DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-16, 18-23, and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harring (20220051572).
Regarding claim 1, Harring teaches a method performed by a system comprising a plurality of UAVs, the method comprising:
a first UAV of the plurality of UAVs flying a first vector, the first vector comprising a first heading and a first speed (Harring: Fig. 2 Element 100, “the aircraft 100 is an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV)” ¶ 22, “a speed or velocity of the aircraft 100 is calculated and/or determined by the position calculator 306. In some examples, the position analyzer 302 is implemented on both the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202” ¶ 35);
a second UAV of the plurality of UAVs flying a second vector, the second vector comprising a second heading and a second speed (Harring: Fig. 2 Element 202a, “disclosed herein utilize at least one mobile platform, which can be implemented as an aircraft or other type of vehicle” ¶ 18, “the aircraft and the mobile platform are implemented as UAVs” ¶ 19, “a speed or velocity of the aircraft 100 is calculated and/or determined by the position calculator 306. In some examples, the position analyzer 302 is implemented on both the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202” ¶ 35, see also ¶ 24);
at a first time, while the first UAV is flying the first vector and the second UAV is flying the second vector, determining a first distance, the first distance being between the first UAV and the second UAV (Harring: Fig. 6 Elements 610-616, “to determine a position of the aircraft 100 in a contested area in which GPS signals are compromised and/or exhibit a relatively low signal strength, the signal direction and distance calculator 310 determines a relative position between the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202” ¶ 31);
at a second time, the second time being after the first time, the second UAV transitioning to flying a third vector, the third vector comprising a third heading and a third speed, the third vector being different from the second vector (Harring: Fig. 6 Element 614, “a flight director to direct movement of the at least one aircraft based on the position of the at least one aircraft” ¶ 78);
after the second UAV has transitioned to flying the third vector, the first UAV observing the second UAV flying the third vector (Harring: Fig. 6 Elements 620 and 610-616, “a position of the aircraft 100 is calculated based on the relative position and the position of the mobile platform 202” ¶ 60, “it is determined whether to repeat the process. If the process is to be repeated (block 620), control of the process returns to block 602” ¶ 61); and
the first UAV providing a first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector to the second UAV (Harring: “ensure that the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202 are within a desired or requisite communication range such that a relative distance therebetween can be accurately measured and/or that the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202 can adequately transmit signals therebetween” ¶ 35).
Regarding claim 5, Harring teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first distance between the first UAV of the plurality of UAVs and the second UAV of the plurality of UAVs comprises the first UAV sending information to or requesting information from the second UAV (Harring: “A signal and direction calculator is used to determine a relative position (e.g., a relative position based on three dimensions) between the aircraft and the mobile platform based on a signal transmitted between the aircraft and the mobile platform” ¶ 18).
Regarding claim 8, Harring teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector comprises a location, a position, a relative position (Harring: “A signal and direction calculator is used to determine a relative position (e.g., a relative position based on three dimensions) between the aircraft and the mobile platform based on a signal transmitted between the aircraft and the mobile platform” ¶ 18, see also ¶ 19), an orientation, a course, or a heading.
Regarding claim 9, Harring teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising the second UAV adjusting an estimated position (Harring: “the mobile platform 202 is moved and/or directed by the flight director 304 to move toward the aircraft 100. For example, the flight director 304 can direct the mobile platform 202 to move toward the aircraft 100 if an insufficient signal strength (e.g., for the direction finding antenna array) is measured between the mobile platform 202 and the aircraft 100” ¶ 58), orientation, and/or velocity of the second UAV based at least in part on the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector.
Regarding claim 10, Harring teaches The method of claim 9, wherein the estimated position, orientation, and/or velocity of the second UAV is based at least in part on measurements from an inertial navigation system of the second UAV (Harring: “Additionally or alternatively, GPS location data, GPS time data, magnetic heading information, geolocation based on relative positioning and/or dead reckoning data are included in the RF signals. However, any other appropriate type of information can be conveyed” ¶ 41).
Regarding claim 11, Harring teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising the second UAV estimating its position, orientation, and/or velocity after the second UAV has transitioned to flying the third vector (Harring: Fig. 6 Elements 620 and 610-618, “At block 614, in some examples, the mobile platform 202 is moved and/or directed by the flight director 304 to move toward the aircraft 100” ¶ 58, “a position of the aircraft 100 is calculated based on the relative position and the position of the mobile platform 202” ¶ 60).
Regarding claim 12, Harring teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the second UAV estimating its position, orientation, and/or velocity comprises accounting for the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector and one or more of: the first distance, a relative position of the first UAV with respect to the second UAV (Harring: “the position calculator 306 of the illustrated example calculates a relative position between the mobile platform 202 and the aircraft 100 based on the relative direction and the distance indicated by the time-of-flight signal” ¶ 59), a relative position of a landmark with respect to the second UAV, the second time, the second vector, and/or the third vector.
Regarding claim 13, Harring teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the second UAV estimating its position, orientation, and/or velocity comprises adjusting a value provided by an inertial navigation system of the second UAV (Harring: “Additionally or alternatively, GPS location data, GPS time data, magnetic heading information, geolocation based on relative positioning and/or dead reckoning data are included in the RF signals. However, any other appropriate type of information can be conveyed” ¶ 41, “the position of the aircraft 100 is calculated based on a vector sum of the relative position and the position of the mobile platform 202” ¶ 60).
Regarding claim 14, Harring teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the second UAV estimating its position, orientation, and/or velocity comprises:
the second UAV determining a second distance between the first UAV and the second UAV after the second UAV has transitioned to flying the third vector (Harring: Fig. 6 Elements 610-620, “At block 612, in the illustrated example, at least one signal strength between the mobile platform 202 and the aircraft 100 is measured and/or analyzed by the signal direction and distance calculator 310” ¶ 57, “it is determined whether to repeat the process. If the process is to be repeated (block 620), control of the process returns to block 602” ¶ 61);
and using at least the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector, the second distance, and the third vector to adjust a measured value provided by an inertial navigation system of the second UAV (Harring: “Additionally or alternatively, GPS location data, GPS time data, magnetic heading information, geolocation based on relative positioning and/or dead reckoning data are included in the RF signals. However, any other appropriate type of information can be conveyed” ¶ 41, “the position calculator 306 of the illustrated example calculates a relative position between the mobile platform 202 and the aircraft 100 based on the relative direction and the distance indicated by the time-of-flight signal. In some other examples, the relative position includes a spatial location and/or differential that is based on RF signal strengths measured between the mobile platform 202 and the aircraft 100” ¶ 59, see also ¶ 63).
Regarding claim 15, Harring teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising:
the second UAV reporting its estimated position, orientation, and/or velocity to the first UAV and/or a ground station (Harring: “an aircraft coordination system for coordinating navigation of at least one aircraft of a multi-vehicle network in a contested area. The system includes a signal direction and distance calculator to determine a relative position of the at least one aircraft to a mobile platform based on a signal transmitted between the at least one aircraft and the mobile platform, a position calculator to calculate a position of the at least one aircraft based on the relative position and a position of the mobile platform, and a flight director to direct movement of the at least one aircraft based on the position of the at least one aircraft” ¶ 78).
Regarding claim 16, Harring teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising, after the first UAV has provided the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector to the second UAV (Harring: “the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202 are generally identical aircraft and, thus, function as redundant navigational guidance for one another” ¶ 36, “movement of the aircraft 100 is directed based on the relative position of the aircraft 100 in conjunction with the measured position of the mobile platform 202” ¶ 38):
the first UAV transitioning to flying a fourth vector, the fourth vector comprising a fourth heading and a fourth speed, the fourth vector being different from the first vector (“a speed or velocity of the aircraft 100 is calculated and/or determined by the position calculator 306. In some examples, the position analyzer 302 is implemented on both the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202” ¶ 35);
after the first UAV has transitioned to flying the fourth vector, the second UAV observing the first UAV flying the fourth vector (Harring: Fig. 6 Elements 620 and 610-616, “a position of the aircraft 100 is calculated based on the relative position and the position of the mobile platform 202” ¶ 60, “it is determined whether to repeat the process. If the process is to be repeated (block 620), control of the process returns to block 602” ¶ 61); and
the second UAV providing a first observation of the first UAV flying the fourth vector to the first UAV (Harring: “ensure that the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202 are within a desired or requisite communication range such that a relative distance therebetween can be accurately measured and/or that the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202 can adequately transmit signals therebetween” ¶ 35).
In regards to claim(s) 18-22, in view of the first UAV and second UAV being able to perform the same calculations and observations of each other, as outlined in paragraph 36 of Harring, the claim(s) recite analogous limitations to claim(s) 8-11 and 13, and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
Regarding claim 23, Harring teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
a third UAV of the plurality of UAVs flying a fourth vector, the fourth vector comprising a fourth heading and a fourth speed (Harring: Fig. 2 Elements 202a-202d, “the designation between aircraft and mobile platform can be arbitrary, in some examples. In some examples, a first one of the mobile platforms 202a, 202b, 202c, 202d guiding or facilitating guidance of the aircraft 100 is different from a second one of the mobile platforms 202a, 202b, 202c, 202d that is used for a relative position determination of the aircraft 100” ¶ 27);
...
In regards to the remainder of claim 23, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under the same premise.
Regarding claim 25, Harring teaches the method of claim 23, further comprising the second UAV adjusting an estimated position, orientation, and/or velocity of the second UAV based at least in part on the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector and the second observation of the second UAV flying the third vector (Harring: “the mobile platform 202 is moved and/or directed by the flight director 304 to move toward the aircraft 100. For example, the flight director 304 can direct the mobile platform 202 to move toward the aircraft 100 if an insufficient signal strength (e.g., for the direction finding antenna array) is measured between the mobile platform 202 and the aircraft 100” ¶ 58, “a first one of the mobile platforms 202a, 202b, 202c, 202d guiding or facilitating guidance of the aircraft 100 is different from a second one of the mobile platforms 202a, 202b, 202c, 202d that is used for a relative position determination of the aircraft 100” ¶ 27, see also ¶ 60 regarding suppling repetitive observations).
Regarding claim 26, Harring teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the estimated position, orientation, and/or velocity of the second UAV is based at least in part on measurements from an inertial navigation system of the second UAV (Harring: “Additionally or alternatively, GPS location data, GPS time data, magnetic heading information, geolocation based on relative positioning and/or dead reckoning data are included in the RF signals. However, any other appropriate type of information can be conveyed” ¶ 41).
Regarding claim 27, Harring teaches the method of claim 23, further comprising:
the second UAV estimating a position, orientation, and/or velocity of the second UAV based at least in part on the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector and the second observation of the second UAV flying the third vector (Harring: “Additionally or alternatively, GPS location data, GPS time data, magnetic heading information, geolocation based on relative positioning and/or dead reckoning data are included in the RF signals. However, any other appropriate type of information can be conveyed” ¶ 41, “the position of the aircraft 100 is calculated based on a vector sum of the relative position and the position of the mobile platform 202” ¶ 60, “a first one of the mobile platforms 202a, 202b, 202c, 202d guiding or facilitating guidance of the aircraft 100 is different from a second one of the mobile platforms 202a, 202b, 202c, 202d that is used for a relative position determination of the aircraft 100” ¶ 27, see also ¶ 60 regarding suppling repetitive observations).
Regarding claim 28, Harring teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the second UAV estimating the position, orientation, and/or velocity of the second UAV based at least in part on the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector and the second observation of the second UAV flying the third vector comprises:
determining an adjustment factor by combining the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector and the second observation of the second UAV flying the third vector (Harring: “the position of the aircraft 100 is calculated based on a vector sum of the relative position and the position of the mobile platform 202” ¶ 60, see also ¶ 27, 33); and
adjusting at least one measurement from an inertial navigation system of the second UAV using the adjustment factor (Harring: “Additionally or alternatively, GPS location data, GPS time data, magnetic heading information, geolocation based on relative positioning and/or dead reckoning data are included in the RF signals. However, any other appropriate type of information can be conveyed” ¶ 41, “the position calculator 306 of the illustrated example calculates a relative position between the mobile platform 202 and the aircraft 100 based on the relative direction and the distance indicated by the time-of-flight signal. In some other examples, the relative position includes a spatial location and/or differential that is based on RF signal strengths measured between the mobile platform 202 and the aircraft 100” ¶ 59, see also ¶ 63).
Regarding claim 29, Harring teaches the method of claim 28, wherein determining the adjustment factor by combining the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector and the second observation of the second UAV flying the third vector comprises averaging the first observation of the second UAV flying the third vector and the second observation of the second UAV flying the third vector (Harring: “the signal direction and distance calculator 310 analyzes data from an antenna (e.g., direction finding antenna array, etc.) to determine a relative direction between the aircraft 100 and the mobile platform 202, and a time-of-flight signal to determine a distance between the mobile platform 202 and the aircraft 100. As a result, the distance and the relative direction at least partially define the relative direction” ¶ 57 : “the position of the aircraft 100 is calculated based on a vector sum of the relative position and the position of the mobile platform 202” ¶ 60, Note: Wherein the adjustment vector summation is in view of the relative direction and distances over a time-of-flight relates to averaging these values).
Regarding claim 30, Harring teaches a unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) system comprising:
a first UAV comprising a first inertial navigation system (INS) (Harring: Fig. 2 Element 100, “the aircraft 100 is an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV)” ¶ 22, “GPS location data, GPS time data, magnetic heading information, geolocation based on relative positioning and/or dead reckoning data are included in the RF signals” ¶ 41); and
a second UAV comprising a second INS (Harring: Fig. 2 Element 202a, “disclosed herein utilize at least one mobile platform, which can be implemented as an aircraft or other type of vehicle” ¶ 18, “the aircraft and the mobile platform are implemented as UAVs” ¶ 19, “GPS location data, GPS time data, magnetic heading information, geolocation based on relative positioning and/or dead reckoning data are included in the RF signals” ¶ 41),
...
In regards to the remainder of claim 30, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bodin et al. (20080243372) is in the similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention of UAV navigation.
/C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663