Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (U.S. 2022/0030220), hereinafter Deng in view of Deng et al. (U.S. 2022/0248025), hereinafter Deng2. Deng and Deng2 were cited in the Applicant’s IDS dated 1/24/25.
Regarding claim 1, Deng discloses a method performed by a video decoding device for intra predicting a current chroma block, the method comprising:
deriving a corresponding luma block that corresponds to the current chroma block based on a color format (Deng [0025], [0229]-[0230] and figs. 5-6) that represents a corresponding relation between pixels of the corresponding luma block and pixels of the current chroma block (Deng [0047]);
deriving a reconstructed region of a luma component for the corresponding luma block and deriving a reconstructed region of a chroma component for the current chroma block based on prediction information of the corresponding luma block (Deng fig. 3, [0053], claims 1 and 4);
modeling a relationship between samples in the reconstructed region of the luma component and samples in the region of the chroma component (Deng [0053] and fig. 3); and
generating a prediction block of the current chroma block from samples in the corresponding luma block by using the modeled relationship (Deng [0053] and claim 1).
Deng does not explicitly disclose that modeling a relationship between samples in the reconstructed region of the luma component and samples in the reconstructed region of the chroma component.
However, Deng2 teaches deriving a reconstructed region of a luma component for the corresponding luma block and deriving a reconstructed region of a chroma component for the current chroma block based on prediction information of the corresponding luma block (Deng2 ‘025 [0212], and [0428]);
modeling a relationship between samples in the reconstructed region of the luma component and samples in the reconstructed region of the chroma component (Deng2 [0123], [0127]-[0128], [0424], [0428] and figs. 10-11); and
generating a prediction block of the current chroma block from samples in the corresponding luma block by using the modeled relationship (Deng2 [0123]-[0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Deng with the missing limitations as taught by Deng2 to improve coding efficiency as a result of using already reconstructed samples (Deng2 [0212]).
As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known device such as a processor to yield a predictable result of improving coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
decoding a prediction mode of the current chroma block from a bitstream (Deng [0044], [0665], [0066] and claim 1); and
determining whether the prediction mode utilizes the modeled relationship (Deng [0014], [0066] and claim 1),
wherein, when the prediction mode utilizes the modeled relationship, the deriving of the reconstructed region of the luma component, the deriving of the reconstructed region of the chroma component, the modeling, and the generating of the prediction block are performed (Deng [0053], [0665] and claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising, when the prediction mode does not utilize the modeled relationship (Deng [0063] and [0066]):
deriving a reconstructed reference line or reference region of the current chroma block based on a block partitioning structure and the prediction information of the corresponding luma block (Deng [0063]); and
generating a second prediction block of the current chroma block by using the reconstructed reference line or reference region according to the prediction mode (Deng [0052], [0063] and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein deriving the reconstructed region of the luma component comprises:
determining, based on an aspect ratio of the corresponding luma block (Deng [0338], [0441]-[0442] and Deng2 [0115]), the reconstructed region of the luma component as a left reconstructed region of the corresponding luma block, a top reconstructed region of the corresponding luma block, or a top-and-left reconstructed region of the corresponding luma block (Deng [0066] and fig. 3).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 4, wherein deriving the reconstructed region of the chroma component comprises:
determining the reconstructed region of the chroma component as a region corresponding to the reconstructed region of the luma component according to the color format (Deng [0053], [0230], [0441]-[0442] and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein deriving the reconstructed region of the chroma component comprises:
when a block partitioning structure of a single tree structure (Deng2 [0226]), using a reconstructed non-adjacent region based on a distance between the corresponding luma block and a reference line used for prediction of the corresponding luma block (Deng2 [0217]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein deriving the reconstructed region of the luma component and the reconstructed region of the chroma component comprises:
determining a portion of the reconstructed region of the luma component and a portion of the reconstructed region of the chroma component as a region non-adjacent with the corresponding luma region and the current chroma block (Deng2 [0217]) when a block partitioning structure is a single tree structure (Deng2 [0226]), a reference line used for prediction of the corresponding luma block is non-adjacent with the corresponding luma block (Deng2 [0217]), the corresponding luma block is predicted according to a directional prediction (Deng2 [0217] and [0116]), and a prediction mode of the directional prediction is a preset direction (Deng2 [0217] and [0116]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein deriving the reconstructed region of the chroma component comprises:
determining the reconstructed region of the luma component as a non-adjacent region for a region with sub-luma blocks predicted by using a non-adjacent reference line (Deng2 [0217]), and
determining the reconstructed region of the luma component as an adjacent region for a region with sub-luma blocks predicted by using an adjacent reference line when a block partitioning structure is a dual tree structure (Deng claim 1) and when blocks adjacent to a top-and-left boundary of the corresponding luma block hold both the sub-luma blocks predicted by using the non-adjacent reference line (Deng2 [0217]) and the sub-luma blocks predicted by using the adjacent reference line (Deng [0053] and fig. 3).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches a method performed by a video encoding device for intra predicting a current chroma block, the method comprising:
deriving a corresponding luma block that corresponds to the current chroma block based on a color format that represents a corresponding relation between pixels of the corresponding luma block and pixels of the current chroma block;
deriving a reconstructed region of a luma component for the corresponding luma block and deriving a reconstructed region of a chroma component for the current chroma block based on prediction information of the corresponding luma block;
modeling a relationship between samples in the reconstructed region of the luma component and samples in the reconstructed region of the chroma component; and
generating a first prediction block of the current chroma block from samples in the corresponding luma block by using a modeled relationship (claim 14 recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise. Furthermore, claim 14 discloses an inverse of decoding and Deng discloses both encoding and decoding methods (Deng [0665])).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising:
deriving a reconstructed reference line or reference region of the current chroma block based on a block partitioning structure and the prediction information of the corresponding luma block (Deng fig. 3); and
generating a second prediction block (Deng [0553] and Deng2 [0092]) of the current chroma block by using the reconstructed reference line or the reference region (Deng [0053] and fig. 3).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising:
determining, based on the first prediction block and the second prediction block, a prediction mode indicative of whether to use the modeled relationship (Deng [0053]); and
encoding the prediction mode (Deng [0665] and claim 1 and Deng2 [0158]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to generate a bitstream (Deng claim 16) by performing a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising: deriving a corresponding luma block that corresponds to a current chroma block based on a color format that represents a corresponding relation between pixels of the corresponding luma block and pixels of the current chroma block; deriving a reconstructed region of a luma component for the corresponding luma block and deriving a reconstructed region of a chroma component for the current chroma block based on prediction information of the corresponding luma block; modeling a relationship between samples in the reconstructed region of the luma component and samples in the reconstructed region of the chroma component; and generating a prediction block of the current chroma block from samples in the corresponding luma block by using a modeled relationship (see claim interpretation section above and claim 1 citations above).
Regarding claim 18, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the reconstructed region of the luma component is a group of non-adjacent luma reference samples which is distant from the corresponding luma block (Deng2 [0217]) and is determined based on prediction information of the corresponding luma block (Deng2 [0212] and [0428]), and the reconstructed region of the chroma component is a group of non-adjacent chroma reference samples which is distant from the current chroma block and is determined as a region corresponding to the reconstructed region of the luma component (Deng2 [0217]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 18.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng in view of Deng2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (CA 3118429 A1). A copy of Lee has been attached.
Regarding claim 6, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein deriving the reconstructed region of the chroma component comprises:
when a block partitioning structure is a single tree structure (Deng2 [0226]), and when the corresponding luma block is predicted based on a non-adjacent reference line or non-adjacent reference region distant from the corresponding luma block (Deng2 [0217]), constructing the reconstructed region of the luma component from the non-adjacent reference line or non-adjacent reference region (Deng2 [0217]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 6.
Deng does not explicitly disclose predicting using a natural number ‘a’ distance.
However, Lee teaches predicting using a natural number ‘a’ distance (Lee [176]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Deng in view of Deng2 with the missing limitations as taught by Lee to improve coding efficiency as a result of using more easily identifiable numbers (Lee [176] and [02]).
As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known device such as a processor to yield a predictable result of improving coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Deng in view of Deng2 and Lee teaches the method of claim 6, wherein deriving the reconstructed region of the chroma component comprises:
constructing the reconstructed region of the chroma component as a region adjacent to the current chroma block (Deng fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/26 in regards to the previously presented portions of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pgs. 12-14 of the Applicant’s Response, the Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest the amended limitations of claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the current claim language, Deng in view of Deng2 teaches the amended limitations as cited above. The Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach “determining the location of the reconstruction region”, however, this language is not in the claim as currently written. There is no mention of “location” in the claims and both Deng (fig. 3, [0053] and claim 1) and Deng2 ([0212] and [0428]) teach deriving a reconstructed region of luma and chroma based on prediction information of a luma block. Moreover, the Examiner notes that “prediction information” is very broad claim language since “prediction information” is not defined in the claim, any information related to prediction can be “prediction information”. Further, the claim does not limit the deriving to only the corresponding luma block as the claim uses “comprising”. Therefore, the combination of Deng and Deng2 teaches the amended limitations of claim 1 as currently written.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., determining the location of the reconstruction region) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW K KWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482