DETAILED ACTION
Receipt of Applicant’s Amendment filed April 21, 2026, is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 14, and 16 have been amended. Claim 15 has been canceled. Claims 1-14, 16, and 17 are pending and are provided to be examined upon their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. A response is provided below in bold where appropriate.
Applicant argues 35 USC §101 Rejection, starting pg. 7 of Remarks:
Rejections Of Claims 1-14, 16, .And 17 Under 35 USC § 101
Independent claims 1 and 14 and dependent claims 2-13, 16, and 17 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 for allegedly being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
These rejections are respectfully traversed.
Independent claim 1 has been amended to recite, in part, "wherein the classification module is configured to ... generate a first classification signal indicating probability values for each image of the image data" (emphasis added) and "wherein the separator module is configured to, based on the first classification signal, separate the received image data into at least a first dataset and a second dataset according to a first reliability criterion derived from the probability values" (emphasis added).
Independent claim 1 has also been amended to recite, in part, "wherein the training module is configured to use the first dataset or only a part thereof derived solely from image data of the patient and selected based on probability values exceeding the first reliability criterion as a training dataset to train an artificial neural network" (emphasis added).
Independent claim 14 has been similarly amended.
Support for these amendments can be found in Applicant's specification, paragraph 30 ("the classification signal indicates, for each image, probability values"); paragraph 32 ("it is advantageous to define the reliability of the classification based on a relative probability measure"); and paragraph 36 ("[t]he reliability criterion may be a probability distribution"). See also Applicant's specification, paragraphs 24, 26, 81, and 83-88.
The Examiner characterizes the claims as "mental processes" and/or "methods of organizing human activity" (see February 11, 2026 Office Action ("OA"), pages 3 and 4).
Applicant respectfully submits that claims 1-14, 16, and 17, as amended herein, are not directed to "mental processes" and/or "methods of organizing human activity."
The claims require, among other things, (i) generating classification signals that include probability values for each image of received image data, (ii) algorithmically separating datasets based on a defined reliability criterion, and (iii) training an artificial neural network using a selected subset of image data.
These features require machine-scale numerical computation and iterative model training and cannot practically be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper.
Respectfully the above arguments are not commensurate with scope of the claims. A person visually look at a slide and mentally classify and indicate probability values for a separating an image into a first and second dataset.
Operations requiring machine-learning models, trained classifiers, and probabilistic outputs are not mental processes.
As claimed, a person can mentally perform the steps. Recall the 2024 SME Office Examples where detecting anomalies in a data set using trained ANN (artificial neural network) and analyzing the anomalies using the trained ANN was abstract under mental observation (Claim 2 pg. 4 and pg. 7) as a person can observe, evaluate, judge and provide an opinion.
The claims are also not directed to organizing human activity. Amended independent claims 1 and 14 are directed to improving the way a machine-learning system is trained by processing image data at scale, computing probabilities, and training a model using confidence-based dataset partitioning to generate a patient-specific neural network.
Respectfully, the machine learning model itself is not improved. Using a machine learning model to classify and train on data is not improving machine learning technology itself.
The claims do not recite a human decision, recommendation, or treatment step. Any diagnostic use would be subsequent and incidental to the features of the claims.
Furthermore, even if the claims are considered to be directed to an abstract idea, they are integrated into a practical application and recite significantly more than any alleged judicial exception.
The claims recite a specific, technical training pipeline that improves computer functionality including: pre-classification of patient image data, algorithmic confidence-based separation (high confidence versus low confidence) into multiple datasets, and training of a neural network using only reliable (high confidence) data to produce a refined, patient-specific classifier.
The above features of pre-classification and algorithmic confidence based separation are not claimed. If Applicant’s invention is a new type of machine classifier, details of the new classifier technology are not being claimed. The claims appear to be using existing machine learning technology at a high level to classify image data into two data sets.
This is not merely the application of an abstract idea on a generic computer -- it is a machine-level improvement to how training data is selected and how a neural network is trained.
Applicant's recited confidence-driven dataset selection and patient-specific neural network training add an inventive concept beyond mere data acquisition or output.
Machine learning classifiers are available to classify data, such as binary classifiers or probabilistic classifiers.
Applicant respectfully submits that amended independent claims 1 and 14 and dependent claims 2-13, 16, and 17 are directed to statutory subject matter.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections of claims 1-14, 16, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 be withdrawn.
Applicant appears to be arguing their invention is a new type of machine learning training. However, the claims are directed at a high level to some type of training system with steps about classifying images into two datasets based on probability values. This can be done in the mind of a person and there is no indication of an improvement to machine learning technology itself. Based on the above response, the rejection is respectfully maintained but modified for the claim amendments.
Applicant argues 35 USC §112(b) Rejection, starting pg. 10 of Remarks:
Rejections Of Claims 5, 7, And 14 Under 35 USC § 112(b)
Dependent claims 5 and 7 and independent claim 14 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being allegedly indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventors regard as the invention.
In particular, the Examiner contends that "between the classes" recited in dependent claim 5 is indefinite.
The Examiner also contends that "select a class of the first set of classes as a class of the second set of classes" recited in dependent claim 7 is indefinite as to how the selection relates to a "certain threshold value" also recited therein.
And the Examiner further contends that "initializing an artificial neural network" recited in independent claim 14 is indefinite.
These rejections are respectfully traversed.
Applicant has amended dependent claim 5 to recite, in part, "wherein the first dataset comprises all images above a relative threshold probability value between probability values associated with the classes" (emphasis added).
Amended dependent claim 5 makes more clear that the "relative threshold probability value" is determined between probability values associated with the classes, expressly tying the comparison to numerical probability outputs of the classification module. This amendment is fully consistent with and directly supported by the description in Applicant's specification of comparing class probability values to establish classification reliability (see, e.g., paragraphs 30-32).
The rejection is withdrawn based on the claim amendment.
Applicant has amended dependent claim 7 to recite "wherein the selector unit further comprises a threshold discriminating subunit, which is configured to select at least one class of the first set of classes for inclusion in the second set of classes, provided that a number of images classified in the at least one class of the first set of classes is above a certain threshold value" (emphasis added).
Amended dependent claim 7 makes more clear that the second set of classes is formed by selecting classes from the first set of classes based on a numerical threshold criterion.
The rejection is withdrawn based on the claim amendment.
Regarding the rejection of independent claim 14, Applicant respectfully submits that the phrase "initializing an artificial neural network" is a well understood term of art in the field of machine learning and artificial intelligence. A person of ordinary skill in the art ("POSA") would readily understand that this phrase refers to preparing a neural network for training, such as by establishing its structure and initial parameters prior to training. Section 112(b) does not require claims to recite specific implementation details or to narrow a claim to a single initialization technique. A claim is not indefinite merely because it includes multiple known approaches.
Withdrawn based on the above argument.
Applicant respectfully submits that amended dependent claims 5 and 7 and independent claim 14 are not indefinite and respectfully requests that the rejections of claims 5, 7, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) be withdrawn.
The prior rejections are withdrawn based on the above response.
Applicant argues 35 USC §103 Rejection, starting pg. 12 of Remarks:
Rejections Of Claims 1-14, 16, .And 17 Under 35 USC § 103
Independent claims 1 and 14 and dependent claims 2-10, 12, 13, 16, and 17 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being allegedly unpatentable over Shaul et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0237788 (hereinafter "Shaul") in view of Colley et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0090694 (hereinafter "Colley").
And dependent claim 11 has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being allegedly unpatentable over Shaul in view of Colley and further in view of Chung U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0237449 (hereinafter "Chung").
These rejections are respectfully traversed.
Independent claims 1 and 14 have been amended as described above.
A combination of Shaul and Colley would not result in Applicant's invention as recited in either amended independent claim 1 or 14.
Neither Shaul nor Colley, alone or in combination, discloses or suggests Applicant's patient-specific, confidence-gated training system and method.
In particular, Shaul discloses generating certainty values or confidence measures for use in image classification and pooling during inference, but does not disclose or suggest deriving a training dataset from such confidence values and training a neural network using only image data of a single patient selected based on those confidence values.
Respectfully, Applicant neither claims “confidence values” nor “single patient.”
From Shaul et al. and teaching trained to classify the same sample or adjacent samples images from the same patient into the same class…
“According to embodiments the received digital images comprise a combination of digital images of tissue samples whose pixel intensity values correlate with the amount of a first biomarker specific stain and of digital images of tissue samples whose pixel intensity values correlate with the amount of a non-biomarker specific stain. A biomarker-specific stain is a stain adapted to selectively stain a biomarker contained in the tissue sample. The MIL-program is trained to classify all digital images depicting the same tissue sample and/or depicting adjacent tissue samples from the same patient into the same class.” [0104]
Error of the loss function (confidence vales) of class labels assigned (selected) images…
“According to embodiments, the providing of the MIL-program comprises training the model of the MIL-program. The training comprises: providing a set of digital training images of tissue samples, each digital training image having assigned a class label being indicative of one of the at least two classes; splitting each training image into training image tiles, each training tile having assigned the same class label as the digital training image from which the training tile was derived; for each of the tiles, computing, by the image analysis system, a training feature vector comprising image features extracted selectively from the said tile; and/or repeatedly adapting the model of the MIL-program such that an error of a loss function is minimized; the error of the loss function indicates a difference of predicted class labels of the training tiles and the class labels actually assigned to the training tiles; the predicted class labels have been computed by the model based on the feature vector of the training tiles.” [0106] – [0110]
Therefore, Shaul et al. teaches training to classify images of a same patient and confidence values.
Instead, Shaul relies on fixed or population level training and uses confidence information to weight or aggregate features during classification, not to define a patient-specific training dataset for training an artificial neural network.
Images from a patient to train the MIL program…
“According to another example, images of tissue samples of a patient are taken before and after treatment with a particular drug and the end-point (label) used for training the MIL-program and/or for applying a trained MIL-program is the attribute value “state of tissue=after treatment with drug D” or the attribute value “state of tissue=before treatment with drug D”. Training a MIL-program on the said patient-related attribute value may have the advantage of identifying tissue patterns which are indicative of the activity and morphological effects of the drug on the tumor.” [0334]
Therefore patient specific training using MIL-program (neural network).
“… The MIL method is implemented as a two stream neural network, specialized in tasks of instance classification and weighting making use of Gaussian radial basis function to normalize the instance weights by comparing instances locally within the bag and globally across bags.” [0006]
Weightings within the bag.
Bag is specific to a patient….
“For example, each bag of tiles can represent a respective patient whose responsiveness to a particular drug is known. The instances contained in this patient-specific bag are tiles derived from one or more images of respective tissue samples of this particular patient, the tissue samples having been stained with a non-biomarker specific stain such as H&E…” [0100]
In summary, the above teaches images from a patient and training a MIL-program (neural network) on the patient data to determine effects of a drug on the patient’s tumor and bag of tiles which is patient’s responsiveness to a drug and weights within the bag (patient’s tiles).
Colley does not make up for the deficiencies of Shaul. Colley is directed generally to training engines and the use of machine-learning models with various data sources, but does not disclose or suggest modifying the operation of a medical image analysis system such that outputs of an initial classifier are used to select, based on reliability thresholds, a subset of patient image data that is then used to train an artificial neural network specific to that patient.
Colley was not required for Claim 14 and was used to teach a training module.
The Examiner contends that "[i]t would have been obvious to ... include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use a training engine (module) as taught by Colley et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in -the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable" (OA, page 14).
The Examiner's contention does not address why or how a POSA would have been motivated to restructure the system of Shaul to perform Applicant's confidence-based dataset selection followed by patient-specific training, nor why such a modification would have been expected to result in Applicant's invention as recited in amended independent claims 1 and 14 -- particularly in view of neither Shaul nor Colley, alone or in combination, disclosing or suggesting a two-stage, patient-specific training architecture in which: (i) a first classification signal is generated for image data of a patient, (ii) probability values from that signal are used to select patient image data exceeding a reliability criterion, and (iii) an artificial neural network is then trained using that selected patient-specific image data.
Respectfully, Applicant is arguing something that does not exist as Colley was used to teach training module. The fact is that Shaul alone teaches most of what is being argued above. If the novelty is using only one patient and their data for training a neural network, Shaul alone teaches this. Shaul also teaches weights and various aspects of probability.
Also from Shaul…
Obtaining a weighted predictive value (probability)…
“a1) weighting the predictive value (referred to e.g. as “h”) of each of the tiles with the certainty value (referred to e.g. as “c”) computed for this tile, thereby obtaining a weighted predictive value (referred to e.g. as “wh”); for example, the weighting comprises multiplying the certainty value (c) computed for one of the tiles with the predictive value (h) computed for the one tile for computing the weighted predictive value (wh) of the tile; for example, for a particular image I.sub.m that was split into K tiles, the weighted predictive value wh.sub.m_k for any one of the K tiles can be computed as: wh.sub.m_k=h.sub.m_k×c.sub.m_k;” [0039]
Weighted predictive value (probability) exceeds a threshold during training …
“The aggregated predictive value is then used for classifying the input image. For example, in case wh.sub.MAX exceeds a threshold determined during training, a digital image may be classified as “image depicting a tumor”. Otherwise, the image is classified as “image depicting healthy tissue”.” [0044]
Example of certainty value as probability a prediction is correct…
“A “certainty value” as used herein is a data value, in particular a numerical value, that is indicative of the certainty of a model of a machine learning program regarding the contribution of the tile's feature vector on the classification of the image from which the tile was derived. For example, if a model predicts that based on a pattern observed in a tile, the image belongs to a particular image class, the certainty value indicates the probability that this prediction is correct…” [0225]
Applicant's invention as recited in amended independent claims 1 and 14 is therefore not rendered obvious from a combination of Shaul and Collet.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Shaul alone is excellent prior art.
Chung, which was cited in connection with the rejection of dependent claim 11, does not make up for the deficiencies of Shaul and Collet. Chung relates to selecting among neural network models based on loss functions in the context of computing device configurations. Chung does not disclose or suggest confidence-gated selection of patient image data or patient-specific training of a medical image classification network responsive to a first (initial) classification signal.
Applicant's invention as recited in amended independent claims 1 and 14 is therefore also not rendered obvious from a combination of Shaul, Collet, and Chung, and should thus be allowable.
For at least the above reasons, dependent claims 2-13, 16, and 17, each of which depends directly or indirectly from amended independent claim 1 or 14, should also be allowable (i.e., dependent claims are allowable if their independent claim is allowable).
Based on the above response, rejection is respectfully maintained but modified for the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-14, 16, and 17 are directed to a system or method, which are statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified method Claim 14 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to system Claim 1.
Claim 14 recites the limitations of:
A computer-implemented patient-specific training method to be used with a patient- specific training system, comprising the following steps:
acquiring image data from a patient;
generating a first classification signal indicating probability values for each image of the acquired image data;
separating the image data into at least a first dataset and a second dataset based on the first classification signal and according to a first reliability criterion derived from the probability values;
initializing an artificial neural network; and
training the artificial neural network with the entire first dataset or a part thereof derived solely from image data of the patient and selected based on probability values exceeding the first reliability criterion.
These above limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as mental processes. The claim recites elements, highlighted in bold above, which covers performance of the limitation that can be concepts performed in the mind of a person or with pen and paper. A person can acquire an image data from a patient in their mind by looking at the image, generate a first classification signal for each image mentally or with pen and paper, separate the image data into a first and second dataset based on the classification signal and according to a first reliability criterion. Initializing an artificial neural network could be many things as simple as providing data to the neural network. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a mental process, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. Claim 1 is also abstract for similar reasons. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract)
Giving the claim it’s broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim is also abstract as certain methods of organizing human activity as the claim is directed to using patient data for training an artificial neural network in order to diagnose a patient, therefore, abstract as managing personal behavior and interactions between people by diagnosing a patient (teaching patient’s health), see paras. [0002], [0008], and [0071] of the specification.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite: artificial neural network, computing device, output interface (Claim 1); computer, artificial neural network (Claim 14). The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see para. [0017] and use of an entity to process data). The Initiating and training the neural network appear to somehow be using at a high level existing neural network technology and there is no detail as to how the network is initialized or trained. Further, there appears to be no improvement to the neural network technology itself (see para. [0016] where artificial neural network can be various types of existing networks). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claims 1 and 14 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f) where applying a computer as a tool is not indicative of significantly more. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Steps such as acquiring (receiving) are steps that are considered insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using general computer components (see MPEP 2106.05(d), II). Thus claims 1 and 14 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claims 2-13, 16, and 17 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 1 and 14 and thus correspond to Mental Processes and Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. The claims themselves are abstract or further limit abstract elements. Claims 2, 6, 10-12 recite modules, which is computer software recited at a high level of generality. Therefore, the claims 2-13, 16, and 17 are directed to an abstract idea. Claim 2, 11, and 12 recite neural network at a high level of generality. Thus, the claims 1-14, 16, and 17 are not patent-eligible.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or §112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No. US 2022/0237788 to Shaul et al. in view of Pub. No. US 2021/0090694 to Colley et al.
Regarding claim 1
A patient-specific artificial neural network training system, comprising:
an input interface configured to receive image data from a patient;
Shaul et al. teaches:
User interface to select or provide (receive) a particular image…
“The computer system comprises a user interface that enables a user 984 to select or provide a particular image or image tile that is to be used as search image 986. The trained feature-extraction MLL 950 is adapted to extract a feature vector 988 (“search feature vector”) from the input image. a search engine 990 receives the search feature vector 988 from the feature output MLL 950 and performs a vector-based similarity search in the image database. The similarity search comprises comparing the search feature vector which each of the feature vectors of the images in the database in order to compute a similarity score as a function of the two compared feature vectors. The similarity score is indicative of the degree of similarity of the search feature vector with the feature vector of the image in the database and hence indicates the similarity of the tissue patterns depicted in the two compared images. The search engine 990 is adapted to return and output a search result 994 to the user. The search result can be, for example, one or more images of the database for which the highest similarity score was computed.” [0385]
Receiving (acquiring) images, where the images depict tissue sample from a patient..
“In one aspect, the invention relates to a method for classifying tissue images. The method comprises: receiving, by an image analysis system, a plurality of digital images; each of the digital images depicts a tissue sample of a patient; splitting, by the image analysis system, each received image into a set of image tiles; for each of the tiles, computing, by the image analysis system, a feature vector comprising image features extracted selectively from the tile; providing a Multiple-Instance-Learning (MIL) program configured to use a model for classifying any input image as a member of one out of at least two different classes based on the feature vectors extracted from all tiles of the said input image; for each of the tiles, computing a certainty value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “c”); the certainty value is indicative of the certainty of the model regarding the contribution of the tile's feature vector on the classification of the image from which the tile was derived; for each of the images: using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the feature vectors extracted from the image into a global feature vector as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image, and computing an aggregated predictive value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “ah”) from the global feature vector; or computing, by the MIL program, predictive values from respective ones of the feature vectors of the image and using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the predictive values of the image into an aggregated predictive value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “ah”) as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image; and classifying, by the MIL-program, each of the images as a member of one out of the at least two different classes based on the aggregated predictive value.” [0008] – [0017]
a computing device comprising a classification module, a separator module, and a training module; and
MIL-program for classifying (classification module)…
“…Hence, using a MIL-program for classifying digital tissue images may have the advantage that weakly annotated training data is sufficient for training a MIL-program capable of accurately classifying digital tissue images. Furthermore, the trained MIL-program will be able to accurately classifying digital tissue images even in case a human annotator, e.g. a pathologist, does not know the tissue structures which are highly predictive of the class membership of the tissue and hence is not able to select training images having an unbiased ratio of tissue regions with and without this tissue structure.” [0019]
Example of image splitting (separator) module…
“The image analysis system further comprises an image splitting module being executable by the at least one processor and being configured to split each of the images into a set of image tiles.” [0149]
A training process (module)…
“A “machine learning logic (MLL)” as used herein is a program logic, e.g. a piece of software like a neuronal network or a support vector machine or the like, that has been trained or that can be trained in a training process and that comprises a predictive model that—as a result of the training phase—has learned to perform some predictive and/or data processing tasks (e.g. image classification) based on the provided training data. Thus, an MLL can be a program code that is at least partially not explicitly specified by a programmer, but that is implicitly learned and modified in a data-driven learning process that builds one or more implicit or explicit models from sample inputs. Machine learning may employ supervised or unsupervised learning.” [0220]
See Training module below.
an output interface configured to output a diagnosis signal;
Example of outputting mage tile of image class label of cancer patient (diagnosis signal)…
“This may be advantageous as this may enable a pathologist to identify tiles and tissue structures depicted therein which have the highest predictive value in respect to the membership of an image in a particular class. Thereby, new biomedical knowledge can be generated that has not yet been described in the biomedical literature before. For example, by outputting and highlighting the one out of 1000 image tiles depicting a particular tissue structure that is highly predictive of the image class label “tissue of a cancer patient who will benefit from treatment X” may reveal a correlation or causal relationship between the tissue structure depicted this tile and the particular image class that may not have been discovered and published before. Furthermore, even in case the tissue structure being predictive for a particular image class is as such known, the heat map or any other form of graphically representing the tile having the highest predictive value wh may have the advantage that a pathologist is enabled to identify the one or more tiles comprising the most interesting tissue structures in respect to a particular biomedical question faster and more accurately.” [0117]
wherein the classification module is configured to acquire as input the received image data and generate a first classification signal indicating probability values for each image of the image data,
Receiving (acquiring) images, where the images depict tissue sample from a patient..
“In one aspect, the invention relates to a method for classifying tissue images. The method comprises: receiving, by an image analysis system, a plurality of digital images; each of the digital images depicts a tissue sample of a patient; splitting, by the image analysis system, each received image into a set of image tiles; for each of the tiles, computing, by the image analysis system, a feature vector comprising image features extracted selectively from the tile; providing a Multiple-Instance-Learning (MIL) program configured to use a model for classifying any input image as a member of one out of at least two different classes based on the feature vectors extracted from all tiles of the said input image; for each of the tiles, computing a certainty value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “c”); the certainty value is indicative of the certainty of the model regarding the contribution of the tile's feature vector on the classification of the image from which the tile was derived; for each of the images: using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the feature vectors extracted from the image into a global feature vector as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image, and computing an aggregated predictive value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “ah”) from the global feature vector; or computing, by the MIL program, predictive values from respective ones of the feature vectors of the image and using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the predictive values of the image into an aggregated predictive value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “ah”) as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image; and classifying, by the MIL-program, each of the images as a member of one out of the at least two different classes based on the aggregated predictive value.” [0008] – [0017]
Using MIL-program (generating) for classifying tissue structures with high predictive value (first classification signal)...) for image
“A Multiple instance learning (MIL) program is a form of weakly supervised learning program configured to learn from a training set wherein training instances are arranged in sets called bags, and wherein a label is provided for the entire bag while the labels of the individual instances in the bag are not known. Hence, a MIL-program requires only weakly annotated training data. This type of data is especially common in medical imaging because the annotation of individual image regions to provide richly annotated training data is highly time consuming and hence expensive. Furthermore, the tissue structures which imply (have high predictive value for . . . ) a digital image to be member of a particular class (e.g. image depicting healthy tissue/image depicting a primary tumor/image depicting a metastase) are sometimes not known or are not perceivable by a pathologist. Hence, using a MIL-program for classifying digital tissue images may have the advantage that weakly annotated training data is sufficient for training a MIL-program capable of accurately classifying digital tissue images. Furthermore, the trained MIL-program will be able to accurately classifying digital tissue images even in case a human annotator, e.g. a pathologist, does not know the tissue structures which are highly predictive of the class membership of the tissue and hence is not able to select training images having an unbiased ratio of tissue regions with and without this tissue structure.” [0019]
Example of feature vectors to a predictive value that represent probability for a particular class membership…
“According to embodiments, the MIL-program learns in the training phase to translate feature vectors to a predictive value h that can represent probability for a particular bag label (i.e., image class membership). The label can represent a class (e.g. patients responding to the treatment with a particular drug D or a numerical range indicating the degree of a response). This learning can be mathematically described as the learning of a non-linear transform function that transforms the feature values into one of the labels provided during training. According to some embodiments, at testing time some minor structural changes are applied to the trained MIL-program (such as disabling Dropout layers, etc.) and no sampling of the test data takes place. The main change when applying the trained MIL-program at test time is that all instances (tiles) in the bags of the test data are analyzed by the MIL-program to compute the final numerical values indicating the predictive power for each of the tiles and for each of a plurality of labels provided in the training phase. Finally, a final numerical value is computed for the whole image or for a particular patient by aggregating the (weighted) predictive values computed for the tiles of the image for the plurality of labels. The final result of applying the trained MIL-program on the one or more images of the patient is the one of the labels having the highest probability (e.g. “patient will respond to a treatment with drug D!”). In addition, the one of the tiles having the highest predictive power in respect to this label may be presented in a report image tile gallery that is structurally equivalent to the report image tile gallery described above for the training phase.” [0198]
wherein the separator module is configured to, based on the first classification signal, separate the received image data into at least a first dataset and a second dataset according to a first reliability criterion derived from the probability values, and
Example of image splitting (separator) module…
“The image analysis system further comprises an image splitting module being executable by the at least one processor and being configured to split each of the images into a set of image tiles.” [0149]
Classifying images into at least two classes and certainty value (reliability criterion), and computing predictive values (probability values)…
“The image analysis system further comprises a Multiple-Instance-Learning (MIL) program. The MIL-program is executable by the at least one processor and is configured to use a model for classifying any input image as a member of one out of at least two different classes based on the feature vectors extracted from all tiles of the said input image. The MIL-program is further configured for: for each of the tiles, computing a certainty value, the certainty value being indicative of the certainty of the model regarding the contribution of the tile's feature vector on the classification of the image from which the tile was derived; for each of the images: using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the feature vectors extracted from the image into a global feature vector as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image, and computing an aggregated predictive value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “ah”) from the global feature vector; or computing, by the MIL program, predictive values from respective ones of the feature vectors of the image and using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the predictive values of the image into an aggregated predictive value (“ah”) as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image; and classifying each of the images as a member of one out of the at least two different classes based on the aggregated predictive value.” [0151] – [0156]
Example of training set (first dataset) based on highest predictive power, therefore probability…
“According to embodiments, the providing of the MIL-program comprises training the MIL-program on a training image set, whereby during the training phase a certainty-value-based-max-pooling function is used as pooling function. This may have the advantage that the predictive model generated during the training the MIL strongly reflects the tissue pattern depicted in the tile having the feature vector with the highest predictive power in respect to the bag's label. The model is not negatively affected by tissue regions/tiles which are irrelevant for the label. However, the maximum operation will neglect all the information contained in all tiles except the highest scoring tile. Hence, the predictive power of tiles/tissue patterns which may also be of relevance may be missed.” [0046]
wherein the training module is configured to use the first dataset or only a part thereof
derived solely from the image data of the patient and selected based on probability values exceeding the first reliability criterion as a training dataset to train an artificial neural network.
“According to embodiments, the MIL-program is a neural network. The certainty-value is computed using a dropout technique at training and/or test time of the model of the neural network.” [0074]
Training images (dataset or part thereof) that are labeled by class (first dataset or part thereof) using MIL-program (neural network)…
“According to embodiments, the providing of the MIL-program comprises training the model of the MIL-program. The training comprises: providing a set of digital training images of tissue samples, each digital training image having assigned a class label being indicative of one of the at least two classes; splitting each training image into training image tiles, each training tile having assigned the same class label as the digital training image from which the training tile was derived; for each of the tiles, computing, by the image analysis system, a training feature vector comprising image features extracted selectively from the said tile; and/or repeatedly adapting the model of the MIL-program such that an error of a loss function is minimized; the error of the loss function indicates a difference of predicted class labels of the training tiles and the class labels actually assigned to the training tiles; the predicted class labels have been computed by the model based on the feature vector of the training tiles.” [0106] - [0132]
Images from a patient to train the MIL program…
“According to another example, images of tissue samples of a patient are taken before and after treatment with a particular drug and the end-point (label) used for training the MIL-program and/or for applying a trained MIL-program is the attribute value “state of tissue=after treatment with drug D” or the attribute value “state of tissue=before treatment with drug D”. Training a MIL-program on the said patient-related attribute value may have the advantage of identifying tissue patterns which are indicative of the activity and morphological effects of the drug on the tumor.” [0334]
Weightings within the bag…
“… The MIL method is implemented as a two stream neural network, specialized in tasks of instance classification and weighting making use of Gaussian radial basis function to normalize the instance weights by comparing instances locally within the bag and globally across bags.” [0006]
Bag is specific to a patient….
“For example, each bag of tiles can represent a respective patient whose responsiveness to a particular drug is known. The instances contained in this patient-specific bag are tiles derived from one or more images of respective tissue samples of this particular patient, the tissue samples having been stained with a non-biomarker specific stain such as H&E…” [0100]
Obtaining a weighted predictive value (probability)…
“a1) weighting the predictive value (referred to e.g. as “h”) of each of the tiles with the certainty value (referred to e.g. as “c”) computed for this tile, thereby obtaining a weighted predictive value (referred to e.g. as “wh”); for example, the weighting comprises multiplying the certainty value (c) computed for one of the tiles with the predictive value (h) computed for the one tile for computing the weighted predictive value (wh) of the tile; for example, for a particular image I.sub.m that was split into K tiles, the weighted predictive value wh.sub.m_k for any one of the K tiles can be computed as: wh.sub.m_k=h.sub.m_k×c.sub.m_k;” [0039]
Weighted predictive value (probability) exceeds a threshold during training …
“The aggregated predictive value is then used for classifying the input image. For example, in case wh.sub.MAX exceeds a threshold determined during training, a digital image may be classified as “image depicting a tumor”. Otherwise, the image is classified as “image depicting healthy tissue”.” [0044]
“The above-mentioned thresholds have been observed to provide labeled training data that allows automatically generating a trained MLL that is accurately capable of identifying similar and dissimilar tissue patterns for breast cancer patients. In some other implementation examples, the first and second spatial proximity threshold may have other values. In particular in case a different set of received digital images showing different tissue types or cancer types is used, the first and second spatial proximity threshold may have other values than the above provided distance threshold values.” [0194]
Example of certainty value indicates (reliability) a prediction is correct (probability exceeds reliability)…
“A “certainty value” as used herein is a data value, in particular a numerical value, that is indicative of the certainty of a model of a machine learning program regarding the contribution of the tile's feature vector on the classification of the image from which the tile was derived. For example, if a model predicts that based on a pattern observed in a tile, the image belongs to a particular image class, the certainty value indicates the probability that this prediction is correct…” [0225]
Predictive value exceed a threshold…
“… For example, the question whether or not a sufficient number of tiles comprises sufficient evidence for the “positive class” may comprise using the certainty-value-based pooling function for determining whether the aggregated predictive value exceed a threshold value.” [0031]
Training Module
Shaul et al. teaches training process. They do not specifically teach a training module.
Colley et al. also in the business of training teaches:
“Referring still to FIGS. 11b and 11c, the input micro-services 1167 may also run a variant classification engine 1360 on the variant files utilizing a knowledge database of variant information 1175 to calculate many different types of variant criteria, further classification and addition database insertion. The variant micro-service 1167 may publish an alert 1183 when a key event occurs, to which other services 1179 can subscribe in order to react. After a variant call text file is parsed, the variant micro-service may insert variant analysis data into the expert treatment system database 160 including criteria, classifications, variants, findings, and sample information.” [1055]
Training engine (module)…
“…The user may correct any errors by selecting the data field in the application corresponding to the information. These errors may be stored and/or sent to a training engine to improve upon the extraction algorithms and techniques. The training engine may generate a new extraction algorithm to use in future extractions based from detected errors. More information is disclosed below with respect to FIGS. 165 and 168, below…”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use a training engine (module) as taught by Colley et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Shaul et al. who teaches training process.
Regarding claim 2
The patient-specific training system according to claim 1, wherein the classification module comprises a pre-trained artificial neural network structure.
Shaul et al. teaches:
Example of pre-trained MIL program (neural network)…
“A MIL-program in the form of a Resnet50 (Kaiming He, Xiangyu Zhang, Shaoqing Ren, and Jian Sun. Deep residual learning for image recognition. In Proc. IEEE Conf. on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, pp. 770-778, June 2016) pre-trained on ImageNet was provided, and feature vectors (embeddings) of size 2048 were extracted for each tile from the second to last layer of the network.” [0289]
Regarding claim 3
The patient-specific training system according to claim 1, wherein the probability values associated with a first set of classes.
Shaul et al. teaches:
Aggregated predictive value and associated with “image depicting a tumor” (first set of classes)…
“The aggregated predictive value is then used for classifying the input image. For example, in case wh.sub.MAX exceeds a threshold determined during training, a digital image may be classified as “image depicting a tumor”. Otherwise, the image is classified as “image depicting healthy tissue”.” [0044]
Regarding claim 4
The patient-specific training system according to claim 1, wherein the first dataset comprises all images above a threshold probability value and the second dataset comprises all images at or below the same threshold probability value.
Shaul et al. teaches:
Predictive (probability) value exceeds a threshold and otherwise (below same threshold, second dataset)…
“The aggregated predictive value is then used for classifying the input image. For example, in case wh.sub.MAX exceeds a threshold determined during training, a digital image may be classified as “image depicting a tumor”. Otherwise, the image is classified as “image depicting healthy tissue”.” [0044]
Regarding claim 5
The patient-specific training system according to claim 1, wherein the first dataset comprises all images above a relative threshold probability value between probability values associated with the classes and the second dataset comprises all images at or below the same relative threshold probability value.
Shaul et al. teaches:
Exceeds a threshold and otherwise (below same threshold, second dataset) for classes…
“The aggregated predictive value is then used for classifying the input image. For example, in case wh.sub.MAX exceeds a threshold determined during training, a digital image may be classified as “image depicting a tumor”. Otherwise, the image is classified as “image depicting healthy tissue”.” [0044]
Predictive related to probability…
“A “certainty value” as used herein is a data value, in particular a numerical value, that is indicative of the certainty of a model of a machine learning program regarding the contribution of the tile's feature vector on the classification of the image from which the tile was derived. For example, if a model predicts that based on a pattern observed in a tile, the image belongs to a particular image class, the certainty value indicates the probability that this prediction is correct. The certainty value is computed, for example, based on a feature vector (including a normalized for of the feature vector referred to as “embedding”) extracted from one out of a plurality of tiles of this image. To provide a more concrete exemplary illustration, the predictive model may have learned to classify data points respectively representing a tile by dividing datapoints in a multidimensional data space with a hyperplane. Data points lying far away from the hyperplane may represent classification results with a “high certainty value” while data points/tiles lying very close to the hyperplane may represent classification results with a low certainty value (a minor change in an attribute/feature value of the data point may result in the data point lying on the other side of the hyperplane and hence in another class). According to embodiments of the invention, the certainty value is represented by the parameter “c”.” [0225]
Regarding claim 6
The patient-specific training system according to claim 1, wherein the training module further comprises a selector unit, which is configured to determine a second set of classes and assemble the training dataset based on information from the first dataset or the second dataset.
{
From Applicant’s specification on selector unit…
“According to some of the embodiments, refinements, or variants of embodiments, the training module further comprises a selector unit, which is configured to determine a second set of classes and assemble the training dataset, based on information from the first dataset and/or the second dataset. While the first set of classes is determined by the pre-trained artificial neural network of the classification unit, the second set of classes can be determined prior to the training of the artificial neural network. This depends on the outcome of the classification performed by the classification unit. If, for instance, the representatives of the first dataset only populate significantly a subset of classes, it might be preferable to train the artificial neural network with only those well-represented classes. On the other hand, the second dataset might show that the unclear cases mostly arise from the confusion between two classes. In this case, it might be advantageous to concentrate the refined classification on these two classes, since this is where the classification can most likely be improved. The selection of the specific training dataset, e.g., the proportion of images from each of the selected classes, is also a parameter that can be adjusted depending on the class-distribution of the first dataset. In certain preferred embodiments, the second set of classes might be a subset of the first set of classes. In certain other embodiments, the second set of classes might contain classes that were not present in the first set of classes.” [0033]
The second set of classes can be subset of the first set or different classes not present in the first set of classes.
}
Shaul et al. teaches:
Images with class label output…
“The GUI is configured to display the classification result 207 generated by the MIL-program for each of the one or more received images 212. For example, the GUI can display images or image tiles with a class label output by the MIL-program.” [0281]
Select subsets of images (first or second dataset)…
“Optionally, the image analysis system can comprise a sampling module (not shown) adapted to select samples (subsets) of the images for training and test the trained MIL on the rest of the image tiles. The sampling module may perform a clustering of the tiles based on their feature vectors first before performing the sampling.” [0284]
Regarding claim 7
The patient-specific training system according to claim 6, wherein the selector unit further comprises a threshold discriminating subunit, which is configured to select
at least one class of the first set of classes for inclusion in the second set of classes, provided that a number of images classified in the at least one class of the first set of classes is above a certain threshold value.
{
From Applicant’s specification on threshold discriminating subunit…
“According to some of the embodiments, refinements, or variants of embodiments, the selector unit further comprises a threshold discriminating subunit, which is configured to select a class of the first set of classes as a class of the second set of classes, provided that the number of images classified in the class of the first set of classes is above a certain threshold value. In other words, the configuration of the second set of classes can take place based on a quantitative criterion, which only selects those classes that are statistically significant by defining a lower threshold of representatives per class.” [0034]
This looks at the number/quantity/count of images in the first class that are above a threshold (e.g. 20 images above threshold value of 70%) and selects this configuration for the second class. As claimed, this appears to just require a second class equal to a first class where the first class has images with any number above a threshold (so the second class needs images above a threshold value).
}
Shaul et al. teaches:
Image classified to a particular class when certainty value exceeds predefined threshold, therefore, a second class would have the same threshold requirement as a first class…
“For example, a maximum pooling function may classify an image to be member of a particular class only in case an attention-based predictive value which was weighted by the certainty value exceeds a predefined threshold.” [0145]
Regarding claim 8
The patient-specific training system according to claim 6, wherein the selector unit further comprises a sampling subunit, which is configured to sample a subset of data from the first dataset or augment the first dataset, such that each class of the second set of classes has a statistically significant number of images in the training dataset.
{
From Applicant’s specification on sampling subunit…
“According to some of the embodiments, refinements, or variants of embodiments, the selector unit further comprises a sampling subunit, which is configured to sample a subset of data from the first dataset and/or augment the first dataset, such that each class of the second set of classes has a statistically significant number of images in the training dataset. Even with the introduction of a threshold, some classes might be underrepresented with respect to other selected classes. This might lead to an unwanted bias in the training of the artificial neural network. In order to avoid this possible bias it is advantageous to balance the amount of representatives per class. In general, the sampling subunit will take a random selection of representatives of the overrepresented classes to have a balanced distribution of the training images according to the second set of classes. The sampling subunit can also apply augmentation techniques to generate further training data for less well-represented or rare classes, e.g., by rotating, mirroring, flipping, scaling and/or resampling image data. In general, increasing the amount of qualified training data by augmentation will lead to a better performance of the artificial neural network.” [0035]
Therefore, use a sample of the dataset for the second dataset (second classes are subsets of first classes)
}
Shaul et al. teaches:
Images with class label output…
“The GUI is configured to display the classification result 207 generated by the MIL-program for each of the one or more received images 212. For example, the GUI can display images or image tiles with a class label output by the MIL-program.” [0281]
Select subsets of images (first or second dataset)…
“Optionally, the image analysis system can comprise a sampling module (not shown) adapted to select samples (subsets) of the images for training and test the trained MIL on the rest of the image tiles. The sampling module may perform a clustering of the tiles based on their feature vectors first before performing the sampling.” [0284]
Regarding claim 9
The patient-specific training system according to claim 6, wherein the selector unit further comprises an artificial intelligence subunit, pre-trained to recognize a specific diagnosis, which is configured to select the training dataset based on a second reliability criterion.
{
From Applicant’s specification on specific diagnosis…
“According to some of the embodiments, refinements, or variants of embodiments, the selector unit further comprises an artificial intelligence subunit pre-trained to recognize a specific diagnosis, which is configured to select the training images based on a second reliability criterion. In some cases where a specific disease or abnormality is the target of the analysis of the patient images, the second set of classes should be related to the markers of the specific disease or abnormality. In this case, using an artificial neural network pre-trained to identify the specific disease or abnormality can select the training dataset more efficiently. Depending on the data available, the artificial neural network can be trained with generic data or patient-specific data. The reliability criterion may be a probability distribution among the different classes with which the artificial neural network has been pretrained.” [0036]
“The artificial intelligence subunit 423 is configured to perform a selection of the second set of classes Cl'-C3' based on a specific diagnosis. The artificial intelligence subunit 423 comprises at least an artificial neural network (not shown in the figure) pre-trained with data in order to recognize a specific disease. Since in some of the embodiments the training system 100 is meant to be part of a computer assisted diagnostic system, fixing the second set of classes Cl'-C3' by using pre-trained artificial neural networks can be certainly advantageous. For example, one might want to use the training system 100 to ascertain whether a patient which was diagnosed in the past with blood cancer suffers it again. The artificial intelligence subunit 423 can be trained with the blood samples of the patient when he/she was first diagnosed, and use this trained artificial neural network to determine the classes Cl'-C3' of the artificial neural network 41. The amount of available data for the training is in this case clearly the limiting factor, but one could also complement patient blood samples with blood samples of other patients diagnosed with the same type of blood cancer.” [0077]
Therefore, AI pre-trained to recognize a diagnosis or disease and select dataset based on second reliability criteria. Have a pre-trained AI model for diagnosing disease and run image sample to see if it meets a threshold.
}
Shaul et al. teaches:
Using a trained (therefore, pre-trained) MIL-program (AI model) with classification of digital images and takes into account uncertainties (reliability criterion)…
“FIG. 1 depicts a flowchart of a method according to an embodiment of the invention. The method can be used for classifying tissue images of a patient. The classification can be performed e.g. for predicting an attribute value of a patient such as, for example, a biomarker status, diagnosis, treatment outcome, microsatellite status (MSS) of a particular cancer such as colorectal cancer or breast cancer, micrometastases in Lymph nodes and Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) in diagnostic biopsies. The prediction is based on a classification of digital images of histology slides using a trained MIL-program that takes into account model uncertainties. In the following description of FIG. 1, reference will also be made to elements of FIGS. 2, 15 and 16.” [0257]
Regarding claim 10
The patient-specific training system according to claim 6, wherein the training module is further configured to generate a second classification signal associated with each image of the training dataset, wherein the second classification signal indicates, for each image of the training dataset, probability values associated to the second set of classes.
Shaul et al. teaches:
Example of distance between two tiles (second classification signal) and probability of non-tumor (second set of classes)…
“When a training image comprising many different tissue patterns (e.g. “non-tumor” and “tumor”) is split into many different tiles, the smaller the distance between two tiles, the higher the probability that both compared tiles depict the same tissue pattern, e.g. “non-tumor”. There will, however, be some tile pairs next to the border of two different patterns that depict different tissue pattern (e.g. the first tile “tumor”, the other tile “non-tumor”). These tile pairs generate noise, because they depict different tissue patterns although they lie in close spatial proximity to each other.” [0174]
Regarding claim 14
A computer-implemented patient-specific training method to be used with a patient- specific training system, comprising the following steps:
acquiring image data from a patient;
Shaul et al. teaches:
Receiving (acquiring) images, where the images depict tissue sample from a patient..
“In one aspect, the invention relates to a method for classifying tissue images. The method comprises: receiving, by an image analysis system, a plurality of digital images; each of the digital images depicts a tissue sample of a patient; splitting, by the image analysis system, each received image into a set of image tiles; for each of the tiles, computing, by the image analysis system, a feature vector comprising image features extracted selectively from the tile; providing a Multiple-Instance-Learning (MIL) program configured to use a model for classifying any input image as a member of one out of at least two different classes based on the feature vectors extracted from all tiles of the said input image; for each of the tiles, computing a certainty value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “c”); the certainty value is indicative of the certainty of the model regarding the contribution of the tile's feature vector on the classification of the image from which the tile was derived; for each of the images: using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the feature vectors extracted from the image into a global feature vector as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image, and computing an aggregated predictive value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “ah”) from the global feature vector; or computing, by the MIL program, predictive values from respective ones of the feature vectors of the image and using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the predictive values of the image into an aggregated predictive value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “ah”) as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image; and classifying, by the MIL-program, each of the images as a member of one out of the at least two different classes based on the aggregated predictive value.” [0008] – [0017]
generating a first classification signal indicating probability values for each image of the acquired image data;
Using MIL-program (generating) for classifying tissue structures with high predictive value (probability, first classification signal)...) for image
“A Multiple instance learning (MIL) program is a form of weakly supervised learning program configured to learn from a training set wherein training instances are arranged in sets called bags, and wherein a label is provided for the entire bag while the labels of the individual instances in the bag are not known. Hence, a MIL-program requires only weakly annotated training data. This type of data is especially common in medical imaging because the annotation of individual image regions to provide richly annotated training data is highly time consuming and hence expensive. Furthermore, the tissue structures which imply (have high predictive value for . . . ) a digital image to be member of a particular class (e.g. image depicting healthy tissue/image depicting a primary tumor/image depicting a metastase) are sometimes not known or are not perceivable by a pathologist. Hence, using a MIL-program for classifying digital tissue images may have the advantage that weakly annotated training data is sufficient for training a MIL-program capable of accurately classifying digital tissue images. Furthermore, the trained MIL-program will be able to accurately classifying digital tissue images even in case a human annotator, e.g. a pathologist, does not know the tissue structures which are highly predictive of the class membership of the tissue and hence is not able to select training images having an unbiased ratio of tissue regions with and without this tissue structure.” [0019]
Example of feature vectors to a predictive value that represent probability for a particular class membership…
“According to embodiments, the MIL-program learns in the training phase to translate feature vectors to a predictive value h that can represent probability for a particular bag label (i.e., image class membership). The label can represent a class (e.g. patients responding to the treatment with a particular drug D or a numerical range indicating the degree of a response). This learning can be mathematically described as the learning of a non-linear transform function that transforms the feature values into one of the labels provided during training. According to some embodiments, at testing time some minor structural changes are applied to the trained MIL-program (such as disabling Dropout layers, etc.) and no sampling of the test data takes place. The main change when applying the trained MIL-program at test time is that all instances (tiles) in the bags of the test data are analyzed by the MIL-program to compute the final numerical values indicating the predictive power for each of the tiles and for each of a plurality of labels provided in the training phase. Finally, a final numerical value is computed for the whole image or for a particular patient by aggregating the (weighted) predictive values computed for the tiles of the image for the plurality of labels. The final result of applying the trained MIL-program on the one or more images of the patient is the one of the labels having the highest probability (e.g. “patient will respond to a treatment with drug D!”). In addition, the one of the tiles having the highest predictive power in respect to this label may be presented in a report image tile gallery that is structurally equivalent to the report image tile gallery described above for the training phase.” [0198]
separating the image data into at least a first dataset and a second dataset based on the first classification signal and according to a first reliability criterion derived from the probability values;
Example of image splitting (separator) module…
“The image analysis system further comprises an image splitting module being executable by the at least one processor and being configured to split each of the images into a set of image tiles.” [0149]
Classifying images into at least two classes and certainty value (reliability criterion), and computing predictive values (probability values)…
“The image analysis system further comprises a Multiple-Instance-Learning (MIL) program. The MIL-program is executable by the at least one processor and is configured to use a model for classifying any input image as a member of one out of at least two different classes based on the feature vectors extracted from all tiles of the said input image. The MIL-program is further configured for: for each of the tiles, computing a certainty value, the certainty value being indicative of the certainty of the model regarding the contribution of the tile's feature vector on the classification of the image from which the tile was derived; for each of the images: using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the feature vectors extracted from the image into a global feature vector as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image, and computing an aggregated predictive value (referred herein according to embodiments of the invention as “ah”) from the global feature vector; or computing, by the MIL program, predictive values from respective ones of the feature vectors of the image and using, by the MIL-program, a certainty-value-based pooling function for aggregating the predictive values of the image into an aggregated predictive value (“ah”) as a function of the certainty values of the tiles of the image; and classifying each of the images as a member of one out of the at least two different classes based on the aggregated predictive value.” [0151] – [0156]
Example of training set (first dataset) based on highest predictive power, therefore probability…
“According to embodiments, the providing of the MIL-program comprises training the MIL-program on a training image set, whereby during the training phase a certainty-value-based-max-pooling function is used as pooling function. This may have the advantage that the predictive model generated during the training the MIL strongly reflects the tissue pattern depicted in the tile having the feature vector with the highest predictive power in respect to the bag's label. The model is not negatively affected by tissue regions/tiles which are irrelevant for the label. However, the maximum operation will neglect all the information contained in all tiles except the highest scoring tile. Hence, the predictive power of tiles/tissue patterns which may also be of relevance may be missed.” [0046]
initializing an artificial neural network; and
“According to embodiments, the MIL-program is a neural network. The certainty-value is computed using a dropout technique at training and/or test time of the model of the neural network.” [0074]
training the artificial neural network with the entire first dataset or a part thereof derived solely from image data of the patient and selected based on probability values exceeding the first reliability criterion.
Training images (dataset or part thereof) that are labeled by class (first dataset or part thereof) using MIL-program (neural network)…
“According to embodiments, the providing of the MIL-program comprises training the model of the MIL-program. The training comprises: providing a set of digital training images of tissue samples, each digital training image having assigned a class label being indicative of one of the at least two classes; splitting each training image into training image tiles, each training tile having assigned the same class label as the digital training image from which the training tile was derived; for each of the tiles, computing, by the image analysis system, a training feature vector comprising image features extracted selectively from the said tile; and/or repeatedly adapting the model of the MIL-program such that an error of a loss function is minimized; the error of the loss function indicates a difference of predicted class labels of the training tiles and the class labels actually assigned to the training tiles; the predicted class labels have been computed by the model based on the feature vector of the training tiles.” [0106] - [0132]
Images from a patient to train the MIL program…
“According to another example, images of tissue samples of a patient are taken before and after treatment with a particular drug and the end-point (label) used for training the MIL-program and/or for applying a trained MIL-program is the attribute value “state of tissue=after treatment with drug D” or the attribute value “state of tissue=before treatment with drug D”. Training a MIL-program on the said patient-related attribute value may have the advantage of identifying tissue patterns which are indicative of the activity and morphological effects of the drug on the tumor.” [0334]
Weightings within the bag…
“… The MIL method is implemented as a two stream neural network, specialized in tasks of instance classification and weighting making use of Gaussian radial basis function to normalize the instance weights by comparing instances locally within the bag and globally across bags.” [0006]
Bag is specific to a patient….
“For example, each bag of tiles can represent a respective patient whose responsiveness to a particular drug is known. The instances contained in this patient-specific bag are tiles derived from one or more images of respective tissue samples of this particular patient, the tissue samples having been stained with a non-biomarker specific stain such as H&E…” [0100]
Obtaining a weighted predictive value (probability)…
“a1) weighting the predictive value (referred to e.g. as “h”) of each of the tiles with the certainty value (referred to e.g. as “c”) computed for this tile, thereby obtaining a weighted predictive value (referred to e.g. as “wh”); for example, the weighting comprises multiplying the certainty value (c) computed for one of the tiles with the predictive value (h) computed for the one tile for computing the weighted predictive value (wh) of the tile; for example, for a particular image I.sub.m that was split into K tiles, the weighted predictive value wh.sub.m_k for any one of the K tiles can be computed as: wh.sub.m_k=h.sub.m_k×c.sub.m_k;” [0039]
Weighted predictive value (probability) exceeds a threshold during training …
“The aggregated predictive value is then used for classifying the input image. For example, in case wh.sub.MAX exceeds a threshold determined during training, a digital image may be classified as “image depicting a tumor”. Otherwise, the image is classified as “image depicting healthy tissue”.” [0044]
“The above-mentioned thresholds have been observed to provide labeled training data that allows automatically generating a trained MLL that is accurately capable of identifying similar and dissimilar tissue patterns for breast cancer patients. In some other implementation examples, the first and second spatial proximity threshold may have other values. In particular in case a different set of received digital images showing different tissue types or cancer types is used, the first and second spatial proximity threshold may have other values than the above provided distance threshold values.” [0194]
Example of certainty value as probability a prediction is correct…
“A “certainty value” as used herein is a data value, in particular a numerical value, that is indicative of the certainty of a model of a machine learning program regarding the contribution of the tile's feature vector on the classification of the image from which the tile was derived. For example, if a model predicts that based on a pattern observed in a tile, the image belongs to a particular image class, the certainty value indicates the probability that this prediction is correct…” [0225]
Predictive value exceed a threshold…
“… For example, the question whether or not a sufficient number of tiles comprises sufficient evidence for the “positive class” may comprise using the certainty-value-based pooling function for determining whether the aggregated predictive value exceed a threshold value.” [0031]
Regarding claim 16
The method according to claim 14, wherein the probability values are associated with a first set of classes.
Shaul et al. teaches:
Aggregated predictive value and associated with “image depicting a tumor” (first set of classes)…
“The aggregated predictive value is then used for classifying the input image. For example, in case wh.sub.MAX exceeds a threshold determined during training, a digital image may be classified as “image depicting a tumor”. Otherwise, the image is classified as “image depicting healthy tissue”.” [0044]
Regarding claim 17
The method according to claim 14, wherein the first dataset comprises all images above a threshold probability value and the second dataset comprises all images at or below the same threshold probability value.
Shaul et al. teaches:
Exceeds a threshold and otherwise (below same threshold, second dataset)…
“The aggregated predictive value is then used for classifying the input image. For example, in case wh.sub.MAX exceeds a threshold determined during training, a digital image may be classified as “image depicting a tumor”. Otherwise, the image is classified as “image depicting healthy tissue”.” [0044]
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (6) above in further view of Pub. No. US 2022/0237449 to Chung.
Regarding claim 11
The patient-specific training system according to claim 6, wherein the selector unit further comprises a training-scenario subunit, which is configured to select the artificial neural network of the training module.
Shaul et al. teaches:
Training phase…
“According to embodiments, applying dropout during the training phase means creating many different dropout layers respectively comprising a randomly selected sub-set of nodes of a fully connected layer, whereby each dropout layer acts as a masks (comprising “zero”-nodes and “one”-nodes). The masks are created during forward propagation, are respectively applied to the layer outputs during training and cached for future use on back-propagation. The dropout mask applied on a layer is saved to allow identifying the neurons that were activated during the backward propagation step. Now with those identified neurons selected, the output of the neurons is back-propagated. Typically, the dropout layers are created and used only during the training phase and are saved in the form of deactivated, additional layers in the trained network.” [0077]
Randomly using (select) different subnetworks of a neural network….
“The key idea behind Monte-Carlo Dropout (MC Dropout) is assessing model uncertainty by using dropout. MC Dropout calculates the model uncertainty (and hence, implicitly, also model certainty) using a dropout technique, i.e. by randomly using different subnetworks of a neural network architecture to get multiple different results from the network for the same predictive task and assess the “certainty” as the “consistency” of the result. MC is referring to Monte Carlo as the dropout process is similar to sampling the neurons.” [0082]
The combined references teach neural network. They do not teach select.
Chung also in the business of neural networks teaches:
Selecting neural network with lower loss function…
“In an embodiment of the disclosure, the plurality pieces of label data include a plurality pieces of training data and a plurality pieces of test data, and the training module generates the first neural network model and a second neural network model according to the plurality pieces of training data, wherein the second neural network model includes a plurality of second cluster centers, and a first number of the plurality of cluster centers is different from a second number of the plurality of second cluster centers, and the computing module calculates a first loss function value of the first neural network model and a second loss function value of the second neural network model according to the plurality pieces of test data, and the computing module selects the first neural network model from the first neural network model and the second neural network model to generate the reference configuration in response to the first loss function value being less than the second loss function value.” [0015]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to select a neural network as taught by Chung since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Chung who teaches the advantages of selecting a model with a lower loss function.
Regarding claim 12
The patient-specific training system according to claim 11, wherein the training-scenario subunit is further configured to add patient-specific non- image data to the training dataset used to train the artificial neural network of the training module.
{
From Applicant’s specification on non-image…
“According to some of the embodiments, refinements, or variants of embodiments, the patient-specific non-image data comprises information on at least a previous diagnosed disease. This existing diagnosis of the patient selects the kind of algorithm to be used, in particular one that is pre-trained to identify the specific diagnosed disease. The artificial neural network could be trained on generic data or data from the patient itself, depending on the data availability.” [0040]
Therefore, added data is diagnostic data of a patient.
}
Shaul et al. teaches:
Provide additional quantitative information…
“An “image analysis system” as used herein is a system, e.g. a computer system, adapted to evaluate and process digital images, in particular images of tissue samples, in order to assist a user in evaluating or interpreting, e.g. classifying, an image and/or in order to extract biomedical information that is implicitly or explicitly contained in the image. For example, the computer system can be a standard desktop computer system or a distributed computer system, e.g. a cloud system. Generally, a computerized histopathology image analysis system takes as its input a single- or multi-channel image captured by a camera and attempts to provide additional quantitative information to aid in the diagnosis or treatment. The image can be received directly from the camera or can be read from a local or remote storage medium.” [0211]
Non-Image Data
The combined references teach image and training. They do not teach non-image data.
Colley et al. also in the business of image and training teaches:
Use available data for diagnosis including clinical and molecular details (non-image data) of a patient…
“Analytics module 3236 can, in general, use available data to indicate a diagnosis, predict progression, predict treatment outcomes, and/or suggest an optimized treatment plan (such as a medication type, an available clinical trial) based on the specific disease state of each patient. Exemplary analytics may include machine learning algorithms or neural networks. A machine learning algorithm (MLA) or a neural network (NN) may be trained from a training data set. For a disease state, an exemplary training data set may include the clinical and molecular details of a patient such as those curated from the Electronic Health Record or genetic sequencing reports. MLAs include supervised algorithms (such as algorithms where the features/classifications in the data set are annotated) using linear regression, logistic regression, decision trees, classification and regression trees, Naïve Bayes, nearest neighbor clustering; unsupervised algorithms (such as algorithms where no features/classification in the data set are annotated) using Apriori, means clustering, principal component analysis, random forest, adaptive boosting; and semi-supervised algorithms (such as algorithms where certain features/classifications in the data set are annotated) using generative approach (such as mixture of Gaussian distributions, mixture of multinomial distributions, hidden Markov models), low density separation, graph-based approaches (such as mincut, harmonic function, manifold regularization), heuristic approaches, or support vector machines. NNs include conditional random fields, convolutional neural networks, attention based neural networks, long short term memory networks, or other neural models where the training data set includes a plurality of samples and RNA expression data for each sample. While MLA and neural networks identify distinct approaches to machine learning, the terms may be used interchangeably herein. Thus, a mention of MLA may include a corresponding NN or a mention of NN may include a corresponding MLA.” [1296]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use non-image data as taught by Colley et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Colley et al. who teaches the importance of using available data to indicate a diagnosis. The combined references benefit as the also are directed to providing a diagnosis.
Regarding claim 13
The patient-specific training system according to claim 12, where the patient-specific non- image data comprises information of at least a previous diagnosed disease.
Non-Image Data
The combined references teach image and training. They do not teach non-image data.
Colley et al. also in the business of image and training teaches:
Maintains collection of training data (previous) that includes diagnoses…
“With regard to both the post-processing of scanned documents discussed above, as well as the analysis and structuring of other aspects of patient EHRs or EMRs, such as next-generation sequencing reports, a system that identifies and processes information in clinical documents or other records is disclosed herein. The system may use a combination of text extraction techniques, text cleaning techniques, natural language processing techniques, machine learning algorithms, and medical concept (Entity) identification, normalization, and structuring techniques. The system also maintains and utilizes a continuous collection of training data across clinical use cases (such as diagnoses, therapies, outcomes, genetic markers, etc.) that help to increase both accuracy and reliability of predictions specific to a patient record. The system accelerates a structuring of clinical data in a patient's record. The system may execute subroutines that highlight, suggest, and pre-populate an electronic medical record (“EHR” or “EMR”). The system may provide other formats of structured clinical data, with relevant medical concepts extracted from the text and documents of record.” [1542]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use non-image data as taught by Colley et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Colley et al. who teaches the importance of using available data to indicate a diagnosis. The combined references benefit as the also are directed to providing a diagnosis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH BARTLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684