DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 3, “the dough” should say “the pizza dough” for claim language consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that the claims are directed to an apparatus/a system and therefore are only limited by positively recited elements. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Furthermore, it is well settled that the intended uses of and the particular material used in an apparatus have no significance in determining patentability of apparatus claims. A recitation with respect to manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims. In other words, the process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus. See MPEP 2114 (II) and 2115 for further details.
For example, in claim 15 the limitation of “turn the cut dough for creating dough bits around the center of the pizza dough” is the intended use of “a robotic arm”.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Claim 3 recites "a placing module configured to place the pizza dough in a center of the plate" which includes the structural generic placeholder of "a placing module" associated with the functional limitation of "place the pizza dough in a center of the plate". The specification defines corresponding structure for the claimed generic placeholder of "a placing module" to include movable rollers in a bottom part of the plate and/or an arm for moving the rollers towards the plate and away from the plate (Pg. 5).
Claim 13 recites "a folding unit for folding a circumference of the pizza dough" which includes the structural generic placeholder of "a folding unit" associated with the functional limitation of "folding a circumference of the pizza dough". The specification defines corresponding structure for the claimed generic placeholder of "a folding unit" to include a lifting arm, a movable fork and/or a robotic arm (Pg. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of “the operation” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation of “the cheese” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation of “the cut dough” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation of “the baking tray” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR 101875003 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation), in view of Gnocchi (WO 2012146999 A1) and Shin (KR 101433719 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon discloses a machine for stretching pizza dough (Fig. 2; [0001]; device that automates the process of forming pizza dough into a disc shape), comprising:
a rotating tray (Fig. 2; [0044]; rotation support means 30A comprises a tray assembly) configured to carry a plate with the pizza dough (Fig. 2; [0045]; rotational plate 31 on which dough is placed);
a roller housing (Fig. 2; [0059]; pressure means 30B comprises a roller) located above the rotating tray (Fig. 2), said roller housing is coupled to a roller (Fig. 2; [0053]; pressure roller 34), wherein the roller rolls when being in physical contact with the pizza dough ([0059]);
a first actuator for rotating (Fig. 2; [0057]) the rotating tray respective to the roller housing;
a second actuator for adjusting a vertical distance (Fig. 2; [0051]; lifting/lowering means 35 adjusts vertical distance between 30A and 30B) between the roller housing and the rotating tray.
Jeon does not disclose said roller housing is coupled to rollers and a management system for controlling an operation of the first actuator and the second actuator according to a dough stretching plan.
However, in the analogous art Gnocchi teaches a pizza dough stretching machine (Fig. 6; [0001]) comprising a roller housing (Fig. 4-6; [0024]; inner and outer roller groups 10, 40) coupled to a plurality of rollers (Fig. 4-6; [0026]; rollers 14 and 44).
Jeon and Gnocchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of Jeon with the teachings of Gnocchi to provide said roller housing is coupled to rollers. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would prevent the dough from retracting after contact with the rollers (Gnocchi [0056]).
Jeon, in view of Gnocchi, does not disclose a management system for controlling an operation of the first actuator and the second actuator according to a dough stretching plan.
However, Shin teaches a machine for stretching a pasty material ([0007]), wherein a rotating tray ([0028]; spinning wheel plate 40) comprises a first actuator for rotation ([0028]; third motor 45 rotates 40), a second actuator for adjusting height ([0035]; first motor adjusts lifting speed of floor frame 9 on which 40 sits) and a controller for controlling the first and second actuators ([0028, 0035]).
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor's endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2141.01(a). In this case, Shin is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned as it concerns a rotating tray for shaping pasty materials and drive control thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of Jeon, in view of Gnocchi, with the teachings of Shin to provide a management system for controlling an operation of the first actuator and the second actuator. From the teachings of Shin, one of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that setting the controller to a given rotation speed and height would correspond to a “dough stretching plan” in the apparatus of modified Jeon. Doing so would allow pizza dough to be stretched with high quality consistently across different stretching operations.
Regarding claim 2, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 1.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose multiple roller housings having different sizes and a vertical axis, wherein the multiple roller housings are arranged around the vertical axis such that all the multiple roller housings can be placed above the rotating tray.
However, Gnocchi further teaches multiple roller housings (Fig. 4-6; [0024]; inner and outer roller groups 10, 40) having different sizes (Fig. 3-5; [0024]; inner and outer roller groups 10, 40 have rollers of different sizes) and a vertical axis (Fig. 4-6; vertical axis X), wherein the multiple roller housings are arranged around the vertical axis (Fig. 3-6).
Jeon and Gnocchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Gnocchi to provide multiple roller housings having different sizes and a vertical axis, wherein the multiple roller housings are arranged around the vertical axis such that all the multiple roller housings can be placed above the rotating tray. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would prevent the dough from retracting after contact with the rollers (Gnocchi [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 1, further comprises a placing module configured to place the pizza dough in a center of the plate (Jeon Fig. 2, 3A; [0030]; conveying unit 2 applies dough to upper center surface of rotational plate 31).
Regarding claim 6, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 1, wherein the roller housing has an upward position being remote from the rotating tray and a downward position in which the roller housing is in physical contact with the pizza dough (Jeon Fig. 2; [0051]; lifting/lowering means 35 adjusts vertical distance between 30A and 30B).
Regarding claim 7, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 1, further comprises a flour container configured to store flour powder (Jeon Fig. 1B; [0021-0022, 0024]; under broadest reasonable interpretation, flour powder is stored in hopper section of kneader) and a flour dispenser configured to dispense flour (Jeon [0032]; release agent application means applies flour).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR 101875003 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation), in view of Gnocchi (WO 2012146999 A1) and Shin (KR 101433719 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Morello (US 20200229450 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 1.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the roller housing comprises an elastic layer capable of being in physical contact with the pizza dough.
However, in the analogous art Morello teaches a pizza dough stretching machine (Fig. 5; [0155]) comprising an elastic layer (Fig. 5; [0074]; silicone diaphragm 45) capable of being in physical contact with pizza dough ([0074, 0092]), wherein the elastic layer contacts a plurality of rollers (Fig. 5; 45 contacts rollers 21, 22).
Jeon and Morello are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Morello to provide the roller housing comprises an elastic layer capable of being in physical contact with the pizza dough. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would reduce friction when the rollers contact the pizza dough (Morello [0109]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR 101875003 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation), in view of Gnocchi (WO 2012146999 A1) and Shin (KR 101433719 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Finlay (US 4806090 A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 3.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the placing module comprises movable rollers in a bottom part of the plate.
However, in the analogous art Finlay teaches a dough stretching machine (Fig. 1; Col. 1, 1st ¶) comprising a placing module with movable rollers (Fig. 2; Col. 2, last ¶; support rollers 12) in a bottom part of a plate (Fig. 1-2; Col. 2, last ¶; turntable 4).
Jeon and Finlay are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Finlay to provide the placing module comprises movable rollers in a bottom part of the plate. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow the plate to easily rotate about a vertical axis (Finlay Col. 2, last ¶).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR 101875003 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation), in view of Gnocchi (WO 2012146999 A1) and Shin (KR 101433719 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 20060222748 A1; hereafter Kobayashi).
Regarding claim 8, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 1, further comprises a pore forming mechanism (Jeon Fig. 4A, 4B; [0063-0064]; pore forming section 40) configured to create holes in the pizza dough (Jeon [0064]), said pore forming mechanism comprises a pore former (Jeon Fig. 4A, 4B; [0063-0064]; pore forming roller 41) and an arm (Jeon Fig. 4A; [0063-0064]; shaft above fixing bracket 43) configured to move the pore former on the pizza dough.
Jeon does not disclose the pore forming mechanism is a brush.
However, in the analogous art Kobayashi teaches a dough stretching machine (Fig. 1; [0012]) comprising a brush ([0075]; degassing roller 115 with a multitude of needles erected on the peripheral surface thereof) configured to create holes in pizza dough ([0075]; needles pierce the top surface of the shaped dough F to thereby form a multitude of degassing pores).
Jeon and Finlay are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Finlay to provide the placing module comprises movable rollers in a bottom part of the plate. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow the plate to easily rotate about a vertical axis (Finlay Col. 2, last ¶).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR 101875003 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation), in view of Gnocchi (WO 2012146999 A1) and Shin (KR 101433719 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lewis (US 20200060292 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 1.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the rotating tray comprises multiple sets of movable pins, each set is arranged in a different area of the rotating tray, said multiple sets enable securing plates of multiple sizes on the rotating tray.
However, in the analogous art Lewis teaches a pizza dough stretching machine (Fig. 2; [0002]) comprising a rotating tray (Fig. 2; [0011]; turntable 215) with multiple sets of movable pins (Fig. 2; [0013]; multiple clamp pins 220), each set is arranged in a different area of the rotating tray (Fig. 2; clamps are spread out along the circumference of the turntable 215), said multiple sets enable securing plates of multiple sizes on the rotating tray ([0028]; clamp pins 220 allow pans of different sizes to be accurately centered on the turntable).
Jeon and Lewis are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Lewis to provide the rotating tray comprises multiple sets of movable pins, each set is arranged in a different area of the rotating tray, said multiple sets enable securing plates of multiple sizes on the rotating tray. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow pans of different sizes to be accurately centered on the turntable (Lewis [0028]).
Claims 10-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR 101875003 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation), in view of Gnocchi (WO 2012146999 A1) and Shin (KR 101433719 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kesler (US 20210282409 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 1, further comprises an application station configured to prepare dough of unique shapes (Jeon Fig. 2; [0059]; can shape dough into different wide and flat disk shapes).
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the application station is configured to prepare dough of unique shapes before transferring the dough to an oven.
However, in the analogous art Kesler teaches a pizza-making machine ([0001]; automated pizza-making system) comprising an application station ([0003]; dough rounder and press components) configured to prepare dough of unique shapes ([0149]; pizza dough of different shapes, such as square, circular or otherwise, can be prepared) before transferring the dough to an oven ([0003]; oven component).
Jeon and Kesler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Kesler to provide an application station configured to prepare dough of unique shapes before transferring the dough to an oven. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow for the manufacture of a greater variety of pizzas (Kesler [0149]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 10, wherein the application station comprises a rotating axis such that the plate rotates when placed in the application station (Jeon Fig. 2; [0045]; rotational plate 31 spins along center axis of the rotational plate 31).
Regarding claim 12, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 10.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the application station comprises a dispenser for dispensing edible material onto the pizza dough.
However, Kesler further teaches the application station comprises a dispenser ([0122, 0124]; sauce dispenser component and bulk topping dispenser component) for dispensing edible material onto the pizza dough ([0122, 0124]; sauces and bulk foods, such as cheeses and meats, are edible).
Jeon and Kesler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Kesler to provide the application station comprises a dispenser for dispensing edible material onto the pizza dough. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow for the manufacture of a greater variety of pizzas (Kesler [0149]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 10.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the application station comprises a holding mechanism to stabilize a baking tray of the pizza dough.
However, Kesler further teaches the application station comprises a holding mechanism ([0299-0300]; pan drive system holds and conveys the pizza pans for baking) to stabilize a baking tray of the pizza dough ([0300]; pans contain the pizza dough for baking).
Jeon and Kesler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Kesler to provide the application station comprises a holding mechanism to stabilize a baking tray of the pizza dough. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow for the manufacture of a greater variety of pizzas (Kesler [0149]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR 101875003 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation), in view of Gnocchi (WO 2012146999 A1), Shin (KR 101433719 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation) and Kesler (US 20210282409 A1) as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Saad (US 20110256280 A1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 10.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the application station comprises a folding unit for folding a circumference of the pizza dough.
However, in the analogous art Saad teaches a pizza dough stretching machine (Fig. 1; [0033]; apparatus that folds pizza dough) comprising an application station with a folding unit (Fig. 1; [0033]) for folding a circumference of a pizza dough (Fig. 1; [0025, 0033]).
Jeon and Saad are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Saad to provide the application station comprises a folding unit for folding a circumference of the pizza dough. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow for the manufacture of pizzas with cheese-filled rims for patrons (Saad [0001]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 10.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the application station comprises a folding unit for folding a circumference of the pizza dough with cheese in it.
However, in the analogous art Saad teaches a pizza dough stretching machine (Fig. 1; [0033]; apparatus that folds pizza dough) comprising an application station with a folding unit (Fig. 1; [0033]) for folding a circumference of a pizza dough with cheese in it (Fig. 1; [0025, 0033]).
Jeon and Saad are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Saad to provide the application station comprises a folding unit for folding a circumference of the pizza dough with cheese in it. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow for the manufacture of pizzas with cheese-filled rims for patrons (Saad [0001]).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR 101875003 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation), in view of Gnocchi (WO 2012146999 A1), Shin (KR 101433719 B1; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation) and Kesler (US 20210282409 A1) as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Hamon et al. (WO 2017134147 A1; hereafter Hamon; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 15, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 10.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the application station comprises a cutter and a robotic arm used to turn cut dough for creating dough bits around the center of the pizza dough.
However, in the analogous art Hamon teaches a pizza-making machine (Fig. 1; [0003]; installation for making a pizza) comprising an application station with a cutter ([0137]; third robotic arm arranged to cut the pizza) and a robotic arm ([0136]; first robotic arm). As the robotic arm allows manipulation of the pizza dough using two fingers ([0131]) and is multi-articulated ([0131]), it would be capable of the intended use of turning cut dough for creating dough bits around the center of the pizza dough.
Jeon and Hamon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Hamon to provide the application station comprises a cutter and a robotic arm used to turn cut dough for creating dough bits around the center of the pizza dough. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow for the automatic manufacture of pizzas individually for one or more users (Hamon [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Jeon discloses the machine of claim 10.
Modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose the application station comprises multiple control arms and grippers for dough manipulation and crafting of the pizza dough.
However, in the analogous art Hamon teaches a pizza-making machine (Fig. 1; [0003]; installation for making a pizza) comprising an application station with multiple control arms and grippers ([0131]; at least one multi-articulated robotic arm with two fingers for gripping the pizza). As the robotic arm allows manipulation of the pizza dough using two fingers ([0131]) and is multi-articulated ([0131]), it would be capable of the intended use of dough manipulation and crafting of the pizza dough.
Jeon and Hamon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of pizza dough stretching machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine of modified Jeon with the teachings of Hamon to provide the application station comprises multiple control arms and grippers for dough manipulation and crafting of the pizza dough. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow for the automatic manufacture of pizzas individually for one or more users (Hamon [0003]).
Conclusion
/VIPUL MALIK/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754