”. In some instances, the language fails to establish how or where (i.e., structural relevance). Alternate active wording suggestions are: –configured to--, --adapted to--, coupled to--, or –include-. Additionally, the phrase: "to be" and/or “can be” are interpreted as vague. The inclusion of such subjective expressions introduces ambiguity by suggesting that the claimed element(s) to which they relate, are optional.
Since claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-13 are in the chain of dependency to claim 1, they too are subjected to the same objection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for placing” at least in claims 1-3, “means for controlling” in claim 4.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claims 1 and 4, the word "means" is preceded by the word(s) “passage” and “comprises”, respectively to use a "means" clause to recite a claim element as a means for performing a specified function. However, since no function is specified by the word(s) preceding "means," it is impossible to determine the equivalents of the element, as required by 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Applicant asserts that the claim element “means” is a means (or step) plus function limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, it is unclear whether the claim element is a means (or step) plus function limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it is unclear whether the claim limitation is modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function or it is unclear whether the corresponding structure is sufficiently disclosed in the written description of the specification. If applicant wishes to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant is required to:
(a) Amend the claim to include the phrase “means for” or “step for” in accordance with these guidelines: the phrase “means for” or “step for” must be modified by functional language and the phrase must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function; or
(b) Show that the claim limitation is written as a function to be performed and the claim does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function which would preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. For more information, see MPEP § 2181. Since claims 2-3, and 5-13 are in the chain of dependency to claim 1, they too are subjected to the same rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 4,576,202 A to Knapp.
Regarding claim 1, Knapp discloses a four-way water mixer tap 10 comprising a first water inlet 224, a second water inlet 225, a third water inlet 226 and a single water outlet 227, wherein the mixer tap has passage means for placing the single water outlet in fluid communication: a. either with only the first water inlet, b. or with only the first water inlet and the second water inlet, c. or with only the first water inlet and the third water inlet (fig 13-16).
Regarding claim 2, Knapp further discloses the single water outlet 126 in fluid communication with only the second water inlet 124 and the third water inlet 125 ([col. 5, lines 55-57]; fig 13,15).
Regarding claim 4, Knapp further a water flow at the single water outlet, said control means 30 being able to be activated by a user via lever 14 ([col. 3, lines 40-47]; fig 13-15).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN 114198536 A to Zhejiang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhejiang discloses a four-way water mixer tap comprising a first water inlet 120, a second water inlet 110, a third water inlet 150 and a single water outlet 160, wherein the mixer tap has passage means for placing the single water outlet in fluid communication: a. either with only the first water inlet, b. or with only the first water inlet and the second water inlet, c. or with only the first water inlet and the third water inlet (fig 5-6).
Regarding claim 3, Zhejiang further discloses the passage means for placing the single water outlet in fluid communication with only the second water inlet or with only the third water inlet (fig 5-6).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DE 10 2007 048026 B4 to IMST.
Regarding claim 1, IMST discloses a four-way water mixer tap comprising a first water inlet 1, a second water inlet 2, a third water inlet 3 and a single water outlet 4, wherein the mixer tap has passage means for placing the single water outlet in fluid communication: a. either with only the first water inlet (fig 3), b. or with only the first water inlet and the second water inlet [para 0051], c. or with only the first water inlet and the third water inlet (fig 4).
Regarding claim 3, IMST further discloses the passage means for placing the single water outlet in fluid communication with only the second water inlet or with only the third water inlet (fig 6 and 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see USPTO Form 892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. More specifically, EP 3467358 B1 to Vorel is directed to the state of the art as a teaching of a directional valve 1 for temperature-dependent water management, in a sanitary facility, a housing 2, a housing inlet 3 for mixed water, at least two housing outlets 5,6, and a first switching mechanism 8,16.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LORI BAKER whose telephone number is (571)272-4971. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday: 9 am - 6 pm CST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/LORI L BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754