DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12-14, 17, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " the processors" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested that this limitation be amended do --the one or more processors--.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the temperature sensor” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested that this limitation be amended to --a temperature sensor--.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the controller” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested that this limitation be amended to --a controller--.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the mobile device” in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested that this limitation be amendment to --a mobile device--.
Any claims not specifically mentioned above are necessarily rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 10, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by KR 20130067831 A to (Ko, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ko teaches a thermal therapy system (title “Therapeutics Device for Vagina”) comprising a first portion (insert main body 200) made of a thermally conductive material (pg. 3 which states in part “The insert main body is made of a material….such as silver or jade.”) and a second portion (accommodation space 201) adapted to be fitted in a cavity (pg. 4 which states in part “Accordingly, the first accommodation space 212 of the first body 210 and the second accommodation space 222 of the second body 220 are integrated into one, so that one accommodation space 201 is inserted into the insertion body.”) of the first portion (see for example Fig. 2), wherein the first portion and the fitted second portion define a shape of the thermal transfer element (see for example Fig. 2), and a temperature control element (heating heater 400) that is adapted to conform to a shape of the second portion (see for example Fig. 2), wherein the temperature control element is disposed of within the cavity along with the second portion (see for example Fig. 2), wherein actuation of the disposed temperature control element upon supplying electrical power of a predefined level, adjusts temperature of the thermal transfer device to a predefined temperature (pg. 6 which states in part “At this time, the surface heating temperature of the insertion body 200 is to be about 40 ~ 43 ℃, this temperature is known as the optimum temperature for local sterilization.” and pg. 7 which states in part “Of course, the temperature may be set differently according to the user's physical condition.”).
Regarding claim 2, Ko teaches the system of claim 1 as well as wherein the temperature control element is a heating element (heating heater 400).
Regarding claim 5, Ko teaches the system of claim 1 as well as wherein the cavity is at a base portion of the first portion, wherein the base portion is fluidically sealed once the temperature control element is disposed of within the cavity along with the second portion (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Ko teaches the system of claim 1 as well as wherein an outer surface of the thermal transfer device is coated with a durable and non-porous material (functional coating layer 300).
Regarding claim 11, Ko taches the system of claim 1 as well as wherein the system comprising a charging device (cradle 100) that is adapted to be electrically and operatively coupled to the thermal transfer device (Fig. 3), wherein the charging device comprises a charging circuit (Figs. 2 and 3) that is configured to enable supply of electrical power of the predefined level from an in-built battery (battery 130) and/or an external power source to the thermal transfer device is connected to the charging device.
Regarding claim 14, Ko teaches the system of claim 11 as well as wherein the charging device comprises a housing (Figs. 2 and 3) defining a shape of the charging device, wherein the housing comprises at least one slot (mounting grove 110) adapted to accommodate the thermal transfer device (Fig. 3), such that upon accommodation, the thermal transfer device gets operatively coupled to a controller and the battery (Figs. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko.
Regarding claim 3, Ko teaches the system of claim 1, but not wherein the temperature control element is a thermoelectric element that is configured to col and/or heat the thermal transfer device based on the predefined level of electrical power being supplied to the thermoelectric element. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko to use a thermoelectric element as an obvious matter of engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 4, Ko teaches the system of claim 1, but not wherein the second portion is wedge shaped. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the different portions of Ko of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 9, Ko teaches the system of claim 1, but not wherein the second portion is press-fitted into the cavity of the first portion using a thermal paste applied on the second portion prior to the insertion into the cavity. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698; 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 15, Ko teaches the system of claim 11 as well as wherein the charging device is in a form of a handle (Figs. 2 and 3) that is removably or fixedly coupled to the thermal transfer device (Figs. 2 and 3), but not wherein a housing of the handle is made of a thermally insulative material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a thermally insulative material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of US 2001/0008974 to Li et al. (Li).
Regarding claim 6, Ko teaches the system of claim 1, but not wherein the thermal transfer device further comprises a temperature sensors configured at a tip of the second portion, such that when the second portion is fitted in the first portion along with the temperature control element, the temperature sensor remains at a center of the thermal transfer device to monitor temperature of the thermal transfer device from inside. Li teaches an analogous device (title) to that of Ko including a temperature sensor ([0063] which states in part “temperature is sensed by the transducer 9”) configured at a tip of the second portion (heat application surface 6), such that when the second portion is fitted in the first portion (Fig. 2) along with the temperature control element, the temperature sensor remains at a center of the thermal transfer device (Fig. 2) to monitor temperature of the thermal transfer device from inside ([0048] which states in part “temperature transducer, or thermostat 7, is located directly adjacent to the heat application surface, so that the temperature detected is essentially that of the user's skin during application.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko to include the temperature sensor of Li to detect the temperature of the user at the location of use during application as taught by Li.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the system of claim 6 as well as a set of electrical traces having a first end electrically connected to the temperature control element and/or the temperature sensor (Fig. 2), wherein a second end of the set of electrical traces in connected to a circuit board comprising electrical pins that remain accessible or extend at least partially outside of the thermal transfer device once the temperature control element is fitted within the first portion along with the second portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the system of claim 7 as well as a trim panel (230) having openings fitted over a base of the cavity such that the electrical pins remain accessible or extend at least partially outside of the thermal transfer device through the openings of the trim panel (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of US 2007/0049998 A1 to Conrad et al. (Conrad).
Regarding claim 12, Ko teaches the system of claim 1, but not specifically a controller operatively coupled to the battery and configured to be operative coupled to the thermal transfer device once the thermal transfer device is connected to the charging device, wherein the controller comprises one or more processors coupled to a memory storing instructions executable by the processor and configured to monitor, using a temperature sensor, real-time temperature of the thermal transfer device, allow one or more users to set a predefined temperature for the thermal transfer device, and based on the monitored real-time temperature and the predefined temperature, enable the supply of electrical power of the predefined level from the battery and/or the external power source to the temperature control element to adjust the temperature of the thermal transfer device to the predefined temperature. Conrad teaches an analogous device (title) to that of Ko including a controller (circuit board 42) operatively coupled to the battery and configured to be operatively coupled to the thermal transfer device, wherein the controller comprises one or more processors (microprocessor 62) coupled to a memory (memory element 44) storing instructions executable by the processor ([0063]) and configured to monitor, using a temperature sensor (50), real-time temperature of the thermal transfer device ([0061]), allow one or more users to set the predefined temperature for the thermal transfer device ([0066]), and based on the monitored real-time temperature and predefined temperature, enable the supply of electrical power of the predefined level from the battery and/or external power source to the temperature control element to adjust the temperature of the thermal transfer device to the predefined temperature (0066-0069]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko with the controller of Conrad to bring the thermal device to the desired operating temperature as quickly as possible with minimal overshoot and respond to changes in the temperature during the treatment cycle ([0068]).
Regarding claim 20, Ko teaches the system of claim 11, but not a LED strip or light configuration on an outer surface of the thermal transfer device or charging device, and/or a display unit to display one or more charging status of the thermal device, the predefined temperature set by the one or more users, and monitored real-time temperature of the thermal transfer device. Conrad teaches an analogous device (title) to that of Ko as well as LEDs (32) to provide visual information to the user, such as the charge remaining in the battery, the number of remaining treatment available, and any other information which may be useful or interesting to the user ([0055]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko with the LEDs of Conrad to allow for providing the user with visual information which may be useful or interesting to the user as taught by Conrad.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko and Conrad as applied to claim 12, and further in view of US 2022/0031499 A1 to Gueritee et al. (Gueritee).
Regarding claim 13, Ko in view of Conrad teaches the system of claim 12, but not wherein the charging device comprises a communication unit operatively coupled to the controller and configured to communicably couple the charging device to one or more mobile devices associated with the one or more user. Gueritee teaches an analogous system (title “Temperature Regulating System”) including the controller (1000) including a communication module (1032) which is a low energy wireless system such as a Bluetooth module that allows the controller to communicate with a user device (1016). This allows for a user to access an interface that allows a user to input for example user profile information as well as additionally modify controller operating modes ([0097]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko with the communication unit of Gueritee to allow for communication with a user device and access to an interface that allows a user to input for example user profile information as well as additionally modify controller operating modes as taught by Gueritee ([0097]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of US 2019/0009110 A1 to Gross et al. (Gross).
Regarding claim 16, Ko teaches the system of claim 15 but not wherein the thermal transfer device or the charging device comprises an accelerometer to monitor kinematic attributes of the thermal device, wherein the kinematic attributes comprise linear and angular speed, and orientation of the thermal transfer device, and a pressure sensor to monitor pressure applied by the one or more users while using the thermal transfer device. Gross teaches an energy applicator (title) including accelerator configured to generate a signal in response to the handheld unit being in motion and in response stops the energy application when the device is not in motion ([0258]) and a pressure sensor ([0258]) to sense contact. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko to include the accelerometer and pressure sensor so that contact of the device as well as motion can be monitored and used to control operation of the device as taught by Gross.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko and Gross as applied to claim 16, and further in view of US 2019/0350750 A1 to Whitehurst et al. (Whitehurst).
Regarding claim 17, Ko in view of Gross teaches the system of claim 16, but not a haptic feedback device configured to provide haptic feedback to the one or more users holding the handle for controlling the movement of the thermal transfer device based on any or a combination of a predefined treatment procedure selected by the one or more users using a mobile device, the monitored kinematic attributes, and the monitored pressure applied by the one or more users in real-time. Whitehurst teaches a controller including a display (104) that may include a liquid crystal display, high performance addressing display, thin film transistor display, light emitting diode, organic light emitting diode, or an image projector as well as haptic feedback to a user ([0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko to include the haptic feedback of Whitehurst to provide tactile feedback to the user as taught by Whitehurst ([0043]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of US 2016/0324719 A1 to Badmus et al. (Badmus).
Regarding claim 18, Ko teaches the system of claim 11, but not wherein the charging device comprises one or more heat sinks and one or more fans to facilitate dissipation of heat from the charging device and/or the thermal transfer device to facilitate in adjusting the temperature of the thermal device to the predefined temperature. Badmus teaches an analogous device (title) including a number of heat sinks and/or fans for regulating the temperature of the main body ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko with the heat sinks and fans of Badmus to help regulate the temperature of the system as taught by Badmus ([0052]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko and Conrad as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Gross.
Regarding claim 19, Ko in view of Conrad teaches the system of claim 12, but not wherein the controller is configured to switch the thermal transfer device between an idle state and an active state, wherein the controller switches the thermal transfer device to the idle state when the controller detects the thermal transfer device, using an accelerometer, to be in a stationary position for a predetermined time, and where the controller switches the thermal transfer device to the active state when the controller, detects, using the accelerometer, the movement of the thermal transfer device. Gross teaches an energy applicator (title) including accelerator configured to generate a signal in response to the handheld unit being in motion and in response stops the energy application when the device is not in motion ([0258]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko to include the accelerometer so that as motion can be monitored and used to control operation of the device as taught by Gross.
Conclusion
/KAITLYN E SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794